shakti_rock thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
The reason Race 1 got noticed was Its MUSIC...the Allah Duhai hain song from its Trailor got famous...
Race2 music is soo average...
gilmores thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8
No popular music. Race's music picked up fast...Zara Zara Touch me, Allah duhai hai, Pehli nazar mein, Khwab dekhe..these were all really popular. Not one of Race 2's songs is worth listening to more than once. They even ruined Allah Duhai Hai for Race 2.

It also looks like we'll be watching the same film again. Overdose of Saif-Deepika's jodi...and lack of big star value.
TheRager thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
Maybe we are passing judgements too fast. All sequels have done well with much less effort than the first. I think same will happen with Race2 too. But yeah personally I havent found the songs or promos impressive.
Edited by -ksh- - 12 years ago
SandCastle. thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: koiza.k

agree with all except that LAK came a year after race. But saif was in demand due to the affair scandals with bips and recent relation with kareena.

I think katrina was one of the reasons- she was a rising star, growing rapidly at that time and her "zara zara touch me" and "khwab dekhe" had people literally drooling over her.

Here the star power lacks a bit i agree and i don't know why but dpad seems disinterested, its like she was not willing to do it anyhow and looks a little forced.

Oh really? LAK came after a year to Race? Oops, my bad... I should've checked 😆 & yeah totally agree with you =D
DPad already wanted to walk out of the film but still had to do it due to the fear of facing legal trouble so now it seems she's done with Race 2 & doesn't give a damn about the film 🤔 & I totally agree with you on Kat's part, she was 1 of the major reason for Race success, Zara Zara & Khwab Dekhe were sucha rage, wherever I went, I used to hear only these & even till date, they air it on music channels... This time, all this is severely lacking :\
Edited by SandCastle. - 12 years ago
Sanju_ thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3
I remember the craze Race's music had...all songs were smashing hits...I was in the hostel then and we all used to run to get a glimpse of peheli nazar mein every time it appeared to TV...but I guess Race 2's songs aren't able to create the same hype...I see the songs are hit on YT (among youths for sure) but other than that the music isn't much appealing...

anyway let's see...Race was simply superb...if story f Race 2 is as good as Race, then it might fare really well!!
blue-ice. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
I do not have high hopes for this sequel...the actors do not have enough or fading starpower...If the WOM is not good ...this movie is gone...
desigal90 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
The buzz on Race 2 is very strong.
They dont even have to promote.
Its a successful franchise and it will do well regardless.
Most films that are part 2, 3, 4 etc have done well.
Saif's films tend to open strong. This film has additional starcast that adds to the appeal - Anil, Deepika, and John are popular stars.
And like I said, the BRAND Race is strong enough.
Edited by desigal90 - 12 years ago
870349 thumbnail

Originally posted by: blue-ice

I do not have high hopes for this sequel...the actors do not have enough or fading starpower...If the WOM is not good ...this movie is gone...

What is this I. Reading the film has all the ingredients of 100 crore blockbuster

Doesn't it ?
DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: SandCastle.

Star Cast with no STARPOWER! Accept it or not but Starpower & Fan Following of actors built the hype of a film... Race had Katrina Kaif's Starpower, Bipasha was also in demand that time & Saif's recent LAK success all this contributed to Race's success... The music was so amazing, I was totally Crazy for each song, It was sleek, Stylish & a good amount of Glamour, also the Story was decent but Race 2 falls Short in all departments... No terrific songs, Saif has NO Starpower ATM, Deepika just does not seem interested for this film, the least I talk about Jacqueline, John has no starpower who else left? Anil & Cherry 🤔

Race 2 hasn't at all lived upto the expectations, IMO 🤔

love ajkal released on 2009 and race on 2008 hw did it contributed to race success
DB_reloaded thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 5
each and every song in race 1 was a chartbuster!!!!! it added to the success.. pritam and katriana played a huge part in race success more than saif and akshay!!!