Let the music play...

chip. thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago

Salman Khan is all set to star in a musical now. His official spokesperson Alok Mathur confirmed the news. "Yes, Salman Khan has agreed to star in the musical and is looking forward to work with Bhusan Kumar and Anees Bazmee," he said.

The musical will be produced by T Series and directed by Anees Bazmee. When we contacted Bhushan Kumar, head of T Series, he said, "It is true that we have signed Salman for a musical. It is a romantic comedy with a musical backdrop. Music is our forte." He wasn't willing to give anymore details.

He said, "But Salman is very enthusiastic about the film and has already given us dates for August 2009.

As the music director is an essential part of the musical, assigning one is the first step. The rest of the cast will follow as these days it is mostly about the actor and the director."

There are rumours that Sallu has been signed on for real big money, even by Sallu's standards. "The film has a big budget of approximately Rs 100 crore. We all know what major stars charge these days, but Salmanbhai is like family.

I will obviously want him to earn from the film and he will want me to earn as it's a big project for both of us," said Bhushan Kumar, when we asked him about Sallu's remuneration.

About his relationship with Salman, Bhushan said, "In recent times it has been said that our relationship with him is over but that's far from true and the fact that we are doing a film together now will prove all of them wrong.

T-series has been associated with him right from Pyaar Kiya To Darna Kya (1998) and till his recent film God Tussi Great Ho (2008) has immense faith in us."

The film will go on the floors by August 2009.