ajeebhotum thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
STAR Parivaar's Resolutions

This is the week of the year where everybody is set to review their new year plans and resolutions. We found out about what some of your young favourite stars from the beloved STAR Parivaar are planning and doing for the grand eve.

Pulkit Samraat (Lakshya- Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi)
The best way to celebrate any occasion is to be with family and friends, so for the New Year I will go to Dubai and celebrate with my parents and shop a lot.

Resolution: I will try to get rid of my back problem and will try to stop others from complaining to me about others and about me to others. But I also believe that resolutions are meant to be broken, so would try to do these by actually keeping the resolution part aside.

Naman Shaw (Nakul- Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi)
Well if I don't go to Goa (which is likely) I will go to Kolkata (my hometown) and celebrate my new year with my family.

Resolution: I have promised myself that I will start going to the gym regularly.

Suhasi Garodia (Urmi- Aek Chabhi Hai Padoss Mein)
I will most probably travel to Pune and celebrate my new year with my friends there.

Resolution: I will definitely work harder and give a lot of interviews (Laughs).

Arjun Punj and Gurdip Kohli (Celebrity Couple, Nach Baliye 2 participants)
We would prefer not to travel as off late we have been travelling a lot. So as of now we will celebrate the time with a couple of our friends.

Resolution: Since we have recently got married and things are going fine as of now, we would try and lead a good married life.

Parakh Madan (Suman in Saathi Re)
For the New Year I am going home (which is Delhi), and will spend the evening with Family and Friends.

Resolution: I always make short-term achievable goals so that I can move on to the next goal once the first is accomplished so I will take life as it comes to me.

Gautam Rode (Parth- Betiyaan Apni Ya Paraya Dhan and Lucky)
For the new year I will go out of Mumbai with my family and a couple of friends (have not decided where will I go).

Resolution: In the New Year I would love to learn different forms of dancing.

Gauri Nigudkar (Krishna- Betiyaan Apni ya Paraya Dhan)
For the New Year I will spend the time with my friends and family in Mumbai itself.

Resolution: I will regularly do yoga in the New Year and would try to improve my work.

Sanjit Bedi (Mahesh- Kasautii Zindagi Kay/ Mohit Kapadia- Kumkum)
My New Year plans were big, tickets were booked and we were all set to go to Maldives, but sometimes you have to support your production house since that's where you earn you bread and butter from. So now I am working till 30th afternoon, we have taken off till 1st, so I will be with a couple of close friends and family and back to work again.

Resolution: Actually there are many, but the most important ones are I will give up smoking, I smoke like 50- 60 cigarettes a day and it feels bad when kids look up to you. And secondly I will be more focused towards my work and be a better performer.

• Thursday, 28 December, 2006
  • shruti thumbnail
    19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9

Notice It?

Star Plus' Ek Chaabi Hai Pados Mein should ideally be a daily. It's too good to be enjoyed just once a week. The show shares its theme with Mohalla Mohabbatwala currently running on Sab, but it would be unfair to compare the two, as both are being treated differently by the makers of each. But Chaabi is a treat to watch, capturing the complexities of ordinary life as it does in a touchingly humorous way.

The rest of the cast too is competent but it is lead Varun Badola who has really come into his element here. After the odd Star Bestsellers that he featured and excelled in, it is now that Badola gets to exhibit his histrionics, as even Astitva could not do for him. He is charming, sarcastic and witty and makes you wonder why deadpan heroes become icons on TV while those like Badola continue working unsung?

I am yet to get around to watching Kulvaddhu, the heavily marketed new Sony show. But with the Solhah Singaars and Zaara that I am still trying to digest, it might just be a while till I get down to appreciate similar minded shows with an open mind!

Couch potato's muaaah for the week - For the writers of Ek Chaabi Pados Mein, for a racy, incisive script and dialogues to match. It's enough to make a parched soul shed tears of joy!

http://www.indiantelevision.com/special/boxpopuli/y2k6/dec/b oxpopuli34.htm

shruti thumbnail

Is there a key to this problem?

Actors of Aek Chabi Pados Mein claim they can't take the rudeness of the production guys any more.

Actors of Aek Chabi Pados Mein (Star Plus) are upset with the production house as according to them, the production crew behaves rudely with them. A source on the sets, says, "The schedulers are an unruly bunch of people. They are very rude to the actors and pass comments at them that they definitely don't deserve. When they enter the sets, they taunt them, 'here come the actors'. There is so much of negativity around that it doesn't make shooting an enjoyable experience. Actors feel unwanted on the sets. They deserve respect at least as humans if not as actors."

An actor on the condition of anonymity says, "That's true. Production people are very rude to us. Several actors here act in other serials too. So when they ask the production people to make adjustments, they refuse to co-operate. Even if they do, they act as if they're doing us a favour. This is not the way things should be done as everybody including the producers needs to adjust dates at some point of time in their careers. Also, they call us up suddenly and announce a sudden pack-up. That leaves us clueless about the plans for the day. But when they want dates from us, they simply demand it. When we try to discuss it, they give us the cold shoulder."

Another actor says, "They call an actor at 7 in the morning even if his shoot is scheduled at night. It is very frustrating for the actor to sit on the sets all day, waiting for his turn. Strangely, they are polite and accommodating towards actors who are simultaneously working in big production houses. The production team even threatened to replace an actor who tried to voice her concern. The problem is Anupam (Kalidhar, the producer) trusts his people too much. So we have a feeling that he may not quite understand our plight."

When contacted, Anupam Kalidhar says, "I am not aware of such a situation on the sets. I will try to speak to the actors and solve it. But honestly speaking, our unit is functioning like any other unit functions in today's times. The television industry is not well-organised. But if the actors say that they are suffering, then I am the worst sufferer. We started shooting in the month of August. The rain played unpredictable games with us. I couldn't can the number of episodes I had aimed within a stipulated period. As for all actors being called at one time, this is not a soap opera where two or three actors are enough to shoot the scene. It is a story of a colony and hence all actors are required. In short, we are all co-passengers on the same train, with a common destination."

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=20070105023208718286b871

natasshafan thumbnail
    19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Statutory 'storm'ing
    By: Vickey Lalwani
    January 19, 2007

Ashiesh Roy and Nupur Alankar
    A furious Ashiesh Roy stormed off the sets of Aek Chabhi Hai Padoss Mein when co-actor Nupur Alankar removed a cigarette from his lips and stubbed it with her foot. The incident happened last Wednesday in Chandivli Studios.

Ashiesh, who has been suffering from a severe backache for the past few months, was puffing away to ease stress after a tough scene.

When contacted, Ashiesh admits there was friction between him and Nupur on the sets. "The scene had just got over and I lit my cigarette. Suddenly, Nupur came up to me and stubbed my cigarette. I lost my temper. What business does she have to do that? She is not my wife!"

Don't mess with me

Asiesh, who plays Saurav in ACHPM, adds, "Nupur also played pranks and I told her to stop because I couldn't take it any more. I was shooting in extreme pain for six hours. I was on painkillers that day, and at that time the effect was wearing off. I did not have more tablets with me and was surviving simply on black coffee and cigarettes.

Plus, how was my cigarette disturbing her when she wasn't even near the place where I was smoking? I am courteous to women — but there is a limit to my tolerance. The entire unit was witness to my pain and her harassment."

Hope floats

Nupur, who plays Pammi, says Ashiesh's behaviour shocked her. "Ashiesh has never reacted this way. He said that he won't shoot and walked out. I have stubbed his cigarette several times in the past. He smokes too much."

The actress even apologised to Ashiesh but to no avail. An upset Nupur says, "Ashiesh came back to the sets but since then he has stopped reacting to me."

Nupur wants Ashiesh to let bygones be bygones. "I don't want to lose a friend. We've been in this industry for a long time. I will believe he has forgiven me only when I put off his cigarette once again and he smiles back. After that, of course, I shall never do it again," says the actress.
    Ashiesh, on the other hand maintains, "I will not forgive Nupur Alankar."

natasshafan thumbnail
    19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Friendship goes up in smoke
    By: A hitList Correspondent
    January 20, 2007

Nupur Alankar
    After reading the article Statutory 'Storm'ing in yesterday's HiTLIST (About Nupur Alankar snatching a cigarette from Ashiesh Roy and stubbing it out) Nupur was miffed with Ashiesh when she read his "rude" comments and now regrets her positive stance towards him.

She has now given up all hopes of reconciling her friendship with Roy. "I thought I was being good to a friend. Is it bad to ensure that your friend smokes less, or better still, does not smoke at all?

After reading his comments, I feel that I am much bigger than him. Hereafter, he is not important to me. Period."
    shruti thumbnail
    Aek Chabbi Hai's Urmi gets hitched
    By: Vickey Lalwani
    January 30, 2007

Just Married! Suhasi Goradia

Suhasi Goradia, lead actress of Aek Chabbi Hai Padoss Mein (Star Plus), tied the nuptial knot with her boyfriend Jaysheel, on Sunday evening.

Close relatives and friends, plus most of the actors from ACHPM cast attended the wedding, held at Mary Immaculate High School in Borivli.

While Suhasi was unavailable for comment, her close friend Anchal Sabharwal from the serial confirms the news. "Jayasheel is a Gujarati guy and Suhasi has known him for six years. He is a software engineer."

Low-key shaadi

Co-star Nupur Alankar informs that Suhasi had kept her wedding low profile but her co-actors knew about it since last month.

"We used to tease her that she should not get married else her career will go downhill. She used to simply smile. She is a very sweet girl."

Suhasi is not shooting for the serial since January 22. She will now report on the sets in the first week of February. "She is not going for a honeymoon as yet. She will go sometime later," Aanchal concluded.

http://www.mid-day.com/hitlist/2007/january/150983.htm

shruti thumbnail
    By A.L Chougule

Shweta Gulati, the snooty Tia of Remix fame, is in a state of dilemma and confusion. After two years of working non-stop for the refreshingly youthful show she kept away from work for a much-needed break. But when she's ready for a comeback she finds herself refusing serial after serial.

"There are lots of offers but at this stage and after doing Remix, I am not keen on doing any usual saas-bahu shows," confesses Shweta, adding, "I want to do young and fresh stuff. I am talking to some people and something good may materialise soon." She is in talks with Pogo for a kiddies' super hero show. Also she has been approached by the soon to be launched niche channel for youth called Zee Next.

Meanwhile Shweta is having a good time doing her play Kkk…Kiran. "It was a conscious decision to do theatre post Remix. The play has got good response for the eight shows I have done so far," says the young actress who also prefers doing small cameos on TV. Currently she is playing a modern London-returned Bengali character in Aek Chabhi Hai Pados Mein. "It's a two-episode role where the entry of a modern girl sets tongues wagging in the conservative Colonelgunj locality," she says.

http://www.deccan.com/TV%20Guide/TV%20GuideDescription.asp#S hweta%20Gulati%20says%20no%20to%20saas-bahu%20stuff

shruti thumbnail

Varun's got a new job!

Varun Badola is now co-writing the script of Ek Chabi Hai Pados Mein, besides acting in it.

A still from Ek Chabi Hai Pados Mein

Varun Badola is a busy man these days; not only for the fact that he is acting in Ek Chabi Hai Pados Mein. He's also co-writing the script for the show.

How did it happen? "Actually, when I went on the first day of the shoot of Ek Chabi Hai Pados Mein, there was some problem with the final script. So, I helped out with the script and made some changes in the story. Surprisingly, my director really liked the changes I suggested and insisted that I should co-write the script with our scriptwriter Arshad. Even the creative head of the channel felt so. Now, I am busy doing both acting and writing," he says.

Ek Chabi Hai Pados Mein, is a story about a colony and its residents. So, different tracks follow various different stories. Which are the stories Varun has penned so far? "The first story of the show is mine. It's about four good-for-nothing guys. They are always together doing worthless things and don't care about their careers. Then, one of their mothers asks her daughter to create friction between the boys. The girl comes into their life and they all go crazy over her. At the end, the divide-and-rule theory works and the four guys learn a lesson and decide to focus on their careers," he adds.

Varun Badola

Was the interest in writing sudden? "No. Before I started my acting career, I was an assistant director and a scriptwriter with Tigmanshu Dhulia. Ek Chabi… just revived my interest and skills. Now, I am writing another story," says Varun.

So, any plans to take up direction in future? "If I get an opportunity, I would love to do it." What about directing films? "If I get to direct a movie, it would be too good. I am game for serials too," he says.

Is he happy with Ek Chabi's response? "I think it's too early to judge its performance. It's just a few episodes old. Moreover, cricket matches and the launch of big shows has also affected its viewership. Considering all the factors, its TRPs have been decent. But, I am very happy as an actor with the show," he adds.

Any other show he's planning to do as an actor? "I am too caught up with my dual duties here. So, nothing else for the moment," Varun says.

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&am p;sectid=12&contentid=20070218022114968e7562535

shruti thumbnail

Star Parivaar ka Budget on CNBC Awaaz

MUMBAI: As an innovative attempt to cover the budget including expectations and its impact on households, CNBC Awaaz in association with Star Plus is doing a pre and post Budget television show that involves the personalities from popular soap opera households of StarPlus serials, to understand the implications of the budget for an Indian family.

In the show, various members of Aek Chabhi hai padoss mein (representing different constituencies – from the youth to the housewife to the bread earner) will give their expectations of the FM's Budget. This show is envisaged as a dialogue between the various members of the families from popular tele-serials and tax experts.

Aek Chabhi Hai Padoss Mein is a look into the kaleidoscopic world of a typical Indian colony and its people and their simple and real needs.

In a uncomplicated portrayal of a colony where each person is a character in their own right, Aek Chabhi Hai Padoss Mein, through its people and their stories captures the hub of life in the activities of a small friendly colony. The tales of its protagonists emanate from their needs, sorrow, joy, dreams and aspirations.

CNBC Awaaz and its editorial team will moderate this program, which is a first of its kind feature with a representative Indian family. This program will be broadcast only on CNBC Awaaz and the TV18 network

Telecast time: Sunday, February 25, 2007 at 7.30 pm

http://us.indiantelevision.com/release/y2k7/feb/febrel42.htm

monika.goel thumbnail
    20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Cat fight

Amita Nangia and Sajni Hanspal fight on the sets of Aek Chabi Hai Padoss Mein. Amita accuses Sajni of using her jewellery box without her consent

Sapana Patil Poojary

Amita Nangia, Sajni (extreme right) in the serial

Amita Nangia aka Rose and Sajni Hanspal aka Kavita in Aek Chabi Hai Padoss Mein had a big showdown on the sets the other day. Reportedly, it all began when Sajni took Amita's jewellry box (that contained the jewellery that she uses in the serial) and started checking it out offhandedly. Amita lost her cool and screamed at her.

Amita says, "It was not the first time. Sajni has done that several times before. Often she would come and peep into my jewellery box. Many times, I have tried to prevent her from doing so. But she never took notice of my warnings. That day I just lost my temper."

Sajni says, "Amita and I are friends. We have often used each other's items. Do we need to take each other's permission for such small things? But off late, I have realised that Amita doesn't like it. That day, Amita blurted out, 'Why don't you ask me before taking my things?' in front of everyone. I was hurt. I had a tiring day and couldn't hold back my anger. So, I said, 'Don't act smart with me'."

Amita however asserts that she never uses stuff from Sajni's box. "I have never touched Sajni's jewellery box. I only use the things which are allotted to me. Sometimes, I use my personal clothes and accessories for the shooting."

Reportedly, Sajni is in the habit of digging into everyone's jewellery box and picking up jewellery. Sajni, however maintains, "All the actors' jewellery boxes are kept together in the greenroom. What's the harm if I just see them? I am not stealing anything after all."

Edited by monika.goel - 18 years ago