461075 thumbnail
As I while away the time before the next series of heartaches, the maudlin', the theatrics of the dramatis personae hit us squarely between the eyes ....
Do we acknowledge that a new age has dawned ... do we see memetics shaping social mores at a scale never before seen ... does the emerging sub-continental position - as voiced by KB - jive with the global weltanschauung on love, marriage, and the working woman ?
Mr RS exhorts the diamond that is his Simi to marry for money over love - for then the same travails of life as he faces would not be her lot. I've heard it said that it's as easy to love a rich man as an impecunious one ...
Simi presents as an argument against marriage the fact that her 'intended' (such as he is) has no means of supporting a wife ... is that necessarily a man's burden? Would society be turned on its head if the reverse was acceptable?
This forum does not appear to be male voice rich, but such as there are, what are your thoughts? Women's chiming in, of course, will hardly be kept at bay ....
Edited by SValeCalGal - 15 years ago

femmedivine thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail
was just thinking along those lines..if simi and abhi are bucking society's traditions by being in love, can she not then..dramatis personnae...support her husband ..as he has supported her ...
Despite the age barrier, he has... on most instances been the more mature and loyal person in this relationship..She needs to ante up and acknowledge that he too,despite his wealth and socially superior standards(as per the show's creatives) has also made sacrifices and has quite a bit to lose...his family, even tho these are not as close as the sethis.He has spent time, money and energy rescuing her and her family multiple times and has been truly selfless in his love..
Us women can keep penning lines, but what do you guys think of this??
Manik_mia thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
It is possible only if ZeeTV was relying only on NRI. Indians leaving in western world started coping with western style. Man taking care of children while wife working. I do not have any objection to this as I am also one of you leaving in the west.

But the creative team will have a hard time convincing Indian audience. Just remember the scene in the college when all professors (supposed to be cream of the society) were blaming Simi for her decision to
break the marriage with RB. All neighbours were also behaving like this as if Simi did huge crime by rejecting RB. To me as an western audience looked so stupid.

Few of us in this forum have very interesting ideas how to proceed with script. But problem is Creative team will not change as they always write for the masses.

461075 thumbnail
It is possible only if ZeeTV was relying only on NRI. Indians leaving in western world started coping with western style. Man taking care of children while wife working. I do not have any objection to this as I am also one of you leaving in the west.

But the creative team will have a hard time convincing Indian audience. Just remember the scene in the college when all professors (supposed to be cream of the society) were blaming Simi for her decision to
break the marriage with RB. All neighbours were also behaving like this as if Simi did huge crime by rejecting RB. To me as an western audience looked so stupid.

Few of us in this forum have very interesting ideas how to proceed with script. But problem is Creative team will not change as they always write for the masses.
First: manik_mia ... thanks for taking the time to respond!
Do you consider KB to be your every-day-run-of-the-mill serial targeted for the 'masses'? A great many of us have been attracted to it largely because of it's - relatively speaking - iconoclastic approach ... while, without exception, the rasion d'etre of every other serial on Indian TV (not to suggest that I have even the slightest inclination to subject myself to any other than KB, but I think this is not so wild a guess) is to titillate, KB rises above that ...
The reason behind my question was to ascertain the prevailing outlook on social constructs - and you have answered the part that was of interest to you i.e. should supporting a family be the sole responsibility of the male half of a union ... you said no ... hurrah! Is this something you came to 'accept' after having lived in the west for some appreciable span of time?
It is also true that the Sunshiners trip all over themselves with some frequency that assaults our western honed sensibilities - having grown accustomed to an attention to detail ... you rightly picked up on the purported creme de la creme that is an academician, behaving like the scum de la scum 😔 this was a disservice ... but perhaps change is in the air?
One can hope ...
461075 thumbnail
support her husband ..as he has supported her ...
Eggzackly!! Talk about an egg-head response about 'you've no steady means to support a wife etc etc etc ... you may not even have a roof over your head if/when mom&pop Taneja find out what you're on about'
I mean ... her brain's out grazing in a pasture on the other end of the planet??!! Dunderhead!! Like he's only come to your rescue in the most astounding way, and you're going to use that masterpiece of lame reasoning to dissuade him from the one decision that could really make a difference in your life!! Actually, I don't know that we should'nt be venting our frustration out on the Sunshiners ... a woman of that emotional/rational makeup should not be portrayed as an imbecile ... that's taking far too much liberty with womankind ... I am seriously vexed!! 😔
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Its true that a woman still wants a partner who will support her. its rightly said when it comes to job. Well yes he could have had the most illustious career after his IIM provided he din fall for her. he is willing to take up a job jus cos she said so.he also talks to her photo in the sense...U r taking my test.Well I will pass this for you too.
Things are different when a guy and girl have jobs, work in the same office, may be guy is younger by 3-5 years and then fall in love. The possibility of such relations working well is much better. The first move is already taken in falling in love with a guy 8 years younger. Then she should also be willing to accept the fact that he needs time to settle down. He might eventually, but you were the one insisting take me away from this damned place and forcing him to take up the responsibility and added burden of being married at 22. Give him time to complete his studies, take up a job and then look for marriage.
But do you have the time to wait. Your people are already breathing down your spine with... as Abhi puts it..latest rishta waiting in your hall for you. He is willing to talk to Papaji regarding this. Probably the father could take a stand, support your choice and then you have the freedom and time to wait to settle down. You dont let him do that either. The reason of younger ones not marrying cos of you is waste now that Anuj is already married before you.
Everything doesnt work your way. You should be willing to be more accomodative.
Pobably sunshiners did a mistake by intoducing an 8 year difference between the lead pair. 8 years wont still matter if the guy had a job at 30 and you were a lecturer still unmarried at 38. But att 22, the guy needs time to complete his education foremost. He is certainly not ready to shoulder the responsibility of a marriage.
Well that is the essence of the show....the problems with such bold decisions.
Other questions from my end....
What hapened to Mili knowing Simi's choice.
What does Neetu plan to do. Either which way... whether you run away from home or end up disclosing you are pregnant if Vicky does not have the guts to support you, is going to put the family to shame.
If Vicky is willing to take you with him, why run away? As Simi suggested she could have spoken to their dad and get the consent?
Does Manju suppot her son's theft even after your own husband got insulted at the bank.
How long will you keep Nakul hanging mid air?
What reason they have to reject Nakul?
As long as Simi hides SimiAbhi relationship, she will continue to get groom threats day in and day out?
Is it wise on Abhi's part to not return to his college for the sake of an unappreciating lover. Come on yaar..Your career is at stake.
As suggested in the Zee tv wikepedia, what happens to the guy as PG.Which portion of the house they will let out if Anuj comes back?
Wikipedia says Neetu's arranged marriage in a rich punjabi family to Vicky...Vicky is not shown rich and neither is it an arranged wedding.
All loopholes????
461075 thumbnail
Give him time to complete his studies, take up a job and then look for marriage.
Well ... my point was that marriage need not be contingent upon a man having a job - what an extraordinary burden that no longer need be true ... across the board!
On the other hand, we have a 22 yr old exhibiting the maturity of a fellow Nakul's age, so in some sense should we not hold him culpable for not having thought thru the financial end of things? Love a stomach filleth not 😊
What hapened to Mili knowing Simi's choice.
Ah yes! I've broached this subject a number of times already. But Mili is hardly empowered to make a difference in the final outcome ...
whether you run away from home or end up disclosing you are pregnant if Vicky does not have the guts to support you, is going to put the family to shame.
Neetu will add to the Sethi plight irrespective of which path she traverses ... marrying a neer do well is not an especial accomplishment, and in this case, neither has the means or wherewithal to support each other financially ... not to mention Vicky's alcoholic mother whose expensive tastes must be catered to ... wait till she finds out what this 'maa da ladla' has been up to!
The only silver lining to this cloud is that the cumulative issues facing the Sethi parivaar should make the Dagars take the path of least resistance .... RUN!!! 😃
What reason they have to reject Nakul?
They?! The fact that she is in love with another should be reason enough. Why would Nakul insist that Simi follow through with the nightmare of his own concoction i.e. he has come to the irrevocable decision that she is his life-partner .... gee ... Thanks!! WHAT a guy!!! Such magnanimity! What does he have to gain by such a state of affairs, pray tell?!
Is it wise on Abhi's part to not return to his college
When was this contemplated? Did I miss something?
if Anuj comes back
IF Anuj comes back, then it might behoove the Sethis to heed Mr T's advice (minus the sneers about a friend in construction - expressly for the middle-class), and remodel the existing structure (say Bela, from an architectural perspective, could something be done to make the whole thing less of an eyesore?) ... out goes the need for PGs and their ilk ... but the whole Anuj angle is bizarre in the extreme ...
Wikipedia says Neetu's arranged marriage in a rich punjabi family to Vicky...Vicky is not shown rich and neither is it an arranged wedding.
Methinks the Sunshiners have been speaking through the orifice where the Sun don't Shine 😆
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Dear SValeCalGal, By the way is your name Dipa,
Thanks for the replies. Your posts are absolutely great.
I am fine with woman supporting husband. After all she has a job so you need to give your partner the time and space to complete his education.Problem is that Simi and family still has the "middle class mentality" . She also thinks to herself once...how do i talk to dad about Abhi. Yeh rishta bhi to teekh nahi hai. So she is still hooked to old norms.
Yes I meant the same. If you delay telling your love for Abhi, there is no other reason to reject Nakul.
And yes Abhi has thought about these issues of no job and house too. He exactly mentioned this to Guruji.
No you din miss a thing.Just that its a while since he is around in Delhi. And he is contemplating taking up a job by Saturday, then when would he return to study?
Anuj is one total waste of a character.
And does Simi really expect to" live happily ever after "in T mansion after pleasing all and getting their consent. Obviously if ever they get married, they have to be living alone.
Seriously can Sun start shining and start addressing practical issues about insecurities post marriage in Old woman Younger man marriages in the so called conservative middle class society? I am sure no such relationships have a fairy tale ending with love conquering all.
Please we have all this vengeance, backbiting, inability to get parents consent for marriage in every other serial. Wish they consider the mindset of international Indian audience as well.
461075 thumbnail
By the way is your name Dipa,
'Tis me, 'tis me 'tis I !! 😊
She also thinks to herself once...how do i talk to dad about Abhi. Yeh rishta bhi to teekh nahi hai. So she is still hooked to old norms.
I know!!! When I heard that, I was certainly bowled over!! Wha?!!! WHAT DID YOU JUST SAY?!!!
And yes Abhi has thought about these issues of no job and house too. He exactly mentioned this to Guruji.
I realize that ... which is why he ought not to have been so jarred when
Simi said as much ... I mean he took it on as a challenge ... an ordeal that he must pass! Hello, Mr T Jr.!! Let's get with the program already!! Y'know I wonder what he had meant to speak to Nakul about when he looked over quizzically at the phone then walked over & called his .... Bhaiya (boy that's hard for me to mouth as well 🤢) Was he going to ask Nakul to intervene with someone?!
Anuj is one total waste of a character.
Second only to his even more waste of a wife ... they're just breathing air that we could all put to better use ...
Obviously if ever they get married, they have to be living alone.
This was my plan for them ... all Abhi need do is go see that TV reporter friend of his ... besides, from the sounds of it, he's got plenty of clout & influence (how should that be surprising for a person from his social strata?) ... so it ought to be a cakewalk ...
I am sure no such relationships have a fairy tale ending with love conquering all.
Ah but ... I must beg to differ with you ... nothing has a fairly tale ending ... were real life a bit closer to fiction ... sigh ... in this case tho, love will pave a smoother path for the couple ... their extended family on the other hand ... well ... one can hope!
blokes thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
u will be amazed to know just how many village women "support" their menfolk and their families. it is not uncommon for a woman to find herself without her husband- he is working "elsewhere", he is drunk, he is with another woman, he is depressed and cannot find work etc. As the woman has to feed her children, she will do almost anything to get food on the table. This phenomenon is the primary impetus for the micro credit industry and several other programs that work on eradicating poverty in rural areas. So, the idea of a "woman working" and supporting her man, is not "western", bt extremely traditional, indian rural- I agree, not Indian urban!