Chapter 42
This one might be a little long...I'm not sure.
Part 42 – "Did Romeo every climb a tree for Juliet?"
There were only a few days left for the marriages. So the decorations, cards and everything else was going in full speed. Everyone was roaming around here and there. Today was the Mehndi Ceremony. So Isha and Nisha were busy getting their hands designed with henna. First it was Isha's turn. And once she was done, she decided to go up to Eklavya's room. Of course he wasn't going to be there because he was at the bachelor's party. Just the thought was eating her up inside. What do people do at a bachelor's party? And why wasn't there a bachelor-ette party as well? She had to be away from Eklavya for the next few days and the she couldn't stand the thought at all.
She sat down on the bed and looked at her hands. Great, now she couldn't move either! She heard a soft peck at the door. She dismissed it carelessly, thinking it was a bird or something. But, the peck came again, this time sounding like thuds on the window. She got up nervously and glanced at the window. She was shocked to see what she saw. Eklavya was hanging by a tree branch with one hand and pecking at the window with another.
I: EKLAVYA! are you insane!? What are you doing!!!??? Do you have any idea what can happen if you - ?
E: Isha, yell at me later, can you get me inside right now?
I: Oh yes (gives her hands but then retrived them back)
Isha looked at her henna covered hands. She couldn't wipe off the henna now. Most of the colour was probably there by now. But she couldn't leave Eklavya out there, standing – no, hanging off a branch. Who knows when the branch could break?
I: Eklavya, mere haath mein mehndi hai…
E: Ok, come here and face me. Come here! I don't bite, Isha!
I: (walks to the window) Ok, now what?
E: Give me your waist. Quickly! I'm ready to slip and die here –
I: EKLAVYA!
Isha looked at him with angry eyes. She got as close to the window as her body would allow.
I: Ok, here. Hold my waist tight and I'll pull you in.
Suddenly the door opened. Tulsi dadi stood in the doorway. Eklavya let go of Isha and whispered at Isha to turn around. Isha turned around, shocked to find Tulsi dadi there. She did her best to hide the window and Eklavya who was still hanging off the branch.
T: Isha? Wahan kya kar rahi ho?
I: Woh – main – hawa! I went to get some fresh air! It's getting really stuffy in here.
T: Accha, here take this. Yeh tumhara shaadi ka joda hai. I'll keep it here, ok?
I: Thank you dadi!
Tulsi dadi left the red dress on the bed and left, closing the door. Isha spun around so fast that her head felt a little pain.
I: Eklavya?! Are you ok?!
E: (sarcastically) Oh of course I am! I'm just chilling here, you know? I love chilling here, hanging off a branch, waiting for my wife-to-be! It's –
I: Shut up! And grab my waist. I couldn't do anything! What was I supposed to say to Tulsi dadi? "Oh, and by the way, your grandson is hanging off the branch outside my window?"
E: Can you pull me in now?
I: Ok
Eklavya gripped Isha's tiny waist tightly as Isha pulled him in. Finally all those years of ballet helped her with the endurance. Even though Isha was a lot lighter than Eklavya, she could pull him in. But she pulled him in a little too hard though and they both landed on the bed. With Isha at the bottom and Eklavya on top of her. Both were breathless by now. Isha was still careful not to get her henna ruined.
I: Waise, why are you here?
E: I climbed a tree to see you and you're asking me why am I here? Did Romeo every climb a tree for Juliet?
I: I mean, I thought today was your bachelor party.
E: Oh, that. Yeah, I was missing you so I thought I'd come and see you. I came here and maa and dadi didn't let me in. They said –
I: Shaadi se pehle ladka ladki nahin milte, right?
E: Right.
Isha smiled at him. She was thinking that he was going to be having fun at the bachelor's party but he was actually missing her! Suddenly she realized what would happen if Tulsi dadi were to walk in and find Eklavya on top of her.
I: Eklavya? Can you get off of me now? If Tulsi dadi came right now, I don't think she would be very happy.
E: Right.
Eklavya slowly got off of Isha and Isha checked her hands again to see if anything was ruined. It wasn't. Somebody started knocking on the door. Eklavya ran back to the window and before Isha could say anything, he climbed back on the branch.
I: Eklavya!
E: Just go! I'll go back to the bachelor's party. They'll get worried if I –
I: Ok, ok! Just go safely! Please don't hurt yourself!
-Pooja
Your reaction
Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
7 Comments