Rant Alert: Twinkle Khanna’s ‘Normalising Cheating’ Commentary Is Getting Louder & Stranger With Every Episode
Every time Twinkle talks about relationships, it's half-defeated, half-deflecting, like someone laughing at a wound so no one asks how deep it goes.
Published: Thursday,Nov 06, 2025 10:46 AM GMT+05:30

I’ll be honest. I went into Two Much expecting breezy banter, some harmless gossip, and the usual celebrity charm. But episode after episode, I found myself pausing, rewinding, and thinking, “Did Twinkle really say that again?” Because somewhere between the jokes, the card games, and the cheery studio lighting, a pattern started forming.
It wasn’t Kajol’s sarcasm. It wasn’t even the guests. It was Twinkle Khanna. And more specifically, her fixation on infidelity, shaky marriages, open relationships, “older people hiding affairs,” “younger people changing partners,” and her own very thinly veiled opinion that marriage is basically a malfunctioning machine everyone pretends is fine.
Every time she spoke about relationships, she had the same tone, half-defeated, half-deflecting, like someone laughing at a wound so no one asks how deep it goes. And at some point, I couldn’t shake the feeling that Twinkle wasn’t hosting a talk show. She was trying to sneak in her diary entries.
The Running Theme She Just Can’t Let Go

Look at the pattern. And this isn’t me reading between the lines. These are statements she has made on a loop. "Older people are better at hiding affairs". "Kids change partners like outfits." "Open relationships make sense “intellectually. "Physical infidelity is negotiable." "Raat gai baat gai",
Emotional infidelity? Depends on the decade you were born in, "Tattoos are permanent, marriages are not." If a marriage were a car race? “Slow and disastrous.”
Even when Sonakshi casually joked about doing action stunts, Twinkle’s reflex was, “Sahi hai, ghar mein bhi mukka maaro aur bahar bhi.” A comment so unprovoked that even Sonakshi had to counter it with a slightly awkward, “Nahi ghar mein nahi, waha main khush hu.”
It wasn’t funny. It wasn’t cheeky. It was uncomfortable. The kind of line you drop when you’ve been holding something inside for far too long.
And I couldn’t help but think: Why is this constantly on her mind? Why does every topic, no matter how random, circle back to affairs, cheating, unhappy marriages, and emotional escapes? This isn’t one or two slip-ups. This is practically the show’s background score.
The Unspoken Elephant in the Room

Let’s not pretend Twinkle lives in a vacuum. Anyone who grew up in the early 2000s remembers the tabloid storm around Akshay Kumar, his link-ups, the breakups, the Raveena saga, the Shilpa heartbreak. Twinkle married him right in the middle of that chaos. She has openly said she gave up her acting career to be with him. She has stayed through rumours, gossip, and questionable phases. And yet, two decades later, here she is, snapping at the idea of permanence, mocking the institution she’s still part of, and presenting marriage as a slow-moving disaster that needs a punchline to survive.
Maybe she thinks she’s being witty. Maybe she believes these one-liners make her sound liberated. But to me, and a lot of viewers, it isn’t liberation. It’s a leakage. It feels like she’s venting through humour because real honesty would require stepping into a far more uncomfortable conversation. And when humour becomes a shield, it shows. There's a difference between someone joking about marriage because it’s funny and someone joking about marriage because it’s painful. Twinkle, unfortunately, is starting to sound like the second.
When a Talk Show Turns Into Second-Hand Embarrassment

The strangest part is how out of place her remarks often feel. Guests are talking about movies, stunts, friendships, or generational behaviour, and suddenly, Twinkle throws a punchline about cheating, divorce, affairs, or her disillusionment with marriage. The tone breaks.
The room shifts. The guests get that “Should I laugh? Should I look away?” expression. And I, sitting at home, get a front-row seat to second-hand embarrassment. Because instead of sounding sharp or progressive, she ends up sounding stuck. Stuck in her own old wounds. Stuck in unresolved thoughts. Stuck in the need to constantly remind the audience that marriage is messy, hers, ours, everyone’s. But here’s the thing:
If you’re going to keep hinting at something, at least have the courage to address it head-on. Don’t wrap it in jokes. Don’t turn every episode into your subliminal therapy. Don’t pretend these remarks are just harmless humour when they’re coming from a place that clearly isn’t healed.
Watching the show, I sometimes feel like Twinkle is trying to convince herself more than anyone else. And that’s what makes it awkward.
The Bottom Line

Twinkle Khanna has always been known for her wit, but this season, she has crossed from witty to weary. It’s almost like she carries a private storm and releases it in the form of “funny” lines that leave a strange aftertaste. The more she jokes about affairs, cheating, and crumbling marriages, the more transparent it becomes that she isn’t as detached as she pretends to be. Every marriage is complicated. Every relationship has seasons of silence, frustration, and compromise. But when your show begins to feel like a coded confession, viewers will notice. And right now, Twinkle’s comments feel less like comedy and more like a cry wrapped in sarcasm.
Poll
Is Twinkle Khanna’s running commentary on affairs and marriage getting a little too reveal
Twinkle Khanna’s remarks on Two Much keep circling back to affairs, infidelity, and unhappy marriages, turning the show into her personal outlet. From calling marriages “slow and disastrous” to mocking permanence and dropping odd jabs about cheating, she sounds less witty and more weighed down by her own unresolved frustrations. Viewers now see a pattern: Twinkle seems fixated, uncomfortable, and unintentionally revealing far more than she intends.
Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed in this article are solely those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of IndiaForums.com, its editors, or its affiliates. Readers are encouraged to form their own views.
Join Our WhatsApp Channel
Stay updated with the latest news, gossip, and hot discussions. Be a part of our WhatsApp family now!
Join NowYour reaction
Nice
Great
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail

2 Comments