Fashion_2005 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago
SRK's Newest Fan Also Newest Heroine

By Krishna Jewel, AllBollywood.com Staff

Vidya Malvade, the hostess of Mirchi Top 20, has just returned from Australia where she just completed a hectic shooting schedule with none other than mega superstar ShahRukh Khan; she will appear opposite the star for the new Yash Raj film, Chak De India. However, sharing screen space with King Khan is not a new thing for Vidya. Previously, she worked with him in the Santrowalen hai na ad for Hyundai. Nonetheless, as per the norm when someone works with King Khan, he seems to have won another fan in Vidya. "It was an amazing experience. We worked together briefly for the Santro ad. Now after having spent a couple of months with him, I realise why he is a superstar. The level of detail -- character, camera angles, makeup -- to which he goes during a shot is unbelievable. You have to work with him and others to feel the difference."

"I have been extremely busy with the shooting of Chak De India for the last six months," she adds. "I'm taking a small break and going to Thailand for New Year's Eve. In January, I will go to Delhi to complete the shooting for Chak De."

Vidya role opposite the Baadshah is playing a young Sikh girl who wants to join the hockey team but her parents' do not approve. SRK plays the coach of the team in this film directed by Shimit Amin (Ab Tak Chhappan).
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Yash In Aussie Land Again

August 26, 2006
by Krishna Jewel, AllBollywood.com Staff
source: allbollywood.com

One of India's most successful film producer-directors, the legend that is Yash Chopra, will return to Australia to shoot his forthcoming film.

According to the Indian Post, Swish Black Cat Films, an Australian production house, will handle the entire production of Chak de India in Melbourne and Sydney.

Previously, Swish Black Cat Films carried out production of the Yash Raj film Salaam|Namaste which, incidentally, was the first Indian Film to be shot entirely on location in Australia.

The success of Salaam|Namaste triggered an Aussie fever among Indian tourists. Following the films realease, they swamped the capital of Victoria state.

Megastar ShahRukh Khan will be in the lead role for Chak de India and will be directed by Shmit Amin. The Australian film production company expects the Indian contract to generate revenue of approximately $1.6 million and expects to attract a worldwide audience of 300 million, the paper reported.
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
SRK makes a comeback

Daniel Ziffer
September 28, 2006

BOLLYWOOD is coming to Melbourne, with a new film set to attract star-struck visitors from India's massive population.

Sports film Chak De! India (Go India!) will be shot at the State Netball Hockey Centre in Parkville from next month.

The film is from the same team who produced hit musical Salaam Namaste (Hello! Greetings!) in Melbourne last year, which has been credited with lifting the number of tourists from India to Australia.

Chak De! India follows the story of a disgraced player who returns to the game as the coach of an Indian women's hockey team.

Heart-throb ShahRukh Khan — a household name in the world's second most-populous country — plays the lead role.

Bollywood is a term used to describe the lucrative Hindi film industry, based in Mumbai.

Salaam Namaste was the first such film produced completely in Australia, and was shot at locations including the Great Ocean Road, Rye and Chapel Street, with a budget of $US2.5 million ($A3.3 million).

The number of tourists from India to Australia in the first five months this year reportedly increased by 31 per cent compared with the same period last year.
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Chak De! India to be shot in Australia

By IndiaFM News Bureau, September 29, 2006 - 09:00 IST

Yash Raj Productions has decided to have Australia as the backdrop of their next film Chak De! India. It is going to be a sports film which will be shot mainly in Melbourne and Sydney. The local line producers of Chak De! India will be Black Cat films who were also associated with Salaam Namaste.

The film stars Shah Rukh Khan in lead role. Shah Rukh plays a dishonored hockey player who returns to the game after a seven years gap but this time as a coach. He takes up the responsibility of becoming the coach of an ignored girl's hockey team. The team arrives in Australia to play for the women's world cup and that is when their struggle begins for dignity and self respect.

The film will be directed by Shimit Amin who made his directorial debut with Ab Tak Chappan in 2003. Chak De! India will be his second directorial venture and first with the Yash Raj group.

Also, at the annual Indian Film Festival in Australia this year, Yash Chopra will be felicitated for his contribution to the cinema. Many other film personalities from India will also be present at festival which is going to be held in Melbourne.

http://indiafm.com/news/2006/09/29/7951/index.html
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Watch out for 2007

Chak De India:

After making the gritty and critically acclaimed Ab Tak Chhapan, Amin has moved to the Yash Raj camp, and is making a movie with none other than ShahRukh Khan in the lead.

Khan is all set to coach a girls' hockey team, and has grown his beard for the character.

As for the leggy team he tutors, Vidya Malvade stars in a prominent role.

It's a hush hush project, but can Shah Rukh bend it? Sure, he's The Khan.

http://specials.rediff.com/movies/2007/jan/04sld7.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Filmfare Magazine February 2007 writes about Chak De:

"Salman Khan turned them down, Akshay Kumar didn't want to play a loser. It was finally good old Shah Rukh Khan who bailed them out at the last moment. SRK plays a sorta down and out coach who leads the Indian all-women hockey team to victory. SRK goes de-glam and has no songs in Switzerland.

Will this one be as reveting as director Shimit Amin's Ab Tak Chappan?

What to watch for: Preview circles are abuzz that it's SRK's most defining performance to date"
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
SRK has a field day

An exclusive look at Chak De, where Shah Rukh Khan plays coach to a women's hockey team

Viral Bhayani

While filming Chak De, the makers were faced with the Herculean task of gathering large crowds at the stadium for the hockey matches. Director Shimit Amin realised that an effective way of gathering them was by invitation. Anyone interested, was invited to be a part of the crowd in the film. Newspapers stations had all dates and times of the shoots listed, radio stations announced the same all day. Most of the shoots in Sydney and Melbourne were at night and in spite of the inclement weather, hordes of people arrived at the hockey stadium, all in the hope of coming face-to-face with one of Bollywood's leading actors.

We managed to catch up with Shah Rukh Khan, who plays a hockey coach.

He informed that he was a sportsman at one point in time, "Yes, I used to be a sportsman. I played hockey, soccer and cricket. But I hurt myself when I was young, and had to give up the sport," he said, and seemed happy to relive his good old days. Vidya Malvade who is part of a women's hockey team in the film seemed to be have learnt a good amount of the game hockey as she maneuvre her stick with precision several times and was in great form. Based on the story of a women's hockey team Chak De was shot largely in Sydney and Melbourne in Australia.

http://www.mumbaimirror.com/net/mmpaper.aspx?page=article&se ctid=30&contentid=20070217030739234367850ac
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
"Shah Rukh has charm oozing out of his sleeves and everywhere else" – Vidya Malvade

By IndiaFM News Bureau, February 24, 2007 - 09:15 IST

If you are wondering where the sultry actress Vidya Malvade has disappeared, well your search ends here. She will soon be seen in Chak De India along with Shah Rukh Khan. The film is produced by Yash Raj camp and directed by Shimit Amin (of Ab Tak Chhappan fame).

Vidya is quite excited about the film and says, "It has been an absolute pleasure working for the film. Yash Raj films are too good they have their own supplies and know where to put them right". So how did she bag a role with the prestigious Yash Raj Banner? "The casting director and Mr. Aditya Chopra were looking for my character for a long time and then they saw me on my show on Zoom TV and decided to cast me in the film. Further she states, "My character is very simple and underplayed, she is someone who you won't give a second look."

My character in 'Chak De India' is someone who you won't give a second look.
The film will see Vidya playing the character of a hockey player and Shah Rukh as the coach. "We went through intense training for 9 months for the role and whenever we weren't training we were shooting, it was quite hectic." Ask her about Shah Rukh and like anybody would say she too is full of praise for the actor. "Shah Rukh is amazing and so involved. He has charm oozing out of his sleeves and everywhere else. The first time he met the girls everyone loved him. Thankfully I had worked with him earlier in an ad film but working in a movie is different. He is always there and so down to earth."

So with the theme of a coach training an all woman hockey team doesn't it remind of the Hollywood blockbuster Bend It Like Beckhem? Ask Vidya on any inspirations and she reverts, "Well it's a sports film and most of the sports films are alike. But we also have a little back story to it. Regarding the resemblance to Bend It Like Beckhem I am just going to shut up. People are just writing what they 'want' to write and I am just smiling reading at those stories"

Vidya will also be seen in another film being directed by Amit Saxena who debuted with the John Abraham – Bipasha Basu thriller Jism, 4 years back. The film is titled Take 2 where Vidya is cast alongside Shiney Ahuja and Karan Oberoi. The final schedule of Take 2 has begun, "There are only 10-15 days of shooting left for the film and as soon as we get the dates in place it will take off. I play two characters one opposite Shiney and the other opposite Karan. The film has a very interesting story line; it's a take off on the Hollywood film called 'Sliding Doors'. After the first 10 – 15 minutes of the film it splits into two, that's how I play two characters. It's really beautiful as both the characters have their journey and come and meet again in the end. The assimilation is really nice when the characters meet again. Amit has done a fantastic job and is visually shot very well. And people who have seen the rushes say that I have done well so I am very glad."

http://www.indiafm.com/news/2007/02/24/8977/index.html
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Chak De India

Director: Shimit Amin

Stars: Shah Rukh Khan, Vidya Malavade and Neetu Chandra

What's it about: A disgraced hockey player turns coach for a ladies hockey team and comes out triumphs

To watch out for: Shimit Amin who gave us the critically acclaimed Ab Tak Chappan (2004) teams up with SRK for a Yashraj banner film on a sport (hockey) not so popular in Hindi films yet

Estimated Budget: Rs. 20 crores

Releasing June 29, 2007

http://cinemaa.indya.com/best_2007.html
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
old article

TPP On 27th April , Jhoom Barabar Jhoom On 25th May & Chak De India On 3rd July ?

By: Abid

Here are the tentative release dates of of some of the Yash Raj projects that are to arrive later this year.

As per our trade sources , the Saif-Preity starrer 'Tara Rum Pum' arrives on 27th April followed by the Bobby-Abhishek starrer 'Jhoom Barabar Jhoom' on 25th May and finally Shah Rukh Khan's 'Chak De India' is to hit the screens on July 3rd( surprisingly during a mid-week?) .

We must add that release dates can change even at the eleventh hour .

http://www.planetbollywood.com/displayArticle.php?id=0222071 23931