A Meal Alone (One Shot )

Kri18 thumbnail
Posted: 2 years ago

_________________________________ A Meal Alone __________________________________

After a long trying day I finally reached home . Putting my bag on couch , " Aditi ! I am back home , have you prepared dinner ? " I shouted so that my wife who must be busy in kitchen with this I started moving towards washroom to refresh and with the very first step realisation stuck me ....she is not more ... Suddenly a void feeling started to consume me . I ordered the food online as I am still learning to cook and honestly I am a terrible cook . I sat on the couch , deeply thinking about the events that occurred two months ago in Mumbai and how they turned my life upside-down . 

When I saw Deepika outside the hospital after so many years and got to know that she is still single , I thought I can be reunited with her and anyway my relation with Aditi was not good . We always kept fighting which only increased after Pari's death . Aditi was having trouble in conceiving as well and I never let go my past with Deepika , I never accepted the fact I can be unworthy of anything or anyone . There were many factors that made me think that me and Deepika have a chance . From her reaction upon seeing me i was confirmed that she too never let go of our past . When she denied , i started manipulating her and she finally gave in . We started dating . I was too happy by thinking the future of that relationship , about having kids . I was so happy that maybe I can feel that feeling of fatherhood again which I felt five years ago when I took Pari in my arms for the first time , that selfless love that I felt for the first time for someone when she grabbed my finger with her tiny hands . I was so selfish that I never considered Aditi's feelings .