ArShi/ArHi SS | Hit by Destiny | Romance | Chapter 4-page 8 | 07/02/17

AnaayaArshi thumbnail
Engager Level 1 Thumbnail Fascinator 1 Thumbnail

H I T B Y D E S T I N Y

Khushi Kumari Gupta just got demoted, which means she has to move in with her best friend. Not that bad, right? But what if your new neighbor is the person you hate the most? What if the person happens to be your Jiju's younger brother?
What do you when you have to see your enemy every single day?

Genre: Romance/Humor [I've never written humor so I'm going to attempt]
Characters: Arnav x Khushi
Anjali, Akash, Payal, and the Raizada Clan

C H A R A C T E R S K E T C H

Arnav Singh Raizada

Hot headed, impulsive, ladies man. He had always been never here nor there, breezing through school and life without any tension.
That is, until his brother, Akash Singh Raizada, decided that enough was enough.

Forced to relocate to Delhi, he is tasked with the responsibility of transforming a crumbling, in debt company into a luxurious branch capable of being a part of AR industies.

On top of that, he has to share his apartment with a stranger and can't seem to figure why his new neighbor and secretary, Khushi Kumari Gupta, hates him so much.

Khushi Kumari Gupta

It's tough to live life joyfully when your name literally translates to happiness, especially when everyone around you is determined on making you feel the complete opposite.

Caught in between choosing to respect her parent's wishes and fulfilling her own, Khushi's life changes when her boss decides to demote her to where she had started. With her salary cut in half and ego the size of a small marble, she moves in with her best friend at an upscale part of Delhi.

Everything seems to be normal for a while. That is, until the very reason why she left Lucknow and her family shows up at her doorstep and sweeps through her life like a whirlwind.

Sneak Peek

"I hate my life," Khushi groaned as she plopped herself on the wooden bench and hastility opened her tiffin box. Her fingers roamed the depths of the box before finally taking out the sad looking grilled cheese sandwich.

"Kya hua," the girl next to her asked as she too narrowed her eyes at the thin, shiny, rubber-like sheet of cheese sticking out from the two loaves.

"That stupid," she said as she struggled to bite off the cheese. "Pandey from designing decided that there were too many people under the department---"

"Uh oh, Khush. Did he--?"

"No, he didn't," she said as she waved her hands animatedly, the sheet of cheese flopping from side to side. "He doesn't have the guts to. The designing team would lose half its productivity if he fired me."

"But? There will always be a but when the Khushi Kumari Gupta tells her best friend that she hates her life."

"He demoted me."

"No. Kaise? You've single handedly did almost all the projects this year."

"I know," she croaked as she rubbed her temples. "You think I didn't argue? But no, that stupied cheeseball gave me his ugly cheesy smile and said 'bohaut lok fire ho gaya, demotion toh koi bath hi nahi. I don't know what to do Aaliya."

Aaliya looked up and gave her a reassuring squeeze. "How much is the cut back?"

"Twenty two percent," Khushi replied, the words tasting bitter on her mouth.

"Ouch."

She gave mirthless smile. "You can say that again. I can barely afford the apartment I live in, Amma is hell bent on making me move back to Lucknow and if she learns about this, it would be another reason to her already long list."

"Listen," Aaliya said as she grabbed the sandwich from her best friend's hand and handed her the bowl of aloo parathas. "Eat this, it's better AND cheaper than the processed stuff you eat and as for aunty, I'll talk to her. You know she trus--"

"You don't have to talk to her. I'm actually considering her offer," Khushi said, repressing a moan as the paratha melted in her mouth. "I can't afford my apartment, my self respect has gone down several points. I-I don't think Delhi is the place for me."

Aaliya looked at her wearily, her heart aching for her best friend. It was true that they worshipped different religions--- she was a devout muslim and as for Khushi, that girl had a personal hotline connected to her devi maiyya. But they had quickly become friends two years ago when they were both interns---their mutual hate for their jobs and their bosses acted as a catalyst for their friendship.

They respected their beliefs and even celebrated some of each others holidays. Truth to be told, Khushi Kumari Gupta was the only friend Aaliya Ghulam Haider had in Delhi.

"Look Khushi," she said, finally breaking the silence. "What's your biggest worry right now?"

"Repressing the urge to squeeze that cheeseball to death."

"Khushi..."

"Fine. Finding a place to stay. I have to move out of the apartment before the 25th."

"Perfect," Aaliya said as she chewed the paratha. "Dimple is in the process of moving out and I was already looking for a roomate so..."

Khushi blinked. "So?"

"I'm asking you whether you want to be my roomate boodhu," Aaliya chuckled. "I know its a small place but your the closest person I have to a sister in this city and at this point, anyone is better than Dimple."

Khushi rubbed her sweaty palms on her kurti. "Are you sure? I don't want to impose and all and knowing you, you're probably doing---"

"I'm not doing this out of pity," Aaliya said as she placed a gentle hand on her friend's shoulder. "I was going to make the offer a while ago but the opportunity never came up."

Khushi sighed and peered at the girl next to her. When they had first met, she had developed an immediate distaste of her. The girl was hot headed and impulsive, she was competition. But as the months rolled by, Khushi learned that she cared deeply for her family -- just like herself. She learned that Aaliya hated mint chocolate icecream and could almost beat her in a Salman Khan trivia contest.

"Are you absolutely sure?"

"Yes," Aaliya sighed and gave her a toothy smile. "Positively."

"Well then, when should I move in?"

----
Hello fellow Arnav-Khushi lovers. I know the premise is really vague and the sneak peak only gives a peek (ha, see what I did there) but the story will unfold in the next couple of chapters. I introduced a new character (Aliya). If you guys have ever watched the show Beintehaa, you'll know who she is. Lately, the Beintehaa forum has been dead and after I was watching IPKKND for the 10th time along with Beintehaa, I thought it would be interesting to mix the two worlds together. I love IPKKND so of course, the main focus will be on Arnav and Khushi with Aliya and her love interest being secondary characters. The next chapter will be chapter one and you'll get to meet Mr. Arnav Singh Raizada and his partner in crime.

P.S. Yes, Payal and Akash are in the story but they play very minor roles. The same goes for Nandkishore and we'll see how Anjali comes into this.

INDEX

Prologue/Sneek Peak Above
Chapter 1:Announcements
Chapter 2:Introduction
Chapter 3: Short-cuts
Chapter 4: Deals
Chapter 5: Upcoming
Chapter 6: Upcoming

Edited by AnaayaArshi - 8 years ago

bubulswt thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
interesting start continue soon
sadhnasoumya thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2
This is very interesting
Waiting for next part
Never watched beinteha
khareshelley thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
interesting.. would love to read more..!!!!!!!
AnaayaArshi thumbnail

HIT BY DESTINY
Chapter 1: Anouncements

Khushi woke up with a raging headache. It was as if someone had taken a small ball the size of her wrist, shoved it through her ears while a hammer pounded her head on the beat of the Circle of Life from the Lion King.

She propped herself up, wincing at the various cracks and pops that resulted from her aching bones. What time was it? Her eyes felt crusty and bile gathered in her mouth as she smelt her morning breath. The last thing she recalled was crying herself to sleep after yet another argument with her Amma.

She was a strong lady, her Amma. When she was younger, her father would tuck in her hair into a neat ponytail and when she resisted, he would tell her how she got her temper and beauty from her Amma. But as stubborn as her mother was, she was ten times more persistent.

So when she had called her last night, Khushi put a strong facade in her voice and ignored her mother's biting words for the umpteenth time. With fake reassurance, she had told them that yes, she was fine and no, she would not be moving back home.

Her mother had made a noise of disapproval and changed the topic, telling her all about Payal's pregnancy. It was a refreshing news. Ableit, her sister had told her before telling their mother but Khushi put the fake surprise in her voice as she heard her mother talk animatedly.

"And Akash," her mother adored her son in law. "You should see the way he looks at her and takes care of her. I was talking to them in...what do you call that thing? E-pod? I-mad?"

"Ipad Amma."

"Oh yes. Oh Khushi," her mother had said, using the sweet, charming voice Khushi would crumble too. "If only I could find a beta like that for you. Afterall, what am I going to tell your real Amma once I--"

"You're my real mother," she had interjected awkwardly. "And I don't want to get married now. I'm only 21. Maybe in 3 or 4 years, I'll consider it."

"Hai Devi Maiyya," her mother had groaned. "What am I going to do with this ladki? This is all Payal and your father's fault, they spoiled you...You know, Arnav is si--"

"Don't talk about that devil in front of me," she had huffed. "Ek number ka besharam hai, besharam."

"Fine," her mother had huffed before cutting the line. "Don't say I didn't tell you. One day he's going to get married and have kids and you'll regret it."

Khushi breathed deeply. Last time she heard, he lived in London or was it New York? Apparently he was studying abroad or something. She had met him once and she seriously doubted that. Him and studying? Willingly? No chance.

She weighed the two possibilities in her head as she trudged to the bathroom. At one hand there is Lucknow. Sweet old Lucknow with its Jalebi shops and homecooked meals. She didn't have to work there --- she could live a life of leisure now that her sister and her husband practically upgraded their house into a mini lavish spa.

And then there was Delhi. Delhi with its crowded streets, its rude bosses who demoted people. Delhi had processed foods and plasticy cheese.

But Delhi had also had freedom. Freedom she had longed since her sister got married 4 years ago. Lucknow had liberty, yes, but it was suffocating.

She spat out the tooth paste. For once in her time in Delhi, Khushi Kumari Gupta did not know what to do.

- - - -
"Bhai," he groaned as he clutched his phone close to his ear. "Bhai, you can't do this. I'm only 24 for god's sake. I can't handle all of this..."

He heard his brother chuckle in the background and repressed the urge to scream like a five year old.

"Look Arnav. I'm not asking you for much. We are trying to open another branch in Delhi and its time that you took responsibility. Afterall, you do own 50 percent of ASR industries."

He huffed. His life was not supposed to be like this. He had returned from London two years ago and to avoid going to office, enrolled himself to the best buisness school in the city. Of course, he had to do some wooing to get his entry but dammit, he was the Arnav Singh Raizada and no one, and he meant no one, rejected him.

The school was filled with fashionable, beautiful girls who could calculate his net worth within seconds. Not that he cared, he had enough money to feed the next fourteen generations in his family. And so, his academic career deteorated from As to Ds while his career with girls, let's just say it was doing well. Really well.

"Bhai," he begged for what seemd like the thousandth time. "Look, I'll make you a promise. I'll get my grades up and I'll---"

He heard his brother sigh. "I've heard that promise many times Arnav. You're moving to Delhi. That's final."

"But Bhai," he argued.

"No buts," Akash replied. "I'll text you the address after I hang up and your first day starts this Friday. I'll send you the ticket for your flight."

And with that, his brother hung up. He was screwed, big time.

-----

Hello all! Thank you so much to everyone who replied and left feedback. This was chapter one and I hope you guys like it. I have exams coming up soon (the perks of living in a city that gives exams literally the same week as the start of summer vacation) so I don't know when the next chapter will be up. But that being said, we're introduced to Arnav in this chapter. YAY! As you can see, Mr. Raizada is not at all like the TV show BUT I promise you that he will not be as immature and childish as he seems now. This is my first time writing something like this so you can imagine how difficult it is for me. That being said, your responses motivate me so don't forget to send me a message. Thank you so much!

---
A N I K A
(Yes, that's my real name. No, it's not from Ishqbaaz)

aspatel2 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Nice Start... looking forward to read more of the story...

AnaayaArshi thumbnail

Hey everyone! Sorry for the late update. I had my exams and everything so I had no time to write. Honestly, I feel like the writing in this chapter isn't very strong and there's paragraphs of just mindless things. It's the product of my stress and lack of sleep. I promise I'll get the next chapter up by this Friday.

You'll see Khushi and Arnav's first meeting and I'll reveal why they dislike each other so much through snippets of flashbacks. The majority of this chapter is a flashback from Payal's wedding.

Do let me know about any concerns/thoughts/opinions,etc.

Also, I appologize in advance for any formatting issues/grammar. IF has been acting quite weird and I had the format everything manually.

Thank you!
~Anika

Chapter 2: Introductions

Akash and Payal's Wedding Three Years Ago

Khushi sat on the foot of the bed, watching her sister as the makeup artist put final touches on her face. If there was one thing the Guptas were blessed in were in their looks. Payal was the epitome of the statement-- her warm kind eyes matched with perfectly shaped lips that lit up the whole room when she smiled.

Khushi sighed. Her sister was perfection, as was this wedding. Her soon-to-be jiju didn't fail to amaze her with his meticulous attention to detail. The man had a schedule planned the schedule for the wedding a half a year ago, when he first proposed, and had already made the arrangements with the florist, makeup artists, and caterers five months back.

Though, it did amuse her when her he decided to hold the wedding in her neighborhood. The Raizadas were rich and western and images of a nice old country club or a golf course filled her mind when the wedding was first announced. Yet the designated venue was Sheesh Mahal. It too had been lavishly decorated. It had always been one of the most beautiful places she had seen. It was true that she hadn't traveled very much in her mere eighteen years but nevertheless, she fell in love with it every time she visited. How her jiju managed to make it look even better was beyond her.

"Arrey Khushi," her sister's voice broke her out of her trance.

"Yeah Jiji?" She looked up and noticed the many odd stares she was listening. She touched her face unconsciously. Did she get flour on her face again?

"I've been calling you about a million times," her sister responded with an arched brow. "Whose thoughts are you lost in?

She flushed and dropped her hands.

"Nonsense," she said waving her hands around. "I was just thinking about wedding and everything that's happened in the past year. It feels almost surreal, doesn't it?"

"Voh toh hai," Payal smiled softly. "I never thought that all this would happen in my life. Soch bhi nahi sakti thi. I don't know what I did to get all this. [That's true. I never thought that all this would happen in my life. I didn't even think about it and I don't know what I did to get all this.]

Khushi shook her head and fixed the bindi on her sister's forehead. "Bakwas, yeh devi maiyya ka thank you hai aap ke liye. Aap itne achi hai. You deserve all of this, every bit of it. [Nonsense, this is devi maiyya's way of thanking you because you're so good. You deserve all of it, every bit of it.]

Payal shot her a smile. "Tuh nah kuch zyada hi bolti hai pagli. [You say a bit too much / You flatter me too much].

"I'm your sister, she responded as she stood up and dusted off her skirt. "It's my duty."

"KHUSHI!"

She jumped, knocking her head against the bedpost loudly. "Arrey, araam se. [Carefully].

"Sorry jiji," she fisted her lehanga on her hands and glanced at her sister. "You know how stressed Amma has been the past few days."

Her sister gave her a humorless smile and awkwardly diverted her eyes. "Meri shaadi ke liye... [It's because of my wedding.]

"Don't start again jiji," she said as she dashed towards the door. "Tumhari shaadi ke liye sabse khushi Amma hai... Accha, I'll be back. Let me see what she needs. [Don't start again jiji. Amma is the happiest person because of your wedding. Okay, I'll be back. Let me see what she needs.]

Garima Gupta leered as she stared at the boy in front of her. He looked scared out his mind and he should damn well be. It was her daughter's wedding and anything less than perfection would not suffice.

It was as if bhagwan [god] himself came down and decided that nothing would go right in this wedding. So far, the horses they had rented had excreted throughout the neighborhood which generated a plethora of complaints from the neighbors. The caterers had accidentally put too much sugar in one of the sweets and she didn't trust them enough to remake it. On top of that, this boy had come 10 minutes prior and hadn't said a world to her.

"Well? She asked, tapping her foot against the floor. The boy gulped as he eyed the spatula in her hand and diverted his eyes down.

"Kuch bol na? She raised the spatula and aimed it to his arm. [Say something?]

"Voh..aunty, he stammered as she scratched the back of his nervously. "The lights...um, at the lights at Sheesh Mahal.

Her eyes widened and she could feel them bulging out of their socket. "What happened to the lights?

"Voh...fuse kharap ho gaya aur lights on nahi ho raha hai, he said very quickly, ducking behind the counter in case she took a swing. [The fuse is bad and none of the lights are turning on.]

"Kya? You're all useless. Absolutely useless, she said, steam blowing from both years. "Subha se na ghore ko sambhal paye ho na khana aur upar se lights. Useless. [What? You're all useless. Absolutely useless. Since this morning, you guys couldn't handle the horse or the food and now the lights. Useless.]

"Sorry aunty, he said, still shielding himself behind the counter.

"Let me see if Khushi can fix it. She's always been doing this stuff in our house everytime anything went bad...KHUSHI! [Yeah, yeah it's okay.]

"Coming Amma!

Her daughter came scrambling towards her, clutching a fistful of her lehanga on her hands. It was times like this when Garima realized how different her life would've been if her younger daughter did not come into her life. The girl had single handedly managed all the details of the wedding along with Akash, she had ordered the sweets, called the guests, arranged the hotels and bargained with the decorators until they were forced to reduce the price. If Payal was the wind, Khushi was the storm that rattled everyone awake.

"Arrey Lucky! Khushi laughed as she noticed the boy hiding underneath the counter. "Tum? Yahan? Who are you hiding from? [Lucky? You? Here? Who are you hiding from?]

Lucky looked at her sheepishly and pointed at Garima.

"Amma, aap use pareshaan kyon kar rahe hain? [Amma, why are you annoying/worrying him?]

"Hain hain, her mother replied sarcastically and motioned towards the door. "It's always me annoying people. Ab usske sath jao aur fuse ke saath uskee madad karo. [Yes, yes. It's always me annoying people. Go with him and help him with the fuse.]

"What happened to the fuse? she asked as she poked Lucky on the rubs.

"Yeh on nahi ho raha hai meree maa. Usske sath jao aur fix karo. [It's not turning on. Go with him and fix it.]

"Fine, fine, she said, raising a brow at her mother's sudden impatience. "I'm going. Let's go Lucky.

"Hamari didi bahut multi talented hai, Lucky said as she struggled to twist the wrench. [Our sister is very multi-talented].

She smiled and peered at the group of boys through her lashes. She had always been called naive but Khushi Kumari Gupta wasn't stupid. She was well aware of the things that occurred around her and she knew the affect she had on the group of boys.

They were mere teenagers, the oldest being Sunny Lucky's brother who was fifteen years old. The poor soul was the first one to develop some sort of fascination towards her when he was just thirteen and since then, he would blush every time she went near him.

Her sister found it fascinating as did her Amma. They called the group Khushi's fan club'.

She found it kind of...amusing and cute. The bacchae party, as she had named them, was always there for constant support and motivation. Frankly, she found them to be better acquaintances than the other girls who lived in the neighborhood.

"Voh toh main hoon, she said finally as she twisted the bolt until it fell gently on her palm. "I'm your sister after all. I have to be multi-talented to keep all of you out of trouble. [That I am]

"Aunty se much bachaane ke lie thank you, Lucky shouted as he held and the others held the ladder tightly. "Agar aap ne mujhe bachaaya nahi hota toh aunty aaj mujhe maar diya hota. [Thank you for saving me from aunty. If you hadn't, aunty would've killed me today.]

She pulled the socket open and adjusted the flashlight she was holding with her other hand.

"Amma is just stressed from the wedding, that's all. Yesterday, she threatened me with the jhadoo because the decorators weren't picking up the phone.

She heard a collection of gasps. "Main kabhee bhee aapko jhaadoo ke saath hit nahi hone doonga, she heard one of them mutter. [I would never let you get hit with a broom].

"Really, she replied. "Tum toh bahaut hi kamal ho. [You are very amazing].

"Did you hear that? She called me kamal. Me. None of you. Me.

Khushi glanced at them and suppressed a chuckle. She took a step down from the ladder as she finally put the fuse back to its place.

"Count down from 10, she said as she took another step. "The lights should come back on by then.

"10...

One more step.

"9...
"8...
"7...

This ladder is so bloody long, she thought as she caught her skirt with one hand. And why is it so damn slippery?

"6...
"5...
"4...

She took one more step down when she felt her heel get caught in the silky fabric of her lehanga. Panic shot through her veins as she felt herself hurl backwards. This was it, this was how she was going to go.

She could already imagine the headlines. Young girl dies on the day of her sister's wedding by falling 20 foot from a ladder.'

"3...
"2..."

She swung her hand forward, trying to hold on to the leg of the ladder. Instead, her hand grabbed a fistful of air and her legs gave out from the awkward position. Her body curved at an awkward angle and she closed her eyes as she waited for the impact.

"1...

She felt herself collide with a pair of strong arms and she wrapped her arms around the person's neck. Who ever was strong as he held her up with ease. And tall. Very tall.

SCROLL DOWN FOR PART TWO.
AnaayaArshi thumbnail
Chapter 2- Part 2

"Lucky, she laughed nervously as she patted his shoulder. "Tuh itna bara hua kaise?"

"Didi, a voice from faraway reply. "That's not me."

Adrenaline pumped through her veins and her eyes shot open quickly.

Who was this strangle man holding her up? If it was one of those creeps who stayed near the crevices of the Mahal who she was warned to stay away from...But then again, they smelled like a mixture of piss and sweat and this man, whoever he was, smelled really good. Like the protagonists from the romance novels she and her jiji secretly read after midnight.

Her eyes traced the man's face. He had a sharp jaw dotted with a stubble. He had a slightly crooked nose she wanted to touch it. It was one of the most beautiful noses she had seen. Abliet, she didn't stare at the nose of men she met but still...Finally, she met his eyes. It was as if devi maiyya took one of those expensive cadbury chocolates she would beg Amma to buy for her and melted them into a pool and fixed them in his eyes.

She always thought brown was a boring color but she had never seen so many shades swirl together like marble.

No, his eyes weren't brown.

She was wrong.

They were honey.

Topaz.

Chesnut.

Amber.

Beige.

She could name the colors for the rest of her life. "Y..you're not Lucky," she weakly said.

The man's lips curved into a smirk. "I'm not."

"Who are you?"

"Arnav. Arnav Singh Raizada"

Raizada? Like the Raizada family her sister was being wedded into. She knew that Akash had a sister and another sibling. Khushi's eyes widened slightly as realization dawned upon her.

"Aap jiju ka bhai hai?" [You're juju's brother?]

A look of amusement and surprise crossed his face for a second before it was once again replaced by the smirk. She was starting to find it rather infuriating...And hot. Really, really hot.

"Tum meri bhabi ka bahen ho?" [You're my sister-in-law's sister?]

"Yes, I'm my sister's younger sister."

"I thought you were supposed to be you know...younger. Like, a lot younger," he said, ignoring the dripping sarcasm from her last comment.

"Aren't you supposed to be a lot older...and look more like your brother."

"Why? Are you disappointed?"

No. "You never answered my question."

He sighed. "Yes and no. I'm his cousin but I'm Di's Anjali's younger brother. But bhai is practically like my real bhai. Well, not biologically but..."

Her lips curved into a smile as she heard him trail off. She found his rambling kind of adorable. It made the facade of strength and the aura surrounding him a little less mysterious.

"Well?"

She looked up and locked her eyes with his. "W..What?"

"I asked why you were up on that ladder."

"The fuse wasn't working," she answered lamely. "And I had to fix it."

"You couldn't hire an electrician?"

"Here in Lucknow," she shot back quickly. "We tend to do our work ourselves."

He raised a brown and his eyes crinkled slightly. "Is that why you need help standing up?"

"What?"

"I'm still holding you up.

She blushed. She had forgotten that she was still in his arms and the boys were staring at them with a dirty look. She saw Lucky fold his sleeves back and glance at her, as if he was waiting for her permission to take a swing at him. She gently shook her head and his dropped his hand with a look of disappointment.

"Oh hello, you didn't let me go," she said.

"You're still holding on to my collar." Again, that stupid smirk was etched on to his face.

She quickly untangled her hands from his neck as he gently lowered her to the ground. She adjusted her duppatta awkwardly before raising her eyes.

"I..what are you doing here?"

He gave her an 'are-you-kidding-me' look and raised his eyebrows.

"I meant what are you doing here so early? The barat is supposed to be here in 2 hours."

He scratched the back of his neck sheepishly. "Bhai sent me here early. He wanted me to make sure everything was going fine."

She narrowed her eyes. She knew her jiju had good intentions but times like this reminded her of how little faith he had in her and her family.

"He also told me to tell you that no, he isn't doubting your capabilities," he added. "The florists were being rather difficult and he wanted me to check all that."

She flushed. Was she truly that predictable?"Oh, well then. Everything is going perfectly well. I...I'll see you later than."

She walked towards the group of boys and motioned them to move forward. "Are you coming with us?"

"I'll find my way in an hour." He shouted as she neared the steps."I never learned your name."

"Khushi."

"What?"

"That's my name, Khushi."

Arnav stood there for a while as she disappeared into a tiny spec in the distance. Khushi. Judging from her quick replies and the rate at which she talked, she had expected her name to be a mouthfullike her. But it was simple and short mirroring her appearance.

"Khushi," he said finally, smiling to himself.

Two days later [ present]

Khushi

She hummed as she stretched her legs and wiggled her toes. Everything in the apartment was modern and soft, so incredibly soft. The mattress felt like a cloud and the quilt engulfed her in a blanket of softness.

It had surprised her tremendously that Aaliya could afford a place like this when she moved in. The building was a high rise topped with marble stairs, greek columns and amenities that only fancy hotels had. On top of that, they lived on the last floor which had one other apartment so there were no annoying neighbors or nosy aunties. They had a rooftop garden to themselves along with a mini pool which she was planning to make use of during the summer. It was a lot different from the shabby old place she had with rickety doors and creaky hardwood floors.

Later, she learned that the building's owner was Aaliya's mamu [uncle] who, with his concern for his bhanji [niece] and in an attempt to console his sister, made her promise to live here instead of some other place in the city. It was an awkward subject and she learned that Aaliya's mami [uncle's wife] was heavily opposed to the decision.

Khushi arched her back and rubbed lazy circles around her wrist. It was a Saturday and she had minimal work. Today was the day for her to relax, take a break from everything that had happened in her life in the past couple of days.

She wasn't going to think about Pandey or his hot new secretary.

She wasn't going to think about the many marriage proposals her mother had been discretely texting her pictures of.

She wasn't going to think. Period.

She took a glimpse at the clock. 11:00 a.m. She sprung up. Hai devi maiyya, she had slept for almost twelve hours. What would Aaliya think? If her Amma were here, she would've heard an earful by now. She grabbed her towel and rushed towards the bathroom.

Two days later [present]

Arnav

"I sent you an itinerary and the names of the your new employees," he heard his brother's voice through the fuzz. "I trust that you will know at least some of them."

He rolled his eyes and stood up on the window sill, holding the railings for support as he waved his phone around and turned on the speaker. "I just got them."

"Arnav? Tum kya kar rahe ho?" Akash asked. [Arnav, what are you doing?]

"Sorry bhai," he said as he jumped off. "I can't fine network on this stupid hotel."

"About that, I have an acquaintance who runs a bunch of hotels, resorts, and apartments throughout the country. He's offered to let you stay at one of his apartments. Apparently, his son also lives there and he's also managing some of the hotels there so you'll have company."

Great. He had just moved into this damn city and he would have a roommate. Wonderful. "I can stay in the hotel, it's fine."

"No, I've already talked to him and the apartment is very close to your new office," Akash answered as he lifted up a list of employees. "As for your roommate, he's your age and you two will get along fine."

I'm not a child, I don't need you to pick my friends and where I should live, he thought as he closed his eyes and flared his nostrils. Convincing his brother was like talking to a rock, they were both indifferent. Somehow one failed class managed to rattle up his entire life--quite literally.

"Now look at the..."

"Itinerary and the names of employees, he finished for him as he scrolled through his phone and zoomed on the pictures.

"We have new show in a month? he said, frustration plastered across his face.

Akash sighed. "That's plenty of time to settle down and get things done. This is a new company and they were going near bankrupt. You have to bring its revenues from a negative to atleast zero. Plus, some of the designs have been done already... "

"And the list of employees?"

"Right, the old head has been replaced by you, obviously."

"Of course."

"Shayam Pandey is the director. That's who you should talk to to see the recent work. He's recently fired a number of employees and he has not notified anyone of the purchase of the company."

He squinted as he zoomed on the picture and noticed two names with an asterisk next to them.

"Who's Lavanya Kashyap and Khushi Kumari Gupta?"

"Oh," he heard the scuffling of papers on the other end. "Lavanya is Shayam's new secretary and Khushi used to be his old assistan."

"Is she fired?"

"No, she's been demoted...mhm, interesting...Our Khushi has done some very excellent work for the last company...wonder why she was demoted. Remember to speak to Pandey about that, please."

"What do you mean our Khushi," he asked, slightly dazed.

"I forgot to tell you ..sheuomph..payamsp..sisumph," Akash's voices molded with the fuzz.

"I can't hear you."

But it was too late and the line went dead. Khushi? Who was this Khushi? And why did her name sound so damn familiar?

khareshelley thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
nice update..!!
but can you increase the font size and pm me next time..!!
AnaayaArshi thumbnail

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it. 😊