ghalibmirza thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: adiana12

As to the how and why Birbal became a minister - Birbal was one of the courtiers in the court of the Pannah Raja where Tansen also was - and Birbal was one of those who brought about the ceasefire between Akbar and the Pannah king when the Pannah king had given sharan to Ghazi khan and had refused Akbar's request of not doing so - which led to a battle with Akbar's forces led by Maan Singh which the Pannah king lost - and in the process of negotiations one of the members from the side of the Pannah King was Birbal - then called Mahesh Das - this is as per both Akbarnama and Tabaqat - i - Akbari - and from there Birbal must have been invited to Akbar's court - but Birbal did become one of Akbar's closest confidantes and friend due to his generous nature, spirituality, intelligence, presence of mind, common sense and ability to offer different perspectives - which were the characteristics of the Emperor himself and were well appreciated by him in others as well

thanks for the info dear and i hope that the cvz do full justice to mahesh's character and not make a joke out of it! as i have less faith in their creativity! cannot trust after what they have done to jalal!
nisha26 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
wonderful quotes di!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ
i seriously hate the fact that sum1 lyk ekta specialized in showing SBS bakwaas has undertakn the job of JA.. wic is now reduced to only J!! ๐Ÿ˜”
divyavm thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: sashashyam

Your point No.1 was not really secularism, Divya dear. At that point, he did not care, he only wanted her safely tied up. The same goes for his agreeing to her 2 sharts; the Schadenfreude (German for malicious pleasure) in his eyes and face as he accepts them was a delight to behold.

Periamma, valid point. Yes, he just wanted to get married to her and that is correct about the sharts ... but getting married Hindu style was on Bharmal's wish and not a condition ... compared to MA, etc. he was open minded enough to even consider it ...

Your point No. 2 is way above all the rest, and that is why Mandy has that quote from my Gordian Knot post about Jalal at that moment. That was truly a moment of epiphany, and for me, that was the instant when Jalal became Akbar. All that followed was supplementary.

Yes, it was a true high point ... except when he said he would leave the throne, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

I do not know how and why Birbal became a Minister, and for what? My understanding was that he was appointed as the court jester, but being wise, his advice on other matters too was useful. Of course this Mahesh Das is a know all who interrupts the Shahenshah without so much as a by your leave. That scene of him and Tansen squabbling in front the Shahenshah in open court was unbelievable.๐Ÿ˜ก

Oh yes ... I have come to believe Jalal has an attraction to those who have no respect for him in public ๐Ÿ˜† Maybe he found it a novelty. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think instead of reading the Amar Chitra Katha on Akbar-Birbal the CVs may have read Tenali Raman instead ๐Ÿ˜†

That is why I said Todarmal is still miles ahead ๐Ÿ˜†

Shyamala Aunty

bokul thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: mandyg

thank you dear๐Ÿ˜›

welcome ๐Ÿ˜›
bokul thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Master Thumbnail + 3

absolutely! that is why i do not want her to show anything other than sbs then we can decide what we want to do with the serial!

she is best only for SBS not history ๐Ÿ˜†
ghalibmirza thumbnail

Originally posted by: nisha26

wonderful quotes di!!! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ

i seriously hate the fact that sum1 lyk ekta specialized in showing SBS bakwaas has undertakn the job of JA.. wic is now reduced to only J!! ๐Ÿ˜”

true that nisha! i wish and hope that in future we do have some hollywood producer make a film on akbar that can truly present his life!
nisha26 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

true that nisha! i wish and hope that in future we do have some hollywood producer make a film on akbar that can truly present his life!

hoping for the same๐Ÿ˜ญ
-RD- thumbnail
Hogwarts Championship 2025 Thumbnail Gulaal-e-Jung Thumbnail + 9
Kindly note the comments discussing history have been removed and merged with the ..::Doubts & Discussions about Historical facts::.. thread

Any further historical discussion and this thread will be closed

JA DT
ghalibmirza thumbnail
ok guys something i am going to share with you guys and it has nothing to do with history but just for general knowledge,..i was discussing with my father and he said that akbar was a sunni..which means he belonged to more strict muslim clan that are very strict about following the shariya law but still he was so liberal in his thoughts and so secular..hats off to him and i can well imagine what he must have gone through in terms of maulawis going against him!
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
My comments on one point in red, Divya.

Shyamala Periamma

Edited by sashashyam - 10 years ago