Chandan Roy Sanyal-The surprise package of Kaminey

RiyaK09 thumbnail
Anniversary 16 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail Engager 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 14 years ago
Who's that guy ?

Like most noteworthy Bollywood success stories of recent times, this too began in Delhi.

Fresh from the disappointment of not clearing theIIT entrance examination, Chandan Roy Sanyal enrolled himself in a college there and decided to pursue theatre. In retrospect. thhis innocent decision, feels Sanyal, has ended up being a landmark one. For unwittingly, Sanyal had followed the footsteps of the likes of Shah Rukh Khan, Imtiaz Ali and Anurag Kashyap, Bollywood biggies who started their career with theatre in Delhi. "I was a student of Habib Tanvir. I was only 19 when I joined his troupe," says Sanyal.

A decade later, Sanyal is shouting Dhan tana with Shahid Kapoor in one of the most-anticipated Bollywood releases of recent times, Vishal Bharadwaj's Kaminey. He is also being hailed as the surprise package of the film which has established names like Shahid and Priyanka Chopra in itโ€” Amole Gupte, who also stars in the film, feels that he is "the one to look out for". "You must be kidding me. Did he really say that? Well I'm honoured then," he beams.