Actomyo thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Angel-Jot.

The thing about Rehaan is that.. I don't think he's ever figured out anything for himself.. ever.How can you expect someone who can't even stand up for himself to stand up for Aahil? I've also noticed that Rehaan and Aahil don't exactly share a very deep relationship. There's always been this tension between them which has become more pronounced after the Sanam fiasco.

Rehaan craves the approval and the love of his mother which he still isn't getting. But he doesn't understand how to get it so he keeps mum, hoping his mother would understand what he really wants. He doesn't care enough about Aahil or even Sanam to reveal his mother's secret.

This is a character that is extremely damaged from the inside. Aahil is as well but is it mandatory that two people react the same way to a certain situation? Rehaan has difficulty coping with his childhood and the way his life has been whereas Aahil has sucked it up and put on a brave face.

To me, it's interesting to see these two different characters on the screen. All I want for Rehaan is someone who actually cares about him, someone who can help him realize that he needs to stand up for himself. There's no one to do that right now for him.

Interesting discussion, nonetheless. :)

This has to be the best post among all these Rehan- the bad vs Rehan- the good. 👍🏼
Jiyaaa..... thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Interesting and very good post!
Never thought about Rehan's character that much. Before Sahil marriage, I always liked his interaction with Aahil. They seems to have very good bonding. Rehan always claimed he loved his brother and knew him more than anyone. But the strange part that is he never realized/noticed Ahil's love for Sanam.

I think, Rehan is very self-centric character. He always cared about the people that he loved. He respects his mom and that is why he is never took any strong stand against her. I don't see anything wrong in that. That is normal human behavior. He knows that she is greedy, I don't think he knows that she killed ASYA and Ahil's dad. I have seen/heard from my friends that men usually tend to keep quite even though their mom is wrong.

Tanveer is his real mom and Ahil is his step brother. So, he is keeping quite even though his mom is wrong. I find his character more realistic, and also weak. I don't expect him to support/inform Ahil about Tanveer's wrong doings. He kept quiet when Tanveer played dirty games and made Sahil to get married. Can we expect him take stand for Ahil against his mom?

I never understood his love for Sanam( may be I am partial here, I am big SAHIL fan, anyway I will choose SAHIL over SaHaan). He hardly interacted with Sanam and wanted to get married to her. I never felt bad for Rehan because his love towards Sanam was always one-sided. It was never his.

Rehan is a good person. He will never hurt any one but at the same time he will always think about himself.

Another thing, I don't understand why everyone want Rehan to be the reason for Tanveer's downfall. Tanveer never did anything wrong to him. Whatever is she is doing for his son. I want Sanam, Sehar and Ahil to be the reason for Tanveer's downfall. They suffered a lot and should be main protagonist in this revenge drama. Definitely not Rehan.

P.S : I really like Rehan because it is played by Shehazad. He is cute. He has very good screen presence. He is not very good actor but because of his cuteness, most of the time I overlook his acting abilities. But he is definitely improving. Anyday, I would love to watch Rehan scene than HaRaFa crap.

I should say credit should go to Shehazad. If it is played by some other random actor who is not good looking, I don't think any one wanted him to paired with Sehar. Even though they showed him as positive character, definitely everyone would have objected saying that he is Tanveer's son.

Actomyo thumbnail
Rehan has to be the most weak character of QH2 inspite of being a pure soul. I never disliked Rehan right from the beginning. He is as damaged as Ahil from inside. But Ahil had a family to say, and he always thought he has a mother who loves him immensely and went to jail for his sake. The feeling of being loved and cared by someone boosts up any human being but for Rehan, he has never felt that feel of belonging to someone. He always thought he was orphan who was adopted by Begum Sahiba to stand by her son Ahil, until Tanveer revealed to him that she is his real mother and went through a lot of struggle just for him. Now which human being won't be overwhelmed by listening this? That someone went through all the difficulties and struggle just to give him a better life whereas he thought he was just a servant. But his happiness was short-lived as his mother was more money minded greedy woman, who was not ready to give him the happiness of saying the world that look, I am not a orphan, I am not a unloved person. He couldn't acknowledge her as ammi openly. He didn't approve her greedy ways and made it clear to her that he is not interested in all that money/property. But his evil mother never realized that her son needs love and not money.
Rehan has very low self-esteem when it comes to Ibrahim mansion. Remember Rehan stood up for Sanam when she was being insulted by Nida left, right and centre infront of all. There also he mentioned that he knows he is 'no one' to say his opinion in that house yet if he has a little space in the house then he would like to say something and he defended Sanam. This shows that he never felt belonged or considered there other than a servant. And we say Ahil treated him like brother?
About Ahil treating Rehan as brother I have never felt it, Ahil was good to him and confided in him for 'few' things but they ever had that brotherly heart-to-heart talks. Ahil was more like a boss who is really being good to his employee, here Rehan was the one who considered him as brother. And he was told not to call him bhai by Ahil in initial episodes. It's only after Sanam-Rehan's increasing closeness Ahil actually started giving importance or noticing Rehan more and even started talking his heart out slowly( the kahaniya hume chunti hai episode).
It was only Sanam who made him feel belonged, important because she confided in him completely and was a pure soul. That's the reason he had the rare guts to stand up for her.
Now about the most asked question why he is not informing Ahil about Tanveer's evil plan? First thing is he is not strong enough or decisive to take a stand and then face the consequences of it. He knows if he reveals this there will be total chaos and he is not capable to handle those things, that's why he just wants run away from all that or rather don't want to be a part of it. Rehan is a character who is close to reality, we have plenty of such people in our world who are good but lack the strong spirit to fight against wrong firmly, that too specially when it involves their loved ones. Don't we have friends among us, who do not take either sides when two people in their friend circle have a coldwar?
Same goes with Rehan, he feels obliged to his ammi because she has gone through so much of pain and sufferings only to give him a good life, he doesn't know she is mass murderer neither does he know she has infact killed Ahil's father. The other hand he has Ahil, who has never been loved truly by anyone, who worships a mother who is all fake and Rehan knows it, he feels for Ahil but he is not strong enough to see a shattered Ahil by saying the truth, he knows Ahil's world will come crashing down when he knows the true face of Tanveer and Rehan can't handle to see that. And also he is not sure whether Ahil will believe him or not. So Rehan has decided to be silent and indifferent to all.
He needs a push, trigger just like Sanam brought out the stronger side in him. Once he gets that strength, once he realizes his Ammi's so called sufferings he will be strong and will fight.
I have a feeling that it's Rehan who will bring Tanveer's downfall. That will be a poetic justice to Tanveer's all evilness as Rehan is the only one whom she actually loves.
Rehan's character is not etched out properly by the CVs, it's inconsistent at many points and added to it Shehzad's acting, which would not make you realise what exactly Rehan feels, it's good that Shehzad is improving now.
I feel now they will connect Rehan to all of Tanveer's victims, so his character will explore now onwards and I wish they really give him some monologues like they give of his ammi jaan just to know what actually Rehan feels or thinks.
I really don't know how long is this post and what all I have written as I can't scroll back now!
Sorry for the long essay.
farz_parachute thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
^Very objective view!

And wow you went longer than me! Rehan needs exploring. In many ways than one.

;)
Actomyo thumbnail

Originally posted by: farz_parachute

^Very objective view!

And wow you went longer than me! Rehan needs exploring. In many ways than one.

;)

Haha, I didn't have an idea that the post ended up this long 😆
Thank you for reading, I appreciate your patience.
nautanki_anu thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Wow Bhavna. You have described Rehan beautifully without glorifying or bashing him or any other character which is a rarity on this forum 👏.
Edited by nautanki_anu - 11 years ago
964749 thumbnail
Nice objective views @Angel-Jot and Bhavna. Really enjoyed reading your posts. Made me see a new dimension in the character Rehaan. Thank you for sharing your views. :)

Personally I think the Rehaan character has been left open-ended and is therefore open to interpretation. That's why there is so much debate over him. CVs are confused as to which direction they want to take his character in. Hence the inconsistencies. That coupled with Shehzaad's lack of expressions doesn't help. But he is improving...
Edited by .Serendipity. - 11 years ago
SheAish thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Originally posted by: bhavnahm

Rehan has to be the most weak character of QH2 inspite of being a pure soul. I never disliked Rehan right from the beginning. He is as damaged as Ahil from inside. But Ahil had a family to say, and he always thought he has a mother who loves him immensely and went to jail for his sake. The feeling of being loved and cared by someone boosts up any human being but for Rehan, he has never felt that feel of belonging to someone. He always thought he was orphan who was adopted by Begum Sahiba to stand by her son Ahil, until Tanveer revealed to him that she is his real mother and went through a lot of struggle just for him. Now which human being won't be overwhelmed by listening this? That someone went through all the difficulties and struggle just to give him a better life whereas he thought he was just a servant. .

I think you understand Rehan's character well. But the issues that you have used to explain his character are inaccurate as shown in Q2..
1. Rehan is nowhere NEAR as DAMAGED as Ahil is. Yes Rehan is an orphan and didn't believe that anybody loved him. BUT that in itself does not damage someone to an extent that they become weak in character that you would stand by when someones life is getting completely destroyed right in front of your eyes.
We as humans when left to develop on our own without cunning influences would naturally progress to be a NORMAL good person even without love, which Rehan is portrayed as.
Ahil on the other hand is ALSO an orphan and although Tanveer was there in his life WITH HIM for a very SHORT period, she made him greatly suffer at his fathers hands and then made him believe SHE is going to SUFFER in jail for HIS crimes. Yes he believes Tanveer loved him. BUT actually TANVEER made sure that he feels he is indebted to him TOTALLY and that he OWES HIS WHOLE Life to HER which a normal mother would never do even if she did take up her kids crimes on her shoulders. So THAT LOVE was actually MORE DAMAGING than believing no one loves you at all.
To TOP it off Ahil was specifically BROUGHT UP by Khala and Khalu to be pretty much like an animal who takes what ever he wants when he wants but was never shown affection in any way. The fact that he turned out to be actually much better than he was brought up to be behavior wise is credit to his good natured self only.
Irrespective of all this, he still stands up for the weak and does not let injustice rule in front of him. Shows respect to elders and only takes what is given with consent but not otherwise.
He was only shown to act OTHERWISE with Sanam ONLY specially with regards to her dhaba and even then he paid for it. He DID wrong but his behavior with regards to Sanam is a completely different story.

2. The other point I would like to raise is that what most of us has a problem with Rehan is that we all understand he is a weak character so may not be able to HANDLE consequences of exposing Tanveer, BUT he has NOT even STOOD up to her even VERBALLY like he has done when it came to marriage with Sanam. His mother is not just doing something bad in the EVERYDAY SENSE OF BAD. She is planning to COMPLETELY DESTROY Ahil financially and emotionally.
One should AT LEAST VERBALLY STAND UP in SUCH cases even if this is being done to a STRANGER by your parent or relative let alone to some one you grew up with together.
THIS is where Rehan differs from the typical good but weak guy he is otherwise shown to be.
Now the reason that Rehan's character is being so much appreciated despite this is because he is a NORMAL guy. I have seen people describe him as realistic, someone they can relate to. etc. That is true because problematic and socially damaged people like AHIL are not easily relatable because they are not the "NORM" but the "ABNORMAL" people. Having said this people like AHIL are AS REAL as Rehan, both of these kinds of people exist in all societies but generally and for the majority we CAN"T UNDERSTAND characters like Ahil.

I know that even those who are showing all this appreciation for Rehan ALSO DOES LIKE AHIL but if push came to shove Rehan will get their vote because as in their own words Rehan is RELATBLE for most people in REAL LIFE.
And the fact that Shehezad is cute factors in as well. Just as they like Ahil because he is easy on the eye too, even though they would find it really hard to LIKE HIM as a character in real life. And ofcourse KVBs FABULOUS acting GREATLY contributes why rehan shippers still likes Ahil.

Those of us who are pointing out that Rehan is UNWORTHY of all this adoration like me are saying that the fact his actions or rather inactions as regards to his moms intentions towards Ahil is not JUST a character weakness to be shoved under the carpet like that. BUT it actually shows BAD Character on his part where as Ahil with all that working AGAINST HIM is actually a GOOD Character and the BETTER one from these two.

Actomyo thumbnail

Originally posted by: nautanki_anu

Wow Bhavna. You have described Rehan beautifully without glorifying or bashing him or any other character which is a rarity on this forum 👏.

Anu, thank you. Rehan is a character which CVs have kept open to all possibilities, that's why there is never much emphasis on his character. If they want to take the story longer and add in twists Rehan may be turned into negative or grey, if not he will be same as now but with few developments.
He is truly Imraan's son, good but week, Imraan was so royally blackmailed by billi and still he couldn't do anything about it, its only at the end he gathered courage because of Zoya's words and of the fear of losing Najma. I hope CVs won't make him Tanveer's son.
livelytanu thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5
@SheAish
Awesome reply! 👏 Agree completely!!
Others good too. I am loving this debate.
Edited by ...Tanu... - 11 years ago