The Author of this post have chosen to restrict the content of this Post to members only.
Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai - 1st Aug 2025 EDT
Kumkum Bhagya New Season | Episode Discussions Thread #5
MERI MUMMA GEETU 31.7
🏏India tour of England 2025: 5th Test: Eng vs India- Oval, Day 2🏏
GEETU & KICHDI 1.8
New Time Slot
71st National Film Awards (Celebrating 2023)
Katrina Kaif Pregnancy Rumours
Congratulations SRK National Award
Anupamaa 01 Aug 2025 Written Update & Daily Discussions Thread
My Box Office Predictions for Son of Sardar 2
Aamir Junaid Ki Nayi Scheme
Makers mission to prove Navri incompetent in all aspects.
AR Murugadoss Blames Language Barrier For Sikandar Failure
Congratulations National Award Winning Actress Rani Mukerji
Pageturner Bhidus💫Reading Challenge August 2025
Bookaholic Yaars 👩🏻🤝👩🏽 || BT Reading Challenge, August 2025
10 years of Drishyam
💕 Lexophile Dosts 💕 August 2025 Reading Challenge
22 years of Hungama
Chapter 11 is here, guys 😳 Happy Reading 😛
CHAPTER 11
Asad was sleeping peacefully when an annoying ringing sound pierced through his dreams, snapping him back to earth. He looked at the clock with groggy eyes and groaned out loud on seeing the time. The clock read 7:00 a.m.
He had slept in, missing his Fajr prayers as well as his daily morning work out. Damn! He hated when that happened.
Further fueling his annoyance was the irritating ringing sound which refused to go away. He looked around and saw Zoya's laptop propped open on her sofa while she was missing. Someone was calling her on Skype and whoever it was, didn't know when to give up.
Running a hand through his tousled hair, he got up to see where she was; already guessing that she was probably in the bathroom. He went closer to the laptop to see who was calling her so early. The photo of a handsome young man, with warm, twinkling brown eyes and a strong jaw greeted him, with hair that fell in a windswept tuft across his forehead and a charming smile that excluded confidence and a carefree mannerism. His one arm was draped lightly around Zoya's shoulder who beamed out of the screen at Asad, her dimples flashing. He read the name above, Zaroon Hussain.
He was surprised at himself when his forehead immediately creased on seeing the handsome guy with his wife in front of him. He didn't like the way that guy had his arm around his Zoya? His Zoya? Ummm... his wife.
Reaching down he rejected the call without giving it a second thought.
As if on cue, the bathroom door swung open and Zoya came out with her toothbrush dangling from her mouth and toothpaste froth smeared at the corners of her lips. Asad massaged his temples looking at the girl. Didn't she know you were supposed to brush your teeth inside the bathroom?
She opened her mouth hurriedly but Asad quickly cut her off. "Please Miss. Farooqi, rinse your mouth first."
She again opened her mouth indignantly and again he cut in, "I'm not going to understand what you're going to say as it is, its better you wash your mouth first."
She glared at him before stomping back inside and came back a couple of minutes later.
"Mr. Khan, first of all you're very rude. Secondly, did someone just called me on Skype?"
He ignored the first part of her speech and answered to the later part, reluctantly. "Yes."
"Well? Who was it? Zaroon?"
"Why don't you check yourself? I'm going to the bathroom."
"Mr. Khan, I know you know who called me just now. You were standing right next to the laptop."
"Fine, it was Zaroon and I rejected his call. Happy?"
"You rejected his call? Why?" Zoya asked incredulously.
"Because that guy doesn't know when to hang up. You were in the bathroom and the constant ringing was annoying the hell out of me."
"You have no right to cancel my calls, Mr. Khan. If the ringing was bothering you, you could've just answered it and tell him that I was in the bathroom."
"I'm not your secretary, Miss. Farooqi. I'm not going to sit here and answer your calls. I've got better things to do in life."
"Yeah, like sitting around and 'rejecting' my calls?!" Zoya snapped at his back as he strode to the bathroom and locked himself in.
Asad leaned inside the bathroom door and exhaled with a whooshing sound. Even he didn't know why he had rejected Zaroon's call. Why didn't he want Zoya talking to him? What did it matter to him?
'Simply because she's my wife.' He told himself. 'She might be a temporary one but no one knows that. If Miss. Farooqi keeps on talking to Zaroon this way, people would start wondering... yeah, that's it. That's why I rejected his call. As it is, I don't believe that girls should be free with guys to this degree. I mean, what was Miss. Farooqi thinking taking a photo like that with a male friend? And that Zaroon? at least he should have the decency not to allow it. Doesn't he respect women? That's why I'm not liking this guy. Nothing personal, of course.' He tried to make himself believe.
'Well, the way you acted, people might think you're jealous.' The little voice in his head sneered.
'Jealous? Why would I be jealous? I barely know her. Hell, we're still not on first name bases yet.' Mumbling to himself, he opened the tap and splashed water on his face. Quickly shedding off his clothes, he stepped inside the shower, letting the cold water wash his thoughts and clear his mind. He had a meeting to attend today. Sure it was in the evening but still he had to focus.
20 minutes later, he came out of the bathroom to see Zoya still sitting on the sofa with her laptop in her lap. She glared at him as soon as he stepped out.
"Mr. Khan, why did you have to reject Zaroon's call, huh? Now, he's not picking up and I'm getting worried."
"There's nothing to be worried about, Miss. Farooqi. If he has gone deaf and can't hear a call coming, it's not your fault, is it?"
"No, it's yours." She retorted before turning back to her laptop.
Asad rolled his eyes as he moved towards the bed, flexing his neck. He didn't know why he was glad that Zaroon wasn't picking up but it was really annoying how Zoya was fretting over such a small thing. It annoyed him. And adding to his annoyance was the dull ache in his left arm, a throbbing that refused to go away. He wondered vaguely why it was so as he flexed his arm back and forth. It felt stiff too
"Are you trying to show off your biceps, Mr. Khan?" Zoya intruded his thoughts.
"No..." He rolled his eyes. "I just have a dull ache that's really bugging me. I don't know why... Oh it's because of you!" He exclaimed suddenly.
"I know you like to blame me for everything that goes wrong in your life Mr. Khan, but now this too? Don't you like you're going a bit overboard with this?" Sarcasm dripped from Zoya's voice as she huffed indignantly.
"No Miss. Farooqi, you clung to my arm all night yesterday. That's why it's so stiff."
"Umm... I didn't know you were so delicate." Zoya retorted as she felt her face heating up at the way he said that.
"I'm not delicate. You're just heavy."
"Allah Miyaan, what's wrong with you Mr. Khan?" She began in a loud voice when a beeping sound interrupted her speech. "Oh Zaroon's here." She exclaimed happily.
Asad's eye brows knitted together as he moved a little to the side on the pretext of picking up a file while glancing inconspicuously at the laptop. Surely enough, the famous Zaroon was there. Wearing a black T-shirt, he looked like he was sprawled on the sofa with the laptop on his legs and currently, he was glaring at Zoya with his arms crossed over his chest. He looked pissed off.
"Hello Zaroon! I missed you so much!" Zoya shrieked as soon as his face appeared on the screen, almost bouncing up and down on the sofa.
Raised eye brows from Zaroon were all she got in response.
"Zaroon! Are you mad at me? You look angry." She made puppy dog eyes at him.
"No, why would I be mad at you?" He asked sarcastically. "Allah Miyaan just designed my face like this."
Zoya giggled and Asad felt himself getting irritated. That wasn't anything to laugh at. And why was Zoya wasting her energy with this guy anyway. If he was angry, she should just let him be.
"How are you Zaroon?" She asked, deepening her dimples.
"How do I look?" He grumbled.
"Hot! You always look hot in black," She replied beaming a little too brightly and Asad dropped the file he was supposed to be reading. Did his wife just call another guy hot in front of him?
Zaroon's face cracked into a slight smile. "You sure do know how to talk, don't you?"
Zoya nodded smugly.
"And you sure know how to flash those dimples." He sighed, running a hand through his already messy hair. "Okay, go ahead and explain... Please explain why I didn't receive an invitation to your wedding. Forget an invitation; I wasn't even aware that my so-called best friend was getting married!" Hurt could clearly be read in his brown orbs and Zoya felt her heart melting.
"I'm so sorry, Zaroon." She said in a low voice.
"I know you're sorry, yaar. That's written in bold letters across your face," He smiled lightly. "Just hit me with the mind-blowing excuse you've cooked up, will you?"
"I don't make excuses, okay?"
"Sure you don't," He grinned. "Okay, now tell me seriously what happened? It's not like you to forget to inform me." His tone turned serious as he leaned forward into a sitting position.
"Zaroon... this past week has been so hectic. A couple of days after I arrived in India, Aapi dropped the bomb that we were actually here to get me married-"
"Wait a second, you actually had no idea you were getting married when you were here in US?" He asked incredulously.
"No!"
"And you just went ahead quietly and got married?" He gaped at her.
She mutely nodded.
"Just like that?"
"Yes," She answered.
"Hell no, yaar! Come on Zoe! That doesn't sound like you. Tell me why you did it?"
"Because the proposal was good-"
"Save me this crap, Zoe. It's not like this was your first good proposal... you know you've never been able to lie to me. You suck at lying and we both know that."
Asad did not like their level of friendliness. Here was Zaroon who knew every thing about his wife and he knew nothing. He felt like a fool. He slowly fastened his tie, having no plans to leave the room till their conversation was over.
Zoya found herself smiling. "You know me so well."
"You're saying it like you figured it out just now."
She laughed before her expression turned somber. "Zaroon... it was my parent's wish. They fixed this marriage when I was a kid. I couldn't say no..." Her eyes turned moist.
Asad's head snapped up on hearing this. So this is the reason she got married to him - to fulfill her deceased parent's wish? He remembered their wedding night when he had accused her of marrying him only for his name, money and good family background. He closed his eyes. How had he ended up saying something truly horrible to her when her intentions for getting married to him were the same as his? Hadn't he married her for his parents as well?
"Ahh Zoe but you could've handled it better, yaar." Zaroon's voice reached his ears. "You should've asked for some time. Get to know the guy a little... I would've talked to Zeenat Aapi and Anwar Bhaijan."
"I thought about that... but I just couldn't ask Aapi and Jeeju to come again next year. It's very difficult for Jeeju to take time out. This is our first trip to India after 20 years. There's no one in US to handle his business... and I figured that I had to do it someday, why not now?"
"Zoe... you should've told me before. We could've worked something out. Why didn't you call me, yaar?" He asked softly.
"My cell broke, Zaroon. I asked Maha to tell you-"
"And that scatter-brained girl forgot. I know the rest... Anyways, are you happy there?"
"Yes," Zoya put on a convincing smile.
"Seriously? Because if you're the least bit uncomfortable there, I can come by the next flight and get you out of there. I will talk to Zeenat Aapi... You don't have to worry about that..."
Asad glowered quietly while pouring himself a glass of water to kill time and started drinking it slowly. What did he mean by 'get you out of there?' Is this house a jail or something?
"Zaroon, I'm fine. Relax." Zoya laughed. "I love this family. They're the most wonderful people you can come across."
Asad's lips lifted in a smile for the very first time this morning.
"I don't believe you anymore. I'll believe it only when I see through my very own eyes. I'm coming to India." Zaroon declared suddenly and Asad choked on the water he was drinking.
"What? No Zaroon you aren't!"
"Do I look like I'm asking your permission?" He cocked an eye brow with a slightly teasing smile.
"Shut up. You just started this new job and you're going to 'try' to act responsible by being regular for at least a couple of weeks!"
"I sometimes get the feeling you care more for this job than me. You know I can get countless other jobs, Zoe." He frowned playfully.
"I know you can and I care for you, that's why I'm telling you this."
"Okaaayyy if you say so..." He let out reluctantly. "So I'm not coming now, but there's this wedding of a relative of mine at the end of this month in Bhopal? I wasn't thinking of attending it earlier but since now you're there, I'm dead sure I'm coming."
"Oh okay. That sounds awesome!"
"And if I don't like your husband, I'm taking you back with me."
Zoya just raised her eye brows with an amused smile.
"What? Why are you looking at me like that for? I'm serious! By the way, what's your hubby's name?"
"Asad... Asad Ahmed Khan"
"Wow that's a heavy name."
"I knowww," She whispered back.
"What's your address?"
"Umm... I don't know. Let me ask," She turned around to see Asad's face hidden in his upside-down file, looking totally engrossed.
"Mr. Khan?" She called out.
"You call him Mr. Khan?" Zaroon whispered disbelievingly.
"We still haven't reached the first name bases yet. We're taking it slowly." Zoya fibbed quickly.
"Weirdoes"
"Mr. Khan, Zaroon wants to know our address."
"Why?" Asad asked, lowering his file.
"Because I want to come with Zoe's Baraat. That's why." Zaroon answered instead and Asad felt his frown deepen as he narrated the address reluctantly and added, "Tell him to arrange his own accommodation."
"Oh you're such a generous soul, Mr. Khan. So much hospitality? And you're holding the file upside-down." Zoya told him and Asad flushed deeply as he threw the file on the bed and started putting his shoes on.
"I don't think I like you husband very much," Zaroon told her blatantly and she laughed.
"That's another thing that we've in common." She spoke in a low, joking voice but Asad managed to catch it and a muscle began jumping in his jaw.
"And if he's in the room, then why is he hiding, Zoe?"
"He doesn't like meeting people much."
"Oh is he that hideous?"
"Zaroon!" She chided.
"Just kidding, yaar." He laughed.
"Okay Zaroon, I gotta go for breakfast. Ammi and Tamatar will be waiting for me."
"A tomato is waiting for you?" Zaroon asked slowly, looking dubious.
"That's Asad's sister's nickname, dumbo!"
"Ohhh! How was I supposed to know?" He shrugged carelessly. "Ok, take care and bye then. And if you husband annoys you, just give him a punch from Zaroon Hussain.
'He should thank his lucky stars that he's not in this room because he would've been the one with his teeth knocked off as soon as he opened his mouth.' Asad fumed to himself.
Zoya laughed loudly oblivious to a heated Asad behind her, "You're never going to grow up, are you?"
"You say that like its possible."
"You're right. It's impossible for you to grow up."
"Growing up is boring yaar. Ok I'm gonna go have dinner. You enjoy your breakfast. Allah Hafiz."
"Allah Hafiz Zaroon. I miss you so much!"
"I miss you tons more."
"Take care," Zoya told him as she cut the call and looked up to see Asad glaring down on her, finally done with getting ready. She was pretty sure Asad did not like her talking to Zaroon and hence the angry look. For what reasons, she didn't know. What could Asad possibly have against Zaroon? Maybe he overheard something that he didn't like? She decided that she would use ear phones while conversing with Zaroon from now on.
"Miss. Farooqi, why in the world did you have to invite your friend over here?"
"Mr. Khan, don't you know it's considered rude to eavesdrop on people?"
"I couldn't help it, okay? You're apparently clueless about the fact how loud you are. And please just answer my question. Why did you invite him here?"
"Mr. Khan, this is my house too... for the time being." She added after a pause. "And I can invite anyone I want."
"No, this is my house and you're only a guest here for a month."
"No one knows that except you and me, Mr. Khan. And besides, it really is perfect that Zaroon's coming."
"Really? Please explain how so?" He demanded sarcastically.
"Mr. Khan, Zaroon is coming at the end of this month and that's when we'll be filing for our divorce. It'll really help me if Zaroon is by my side. I'll need someone's support to get all the work done and stuff... I can go back with him to America and he'll help me explain the situation to Aapi and Jeeju. He understands me better than anybody else, Mr. Khan. I could really use his help."
Asad couldn't help the sinking feeling that erupted out of the blue in his stomach. It was a little painful knowing that she was so happily and impatiently waiting to go back. Well, it wasn't as if he wanted her to stay. He wanted her to leave as well, as soon as possible.
"Okay, if that guy is coming to take you along with him, then it's fine."
"Why can't you just take his name, Mr. Khan? It's Zaroon. And you're really in a hurry to get me out of here, aren't you? Well, just so you know, I'm not dying to live with you either."
"Great. Seems like we do have something in common after all." He snapped moodily and turned to leave the room. He didn't know why but suddenly he was in a really bad mood.
"Mr. Khan?" She called out.
"What, Miss Farooqi? Please make it quick. I don't have all day." He told her in a clipped tone.
"Uh, Mr. Khan, we have to go to the airport today."
"Not me, you."
"You too, Mr. Khan. You have to come along. I don't even know the way to the airport or anything."
"That's not my problem, Miss. Farooqi."
"But Mr. Khan I told Aapi that I was coming with you."
"Well, maybe you should've asked me that before blurting something like that in front of your Aapi."
"Okay, I won't do it from now on." She said grudgingly. "Just come with me this once because if you don't, Aapi will start worrying that we two are not on a good note etc etc. I want her to leave thinking that I'm happy here so she remains happy there." She explained slowly.
Any other time, Asad would've been touched by her care for her sister but at present he was too annoyed by the whole Zaroon episode to think straight.
"Look Miss. Farooqi, the fault's yours. You shouldn't have said that you were coming with me in the first place. I've a meeting today in the evening so I can't come. I'll send the driver though. He'll take you." He told her before whipping out of the room.
"Allah Miyaan! What is wrong with this man? It's not like I'm dying to spend time with him. I'd rather choose the driver. But what will I tell Aapi?" She pouted to herself.
Suddenly, an idea hit her. She would mention this topic at the breakfast table and then Ammi will force Asad to take her.
"Zoya, you're a genius!" She told herself, pulling out a Kurti and jeans from the wardrobe and making her way towards the bathroom.
Zoya breezed into the dining room greeting Dilshad and Najma loudly and ignoring her husband.
"Assalam-o-Alaikum Ammi. Assalam-o-Alaikum Tamatar."
"Walaikum Assalam." They both replied together smiling at her. Zoya noticed that Najma looked at her outfit uneasily before throwing an apprehensive look in Asad's direction. Zoya raised her eye brows, asking her through her eyes as she made her way to the table towards her place. She got her answer as soon as she slid in her seat and Asad looked at her clothes incredulously.
"What in the world are you wearing, Miss. Farooqi?" He gritted out, standing up instantaneously. He didn't even correct himself by calling her Zoya in front of his family.
"Can't you see for yourself?" She encountered.
"Please go and change into some Shalwar Kameez." He ordered, his eyes flashing.
"I'm not comfortable wearing Shalwar Kameez. What's wrong with this?"
"No one wears such outfits in my house."
"So? It's their choice that they don't. I want to so I will."
"You're not a teenage girl anymore. You're married to me." His voice was getting louder with every word.
"Asad," Dilshad cut in but Asad stopped her midway. "Please Ammi. Let me deal with it."
"So what if I'm married to you? I'll wear whatever I like." Zoya replied angry. "I'm not going to change myself for you."
"I will not tolerate such outrageous clothes in my house." Asad bit out, his voice almost trembling with anger.
"Well maybe then you shouldn't have married me then because this is the way I am."
"I don't want to hear another word on this topic. When I get back from office, I want to see you in regular Shalwar Kameez. That's it!" He spit out as he got up from the table in a swift motion and strode out of the house, banging the door behind him.
Zoya felt angry tears clouding her vision. He had no right to insult her like that in front of his family. How could he have yelled at her over such a small issue? Didn't he respect her the least bit? That was his so-called respect for women?
She felt her throat tightening and tears of humiliation building up but biting her lower lip, she fought it off. She could feel a waterfall was on its way. She needed to get out of here before she broke down.
"I don't think I'm hungry anymore." She told Dilshad and Najma, her voice wavering slightly and without waiting for their response, she turned on her heels and fled to the privacy of her bedroom.
She threw herself on the bed and let the tears fall. She felt angry and humiliated. She couldn't believe that he had actually talked to her like this. How could he? Wasn't a husband supposed to be gentle with his wife at least for the first few days? Help her settle in? In this new country, new house, new family? After all, she had left her house for him.
More tears cascaded down her cheeks as she remembered her married friends telling her that the first few months of married life were blissful. Then why did she feel like she was going through a punishment for getting married?
She knew that this marriage wasn't going to be easy but she had no idea that it was going to be this horrible. She had thought she would get married to some decent guy who would respect her and give her time to settle in his house. Slowly they'll fall in love and then have their own happy little family. But her husband didn't even bother talking civilly with her.
"Why Ammi? Why Abbu? Why did you guys do this to me? Why did you fix my wedding with a guy who can't even respect me for who I am?" She whispered brokenly.
After a few more minutes of crying, she felt considerably better. She would be damned if she changed herself for this guy. She was going to continue wearing whatever she liked. He could go to hell for all she cared, she thought.
There was a soft knock on the door and Najma's voice floated in, "Can I please come in, Bhabhi?"
Zoya quickly wiped the remaining tears and replied, "Sure Tamatar."
Najma entered her room hesitantly, embarrassment visible on her face. "Are you alright, Bhabhi?"
"Yes, I'm fine and please call me Zoya or even better, Zoe. You're like my little sister, Tamatar. I don't want you calling me Bhabi." She smiled slightly.
"Oh okay," Najma said slowly, still looking disconcerted as she came inside and stood next to her bed. "Mind if I sit down for a while?" She asked.
"Not at all," Zoya sat facing her, her legs crossed.
"I'm... I'm really sorry about Bhaiya's behavior on the table today." Najma told her apologetically, not quite meeting her eyes.
"It's alright, Tamatar. No offence but I already kinda know that your Bhaijan's a jerk." She replied breezily and Najma giggled.
"Bhabi... I mean Zoe, I'm actually here because... I just thought... I thought it would be better for you to know why Bhaijan is... well, the way that he is." She finally let out.
"Umm... Sure Tamatar. Go ahead, I'm listening." Zoya encouraged her, not knowing where this was headed.
"Zoe, I'm sure you remember Ammi mentioning at the breakfast table yesterday that Abbu passed away when Bhaijan was only 14." She waited and on getting an encouraging nod from Zoya, continued slowly, "Zoe, Abbu's death came as a huge blow to our lives as you can imagine. It affected us all but not as much as it affected Bhaijan. It changed him completely."
She took a breath, gathering courage to go further. "Zoe, Abbu wasn't one of those people who get so busy with their office work that they start ignoring their families. Abbu was the complete opposite. He was never too busy for us. Always ready to crack a joke, always there for us... Any problem we had, we went straight to Abbu and he always had a solution. Always. He was the most understanding and loving person you can imagine... he would listen to our every demand. We would eat outside once every week, took occasional camping trips... In short, our family was perfect. Perfect in every way." Najma stopped here for a while, a far-away look shadowing her eyes.
"The day that Abbu passed away... It was his and Ammi's 16th wedding anniversary. He had promised to come home early and we were to go some place outside to celebrate. I remember going out with Ammi, Asad Bhaijan and Ayaan Bhaijan to shop for gifts for him. We had already gotten Ammi's gifts the previous day with Abbu... Asad Bhaijan made us roam the entire mall before finally deciding on some cuff-links. Got it with his own pocket money too... he had been saving for months." She smiled sadly before continuing. "Asad Bhaijan was the closest to Abbu. Every weekend they had their cricket matches and it had the whole house in an uproar. Of course it's only now that I realize that Abbu made Asad Bhaijan win deliberately." The shadow of a faint smile crossed her face while unshed tears glistened in her eyes.
Zoya found herself sitting motionless with silent tears swimming in her eyes, waiting for Najma to tell her about the ghastly tragedy that had happened. She didn't want to listen to it but at the same time, she wanted to know what this lovely family, that already felt like her very own, had gone through.
Najma shook her head slightly as she continued, "We got dressed and I remember us all complaining when Abbu didn't get home at the promised time. Then there was a knock at the front door and we three flew to welcome Abbu... Only it wasn't Abbu. It was a policeman wearing a grim expression that made my insides feel all wrong... I remember Ammi's ashen face as soon as she saw him and instantly questioned if Abbu was alright."
A tear dripped from her eyes and she wiped him before continuing. "He... he made Ammi sit on the sofa and then told her that Abbu had an accident that took his life instantly. Instant death it was, he said." Her voice broke and Zoya squeezed her hand sympathetically with tears streaming down her cheeks.
"Ammi just continued staring at him without saying anything. Her eyes had gone blank and no tears escaped her eyes. She... she went into shock, Zoe. Her mind couldn't bear the pain of Abbu going away from her. It shut itself down."
"We had no close relatives in Bhopal," she continued. "The closest thing to a family we had, were your parents and they had passed away years ago. We had no one. Suddenly we were alone in this evil world. We had never felt loneliness when Abbu was with us."
Najma sniffed before continuing further, "Zoe, Ammi stayed in shock for about two weeks. She would just sit around and stare blankly, sometimes complaining why Abbu still hadn't come home from office. Every time there was a door bell, she'd go running, thinking it was Abbu." She sniffed again and wiped her tears with a careless hand.
"Zoe, with Ammi in shock, it fell upon Bhaijan to take care of us. I still remember his eyes when he came back from the graveyard after burying Abbu... They were dead, emotionless and impassive. The brightness that always shone in his eyes was missing. Instead, his eyes were filled with pain. You can even see it today. He smiles but the smile never manages to reach his eyes... He acts normal but it's only so that we don't worry about him... Ammi believes it's her fault. She says she shouldn't have fallen so weak on hearing about Abbu's death. She says if she hadn't gone in shock, all responsibility wouldn't have fallen on Bhaijan's shoulders alone. But it wasn't her fault. She couldn't help it. No one blames her but I know she still blames herself for Bhaijan's personality and the way that he is today."
"Zoe... Bhaijan didn't get time to mature on his own. He was forced to mature himself in a span of days. He took care of me and Ayaan Bhaijan for two weeks when Ammi was in shock, making sure that we were fed and looked after properly. Ayaan Bhaijan was 12 but he was too childish for his years. And I was 9, so little that I didn't even understand the concept of death. I bugged Bhaijan every single night about Abbu's whereabouts when he put me to sleep and he would explain in a broken voice that he had gone to live with Allah Miyaan in heaven." Tears were now cascading freely down both girls' cheeks as she continued.
"After Ammi finally came out of her shock, we were faced with another worry; financial worry. Since Abbu was employed in a private firm, there was no option of pension. Suddenly, we had no source of income... We were studying in Bhopal's best school and of course, being private, it was expensive. Ammi and Bhaijan vowed that they won't change our schools, only providing us with the best they could. They did jobs, Ammi started teaching in a nearby school and Asad Bhaijan gave tuitions in the evening at home and by going to other people's houses. He would get free finally at 10 at night and then get time to study his own course. Ammi tried to stop him but he was adamant on providing Ayaan and me with the best he could... He worked so hard to make the ends meet. It continued like this till Bhaijan completed his Civil engineering and then started his Industrial Company, 'Dilshad constructions'. Bhaijan's hard work paid off and Dilshad Constructions became a leading Company in only a couple of years and then our life style finally changed. Asad Bhaijan sent Ayaan Bhaijan to study in Australia like he always wanted and the rest is before you..."
"But like I said, this all changed Bhaijan. It forced him to mature beyond his years... And it also made him hate love and marriage. He had seen Ammi completely breaking at Abbu's death because she loved him so much and now he doesn't want the same thing happening to him. He fears love... According to him, it cripples people, it makes them depend on their other half and that's the weakness he never wants to face himself. He wants to be in control of himself... control his life. He acts like a hard wall of marble because he fears getting broken down by being a wall of sand. And that's why I know he's going to push you away at every opportunity he gets, like he did today at the breakfast table. He's probably going to make you hate him so that you stay away from him." Najma had stopped crying now but the pain was still there in her eyes.
"Bhaijan didn't even want to get married to you in the first place. But Ammi made him. She told him it was Abbu's wish and Bhaijan couldn't say no... I'm sorry you have to suffer for it but Ammi really believes Bhaijan needs someone in his life. And she thought you would be perfect because you too, lost your parents at a young age. You know the pain of losing someone dear. You can understand Bhaijan better than any other girl." Her voice wavered. "You know, sometimes when I just see Bhaijan sitting around quietly, the pain and loneliness in his eyes makes me want to cry. He doesn't share his pain with us because he doesn't want us to worry. But sometimes when I look into his eyes, I feel like he's still the 14 year old boy who feels lost and confused on having his father taken away from him. It kills me to see him so alone, Zoe." Najma started crying and Zoya hugged her tightly, saying nothing but putting a lot of unsaid things in the hug and it worked because when Najma pulled away, she looked better.
"Zoe... You know why I'm telling you all this... Because I want you to understand Bhaijan. I want you make him believe in love again... Make him love again. All love stories don't have a tragic ending, do they? Zoe, I believe you can change Bhaijan. I know it's not going to be easy but I'm sure you will do it. I trust you and I believe in you." She smiled.
Zoya felt a sinking feeling on hearing Najma's words. Dilshad and Najma had wedded her to Asad with so much hope in their hearts. She felt awful knowing that she was cheating them... But she could try understanding Asad better. She could try making him believe in love and after they get divorce, maybe Asad will find his match and fall in love...
"Zoya... Najma..." Dilshad's voice floated into the room, making them both jump.
"We're up here, Ammi." Zoya answered as she and Najma quickly wiped their tears and plastered a smile.
"I know you're in there. Now open the door, will you? My hands are full." Dilshad replied, standing outside their room.
Zoya jumped off the bed and went to open the door. There stood Dilshad with a tray in her hands, laden with breakfast. "You're not skipping breakfast. Come let's eat." Dilshad told her briskly as she set the tray on the bed. There was something so motherly in her voice that Zoya felt her eyes tearing up as she quietly sat on the bed next to Dilshad.
Without saying a word, Dilshad got a bite ready and offered it to Zoya, coaxing her with her eyes to take it. Zoya slowly opened her mouth to take it, her eyes now brimming with tears. Dilshad reminded her so much of her own mother.
Dilshad apparently misinterpreted her tears for Asad's behavior earlier because she said, "Zoya beta, please don't worry. I'll talk to Asad. That was no way to talk to anybody, let alone his own wife. You can wear anything you want. No one's going to stop you. Please don't be upset... Your Ammi is with you beta. I'll talk to Asad."
"I'm not crying because of him, Ammi... I'm crying because it's been so long since I ate from a mother's hand." Zoya replied in a small voice.
Dilshad looked at her lovingly, placing her hand at her cheek. "From now on, you can eat from my hand any time you want. You're my daughter too. So what if I didn't give birth to you? You've been living inside my heart from the day you were born... You have come back to your mother after a very long time Zoya and all this time, I've been waiting for you. There wasn't a single night when I didn't think of you."
Zoya felt hot tears trickling down her cheeks as she threw her arms around Dilshad, hugging her tightly without saying anything and Dilshad patted her back lovingly.
"This is so not fair. Ammi, you got yourself another daughter and forgot all about me! Where's my bite? I'm hungry too." Najma pouted good-naturedly as Zoya pulled apart.
Dilshad laughed as she fed Najma a bite and then started feeding Zoya and Najma alternatively. Zoya felt as if she was finally home. So what if Mr. Khan was rude to her, this family's love more than made up for it. And now that she was a little familiar with Asad's past, she hoped that it might help her understand him more.
There was the guilt of deceiving these amazing people tugging at her heart but she ignored it for the moment as she enjoyed a mother's love and the delicious food from her hands for the first time in ages.
Asya FF: Rendezvous with Honor Asad Ahmed Khan is the prodigal son. All the tabloids say so. Coming from an affluent family in Bhopal, he's done...
[NOCOPY] Hello everyone! Happy to be here. I was searching for an opportunity to be here with all of you as a member after a long time as writer...
Writer - ExoticDisaster | Graphicer - Oh_nakhrewaali | Theme - Bag Unfolding Yesterday Zoya coughed, pulling the scarf higher over her nose and...
This is one of the entries I had submitted for Valentine's day contest - A Bag full of love. cover : oh_nakhrewaali | writer : missFiesty_69 |...
This is one of the entries I had submitted for Valentine's Day contest - A bag full of love . cover : ExoticDisaster aka Shiri | writer :...