Hey Dear Friends! I am writing fiction for the first time for this Forum.
Actually the Credit for this OS should go to StonerGirL for her beautiful fun post "Asad-Ayaan The Window" https://www.indiaforums.com/forum/qubool-hai/3589456/asad-ayaan-the-window. The idea of this OS is adapted largely from the post.
I hope StonerGirL does not mind me using her idea…..
It was a particularly silent and peaceful night in the Khan mansion. Dilshad and Najma were out of town for a week for the wedding functions of a relative. After just two days of their departure, Asad was missing his mum and Tamatar already, he was wondering if he should call them just to catch up right now. Then he decided to wait for Zoya to finish her cleaning up after dinner. He was sure she too would love to talk to Tamatar and Ammi. But Zoya was late. It was over 45 minutes that their dinner was over. Normally Zoya cleans up in no time after that and comes back to his – THEIR (Asad smiled at that spontaneous correction that came from within… yes, it's our room, now…) – room to eat his head up! The lady never left him alone for long……….. (He had not admitted it to her yet, he had started looking forward to her chatter and blabber with a happy face at night. Talking of everything and nothing, he had started enjoying the nightly routine of simple talks. Asad Ahmed Khan was warming up to his wife, was getting Domesticated……….)
Finally Asad decided to go look for her in the kitchen. He came out of the bedroom and called out from the door itself, Zoya… But there was no reply… He called out again, Zoya… Still no response……. He got worried and went to the kitchen. And there she was, making coffee for both of them with the earphones plugged into her ears and chatting away to someone on phone, with a smile on her lips, her full, rosy, sweetly pouting lips…. "Asad don't go there…" He chided himself in his mind and told himself that he was merely relieved to see her smile on phone. So nothing's wrong… That's it! And with that he turned to go back to Bedroom, now that she was making coffee, Mrs. Khan was sure to follow him into the bedroom in minutes…
"Missing me much?" He heard her say in an extra sweet tone…. And turned back to answer "Nahin, who, actually, aap…er.. kafi der se…." trailed his later words in thin air, she hadn't even noticed him yet, still on phone! He felt a sudden pang of jealousy……. who was she getting so cheesy with on phone? "And did the girl even cared, how much I AM missing her right now?" His thoughts went again in a lane from where he had to fetch them back… "Oh get real Asad! Stop getting hyper at everything! It must be her Aapi Jeeju on call, who else? And don't you start getting bothered, this is still a fake marriage, remember?" he tried to reason, failing miserably! And left from there…
Zoya took the coffee mugs and went back to their room. Asad was sitting on the Sofa by the window. Seeing her still talking on phone, Asad was irate again… Distracted on the phone, she handed him the mug of the milky sweet coffee instead of his black and bitter. Absent mindedly he took a sip from it smiling at her, she too smiled back…"Wait a sec… was the coffee really sweet, or it tasted sweet because she smiled? He looked at the coffee and realized the switch and was shocked, she is so busy with this other person on phone that she gave ME the wrong coffee?" That did it, "Zoya!" he snapped at her so sharply, she jumped! "What????" She put her call on mute and snapped back… "What are you doing? I was waiting for you a long time here and you are busy talking away merrily with that… PERSON… so much so you have barely noticed me and now you give me your milky sweet coffee instead of my regular Black and Bitter?" Zoya took her coffee back and gave him his. "Happy?" she asked caustically! "Switching the coffee mugs is not the issue, Zoya, why are you igno….. leave it, talk on your call, the other person must be 'missing you very much'"
"Allah Miyaan what's wrong with you Asad? I am talking to Ammi and Najma! And of course they are missing me! That's why they called me……… In fact Ammi was saying she wished to talk to you and I was going to hand over the phone to you… here, talk!" Asad came over to the bed and sat at its foot. She handed him the phone and sat cross legged on the bed with a grumpy face and hands crossed at chest……..
"Who Ammi, actually…she was…er… about to trip on the carpet. I was worried she'd spill hot coffee on herself and would be hurt, so out of worry I shouted… no not angry at all… yeah she's fine….And Ammi how's everything going on? How is Asif? Do let him know I am sorry I cannot attend his wedding, had there been no pressing engagements here, I would surely have come… Yes Ammi. We are fine. We miss you a lot too Ammi! And Where is Tamatar, I wish to talk to her as well…. Het Tamatar, how are you?... Dieting is on, right?... Hmm take good care of Ammi and youself, enjoy the wedding, yeah, I miss you too Tamatar… Bye, Alla Hafiz!... what? Again? No!... I mean, Tamatar, she's really tired. With you not here to help, she was working all through the day, no…" Yeah, Allah Hafiz!" he cut the call….
Zoya looked at him in disbelief……..What was this man doing? He was declining Tamatar's plea to talk to her! OMG, the audacity of this man! She got up, started walking on her knees on the bed, reached Asad and hit his chest and grabbed his collar "Allah miyaan what's wrong with you Asad? Why didn't you let us talk? And what was with that remark earlier? - you are so busy talking to that… PERSON… you have barely noticed me, and the other one, what was that? – yeah, the other PERSON must be 'missing you very much' - had I not known better I'd have thought you were missing me and feeling jealous…" She stopped abruptly! The truth suddenly dawning upon her, in fact on both of them……….
She looked up in his eyes and he down in hers…….. In their own minds they knew they had gotten another level deeper into this "FAKE" relationship, they just kept staring intently, willing the other to confess their feelings first… Their eyes met and stayed locked, for the umpteenth of times since they met… but none of them seemed to have enough of each other……. Asad was entranced and his gaze dipped down a little to her lips, sensing his intent, Zoya's eyelashes lowered and her lips slightly parted, almost involuntarily. With a never before softness Asad held her, one arm round her waist and one caressing her cheek and she closed her eyes…. "Look at me Zoya," he said, she opened her eyes to see such intensity in his eyes, she blushed and smiled, he smiled right back and dipped lower to kiss her……….
"Ahem… Ahem… Ahem…" They snapped apart and back to reality with that sound! Make no mistake, there he was standing at the very open window with an absolutely impossible mix of emotions on his face. He was fighting not to show amusement and naughty pleasure and to show sheepish embarrassment….Mr. Ayaan Ahmed Khan!
"Tum?" snapped both Asad and Zoya seeing him. "Nahi mera Bhoot hai" said Ayaan. "Of course main hoon Bhai Jann! Iss khidki sey yahaan iss room mein aur bhi koi ataa hai kya?" he came in and shamelessly draped his arm round Zoya's shoulders and said in a mocking tone "Kyun Mona, nahi, Bhabhi – JAAN, ataa hai kya koi aur yaha se?" Zoya laughed at his words and hit him playfully on his hand that was on her shoulder…Asad smiled looking at them.
"So Rabbert, how are you? And what are you doing here at this hour of night? Oh no, sorry I asked, I know you come here ONLY at this hour of night, don't you?" askd Zoya smiling. "Yup, true, at least until tonight! But looks like I'll need to change my habit soon. After all walking in on and interrupting a kiss is still OK but I don't want to walk in on something more SERIOUS"…. He chuckled… Asad was amused but tried to hide his smile. "Shut up Ayaan, what are you talking?" said Zoya, trying hard not to blush….
"Anyway, I must teach myself to come at humanly hours, to ring the doorbell, to knock the bedroom door, wait for 5 minutes and then enter when called in, shouldn't I?" Ayaan asked winking at Zoya. Asad was embarrassed to the core, he immediately said, "No Ayaan, you know you are always welcome here any time!" "Absolutely!" chimed in Zoya in a hurry.
"U-Uh! Bhaijaan – bhabhijaan! Main yahaan pe emotional baatein karne nahi aya hoon! I know how you both love me and welcome me with all you heart. That is why I poked my nose in your "PERSONAL" matter there and shamelessly entered, instead of leaving you guys alone immersed in love. But that said and done, it was really a sight, eh Bhai jaan! Wish I had not been decent, and let you continue with your business…." He winked again, at Asad this time! Asad looked away…
"Oh ho! Mere Sheroo Bahiya ko sharmana bhi ata hai?? Not bad; not bad! By the way Bhai jaan, I have to agree with Zoya bhabhi on one point, it did look like you were missing her like hell and were jealous thinking who she was talking cheesily to…"
"Nahi, wo main, actually… Abbey! Ayaan, from when are you here?" said Asad suddenly realizing the implication…
"Aadha ghanta toh ho gaya hoga bhaijaan…aram se… but hey who in their right minds would like to miss a show like this? He chuckled again. Asad and Zoya stared at him with an exasperated smile…
"Hey how's Humeira Rabert?" asked Zoya suddenly. "Oh she's all good. Sleeping peacefully. I left her a note saying I am coming here for some time" said Ayaan the look in his eyes softening at Humeira's mention. "Good Ayaan, that's a sign of a husband who cares…I am proud of you" Said Zoya softening towards him. She knew how hard and burdening it was for Ayaan to enter in a marriage where Humeira loved him unabashedly and he was not sure about his feelings….
Even now Ayaan went in a trance, but with a smile on his face, and he just absently blurted out "You know what bhabhi? I have kinda started liking being married…" hearing this Asad felt warm at heart the hope of his kiddo brother finding love at the right place again took a rise in his heart. But overtly he brought a naughty twinkle in his eyes and said, "haan haan, tabhi itne besharam ho gaye ho…"
"Oh no, not that way liking Bhaijaan…" tried Ayaan to explain, halting as the image of him admiring and hugging Humeira fondly just this evening came in front of him. His God knew that hug had felt right, there was no compulsion, no burden in there. His heart had felt light for the first time after a long time today. He did not how but the steady presence of Humeira in his life was something he had started relying on. She was becoming the centre of his world and he was liking it….
"Well Bhaijaan, it's complicated and I don't know, but the way Humeira has understood my dilemma about our marriage and kept me free of any expectations, the way she cares for me sweetly, the way she supported me in my decision of taking a job outside our family business, went all the way to convince the elders at home, and when I miss you, when I remember how Mumani made me marry Humeira, she is always there to pacify me and cheer me up by talking to me, she is the one who supports me, asks me to be brave and face demons. You know what Bhaijaan, today when I was upset to the core due to Mumani, she offered to get willingly separated from me, if that is what I wanted. And at that moment, I was shattered. I realized I did not want that separation. I wanted us to be together. I do not want her to go out my life Bhaijaan. The thought of losing her made me realize how deeply I have started loving her. I cried when she said that, went back to her and begged not to even consider it once more in life. I told her I love her and hugged her, and then Bhai jaan, I am not sure if I should say this to you, but I feel like telling this to you, then Bhai jaan, we truly became husband and wife tonight, we are united and one for ever now, and it feels... heavenly"
Asad who was mesmerized by Ayaan's words, closed the distance between themselves and hugged him tight! His eyes were moist with pleasure for his brother and with realization for himself……
He was reminded of the times when Zoya stood solid in his and his family's support, of her honoring his request of fake nikah for his mom's sake, of her solving Tanveer's mystery and still helping her, of her trying for a reconciliation between him and his father, of her cute childelike nature and her brining life to his life, of the times when he felt breathless, when he thought she was lost forever………
He knew, had known it it all along, but Ayaan's words helped him accept it today: Asad Ahmed Khan loved Zoya Asad Khan! And he was happy about it! Ayaan, the blood of Asad's own father, had freed Asad from the curse that Asad had feared all along his life, especially after meeting Zoya, of hurting her like his dad did his mother….
He realized in that one moment that the only way he could hurt Zoya was NOT confessing his love to her. He knew in his heart as well as in his mind today that when true love exists between two people, they could never hurt each other by coming together….Their life together becomes bliss not curse, and he was so thankful to God and Ayaan for making him realize this…
Zoya watched the brothers with teary eyes….
At that very moment Ayaan spoted movement near the window and exclaimed, "Bhai jaan sach mein yahaan koi aur bhi khidki se ata hai…." And he went to check and was shocked to see Humeira there. Her eyes brimming with tears and her face bright with a smile from heart! And he brought her inside, told Asad "see Bhaijaan, looks like she found the note and came here after me, to check if I am really here, jealous ho gai meri biwi!" he said, making all laugh and the mood became light hearted again. They all chatted for a while and then Ayan and Humeira got up to leave humeira made her way to the door and Ayaan said, where are you going darling, come here from the window, this is our last chance to go from here, I am sure Bhaijaan will cover up this window with a glass and curtains tomorrow…" and to Zoya he said with a wink, "you make Tiger do that Mona, I was serious when I said being married feels heavenly…"
Asad and Zoya laughingly shouted "Raabert"…. And AyRa left laughing from there…………….