First career, then comes marriage

rosewood104 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Actor and singer Karan Oberoi talks about Mona Singh, marriage and his first anchoring job on TV to A. L. CHOUGULE

Is Antakshiri your first anchoring job on television?
It is but I am not new to anchoring. As a member and singer of Band of Boys I have done lot of anchoring for our shows over the past six years. We double up as hosts for our shows and enjoy it a lot.

Q. What contribution will you bring with you to the show?
It is a very good show because its main ingredient is music. So far the game show has been done in a traditional way. But with me taking over the show as host it will undergo a lot of changes. It will become much bigger, better and different. As a host I will also be singing, dancing, communicating and interacting with the participants, studio audience and viewers. In fact, I will be using all my stage experience to make Antakshiri different with lot of fun and games. The show is going to rock and I will be its rock star.

Q. But does it bother you that you are replacing someone for the job?
No, it doesn't. To me it's a new show with a new format. Antakshiri is a huge brand and it doesn't belong to any one person. It's a new responsibility on my shoulders. I have taken up the job with a smile on my face and I am working hard on it. I have a feeling that it will work for me.

Q. Post-Jassi why did you keep away from television for more than a year?
To me mediocrity is death. I am quite passionate about things I choose to do. If something doesn't interest me I might as well not do it at all. Instead I prefer to sit at home and enjoy my life because I have the choice of not doing stuff that doesn't interest me. The kind of mediocrity that's going on TV for the past seven years is appalling. I would have made obnoxious amounts of money by doing dailies but I chose not to work because I would not have enjoyed it at all.

Q. Didn't Jassi degenerate into a typical daily family soap?
Well, when I joined Jassi it was a hugely popular show and I had a great time playing the role of a musician. While doing Jassi I also travelled a lot for Band of Boys. But one fine day I realised that the show had taken a turn for the worse. The fact that the character I played died before the show ended should answer the question.

Q. You mean you were disappointed?
Yes. This is why Raghav died.

Q. It is said that you and Mona are all set to tie the knot. Did she recently visit your parents in Chandigarh to seek their blessings?
I also read about this in the papers. In fact, I get to know about what happens in mine and Mona's life through the papers. I also get to hear from people about what's happening in my life (laughs).

Q. Is marriage on the cards?
No, it is not. Mona has Bollywood ambitions and I have music aspirations. Marriage will have to wait till we realise our own individual ambitions.

cheers

resh

Yahoo2 thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I agree first career than marriage
jigglypuff726 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

good luck for his career then!😉

Chits1 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Why not marriage and then career karan? 😉 😆 😆
liquidice thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
well he seems really proudy!!
shabari thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: chitra anand

Why not marriage and then career karan? 😉 😆 😆

good question chitra, par jab biwi nahin ho raazi tho kya karega karan ji.she is aspiring to be a filmstar,so he has to wait.she should reduce though bfore getting into films😆