And to think he didn't want to play the devious Karan. "I was
apprehensive of playing an out and out negative character after the
positive vibes I had got for my role as Pratham Mittal in Kutumb,"
reveals the goodlooking actor. But Ektaa Kapoor wouldn't take no for
an answer and Hiten became a part of the mega soap. "Karan may be
committing fraud but his aim in life is to get his mother her
rightful place in the Virani household and be recognised as Mandira
Mihar Virani," explains Hiten. Though manipulative, Karan is subtle
and can be humble at times, a quality with which Hiten identifies.
The masses too, if the repsonse he's been getting for the role is
anything to go by. "Many people have told me that my track has got
them back on their seats and glued to the sets," he says with a
measure of pride.
For Hiten, however, the adulation is not new. He was already popular
as the Pratham who shared a love-hate relationship with Gauri in
Kutumb. This daily soap aired on Sony had Hiten starting out as a
negative character transforming into a positive one towards the
end. "It was a role with which many people identified because Pratham
was egoistic and whenever his ego was hurt, he would hit back. This
happens in almost every household," offers Hiten.
If the TRPs of Miit increase after my appearance, I will have done
my job
Kutumb was the first serial on Indian television to be relaunched in
a new avtaar as soon as the story ended. Yet, while the original was
popular, the new Kutumb did not find any takers and the serial went
off the air within a short time. "An experiment which I felt wouldn't
work. The earlier Pratham had ruled over the drawing rooms of the
viewers and they wouldn't have minded the same story going on but
Ektaa felt that instead of dragging it, it would be better to
introduce a new storyline with the same characters," confesses Hiten.
He feels that the idea of Pratham and Gauri fighting and eventually
falling in love was something with which people could relate to. They
rejected a Gauri already in love with Pratham in the new Kutumb. "I
think a love story is a very delicate subject. It is good for about
four episodes. The masses don't like to watch mushy stuff beyond
that," is his firm belief.
Before Kutumb, Hiten had done bit roles in Ghar Ek Mandir, Kabhie
Souten Kabhi Saheli and Kaahin Kissi Roz. Impressed with his
lead role in
Kutumb. As soon as he landed Kutumb, he was out of Kaahin Kissi Roz.
With a daily soap in his kitty, it would have been difficult to allot
dates for Kaahin Kissi Roz and Ektaa herself suggested that he
concentrate on Kutumb. That proved to be a turning point in his
career and Hiten became synonymous with Pratham. "And now I am
popular as Karan," he grins.
He makes his next telly appearance as Akash in Miit on Zee, replacing
Vikas Bhalla. According to Hiten, Anurag Basu who's directing the
daily wasn't happy with Vikas. "He was keen on working with me and
vice versa. The role sounded good and I took up the offer," he
reveals. What if the viewers don't accept him? "That's the challenge.
If the TRPs of Miit increase, I will have done my job." Unlike the
serials he has done so far, Miit has Hiten playing a very straight
role, that of a guy who accidentally lands up with the wife of
another man and goes searching for her whereabouts.
Apart from these serials on air, Hiten has grabbed two film offers.
One is Balaji's untitled film directed by Santram Varma starring
Sohail Khan, while the other is Mukta Arts' Joggers Park. Both the
films, says Hiten, have him in important roles. "The thriller from
Balaji doesn't revolve around any one person. All the characters are
crucial to the story." In Joggers Park, he plays the ex-boyfriend of
the heroine. "The role has negative and positive shades," he says
enthusiastically. Isn't he disappointed at the lack of getting lead
roles? "Not at all. What matters to me is doing good work. I don't
want to be considered as an actor jo aaya aur gaya. As long as people
are eager for my second entry in a film it is more than enough," he
says content with the way his career is shaping up.
For a person who has no filmi background, no godfathers or mentors in
the industry, success has come pretty easily. Starting off as a
model, Hiten began his acting career with a theatre group Ankur . A
Balaji ad for fresh faces had him drop his pics at their office.
Soon, he was called for an audition and he landed a role in Ghar Ek
Mandir kickstarting his journey on the small screen.
Having made it on his own, Hiten looks upto another self-made actor
Shah Rukh Khan for inspiration. And like his idol, Hiten too believes
in working hard, so much so that he gets no time to pursue his
interests. "I love reading books, but it's a leisure I can't afford
now because I am working round-the-clock," he says without a hint of
regret.
------------------------------------------------------------ ----------
----------
I don't plan to live beyond Borivli, says Hiten
You have known him from the numerous characters he plays on TV.
But Ram Nagar-based Hiten Tejwani is quite the opposite of his character Pratham Mittal, the arrogant husband in the popular soap Kutumb.
My childhood
"I studied in St Francis High School and graduated from Jaihind College. The theatre bug bit me while I was in college.
That's where I started acting in various skits and plays. I began my career modelling for fashion shows and ads like Jai Soap and Close-Up Renew, where I am the only model to have been repeated for eight ads.
"After college I had decided to pursue acting as a full-time career. So I joined Mohan Azad's Ankur Theatre Group where I started with street plays that focussed on social issues.
I went on to do professional plays in Hindi like Sab Golmaal Hai, Khatta Meetha and Sab Kunware Hain. I also did some English plays with the same group."
My big break
"Fame happened when I responded to an ad from Balaji Telefilms two-and-a-half years ago. I read the ad and went for the audition.
I got a call the next day and started acting in Ghar Ek Mandir, which was followed by Kabhi Souten Kabhi Saheli and Kaahin Kissii Roz.
But it was Kutumb that gave me recognition and popularity like I had never seen before.
"I am currently doing only Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi.
I am happy playing Karan because the character has plenty of surprises in store for the viewers. I am also doing Balaji's new thriller film and will start shooting for it soon."
My Borivli
"What I distinctly remember about my locality is the greenery all around. But all the open spaces have been replaced by buildings. I also remember the well where I learnt to swim.
As a kid I was fascinated by people swimming in it. One day I literally took a plunge and dived into the well without knowing how to swim. Luckily I survived and learned swimming too.
"I do plan to shift soon but not beyond Borivli. I stay with my family and we have decided to shift to a bigger house in Borivli (E) where the complex has facilities like swimming pool, gym, etc. and I want to relax and enjoy these now."
My fans
"I can't afford to be so casual with my appearance anymore. I get mobbed wherever I go. Students, homemakers and girls of all ages come to talk to me and ask for my autograph.
After Kutumb came to an end, some girls found their way to my place demanding to know why the serial was stopped.
They wanted to speak to Ekta Kapoor about it. The building kids now crowd around me and shout Pratham bhaiya as soon as they see my car coming."
My hangouts
"My busy schedule doesn't allow me to visit many restaurants in Borivli. And whenever I am home my mom sees to it that I am well fed with homemade food.
So I don't visit many restaurants in Borivli since my shooting and meetings take place usually at Andheri where I visit Dosa Diner, Only Parathas, and Pop Tates. Sometimes we order from Sahara Sagar."
My future
"I want to take things easy and spend more time with my family and friends. I like to go swimming, play cricket and work out. All this had stopped due to my hectic schedule. I even want to do theatre.
Recently I was offered a good role in a play, which was to go on a world tour, but due to date problems I couldn't take it up. But once I'm stable and can dictate terms, I'll juggle my dates to give time to my first love — theatre."