Fashion_2005 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Movie Review: I See You

By Taran Adarsh, December 29, 2006 - 14:00 IST

Cinema-going experiences, like culinary encounters, can either stimulate you or put you off completely. When you enter a cineplex to watch Arjun Rampal's first outing as a producer, I SEE YOU, you expect to watch a soft-on-your-senses, feel-good multiplex movie since the promotions have been very specific, very direct on that front.

I SEE YOU, directed by debutante Vivek Agrawal, is targeted at the multiplex junta, but right intentions don't necessarily translate into right films. The problem with I SEE YOU is that it works in bits and spurts, not in entirety.

It's not blasphemous to be inspired by a Hollywood film [JUST LIKE HEAVEN; starring Reese Witherspoon, Mark Ruffalo], but writer Suresh Nair and director Vivek Agrawal should've ensured that the desi adaptation appeals to Indian sensibilities and is captivating enough from start to end. Sure, I SEE YOU has its share of interesting moments, but the recipe [screenplay] used for cooking this dish lacks a few vital ingredients.

To sum up, I SEE YOU is the kind of film that works best on the tube or DVD circuit. As far as its theatrical business is concerned, it might find its share of advocates in a handful of multiplexes of Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata and Bangalore mainly, but even that segment of viewers would be minimal.

Write your own movie review of I See You
Another factor that goes against the film is its release period. To expect viewers to rush to a nearby theatre on 31st December [Sunday] or 1st January [Monday] would be foolhardy. The cinema attendance goes downhill during those days and expecting the business to pick up from Tuesday onwards is like expecting snowflakes in Mumbai.

Story: Raj [Arjun Rampal] is the star attraction on the TV show British Raj. One evening, Raj finds an unexpected visitor in his house -- Shivani [Vipasha]. Is he dreaming? Is she for real? At first Raj thinks his friends are out to make a bakra. But he realizes that Shivani is a spirit.

Shivani breezes in and out of his home and office whether he likes it or not. Unfortunately, Raj is the only one who seems to be able to see her or talk to her. His friend Akshay [Chunky Pandey] thinks it's an alibi and also arranges for a meeting with a shrink [Boman Irani] on his wedding anniversary.

Gradually, Raj falls in love with Shivani. But Shivani and Raj have to find answers to questions that led to Shivani's current state.

I SEE YOU is a ghost story, but it doesn't belong to the BEES SAAL BAAD or BHOOT variety. It's not on the lines of Ramsay productions either. A love story revolving around a spirit and an ordinary mortal, the plot focuses more on humor and romance than spine chilling or tense moments.

Although the premise is refreshingly different for Indian audiences, the manner in which writer Suresh Nair and director Vivek Agrawal open the cards is what gives you hiccups. In the first place, no explanations are offered as to why Arjun alone can see Vipasha. Also, she can't touch a telephone, but the twist in the tale has her opening the door of the room where her comatose body lies. How did she manage that? Chalo, maan liya, spirits in Hindi movies can even break into songs and dances, but the opening of the door is like double crossing Arjun since the cop [Michael Maloney] is already at the doorstep.

Even the finale -- the mystery behind Vipasha's accident is solved and the doctor is arrested -- is far from convincing. A few minutes earlier, didn't we see the doctor and a nurse entering Vipasha's room in the hospital and even injecting a drug to put her to sleep forever? So how did the cop [Michael Maloney] reach there from the BBC Studio [he's being interviewed 'Live'] and how did Vipasha suddenly come alive? It's a screenplay of convenience!

In a nutshell, I SEE YOU tries too hard to appeal to the heart, but it forgets that moviegoers have thinking minds too.

On the plus side, a few individualistic sequences are well executed. The initial portions -- Arjun refusing to believe Vipasha is a spirit until he visits the hospital -- are interesting. The humor-laden sequences involving Chunky Pandey also keep you in splits. The finale -- Vipasha disappearing from Arjun's arms [faulty writing] -- is well handled too. Ditto for the end -- Arjun introducing himself to Vipasha at an eatery -- is worthy of note.

Vivek Agrawal had the opportunity to play with special effects since the protagonist is a spirit, but the storyteller doesn't utilize this aspect in the narrative. Also, his choice of the story is perfect, but not the screenplay. How could he okay a faulty script in the first place? Vishal-Shekhar's music is pleasant. 'Subah Subah' and 'Halo' are two noteworthy tracks in the narrative. In fact, the set dcor and choreography [Shiamak Davar] of the 'Halo' track is superb. Ashok Mehta's cinematography is delightful. Dialogues [Niranjan Iyengar] are strictly kaam-chalau.

I SEE YOU rests on Arjun's shoulders. Arjun is efficient in a role that doesn't really demand histrionics. He has proved his credentials in the past and his performance in this film is at par with his earlier works. He works best in the dramatic portions. Vipasha may not be gorgeous to look at, but she's a decent actor.

Chunky Pandey is only getting better with every release. He registers an impact. Kirron Kher gets very little screen time. Boman Irani tries hard to make you laugh. Sonali Kulkarni also has a miniscule part. Sophie Chaudhary adds to the glamour quotient. Her scenes with Arjun [especially the one at the start, when Vipasha lands up at the studio] are truly funny. Michael Maloney [the Hindi-speaking angrez cop] is good.

Shah Rukh Khan and Hrithik Roshan make fleeting appearances in the 'Subah Subah' song. While SRK is strumming a guitar, Hrithik breaks into a small jig.

On the whole, I SEE YOU could've been an interesting fare, but is letdown by a lopsided screenplay. At the box-office, the lack of face-value and an inopportune release period [people don't like to spend New Year in a cinema hall] will only add to its woes.

Fashion_2005 thumbnail
I See You : Movie Review

29th Dec 2006 21.15 IST
By Aparajita Ghosh

Don't expect heaven out of I See You and you will find it a cute, sweet, watchable film.

Without trying to offer anything stellar, 'I See You' at least tells a romantic story from a very fresh perspective : a man falling in love with a woman no one else can see. The film has light humour intermixed with romance. And its lilting music goes well with its somewhat frivolous theme.

The movie, Arjun Rampal 's first venture as a producer, marks the directorial debut of Vivek Agarwal. It also introduces newcomer Vipasha Agarwal .

The story is set in London. Rampal plays Raj Jaiswal, a handsome, flirtatious host of television show 'British Raj'. He makes his advances at any and every beautiful girl he encounters.

But Raj meets his match in Shivani (Vipasha), a mysterious girl who walks in and out of his house, his office and car at her own will. And the funny part is that no one except Raj can see or hear her.

As Raj goes about walking, talking, singing and dancing with Shivani, his friend Akshay Kapoor (Chunky Pandey) thinks he has gone mad. He takes Raj to a psychiatrist (Boman Irani).

However, it turns out that Raj is not insane and Shivani is not a figment of his imagination. The girl Raj knows and falls in love with is the spirit of Shivani who lies comatosed in a hospital.

What follows is the unraveling of a mystery.

Considering that it is the first film by director Vivek Agarwal, 'I See You' is not a bad attempt. However, a taut script and a more imaginative screenplay could have certainly helped the movie. Ashok Mehta's cinematography is a delight to the eyes while Vishal-Shekhar's soothing tunes are easy on the ears.

The movie does not demand any exceptional acting skills from its key players. Arjun Rampal, handsome as ever, plays his part with conviction. Newcomer Vipasha looks very promising. She is particularly good in the introductory scene and some portions in the second half.

Chunky Pandey adds his brand of humour. Boman Irani is a bit over the top. Sophie Choudhary adds her share of oomph. Sonali Kulkarni has a very small part while Shah Rukh Khan and Hrithik Roshan play cameos in the song 'Subah Subah'.

All in all, 'I See You' promises light-hearted entertainment. There are indeed some loopholes in the script, but then, who wants to split hairs. Seen without cynicism, 'I See You' turns out to be a cute, timepass film.

http://apunkachoice.com/scoop/bollywood/20061229-5.html
savie thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
thanx for sharing, will think to go for the movie
Fashion_2005 thumbnail

Banner: Chasing Ganesha Films
Cast: Arjun Rampal,Vipasha Agarwal Boman Irani Chunky Pandey Sonali Kulkarni
Direction: Vivek Agrawal
Production: Mehr Jessia-Rampal

I See U - I-C-U Ghost

Faridoon Shahryar, IndiaGlitz [Friday, December 29, 2006>

This one's a different kinda ghost. For her body is still alive-n-breathing. The playful spirit has the 'network' to 'roam' around, sermonize, sing songs and also co-ordinate medical operations. And lots more…Arjun Rampal's debut production 'I See You' is an indulgent exercise in cinematic liberties. One is ready for suspension-of-disbelief as long as the ride is worth it. But the problem in this tepid romance is that it's a way too-half-baked and childish. A talented actor like Arjun Rampal deserved better in an exercise that was supposedly meant to be a 'comeback vehicle' for him.

First fifteen minutes are the best thing about this film. For, you get to see Raj Jaiswal (Arjun), a television anchor heading a show aptly titled 'British Raj' incorrigibly flirting around with anyone-n-everyone belonging to the female species and singing the best song of the film 'Subah Subah' (SRK and Hrithik blink-n-dream parts surely whet your appetite for more). Well, as he was getting ready for his date with pout-a-licious co-host Dilnaz (Sophie Chaudhry), he sees something on his terrace.

Obviously, his life changes….For he is the only one who can see the ghost of dusky beauty Shivani (Vipasha), a doctor who had been in coma since the last six months after an attempt-to-murder car accident. Raj desperately tries to get rid of the ghost but she is going no where, perching herself firmly even on his car top. Predictably, Raj falls for her innocent charm, melting eyes and the silver smile. They sing a couple of soft numbers and gyrate to a boogie-woogie number before Hindi-Film-Aficionado inspector John Smith (Michael Maloney) catches up with their reality. Raj's loutish friend Akshay (Chunkey Pandey) had to pay a ghostly price for his friendship too.

The story moves slowly to nowhere. And you are left with the suave moods of London city at its best to contend with. Cinematographer Ashok Mehta's camera captures the lovely hues-n-shades beautifully. Vishal-Shekhar's music score sounds better with visuals. 'Subah Subah' and 'Sach Hai' are delightful. Arjun Rampal, as expected looks a million dollars and his acting skills are impressive too. Debutante Vipasha is good news for the film industry to end the year with. She has the poise-n-charm and an enigmatic appeal to do better things in the future.

Now, after the good news comes the bad one. A good looking couple, breathtaking visuals, superstar cameos and catchy music is not everything that counts in making a movie watchable. There has to be a gripping story idea, a tight script and en engrossing screenplay. And the problem with 'I See You' is that you don't find any of these attributes out here. Direction by Vivek Agarwal is patchy and clueless as to what exactly he is trying to do. Or say. And why the hell, the ghost can't have the liberty to wear anything else except that white number (she wears it throughout)?

Michael Maloney's Inspector John Smith is amusing at times but his Sherlock Holmes mannerisms and over emphasis on Hindi films were irritating. 'Kanoon ke hath bahut lambe hote hain….' Rather corny….Isn't it? Are the Brits so keen on Hindi films? I don't think so…Moreover, the rampant organ trafficking shown in the film is a joke considering the very strict medical ethics in UK. And what is Boman Irani, the psychiatrist doing in this invisible love story? Let it go man…Chunkey Pandey is unbearable for most parts and Sophie Chaudhry justifies her bimbo status once again. As for Kirron Kher….Maa'm why do you have to such wasteful roles when you can do so much more with your talent?

'I See You' is not the film that will re-establish Arjun Rampal as a solo hero once again. It is not the best bet for your new year's Bollywood plans either if you are the one who enjoys a full course meal. I suggest, grab a DVD of Patrick Swayze and Demi Moore's 'Ghost' instead. It will be infinitely more intriguingly fulfilling experience.

I See You: Pardon…

Star rating: *1/2

http://www.indiaglitz.com/channels/hindi/review/8946.html
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
I See You: Story with a difference

Priyanka Jain | December 29, 2006 13:59 IST

A still from I See You

Debutant director Vivek Agarwal's I See You has the intensity that romance requires, and the frivolousness that makes you laugh.

Arjun Rampal aka Raj Jaiswal uses his popularity as a host on television show British Raj to work his way with women. He flirts endlessly, until newcomer Vipasha Agarwal aka Shivani enters his life.

And what an entry -- she out-flirts the flirt, in his bedroom, office, in his car, above his car...

But this is a love story with a difference. She is visible only to Raj. Other people cannot see her.

Raj's best friend and colleague Akshay Kapoor (Chunky Pandey) thinks his friend has gone insane, and takes him to a shrink. Meanwhile, it turns out Shivani isn't actually dead. Her body is in a coma in a hospital, while her soul seeks Raj's help.

Cinematographer Ashok Mehta has captured London well, but Suresh Nair's screenplay lacks punch.

The film however has sweet comic moments interpersed throughout -- Raj romancing a woman who suddenly disappears; he is then shown romancing thin air.

Editor Dilip Ahuja could have done a better job by editing the way Sophie Chowdhury and Sonali Kulkarni are introduced in the film. They only drag the story.

Chunky Pandey does well here, even though his character is not well developed. Boman Irani is very good, but wasted in a tiny role. Ditto for Kirron Kher.

Music directors Vishal Dadlani and Shekhar Ravjiani give a decent score. The title song grows on you.

I See You is watchable, as long as you do not expect anything much from it.

Rediff Rating: ** 1/2 out of 5

http://www.rediff.com/movies/2006/dec/29isy.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail

RENUKA VYAVAHARE
INDIATIMES MOVIES

Cast: Arjun Rampal, Vipasha, Chunky Pandey, Sophie Chowdry
Story/Director: Vivek Agrawal
Producer: Mehr Rampal/ Chasing Ganesha films
Music: Vishal & Shekhar
Genre: Fantasy/ Romantic comedy
Rating: **

Highly inspired by Mark Waters' Reese Witherspoon and Mark Ruffalo starrer 'Just Like Heaven' (2005), Arjun Rampal's first production venture, 'I See You' surprises you as it delivers more than what you expect from it!

Sexy casanova Raj Jaiswal (Rampal) is a host of an Indian show British Raj in UK. A guy who knows he can work his charm on almost any girl in town, including his co-anchor Dilnaz (Sophie Chowdry). One fine day his fun-'fling' ed life comes to a standstill, when he abruptly bumps into Shalini (Vipasha), who claims to be a spirit, in his own apartment! Only Raj can touch/feel and notice Shalini, which leaves him seriously dumbfounded. Shalini haunts Raj 24/7 and in the course of their banters, they get attracted to each other. But things complicate, when Raj realizes that he might lose the 'stuck between heaven and earth' Shalini and his unusual love story might just end as a fantasy!

The movie is fun in bits and parts, especially the scene where Raj talks to the invisible Shalini, calling her 'bhootani' while looking at Delnaz!

The film almost makes you fall in love with it but suffers because of its slow pace, especially, the second half. Also new comer Vipasha is pleasant on the screen, acts well (considering it's her debut) but fails to change her 'pity me, I am a spirit' expression as the story progresses and thus gets monotonous and boring after a certain point of time.

Arjun Rampal looks incredibly hot, even better than Hrithik Roshan (special appearance)! Right from the title song 'Subah Subah', he shows tremendous confidence, making his much talked about 'stiffness' take a backseat. He dances well, acts decent and leaves you pondering 'may be his acting potential has not been tapped well'!

Chunky Pandey, as Akshay (Raj's friend) with his wit and humour keeps you entertained. Kirron Kher as Shalini's mother acts well as usual. Sonali Kulkarni and Boman Irani are wasted. Sophie doesn't have much scope to act either. The 'Bollywood inspired' inspector Smith (Michael Maloney) impresses everyone with his impeccable Hindi; unfortunately his character doesn't add anything to the story.

The music is foot tapping. Songs like 'Subah Subah' and 'Halo Halo' are sassy; while Sunidhi Chauhan's romantic melody 'Sach Hui' is soothing and peaceful.

I See You's a sweet fantasy film, which gives you the much needed break from your tiring believable world.

http://movies.indiatimes.com/articleshow/msid-979827,curpg-1 .cms
Edited by Fashion_2005 - 18 years ago
Fashion_2005 thumbnail

Cast: Arjun Rampal, Vipasha

Director: Vivek Agrawal

Rating: **1/2

Author: Khalid Mohamed

Gee, seems it's a kidney scam. Docs in Britain remove that vital organ from their patients and probably sell it to needy souls, whether they're in Disney or Sydney. Scary.

Gratifyingly, debutant director Vivek Agrawal's I See You doesn't dwell on hospital horrors. It strives to be a pleasant, rom-com inspired by Just Like Heaven, the movie featuring Reese Witherspoon-Mark Ruffalo, which hello, hello in any case would have bored even the most benign buffalo.

So, there you are with a script written by one Suresh Nair, which actually makes you long for the return of Abbas Tyre, dialogue that suddenly dredges up Aishwarya Rai's ghost in Mohabbatein, and a story, which director Agrawal claims to have written. Now that does seem like a cat burglar trying to pass off as a kitten. Plot ke liye kucch bhi karega, what!

On the upside, London town is as beautifully photographed as a Dior evening gown, thank you very much Mr Ashok Mehta. A couple of the Vishal-Shekhar songs are minty cool. And Arjun Rampal looks drop-alive gorgeous, in casual wear, silk-cut hair and an easy yo-bro! Attitude that's pretty rare. So, why despair?

It's simply because the kerfuffle about an Anglo-Asian TV anchor (Rampal) being spooked by a bhootni (newcomer Vipasha, okay types) just isn't engrossingly plotted.

The situations and humour quotient could have been far more imaginatively written and directed — for instance, a meeting with a samosa-happy psychiatrist (Boman Irani, awwwwwful) is about as amusing as a day with no water supply. Drip.

The dry spell continues when Mr Anchor and Miss Soul Mate — whom only he can see and all that — traipse though Londonpur, occasionally accompanied by a buddy type (Chunky Panday, oh oh) who drives an ambulance. Why, why? Because Bhootni Baby has to be whisked away from the hospi where her body is lying in a coma...an explanation for this would require a lifetime of brain scratching.

On the scene, too, are an English cop who breaks into practically every Bollywood song, except for Subhash Ghai's Ding dong; Sophie Chaudhary who should have retired after Pyaar ke Side/Effects, and hmm, there's a meanie-beanie doctor too, who's into kidney pies, steaks and frowns balchow.

Obviously, here's a project in search of a story. The technical gloss, an elaborate disco trance number Hallo hallo choreographed by Shiamak Davar (quite easily, the best in the business today) and the sincerity of Arjun Rampal's performance take this enterprise just a teenie-weenie notch above the average.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news/1153_1882983,001100030005 .htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Masand's Verdict: I See You

CNN-IBN

Posted Friday , December 29, 2006 at 22:31
Updated Saturday , December 30, 2006 at 15:35

Cast: Boman Irani, Arjun Rampal , Chunky Pandey, Vipasha

Direction: Vivek Agrawal

VISIBILITY CRISIS: Arjun's life takes a unexpected turn when he finds himself in love with an invisible woman.

Say tata to 2006 with the romantic comedy I See You, the year's last movie release at the cinemas. Operating from a plot that's blatantly plagiarised from the Reese Witherspoon-Mark Ruffalo hit Just Like Heaven, director Vivek Agarwal brings to screen the story of a London television anchor Arjun Rampal, whose life takes a strange turn when he finds himself sharing his home with a young lady who is invisible to everyone else but him.

She reveals she's only a spirit, and that her body is lying in a coma after a fatal accident. So it's up to Arjun now, who's slowly falling in love with her, to make sure she comes out of that coma, and gets back into her body so he can have a normal relationship with her instead of having the world laugh at him everytime he decides to dance with her or romance her on the streets where nobody can see her.

As silly as the film's premise may be, you find yourself laughing hard at those clever lines delivered delightfully by mostly Chunky Pandey who plays Arjun's hen-pecked

best friend. It's difficult not to be seduced by some of the film's lighter scenes like the one in the television studio where Arjun discovers he's being stalked by a ghost and inadvertently ends up humiliating his buxom co-anchor.

Or that scene where Arjun meets Chunky's family psychiatrist Boman Irani who seems to share an uncomfortable closeness with Chunky's wife. In all honesty, it's the film's first half that keeps you well entertained, but post interval the pace slackens considerably when the tone shifts to sappy, schmaltzy romance.

Among the handful of obvious boo-boos that the screenplay throws up, is the manner in which the invisible lady is introduced in the story — lo and behold, she's just standing in his balcony one evening, and what could have been treated as a dramatic moment, just passes you by as an opportunity wasted.

Also, I get that we're meant to understand this girl has changed his life for the better, but please explain why that scene where Arjun goes to the florist and breaks to her the news of her son's death? I mean, how did he even know? It's loose ends like these, which frequently show up in the film's second half that test your patience.

In the end, you have to admit, I See You has a bunch of hummable tunes by composer-duo Vishal-Shekhar, and one of the film's biggest strengths is its remarkable cinematography by Ashok Mehta who shoots working-class London like you've rarely seen it in Hindi films, complete with Covent Garden pubs and spacious Tower Bridge apartments overlooking the Thames.

Of the actors, both Chunky Pandey and the screen-scorchingly goodlooking Arjun Rampal are in very good comic form, giving the the film some of its best comic moments. Sadly, it's newcomer Vipasha, playing the invisible lady, who gets a thumbs down because she's mostly lifeless in a part that could surely do with some energy.

Also, to put it politely, a little personal grooming would have gone a long way. And will someone please do us all a favour by telling Sophie Choudhary that putting on your best pout and showing plenty cleavage does not qualify as acting.

Enrol her for acting class right away please! So then that's an average rating for debutant director Vivek Agarwal's I See You, not bad for a first-time effort. At an hour and fifty minutes, it's a time-pass watch. It neither grates on your nerves, nor is it the kind of film you're likely to remember ten minutes after you've left the cinema.

Rating: 2 / 5 (Average)

Video:

http://www.ibnlive.com/videos/29793/masands-verdict-i-see-yo u.html

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/masands-verdict-i-see-you/29793- 8.html
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Film Review: I See You

By: Sarita Tanwar
December 30, 2006

*YUCK **WHATEVER ***GOOD ****SUPER *****AWESOME

Kya dekhte ho? A still from I SEE YOU

I See You

Starring: Arjun Rampal, Vipasha Agarwal, Chunky Pandey and Boman Irani
Rating: * *

Sarita Tanwar
sarita.tanwar@mid-day.com

What's it about: Why do filmmakers go around choosing some of the most forgettable films in Hollywood as subjects for remakes? The Reese Witherspoon-Mark Ruffalo starrer Just Like Heaven, released last year, was one of the most brainless romantic comedies but somehow, producer Mehr Rampal and director Vivek Agarwal were inspired enough to adapt it into Hindi. I See You is about a young girl, Shivani (Vipasha Agarwal) who meets with a tragic accident and life changes dramatically for her.

Literally! Still in coma and trapped between two worlds, her spirit wanders around aimlessly until she realises she can communicate with the new tenant of her house — Raj Jaiswal (Arjun Rampal). Raj is the host of a local television show and is quite a Casanova. As Shivani tries to reform him, she falls in love with him. All's well until she discovers that she's to be taken off the life support system in the hospital. The rest of the drama is all about how Raj and his friend Akshay (Chunky Pandey) get together to save Shivani from the throes of death.

What's good: The film's greatest asset is its awesome look and feel, all thanks to ace cinematographer Ashok Mehta who has simply outdone himself. London has never looked better and neither has Arjun Rampal.

Also, the film's short length (under two hours) keeps the proceedings racy. The music of the film hasn't really caught on but it's appealing and will grow on people if the film does well. The film is obviously aimed at repositioning Arjun as a poster boy and on that front, it works.

The actor shines in a few scenes: like the one when he loses Shivani and also when she appears on his set for the first time. Chunky Pandey does what is expected from him — he brings in the laughs. Boman Irani is hilarious in the sequence where he tries to analyse Arjun. Sophie Choudry is well cast as the bimbo co-hostess.

What's bad: If anything worked for Just Like Heaven, it was the warmth and feel-good factor that Reese Witherspoon brought to her character.

This subject is actually woman-centric so the protagonist needed to be a mature actress with dollops of magnetism and charisma. It's not fair to expect all that from a debutante like Vipasha. The casting is the film's blunder. Also, first-time director Vivek Agarwal just fails to capture those magic moments, which are so critical in a screen romance.

Shots like Arjun walking through the streets of London, singing a song and hugging strangers on the road is so seventies and done-to-death.

Also the track of Akshay's wife beating him and breaking utensils seems straight out of an old Jeetendra flick. Sophie Choudry's attempts at dancing are hilarious. And who wastes an actress like Sonali Kulkarni in a film?

What's that! How come the man in the elevator hears Shivani when she says, "I'm not a ghost" when no one else can? Any supernatural hearing aid we don't know about?

What to do: It's eye candy Arjun Rampal at his best. Watch it if you're a die-hard fan.

http://mid-day.com/hitlist/2006/december/149292.htm
Fashion_2005 thumbnail
Film Review: I SEE U

By Rohini Bhandari
(29 December, 2006)

Producer: Chasing Ganesha and K Sera Sera

Cast: Arjun Rampal, Vipasha Agarwal, Chunkey Pandey, Kirron Kher, Boman Irani, Sophie Choudhry.

Rating: 2/5

Raj Jaiswal (Arjun Rampal) is an anchor on a TV show in London. One evening as he is ready to go for a date with his co-anchor Delnaz (Sophie Choudhry) , he finds that an unexpected visitor- Shivani (Vipasha Agarwal) has entered his house.

Even as Shivani explains to Raj that she is the spirit of her body which is in a coma, Raj thinks his friends and colleagues are out to fool him. But eventually, he begins to believe in Shivani and they fall in love with each other. Yes, he falls in love with a ghost!

Shivani plays a doctor in the film, and her spirit explains to Raj how her fellow doctor is out to kill her because she caught him dealing in organ trafficking. The fellow doctor even tries to mislead Shivani's mother into believing that there is no hope for her daughter's life.

But since the ghost too has been a doctor herself, she understands the doctor's plan and plans to save her comatose self. What follows is Raj, Akshay( Chunkey Pandey) and Shivani's efforts to battle against the fraud in order to give Shivani a new life.

The movie is good in parts and frequently gives momentary pleasure. But the 120 minutes, on the whole, fail to please. The story is different and refreshing, but the screenplay is faulty in places. Even as Raj is shown as a casanova when the film starts off, later one realises that he is a guy who hasn't even lost his virginity, making one cringe at the naivete of the director.

Even the execution of some important scenes, especially the climax, is not convincing. For, the doctor and nurse enter Shivani's room to kill her and even as she dies and her ghost disappears, she is miraculously saved and comes back to life. How the doctor gets caught by the police in the end is also not explained.

The movie solely belongs to Arjun Rampal, who not only looks absolutely dashing but also acts very well. Vipasha Agarwal's debut performance hardly leaves a mark, and in fact, leaves a lot to be desired. Chunkey Pandey emerges very well as Raj's friend and colleague and contributes well to the humorous scenes.

Sophie Choudhry too is good in her glamorous and humorous role. Kirron Kher as Shivani's mother acts well and emotes effectively in the emotional scenes and lends able support. Boman Irani hardly gets any space to excel in the two short scenes where he is present. Sonali Kulkarni as Chunkey Pandey's nagging wife too doesn't impress.

Shot in London and other parts of the UK, cinematographer Ashok Mehta's camera work in capturing the scenic beauty is very pleasing to the eye. Aditya Kanwar's art direction too is worthy.

Vishal Shekhar's music is lively, especially Subah Subah and Main Sach Hui songs are very appealing. The other number, Hola Hola isn't too exceptional and in spite of being a racy track, its bad placement in the film further reduces the pace of the slow film.

The dull marketing of the film and its incorrect release period during the Christmas week party season may result in dull box office collections. Moreover, in an age where filmmakers offer multi star cast films to attract audience attention, I See U has only Arjun Rampal to offer. I See U may very well end up not seeing any audiences in theatres.

http://www.businessofcinema.com/2006/29dec/review.htm