PART 1
*buzz*
My phone vibrated, I cursed the person who texted at this early morning and I double cursed myself that I forgot to put my phone on silent mode last night. I really hated my habit of been waking up on vibration.
It was 6.15 am, I checked the text' It was from Yash.
[I want you to be at xxx cafe at 7 am sharp]
I was about to reply him with a NO but then I scrolled down.
[Don't dare to say a NO otherwise I will come to ur apartment to pick u and this will waste time of both of us, so be a good girl and be there at time.]
I wanted to be alone today but, arghh.. Yash. I hate him.
Cursing him, I went to change my dress. As usual, I skipped my breakfast and went outside. It was a cold morning in NYC and not much people were present on the street. The caf was not much far from my place so I went by foot, I loved walking by foot. Outside the caf, I could see Yash from the glass door. He was looking at the door, when he saw me, he waved. I walked in and went near his table. He stood up and gave me a hug, 'happy birthday Ainie'. With a smile I said thanks to him. A small cupcake was placed on the table with a lighten candle. The waiter came and placed two mugs of coffee on table. 'Have a seat birthday girl' I smiled and sat down. 'Time to blow out the candle'
'What was the need for this arrangement, u know na Yash, I don't like to celebrate birthdays'
'But I do, now don't waste my precious time and blow the candle'
'What, your time and precious? What a joke', I taunted.
'Yes my time is precious and you are wasting it. In this much time I can flirt with so many girls'
'Aahh, I am blessed with only one friend and that too is such a big flirt person'
'It is your luck Ainie', he laughed
Then I blew off the candles and cut that cupcake which was really small for a knife too. Yash sang Happy Birthday song like a kid and then he held that cake and in the very next moment whole was in his mouth. I looked at him.. 'Don't look at me.. It was me who brought this'. He was trying to cheer me with this weird act but I just weakly smiled at his answer.
He silently observed me while I was sipping my coffee.
'Can I ask you one thing?'
'Yeah! Sure... since when u started asking for the permission' I replied.
'You know I have so many friends and girlfriends too.. itz my observation and it is a fact too that girls speak so much.. You are one of a kind Angel. You speak so less, why? It is always me who say such silly things'
I ignored his question because I didn't have anything to reply. 'Don't you think Yash we are getting late for our jobs. Today is not a holiday. And I don't want my boss to deduct my salary.
'Ok fine.. u can go now but I want to have dinner with you tonight'
I wanted to spend some time alone and really didn't want to have dinner with anyone. 'We can have dinner tomorrow Yash as it is Sunday tomorrow... Tonight I have to complete all the pending work of this week.. promise we will meet tomorrow'
'Ok as you wish, but tomorrow pakka, ok? I will give you your gift too tomorrow ;)' He smiled.
After a goodbye hug we were out of the caf, Yash walked on the right turn of street and I turned to the left. I took bus for work. I loved my work as it was the only way to divert my mind from unwanted thoughts.
After a long and tiring day I was at my apartment at about 9 p.m. Still I was not feeling tired. Only 3 hours were left to the end of my birthday. Except Yash No one wished me as no one from my surrounding knew me so well so they might know about my birthday and all. I was happy with that. People called me rude and proud but only few people knew that I wasn't rude with anyone.
Some past memories related to my birthday flashed upon my mind and tears started to flow from my eyes. I rubbed them off. I should not cry because I selected this life on my own. I sacrificed my love, my life for my beloved friend who taught me how to live. To sacrifice something is really difficult but I believed that this quality is found only in women. God has gifted women with this quality of sacrificing.
After changing into a comfortable dress I went to bed..
Old memories started to flash in front of my eyes like a movie.
I am Ainie Khanna... My parents had a love marriage and because of that their families left them alone. Both started to live in their own little world that included them and me, their Angel' Everyone called me Angel because of my blue eyes and light brown silky hairs. And I loved my nickname too.
I was 14 when we moved to a new house. I liked my new home very much. It was beautifully constructed with 2 rooms and a big lounge on ground floor and a room and study on the 1st floor. It had a garden too where I used to study while sitting on grass. Then one day our live changed. That was indeed the worst day of my life.
_____
Mama Mama..! I entered in home with making noise. Today I was happy coz it was my last exam. Aaahh. I could not sleep properly in these tiring days, 'Mama! Today I will sleep till long so please don't wake me up even for dinner'. Ok My Baby. Sleep as much as u want, I was planning to go for shopping with u but Today I will go with ur dad, u can rest as much as u want. 'OK mama!' After lunch I kissed mama on her cheek and wished her Good Evening and good Night' I wish I knew at that time that this will be my last kiss to mama I would not have left her' But nothing goes according to our wish.. While sleeping I felt someone is tapping me on my shoulder... 'Mama! I said na I don't want to wake up this much early'. There was silence... 'Mama...?' Still the room was quiet. I put off the spread. Mama was not there... That lady was Rano aunty. Daddy's best friend, Mohinder uncle's wife. They lived in the same street.. 'Rano aunty, Why are you here? I mean here in my room' I was feeling so strange, her silence was scaring me. 'Aunty..?' 'Beta, come with me' I left the bed and the room following her. On the stairs when I looked at the lounge..The scenario haunted me.. I was numb.. I was not even able to walk anymore..
There were many people in the lounge, everyone dressed in white.. Rano aunt pushed me so I could walk.. when I went towards the lounge, few people looked at me. 'why they are present in my home?' I thought. The next thing I saw was enough to make me fall on ground.. My legs were numb; they could not bear the weight of mine... Two people who were my only world were in front of me, dressed in white' they are on the floor lifeless, Their photos were placed in front of them with garlands on it. I wished to die better seeing that scenario.. What if I was dreaming? All things that are in front of me is just dream? This thought gave me little strength to move towards them, I pinched myself... Nothing changed in front of my eyes.. that was not a dream.. it was reality.. bitter reality which I had to face. ALL ALONE..
I wanted to speak; I wanted to ask them to wake up. Do not sleep like this..Please wake up, talk with me... but all my words were lost. I ran out of words. I couldn't speak.. all things went black. I fainted.
When I came back into senses, the first thought that came to me was that, that I am alone now. I did not wish to open my eyes. I wanted to die. What I will do living alone.. my loved ones are not with me.
'Ainie!' it was Rano aunty's voice. She was calling me, I slowly opened my eyes. Rano aunty and a person in white coat were beside my bed. 'How are you feeling beta?' that person spoke. I didn't give any answer and just closed my eyes again.. I heard the doctor saying to aunt that an outlet for emotions is strongly needed for me right now. They should try to make me speak or cry.. I didn't listen anymore to them.. the only thing which I was remembering that time was that my parents are not with me. They left me... why they left me? Was I not a good daughter to them? Mama... Daddy... please come back to me...
After the doctor left few people came in room. I knew all of them, on my right side Mohinder uncle and Rano aunty were standing and on the left Brij Veer ji and his wife Pammi were there. Brij veer ji was Mohinder uncle's only son.. They wanted me to come at their home as I can't live alone here.. No! I don't want to leave my home, I thought... Rano aunty held my hand and I behaved like a stubborn kid.. I was not moving an inch from my place... 'Ainie beta come with us' 'Nahi' After many hours I spoke the first word.. Thank God they didn't take me forcefully with themselves. Only Rano aunty stayed in the room while everyone left.. she sat beside me and put her hand on my forehead. I closed my eyes once again, I could feel the wetness and burning in my eyes..
'Ainie baby! Carefully walk on the road, cars are moving fast on the road'... Daddy! I looked behind and screamed, nothing will happen to me, till the time You are with me'
'Daddy! Now who will take care of me? Im scared of fast moving cars without you'
I didn't know till how much time I laid with my eyes closed and tears rolling down my cheeks and then I suddenly felt a bright light in the room..someone entered in and removed curtains from the window. Some rays of sun stroke my eyes.. The room was all brighten up with the light..
To be continued...
Soo how was dat?? enjoyed? š Well i know there are many many unnecessary details in it but i had to add them for the progress of story.
Please bear all my grammatical mistakes and vocabulary etc, i know there are many mistakes here
I wrote this story as a first person becoz i always believe that emotions are best explained as a first person..
Love,
Adeena
Edited by ..Adeena.. - 12 years ago