Pursuit of HAPPINESS :)

*dewdrop~pearl* thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
What is HAPPINESS .......

Different people have different definitions for Happiness. Some people are happy when they are materialistically satisfied, whereas some are happy when their life is filled and surrounded with love . So happiness is mainly subjective.

There are people who find happiness in small things , and there are some who can never be happy and nothing/no one can make them happy .

It is a person's attitude towards life that determines the elements that gives him/her happiness. When it might be materialistic things that can keep one person really happy, it might be non-materialistic and soulful things that can keep someone else happy. That's why sometimes you might see a highly successful couple who lives a luxurious life in a metro to be less happier as compared to a simple couple living in some backward area being able to fulfil just the basic necessities of life . Thus happiness is subjective and lies in your attitude and perception towards various things, and life in general.
Infact happiness is not too away, it can be right near you if you look closely . Sometimes its those simple things in life that can give you soulful happiness, as compared to many big and complicated things that are perceived by many to be the main source of happiness. Happiness is mainly about being satisfied with whatever we have 😛.

Simple things that makes me happy 😳......

- I am happy when I have fun , when am around simple people who accepts me for who I am and never judges me , around light hearted and fun loving people, people with good sense of humour 😳. I can be happy with simple things like spending evening with my siblings and friends, watching our favorite movie DVD and ordering pizza for dinner, then sitting and talking long hours into the night with them, at the background of dim light 😳.
- I'm extremely happy when it rains or even when I see black clouds signaling that its going to rain very soon, and when it rains, I love to rush to the beach with my sister/friends and enjoy the beautiful combination of beach and rain. What we sometimes do when it rains is - we take our 4 wheeler to the beach, open the sun roof and 3 of us would be sitting on top and one of us would be driving the car at a moderate speed. I know all this sounds silly but nevertheless we used to have lot of fun doing these silly things .

- I am really happy when I go on a long drive at full speed , with my favorite music playing at a good volume , in the company of people I enjoy the most with 😊.

- I'm happy when I get good compliments from people , especially from people whom I expect the least 😳.

So similarly there are loads of things that makes me happy as I find happiness in simple things (and complicated things also ok 😆).

So lets all share views on what happiness means to each one of us, and simple and unique ways to be happy 😊. You can share your experiences, and also give tips and suggessions which might benefit the rest of us 😳, and can also bring in uncommon yet simple ideas and ways to be happy and satisfied in life .

This is a light and fun topic 😳, so lets try and keep this topic as positive as possible as the nature of the topic itself is about happiness 😊.
Edited by *dewdrop~pearl* - 15 years ago

thegameison thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Very nice topic, friend. This brings a lot of positive vibes in here. Good! 😳

You know? I can be happy when am materialisitically satisfied and also, tiny little things bring contentment however, mostly you'd find me among the people who are never happy. Maybe cause I think way too much than I should and that brings a lot of more to think and on and on, you know how it is, right?

Anyway, it's like - once I go wild, I am happy. More than you can imagine. 😳 🤣 Else, I am happy when I have babies and books and cute fellows around me. And I am happiest when well, I get to sleep. 😆

Edited by -Kanky- - 15 years ago
char76 thumbnail
I get happy with small little things such as

when mom makes Methi Ahlu or Raajma chawal...yum yum

when i talk to my siblings living far away

when I see other people getting what they want or I when my wishes become realty

Like you guys, when it rains after a dry hot summer

when I hear someone doing a good deed or when I do a good deed ..

Originally posted by: -Kanky-

Very nice topic, friend. This brings a lot of positive vibes in here. Good! 😳 Hey thanks yaar 😊.

You know? I can be happy when am materialisitically satisfied and also, tiny little things bring contentment however, mostly you'd find me among the people who are never happy. Maybe cause I think way too much than I should and that brings a lot of more to think and on and on, you know how it is, right? Oh ya, tell me about it 😆. Same here, materialistic things can make you happy to an extent but I feel soulful happiness is much beyond that. Even I have that tendency sometimes, to think a lot and realise there are lot of imperfections in my life 😆. If something goes wrong, I keep thinking about it and even if there are lot of things that makes me happy, sometimes those things keep lingering somewhere in my mind 🤔. But the best thing to do then is, dont think too much 😆. Whenever you tend to think a lot, immediately try to divert your mind into somthing else interesting, thereby keeping your mind occupied. Thats what I do many a times 😉.

Anyway, it's like - once I go wild, I am happy. More than you can imagine. 😳 🤣 Else, I am happy when I have babies and books and cute fellows around me. And I am happiest when well, I get to sleep. 😆 Oh ya there is nothing like going wild, even I do that at times, sometimes with humour and sometimes with other things 😆. You should do crazy things sometimes and shock your own heart 😆! And regarding babies, oooh I just love them Embarrassed! I can go on staring at them for hours, thats my idea of perfect meditation 😆. And ofcourse, sleep is the ultimate of them all 😃.

My comments in BLUE Embarrassed......
Edited by *dewdrop~pearl* - 15 years ago
gopalbhai thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I think the very fact that we are pursuing happiness imply we are intrinsically unhappy. Happiness is also cherished and remembered because so called happiness is temporary and cause of happiness occupies more time frame than the time that resultant happiness lasts. I wonder what it will be like if we do not have any expectation of happiness because they are never truly achieved if we consider the time that it lasts, which anyway comes only if we forget for that moment all other reasons for being unhappy!!!
allizzwell thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 5
@dewdrop~pearl
Appu.... what an amazing topic yaar..... beautiful.. tune kya baat kahi hai.👏👏👏.loved everyone's thots here...👍🏼...
One survives just expecting this one thing-peace..😛.. peace indirectly means we aspire for happiness .... happiness possibly cannot be quantified or predicted as to when/how it can happen....but yes it does fills us with positive energy to move ahead in life to achieve much more than what exists... i can say happiness can also be termed to the situation one feels good....😃
i feel good when i listen to music....
i feel good when i sing....
i feel good when i see the raindrops on the leaves...
i feel good when i am watering the plants...
i feel good when i relish and eat something which i like....
i feel good when someone appreciates me....
i feel good when i feed the poor....
I feel good when i am in company of my pals ...may be not even in person too...but just replying to PMs but yes.... that too makes us feel wanted and involved in a beautiful relation named friendship...
i feel good when i am besides my child ... helping him out in his studies or just lying besides him observing his innocence while sleeping.....
I feel good when i make quick -short jogs to match my hubby's footsteps and walk beside him during brisk-walk .... or when he slows his walk and halts to walk with me.....
so I guess happiness and the moments or the instances differ from person to person but it does have the basic thing intact... that one feels def. in high spirits when glad and it is another blessing of God 's way to say "Child.... live life....enjoy"....😃
Edited by laxmi_s - 15 years ago
return_to_hades thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

*Moderators Note: Dev Team has decided that this thread would be more appropriate in member's lounge and is being moved. 😊*

Originally posted by: laxmi_s

@dewdrop~pearl

Appu.... what an amazing topic yaar..... beautiful.. tune kya baat kahi hai.👏👏👏.loved everyone's thots here...👍🏼...
One survives just expecting this one thing-peace..😛.. peace indirectly means we aspire for happiness .... happiness possibly cannot be quantified or predicted as to when/how it can happen....but yes it does fills us with positive energy to move ahead in life to achieve much more than what exists... i can say happiness can also be termed to the situation one feels good....😃
i feel good when i listen to music....
i feel good when i sing....
i feel good when i see the raindrops on the leaves...
i feel good when i am watering the plants...
i feel good when i relish and eat something which i like....
i feel good when someone appreciates me....
i feel good when i feed the poor....
I feel good when i am in company of my pals ...may be not even in person too...but just replying to PMs but yes.... that too makes us feel wanted and involved in a beautiful relation named friendship...
i feel good when i am besides my child ... helping him out in his studies or just lying besides him observing his innocence while sleeping.....
I feel good when i make quick -short jogs to match my hubby's footsteps and walk beside him during brisk-walk .... or when he slows his walk and halts to walk with me.....
so I guess happiness and the moments or the instances differ from person to person but it does have the basic thing intact... that one feels def. in high spirits when glad and it is another blessing of God 's way to say "Child.... live life....enjoy"....😃

Oh thanks Laxmi 😳. And I loved what you have said about happiness, its really beautiful 👏👏! Infact I feel you have explained happiness much better than me also 😳.
vishmewell thumbnail

Originally posted by: gopalbhai

I think the very fact that we are pursuing happiness imply we are intrinsically unhappy. Happiness is also cherished and remembered because so called happiness is temporary and cause of happiness occupies more time frame than the time that resultant happiness lasts. I wonder what it will be like if we do not have any expectation of happiness because they are never truly achieved if we consider the time that it lasts, which anyway comes only if we forget for that moment all other reasons for being unhappy!!!

Gopalbhai, you beautifully stated about the state of happiness... In a nutshell you explained vedanta theory... material happiness is momentary which comes and goes.. and once the eternal happiness is achieved, the material happiness has little or no significance.
vishmewell thumbnail

Originally posted by: *dewdrop~pearl*

Oh thanks Laxmi 😳. And I loved what you have said about happiness, its really beautiful 👏👏! Infact I feel you have explained happiness much better than me also 😳.

@ Laxmi - Great points!!!

You have given a wide array of things that can make you or for that matter anyone happy. And most people would have experienced at least 90% of what is on your list. So my question for you is, when one has so many blessings they can count, why is a man (not literally man, I meant man in a general term) still unhappy??? Why is the man always in the pursuit of happiness??? why do we need these instances to be happening to us on reoccurring basis? The very fact that we need these incidents on a reoccurring basis, are they not temporary? If they are temporary, what is eternal truth? Should our pursuit not be for eternal happiness rather than temporary material happiness?