Penn Updates Comments Welcome

simi_1 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 19 years ago

Penn Archives - May 2006

Penn Archives - April 2006

Penn Archives - March 2006

SunTV serial

"Penn" directed by C.J. Basker under the banner of ANIKSHA PRODUSTIONS (P) LTD.

Synopsis

An all- new serial, beginning February 27, is about the trials and tribulations women face in life. Fifty year old Ranganayaki (Seetha), is the owner of a home needs company, 'Kadamban Food Products.' Despite all odds, she is cheerful, taking life in its stride. She meets Deepa, (Meera Vasudevan), a teenager, who tries to commit suicide. Ranganayaki intervenes and offers her shelter. Deepa is also inducted into the business. with a freehand to manage the operations of the firm. This does not meet with the approval of Ranganayaki's friends, Uma(sharmila) and Kalavathi(saritha's sister),who are partners. They try to get Deepa into trouble that will cost her the job. Sharmila, Viji, Subalekha Sudakar, V. S. Raghavan, Delhi Ganesh, Ajay Ratnam, TV Varadarajan and others star in this serial directed by C. J. Baskar for Anishka Productions.

Story so far in brief -

Ranga(Seetha), Kala(subalekha) & Uma(sharmila) are buddies from childhood who are also parnters running Kadam Food Products

Starts of with Ranga & Kala at the temple where kala gets the news that her son has safely reached america, they perform pooja. At the same time there is a girl(meera) who is walking around the temple ripping letters & thrown in a very sad state of affairs.

Delhi Ganesh(Ranga's driver, think his name is kailash) & ranga are driving home & find a girl jumping down a bridge to commit suicide, Delhi ganesh recsues her & ranga spends the night at the hospital next to this girl. The girl wakes up andfinds Ranga unconscious, apparently due to high sugar, so now ranga is getting treated & teh girl seems to be very caring. Girl gets discharged & ranga asks her why did the girl want to commit suicide since she does not get an answer out of her, Ranga gives names the girl Deepa & asks her to stay with Ranga for 30 days & then decide whether she wants to live or die. Deepa agrees

Now ranga has a very weird family, composing of 2 sons & a daughter, totally wasted. The first son is married , his wife chitra works in ranga's company & has a rental taxi business, girl is dating ranga's friend uma's boy, & the last son is totally wasted, all her children have one thing in common, all that they need from ranga is money. To add to the mix is ranga's dad, guess quiet senile at his age.

Uma has a son(ashok from malargal) & a daughter (mohini) & soninlaw(dganesh older son from mannaivi) & his parents(varadarajan & not sure of the wife) & her husband(abhi's FIL from kolangal) who hates umas friend ranga & kala but works in their company. Has set opinions about adoption, & thinks adopted kids are second rate.

Also there is badri(think he played inspector in annamalai) who is the manager & knows it all in ranga's organisation.

Rangas office seems to be doing ok, everyone seems to respect ranga the most.

Delhi ganesh has a son kasi, who seems to be a self righteous & hot blooded young dude.

He meets deepa at ranga's place & they both seem to like each other. He tries to find out deepas real identity but she sweetly avoids his questions & he says he will find out.

last nite episode, ranga takes deepa to her work , introduces everyone to her, & deepa likes the atmosphere and she wants to get a job there, in the meantime one of rangas workers (chandra) cuts her finger in a machine(due to her younger sis getting married and she being adopeted), deepa uses her presence of mind and saves the cut finger in an ice box & takes it to the emergency room where chandra is admitted, there she sees the doctor & another person (KRISHNA from mannivi) & hides and seems tobe very fearful of him. Kala notices this.

next morning ranga is trying to do meditation & everyone in her house but for deepa keeps disturing her for money(quiet irritating). finally rnaga prays for peace for that family

this is it so far,

now, i have a request if some of you can update this serial atleast one day a week,

if we get volunteers we would very much appreciate it.

if not i will try to update it once a week

Simi

Edited by simi_1 - 19 years ago

dasa1 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Hi simi,
The new serial seems interesting and I can help out with some updates.
Can you pl check ur mail?
simi_1 thumbnail
Ok Great Dasa,

Mondays - Dasa1
Tuesday - ?
Wednesday - ?
Thursday - ?
Fridays - Simi

Simi
delilah thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Thanx for the update Simi...

I really like this serial..
though i wuld like to help you out with the updates..
i cant really guarantee that i will be able to do it..
Besides even if I am able to then i can do it on the next day only..
For example Monday's episode's update on Tuesday...I dont know if that's fine
Majaa thumbnail
Thanks guys. 👏 Anyone has the full cast list please?
dasa1 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Update for Mon Mar 20-2006

Mohini/in-laws

Mohini comes to her MIL's house in a car and lavishly tips the driver
Rs.200. She then comes in with the food products brought from the
factory. She then thinks of a plan to butter her Mil. Mil comes to the
hall and immediately Mohini tells her some great smell of vatha
kuzhambu is coming! MIL of course is happy and now Mohini shows her
the food products and says these have been given by her mother
specially for them. . She talks as if Kadambari food products belongs
to her and says her mother can take anything from the factory. In the
meanwhile, her FIL comes in and she tells him also about the food
products given by her mother. She then casually tells him that she has
got back the necklace from her friend who had borrowed from her. Now
she gives the necklace to her MIL and then pretends to go inside.
Mil examines the necklace and tells her husband that it seems to be
looking different,there is some change in the necklace. Varadharajan
shushes his wife telling that she is so behaving so nice and we should
not have these sort of suspicions about her.Mohini keeps listening to
the conversation but pretends to wash her hands. Now MIL comes in and
Mohini asks her whether everything is ok. MIL says fine and tells her
to keep it inside. She then discovers Mohini has forgotten the bangles
in the washbasin and calls her and tells to be more careful as
servants are moving around the house.Mohini takes the bangles and
heaves a sigh of relief that her con was not found out.

Chitra/Ranga/Badri

Ranga is her office. Chitra comes in and tells her there are 3
insurance proposals –for life,accident and a combined one –and they
have to decide one of that. Ranga says we will choose the one giving
maximum benefits to the workers.Chitra says in that way, company will
have to spend too much. R says we have to help the workers. Now chitra
asks who are considered as the workers? R says incl herself,Uma,Badri
and everyone here is a worker and here and we have to safeguard the
worker's interests. In the meanwhile a mobile call comes for chitra
and seeing the number, she does not answer it. Next, Ranga gets a call
on her telephone and seeing it is for chitra gives the phone to
her.chitra takes the phone and her face turns when she starts hearing
who is on the line. Immediately, she blabbers that it is a wrong
number and keeps the phone down. Ranga says what wrong number u are
telling, they clearly asked for ur name. chitra says something
unconvincingly and comes out of the room.
Now she dials on the mobile and tells the other person why are calling
on Ranga's number? I was not in any position to take ur call. She then
hears that the other person wants Rs.10000 and then she says she will
bring it in cash immediately.
Now she sees Badri and then tells him that she need Rs.10000 very
urgently and whether he can give her the money s salary advance
without needing to tell Ranga.Badri tells her no problem and she gets
joyous and asks him how-—because for these sort of emergencies, Ranga
has made a rule that upto 1 month salary can be paid to any worker
without her authorization.Chitra is happy but immediately criticizes
badri for regarding her as a worker. Badri says it is so easy to spend
money but it is difficult to earn even 1rupee in a honest way. He then
tells her to collect the cash.

Chitra/Kumar

chitra goes to a hotel to meet her friend and in the lobby, she runs
into Kumar who is talking to one Thangavel. Kumar introduces her to
thangavel saying she is administrative manager in kadambari food
products. chitra hurries inside. Kumar continues with thangavel and
tells him to give the contract for conducting 200 marriages in a
particular place to him only. He makes a great sales pitch and tells
him that his wife is in a big post in that factory and the entire
kadamabari food products will help him out. Thangavel is however not
fully convinced and tells him to do the preparatory work and he will
see later and he comes out.
In the meanwhile Chitra is waiting in the restaurant and in comes her
friend,Leela. Chitra gives her Rs.10000 and then tells her that
someone os outside and so don't go out now. Kumar also watches the
scene from a distance.

Thangavel comes out and meets Soliappan and tells him that solai's
plan is working out and it looks like Kumar is falling for the bait.He
then asks why you are doing like this? Solai says barani came and
asked for money and he came to know more about the company and now
this is the way to get in and he says he is always interested in
wherever money is to be made and immediately images of kuberan and the
horse flash pass.

Mohini/Uma

Mohini comes to her mother's house and gives lot of oranges/apples and
says these are from her in laws' plantations. Uma checks it and says
from when they started to put labels on these apples. Mohini you are
being insulted and u don't know it., You are the marketing coordinator
of the company and yet you have to pay Rs.3000 for the items that I
took. It is very bad,she says. She says Ranga started the company
with you and it has grown due to your hard work but you are not given
any importance. This badri and even a rank new person Deepa who has
suddenly come up from nowhere are given im portance.Uma says she is
thankful to Ranga for taking her taking her in partnership and says
she has got house/car because of that. But Mohini now goes on to
poison her mother saying soon Ranga will ditch you and Kala when they
are not of any use for her . She further says we have to gain control
of this company—it should be ours.
Now uma also supports her saying ,yes, we should get control of the
company.
So far Uma was sort of loyal to Ranga but now she also starts to speak
against her . May be we can see some tough times for Ranga!

sudhasri thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 2 Thumbnail + 2
Thanks guys for all these superb updates.

I saw the ad for penn and really liked it as I thought, at least from the trailer, it would be somethign about female bonding - between Seeta and a younger girl (now I know she is Deepa).

Seeta looks terrific and the shots by the beach were just wonderful.

I think I will start watching this serial once a week or so and rely on your great updates for teh rest of the week.

So far the story looks good. It has the potential to topple Kolangal from the top spot. Hope the directors don't get too off track and introduce too many people. Already, I think there are too many people in the story.

Thanks again!
swash2 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
March 21, 2006 Tuesday updt

Ranga stands near the outhouse/guesthouse entrance and calls out Deepa's name. No answer. Their cook Ramasamy anneY comes by and he asks Ranga to knock but Ranga says Deepa doesn't like that. Deepa comes out and Ramasamy tells her, why does she keep amma waiting? Deeps apologizes to Ranga, calling her Rangu (i was reminded of ku-rangu kusala) and asks her why she didn't knock. Ranga says she knew from past experience that deepa gets petrified at folks knocking and how she threw a fit the other day when Ranga's second wayward son kept knocking and slowly asks, why is she afraid of knocking? Deepa clutches the fence, thinks about a million hands knocking and her hands start shaking. Ranga observes this and Deepa tells her that she has a bad experience with the knocks and to let it be. Ranga says ok and takes her inside the guest house, locks the door from inside and asks Ramasamy to knock once she says so. Deepa protests but Ranga insists. Ramasamy knocks heavily and Deepa panics. Ranga holds on to her and Deepa slowly quietens down. Ranga tells her that it is fear that made her a coward but now she has conquered it because she knows someone is there to hold on to her and that she will always be her friend. This experiment is repeated a couple more times and they come out.

A wholesale grocery godown - MuthuKumar is shown talking to an 'annaachi' who is the owner of this grocery business who laments that since one time he supplied a low quality (2nd grade) lentils to Kadambam food products, Kalavathy cancelled his contract and he would do whatever to get it back. Muthukumar says he has an 'in' in Kadambam and tells him his wife Uma is the marketing head and he would make sure that this brother gets all the business in future. But, he needs a favour from him now. MK says that the grocer has to supply all groceries for a rich man's marriage at half the ingredient price. Annanchi is ecstatic that he is going to get the business of kadambam back and promises to supply things at half price. Muthukumar calls up brother (thangavel) the guy who is a Solaiappan plant and asks him for the list. This guy is waiting in Solaiappan's house in order to see him. He says he is in a meeting and he would call back within 10 min. MK says he found a supplier for all things at the requested price.

Thangavel (am not sure if this is his name) goes inside and tells Gardendad abt Muthukumar's interest and Gardenhead is pleased that MK has fallen into the trap he set for him. He says that so it is indeed true that Kadambam is a big business and that means money. He asks Thangavel to give some commission to MK and give him a big list of products that can be bought at half-price and later on sold at double the price. He asks him to include high-end products like almonds, cashews, pista, etc. Solai then asks Kasi (his asst) to give 1 lakh towards this purchase to Thangavel and asks Thangavel to deliver it all to their godown. Thangavel then asks for Rs.15000 but hearing this, Solai's face changes and he asks TV to wait outside and tells Kasi to give him just 10000. he says money is precious and it is like a sweet, too much of it will thegattufy, so it should be doled out only in small amounts.

Muthukumar takes down the grocery list and annachi notes them down. MK asks him to supply it asap and he talks abt some 15000 on the phone to TV and annachi wants to know what is it? MK tells him it is another matter entirely, about a marriage contract and that they need supplies for a crowd of 15000. Annachi also gives some commission to MK. MK makes a pretence of refusing it but then takes it, promising him the entire Kadambam business.

They show Deepa dreaming abt Ranga's words that if only she applied herself in life, she can live and give livelihood to many others. This she does while counting bags, grinding masalas.

all the girls in the office are having a fun time in the corridor when Chithra walks in and they all line up and salute her.
After she leaves, one of them imitates her (dont know for sure if it was Deepa)
.............thodarum..................
sudhasri thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Engager Level 2 Thumbnail + 2
nice update Swash..

i saw one episode yesterday - it was 10 pm, my family was asleep and i was alone in the living room. when i saw the men dressed in black i got a bit scared. then when the men were singing rap with red paint i was terrified.. i could watch barely up to the first ad..

this serial - is it a horror serial or what??/
simi_1 thumbnail
NO sudha alteast so far it is not a horror serial, if u get beyond hte song it is ok

It has the usual jealousy & power factor & some mystery added to it

basically epidosde 1, Deepa tires to commit suicide & ranga & her driver rescue her,& ranga aks deepa to stay wit her for 30 days, after which deepa can decide whether she wants to live or not. So far deepa does not disclose her past, but seems to have a lot of common sense, & is shown terrifed to see one doctor

Till this point mostly bonding between ranga & deepa & how ranga is making deepa stronger. By the way ranga has a very twisted family & maybe some very jealous friend
Story might be about how deepa willbond well with ranga & help ranga realise that she is surrounded by bad people & protect ranga & vice versa

simi