Ss The Saviour/ last part on pg 17 updtd 16/jan

kamy thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 17 years ago
Hi guys.
here i am again with a ss. this one is for Nishi. the character of Jai is her Idea. she wanted me to write this. and this story i have shamlessly lifted from a book i have read recently 😃
hope u guys will support me like u have always done. all the comments are welcome and any suggestions too. Pm me please with suggestions if accurate for the story i would definitely add them 😉

chapter 5 on pg 9 , chpt 6 on pg 12, chptr 7 on pg 14, chptr 8 on pg 17

This Story takes place in the sixties where in some villagers the Saits and Zamindars ruled. they made people's life hell with their needs and demands. the law had little to say in the matter. well. this story is about a saviour..........

The Saviour part 1

She sat in her little cozy sitting room and stared outside the window. It was too difficult to go out on the streets. The braggarts teased the women if they saw one. They enjoyed their life in the village teasing and bothering young married and unmarried women. Bani grimaced, she needed to go out, the time was 4 past 30 pm. Her mother would not let her out at this hour. But she wanted to go to her old friends they would be waiting for her. She promised an elderly woman she would go to see her finished sweater. Bani smiled at the thought of the woman they were the people who did not have any family. They were elderly women who stayed together in a two room house near the river bank. They made baskets and knitted sweater and made socks for their living. Bani would visit them often and spend time with them she would make them laugh and she would join them and help them with knitting and making baskets. She loved doing those stuffs with them she was lost in thoughts when Kiran walked in to the living room.

'What are you thinking dear?'
'Ma.. nothing.. er I was thinking to go and visit. Janki masui and…'
Kiran face lost its color. 'No Bani…. I can't let you out of the house. It is not safe..'
'Oh ma… how long you will tie me up here? I need to go..' she asked exasperated.
'No Bani.. when I say no It's no… just yesterday Shanta ben was telling me how the goons teased her daughter and Jhanvi was in tears..'
Bani ground her teeth. How long do they have to suffer these goondas? Where are the men around this village doesn't anyone have a back born to fight those scoundrels?
'Don't you plan things Bani .. you are not going out period…'
'But ma I promised Janki mausi…'
"Bani…' warned Kiran.. 'They are old women they have nothing to lose where as you are…'
'Bas..' Bani stopped her from continuing.
'Why ma no men in this village has guts to fight those villains?' she asked with desperation.
'Let my Munna come Bani.. he will show those goons how it is to challenge a man?' Said Billo mausi, from the door. She walked in and removed her shawl and hung it on the settee.
'It's very cold outside Kiran can I get a hot tea…' she asked walking towards Bani and taking her seat.
"yes Di.. of course.. I'll get it…' she walked quickly to the kitchen.
Billo Mausi turned to Bani, "han Bani what were you complaining about?'
'About goons Mausi, if the situation continues this way how do you think girls can go out without fear'?
Billo Mausi nodded. 'You are right, let my Munna come Bani you just see what he will do?'
'What will he do?' asked Bani rather exasperatedly.
Billo ignored her tone.
'He will fight them Bani you don't know my munna.. he will bring justice to the villagers.' Said Billo proudly.
Bani's thoughts drifted back in time when they were little children. He was a fat boy who was very rude made girls cry with rude remarks . fought with Bani most of the time and at times surprised her taking her sides when rest of the gang teased her. He always made it a point that she was his to tease and make her cry, where as any boys hurt her feelings, he would make them pay like carrying her books while going and coming from school. Getting grocery for her mom. They obeyed him because he was leader of the gang. Bani hated his highhandedness and his rudeness. She always argued with him, she can punish the boys if they teased her and she did not need his help. He can very well keep his fat head and tummy out of her way. She would call him Jumbo Jai, when she was very angry, which always infuriated him. She had named him Jumbo after watching Jumbo circus with her gang. The name suited him. He was a huge boy. With equally fat brain.
'You thinking about my Munna, Bani'? asked Billo. Interrupting her thoughts.
Bani shrugged her shoulders.
"my munna is coming Bani..' she said with full of smiles.
Why? To torture us again? She wanted to ask but bit her tongue from asking.
Kiran Bought steaming cup of tea and handed to Billo.
'when is your Munna coming? Asked Bani.
'Tomorrow..' Said Billo. 'I'll go to the station to welcome him Bani.. would you like to come with me..'
"No…'
Billo frowned.
Kiran looked accusingly at her.
'I am busy Mausi … I have some important things to do..'
'What's so important than my munna bani…' asked Billo with little hurt.
Bani flashed a smile ignoring the question.
'By the way how is your munna Mausi? Is he still huge?'
'Bani..' warned Kiran.
Billo smiled . "you just see him Bani.. my Munna has become a handsome man, Bani.'
Mmm that I have to see. Thought Bani, Handsome, and her Munna? A sly smile appeared on her lips.
Billo noticed her face and said, 'I know what you are thinking Bani.. you just see after he comes girls will stand in line to marry him….'
'Good for them..' muttered Bani.
'But I have someone in mind Kiran, your Bani..' said Billo smiling at stunned Kiran.
Bani sat back in shock. Me and Jumbo No. never… she looked at Kiran. Kiran studied her daughter's face and prayed. God , please keep my Bani's mouth shut for sometime please..
'er… Billo Di when is Jai coming.. I mean what time?' Kiran asked.
'At 3pm Kiran I am so excited to see him.. you just see what he will do once he comes, the town will see the difference.' Bragged Billo.
Kiran and Bani exchanged glances.
Billo Mausi spent some time with them and left.
Bani looked at Kiran.
"Ma, Billo Mausi is out of her mind.. tell her she is dreaming.. me marrying Jumbo? No Ma.. not him. I'll marry who has a back born in this village. Who can save us girls from those goons and Sham lal Sait..'
Kiran kept her mouth shut. There was no reasoning with Bani. She would be wasting her energy. She left her in the living room and walked to the kitchen.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jai looked at his fat suit and put them on. He needed a disguise to get him through this town. He couldn't keep his hands away from those scoundrels who cornered a young woman in the store. He was not aware the goons were the near ones of the people who ruled town. He did not want to get caught and he did not want to delay his visit to his village. Mausi was thrilled over the phone when he called to tell her she was waiting for him with his favorite dishes.
His back was wounded by the knife they used. He had tried to get in the clinic to dress his wounds the doctor prescribed him the medicine and congratulated on his bravery. And warned him to take care. They were very powerful people. The doctor had helped him with the disguise, he had made a huge pad with the cotton he had tied it around his flat stomach made heavy cotton pads for his legs. It took them few hours to give him a different shape. He would discard this dress once he got to his village. There won't be anyone who would recognize him. But the doctor had ordered him to take few dresses with him in case he needed them. Jai was aware of the town and about his village condition by the time he shopped for his dress. He bought few of them and walked to the hotel room. The receptionist did not recognize him. Jai had to take his wig out to show him he was the same person. The receptionist smiled and handed him the key.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bani looked at the time. It was almost 3pm. She wondered how Jumbo looked now. She had last seen him was years ago. The curiosity was getting better of her. She went to her room dressed in a multi colored skirt and a yellow blouse. Combed her hair looked her in the mirror and walked out of the house calling to her mother she would be back soon. The walk to the railway station took fifteen minutes. She saw Mausi and her servants from the distance. She moved little back and took her position. She did not want Mausi to see her. There were few people with her eagerly waiting and with her Bani noticed Chameli her rival. She was dressed fine thought Bani. Chameli ki Bachi had come to impress jumbo. Poor soul did not know what was coming, thought Bani with a smile. But, she wanted to see him too. She wanted to know if Mausi's Munna had really turned the charmer like the woman had bragged. She heard the whistle of the train and saw the train approaching. She caught her breath as the train stopped at the station. People got down from the train and her eyes screened the place, then to her horror she saw a man get down from the train with so much difficulty. First her put his foot down then came his tummy and then she saw his face, the wig he wore was outrageous. Bani stared at him for couple of seconds and burst out laughing uncontrollably. The savior.. she murmured.

Mausi looked at him in shock and her attention turned to the place where she heard someone laugh. Her eyes fixed on Bani and her face grew pink. She quickly turned her attention towards her Munna. Who walked towards her like a big sack of potato. She found Chameli suppress her laughter. She looked at her Munna.

Jai walked slowly towards his Mausi. He felt bad for her. She seemed ready to cry. He looked at the crowd. They looked at him in a peculiar way. Jai cursed his fate. He stood before Mausi and tried to bend down to touch her feet, Mausi caught him before the act. She knew he would fall if he had bent to touch her feet and it would be more embarrassing to lift him when that girl was laughing shamelessly from behind. God, she had bragged and bragged about him last day. But he was her Munna no matter how he looked she loved him. Her face softened at the thought.
'Come on Munna.. let's go home…'
'Yes Mausi..; he said looking at the people who seemed ready to burst into laughter at the sight of him. He looked like a joker he knew but he couldn't help. One of the goons he had smashed left and right was in the same compartment and got down here at the very place. He needs to keep this charade for some time and he need to do something to save this village from Sham lal saits goondas. He heard from the people police interfered less in the matter. On his way to the car he heard a muffled laughter he turned his attention to the girl who wore a rainbow skirt. It's her thought Jai looking at her. She had gown into a beautiful girl. He noticed she was looking at him with mirth. He indeed looked like a clown he knew but how dare she make fun of him.
'Is there any color that's not there on the skirt of your Bani?' he asked spitefully. Get off from here you are clogging everyone's vision..'
Chameli ,chuckled looking at Bani. She did enjoy that remark. Bani deserved it.
Bani's face grew pink. She wanted to give it back then and there to chameli and Jumbo Jai. She controlled her urge.
Jai looked at Chameli and winked.
Mausi nudged Jai to the car. He had difficulty getting in. this was the chance thought Bani she walked quickly to the car and whispered for him to hear. 'What have you done? Ate the whole of London?'
'You…' before he could get hold of her she moved quickly aside. He looked angrily at her. And tunred his attention on Mausi.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- tbc

Part 2

Bani went straight to the elderly people from the station. If she got home first, her mother would not let her to meet them.
Janaki Mausi made a face when she saw Bani enter the house with a smile. Bani caught her ears and said, "sorry, ma did not let me out of the house yesterday Janki Mausi.. she was afraid for me..'
'Why? Asked the woman pretending not to know the real reason.
'Why? What question is that Janki Mausi ma told me you guys don't have anything to lose where as I ….' Bani stopped in mid and looked at the woman embarrassed.
Janki Mausi and her companions laughed at her predicament. Bani smiled along with them.
'Now you can show me the piece..' said Bani.
Janki Masui walked to her chest and opened it. She took out a beautiful sweater in blue color and handed to Bani.
'Its beautiful..' said Bani.
'It's yours…' Said Janki Mausi.
'No Masui you will get good price for that..' she said giving it back.
'No Bani, I want you to keep it.. its for all the support you give us elderly ladies..'
Bani looked at the sweater and she said, "But, Mausi this swater is bigger in size I ..'
"No more of arguments my dear this is for your husband…'
'But I am not married..'
'When you marry give him this from me..'
Bani folded the sweater and looked at the ladies dejectedly. "I don't think I'll ever marry Masui..'
'Why is that? Asked Lakshmi Mausi.. looking at her serious face.
'There's no man in this village I want to get married to and I will not marry any spineless one period..'
The woman exchanged glances with others. 'You are right… we don't want you to settle with any of the spineless boys in here..' said one of them angrily.
Janki Mausi looked at her small oval face and said, "Bani will have a man who will come on a horse and sweep her off her feet.' The woman's eyes shone with mirth
Bani's cheeks grew pink. She looked at Janki Mausi with mock anger.
'Yes my child.. you will have a prince..' she said patting her head affectionately.
'If that was true… thought Bani dreamily.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jai walked to the room his father was in. Uday Walia was bed ridden. 3 months ago he had fall in the bathroom and broke the limbs. He could hardly walk after that. It had been years , more than 4 thought Jai he met his father. Uday Walia visited him in London. He was strict about Jai's studies he wanted him to graduate from there even if it took to keep him away from the family. Jai knew his father would recognize his disguise, if not him who would thought Jai. Mausi left him to the door and left. Jai took a long breath and walked in. Uday Walia looked up from his bed. His face shut the same instant. He waved his hand at Jai to come back later. Jai was more than angry. How could the old man believe what he saw. He shut the door angrily without much of explanation.
Uday couldn't believe what he saw. He did not breed a clown thought Uday Walia dejectedly. He was waiting for a warrior to fight the injustice that was happening around him. What has become of the son he always thought proudly? He needs to find out the reason behind this…
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jai walked into the sanctuary of his room and breathed a sigh of relief. He need good bath and he needs to get this cotton pads out of him. He took them out and walked up and down in the room and went to take a leisure bath.
It took him almost an hour to get dressed in another bizarre outfit he cursed him for selecting this kind of disguise. Wearing cotton pads all the time was making him uneasy. It was too difficult to move and he had to keep up the charade for few days or more.He had no idea. He had heard from the goon that they were searching for the man who had touched the goons. If they got him they would beat him to pulp. Jai had heard time applying ointment to his would at the back. He needed help and that too from a trustworthy man. He cannot do this alone. He had decided.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Masui saw him walk towards the dining room and slumped on the chair in S shape.
Munna what have you done to yourself? She thought sadly. She smiled at him and served him her home made food.
Jai did not gobble down the whole of dining table. He ate very less. Masui looked at him in amazement. He did not even eat for the size he was. Poor thing is he really sick a terror went through her.
'Munna you alright? She asked.
'Yes Mausi…'
'You did not eat much..'
Jai gave a look. "what did you think Mausi I would gobble down the whole dining table. I don't eat much..'
'Then how….' She swallowed the rest of the sentence she did not want to embarrass him.
Jai thought quickly. 'Mausi I fell sick some time ago in London. I had to take some medication and the result was this….' He had no idea if he had convinced Masui. He saw her eyes misty.
'Oh Munna… how sorry I am to hear this.. isn't there any remedy for this?'
Jai had to conceal him smile he looked sadly at her.
'It's Okay Munna.. Now on we will not discuss this anymore..'
Good he thought.
He took rest the whole day. He asked Mausi not to send anyone to him for he would be taking rest and from tomorrow he will look into the accounts and stuff.
Jai tore off his cloths as soon as he reached his room. He went to sleep.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kiran had to keep a straight face when Bani talked about Jai. Finally she had to warn her to keep her mouth shut. She was not supposed to tease people it was not his fault he was fatter.
And ma, you should have seen Mausi's face. She was looking ready to faint.
"Enough Bani… come and have dinner..'
Bani was up from her seat she followed her mother to the kitchen. On her way she had asked about her father when he would be back from town.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jai stretched on his bed. His eyes fell on the cotton pads . God, he grimaced now he had to adorn them. He went to freshen up wore the fat suit and walked out of the room.

Jai had guest from the village. His accountants and staff from the company came to visit him. Jai ignored the exchange of glances. His father had appointed dedicated and trustworthy staff. The staff would visit him in the house and he would give them instructions at times his male nurse would take him to the office. Uday had sent the people directly to Jai ordering them he would take care of the business from now on. Jai dismissed the people promising to visit the office from the next day onwards.
Jai's thoughts again turned to the person whom he can trust. He was raking his brain to find the solution Mausi walked up to him and announced.
"Jai, Hari is here to see you..'
'HAri ….' Jai almost shouted his name. A wide smile appeared on his lips. He was his dear friend. How could he forget Hari? Jai kicked him. He was the perfect man whom he can rely on. He would keep his secret.

Hari , Jai's master's son followed Mausi to meet Jai. He was too excited to meet him. He heard lots of stories about Jai on his way. He did not want to believe what he had heard he wanted look for himself. Jai was his dear friend.
Jai saw Hari approach him. He got up from the seat . His tummy came between his action. Jai groaned and got up.
Hari nearly got heart attack. What has his friend done with him? He was a fat boy but not as fat he would turn to look like a sack of potatoes.
Jai contained his smile at the look on his friend. 'Hari… he shouted his name and went to hug him.
Hari had difficulty to hug him his tummy came between them. He looked sadly at his friend.
'Jai… what…'
'Mausi… me and Hari has lot to catch up we will be in my room…' Jai pulled his friends arm and walked to his room. They got in and Jai bolted the door.
Hari looked at him surprised. Jai moved faster than the size of the man he was.
'Jai.. what is all this?'
'You need to sit down and has to give me word you will not tell anyone what I am going to tell you'.
Hari nodded. Jai took a seat opposite and narrated the incidents to him.
Once finished he looked at Hari's face. He looked at him stunned.
He got up and paced the room and turned to Jai, "Brother, I'll help you. I have been a coward. Now I have you Jai we will save the village. And I can look at Bani with a straight face not lower my gaze when she passes me with the look of contempt …'
Jai looked at him surprised.' What does Bani got to do with this?'
'Oh, You don't know Jai if she had her way she would put bangles on every man's hand. She thinks we are spineless. '
Jai contained his smile. The same old Bani he thought.
'You mean you are going to tell her what I told you?' he asked seriously.
"No way Jai, we cannot trust her on that front . she would spoil it by bragging. Or joining us in our..'
No .. no…. keep her away let her not know anything….' Jai said with finalty. 'we will show the scoundrels..'
Hari nodded with new enthusiasm.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It has been two weeks Jai arrived in the village. Bani did not go to see him. Nor did she meet Jai anywhere.
It was on Sunday she and Chameli walked to the fair that was going on in the village for past 2 days. Kiran did not let Bani to go to the fair fearing she would encounter one of the scoundrels. Bani did not hear any of her reasoning. She and Chameli took off to the fair. They got in to the bangle shop to see what new has come.
Bani took a set of bangles and put them on her hand and looked at Chameli. 'Hows it?'
"okay, said Chameli. Though they competed with each other both the girls were found together.
Chameli took a set of colorful bangles and showed to Bani.
'It's beautiful Jaan it would look beautiful if you wore it on your hand said a man with a nastiest smile.
The girls ignored him and walked further from the shop leaving the bangles. The goon followed them and blocked their way.
The next instant Bani and Chameli saw him fly in the air. To their horror he landed few feet's away from them . They looked at the direction from where he thrown. They saw a man in black who had covered his face with a silk mask. He looked tall and fit. He had pitch black hair before they could take a good look at him he moved faster took hold of the man lying on the floor. He lifted his head up and barked. 'if you touch or tease any of the girls you won't know what had hit you.' His fist touched the goons jaw. Bani heard the man wince in pain. Before Chameli and Bani could call out to him he was gone as swiftly as he had come. There were few people who witnessed the scene. The word got out like wild fire. It even reached Sham Lal.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bani and Chameli did not quit talking about him on their way back. Bani was more than happy. Her prayer has been answered.
'Who could that be Bani'? asked Chameli.
'The savior'.. murmured Bani.
'Savior.. oh that's a cute name Bani… did you notice Bani he saved me from the goon. He likes me I think.' Said Chameli stars in her eyes.
Bani rolled her eyes. 'Chameli Please.. he did not save just you did you not hear what he told the goon…'
Chameli was not in any mood to hear Bani's reasons. She only knew one thing. The savior has saved Chameli not Bani.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jai had seen the look on Bani's face. She looked stunned and the way she looked at him with adoring eyes. Jai laughed at the thought.
'What are you laughing at?' asked Hari.
Jai shrugged his shoulders. It's high time he should go and meet her.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bani was helping Kiran in the kitchen the calling bell rang. She wiped her hands and went to open the door.
Bani was surprised to see the visitor. He filled the entire of door frame. She stood back giving him way to pass her. Jai walked in studying her face. 'Hello Bani.'
'Hi..' she said.
'did not see you around..' he said casually acknowledging Kiran who stuck her head from the kitchen door.
Bani was surprised. 'I er.. was little busy.. Sit down Jai..' she said looking at Kiran.
Jai walked towards their small settee and slumped down in S shape.
Bani had to try real hard not to burst out laughing. She looked at Kiran who motioned her to the kitchen.
'I'll be back Jai.. what can I get you to drink…'
'Nothing at present thank you..'
Bani walked to her mother. Kiran pulled her in and warned. If you speak to him rudely Bani you wont know what had hit you got that?'
'Yes mother…' she sighed. 'Get him bucket of tea or something ma..'
'BANIIII.. behave yourself..' Kiran needed mighty strength not to laugh at her daughter's comments.
Bani grinned and walked back to Jai..
'So what's up Bani…' he asked casually.
'Did you not get the wind of it Jai? We the villagers live very peacefully In here. Thanks to Sham lal and his gundas . Bani noticed the frown.
'You guys can only frown Jai . this village has bred spineless men….'
'Bani.. please…' warned Kiran who walked in with a tray. She placed tea and a plate of pakodas.
'What please ma? Like few days back Billo mausi was bragging about her nephew he would come and bash up the goons then what happened. What did come?'
Jai choked on the tea he was drinking spilling on the kurta he was wearing.
Kiran glared at Bani. Bani ignored her mother. She was angry, angry with everyone she hated the situation they were in.
Kiran looked at Jai's kurta. The tea had stained his white material. 'Ignore her Jai.. she is out of her mind..' said Kiran.
'I am sane ma..' said Bani looking angrier. 'All the men around here are spineless.' She seethed.
Jai wanted to throttle her then and there but he controlled the urge. 'But I can tell you something.. one man has got guts. Just yesterday he bashed up one of them. ' her eyes sparkled saying that. Jai noticed it.
'Bani.. what happened yesterday?' asked Kiran worriedly.
'ma, please this is the reason I don't tell you anything.. I knew if I told you won't let me out of the house.
'Who had guts?' asked Jai sipping the rest of the tea from the cup.
'A man in black he wore a mask … I know he would be our savior…'
'Savior..' murmured Jai.
'what did he do'? Asked Kiran.
'He bashed the goon and thundered if they teased or touched any girls he would not know what had hit them… and that is man ma….' She looked at Jai with sarcasm.
'Well Jai how many girls were lining up your house to marry you?' she asked syddenly.
'What?' he asked not understanding what she was getting at.
'Billo mausi said girls would stand in line to marry you…'
'Bani…… Kiran called her exasperatedly.
'Let her jabber Kiran Mausi… she is good to do just that…' said Jai.
Bani wanted to say so many things she bit her tongue fearing if she spoke her mother would slap her then and there.
Jai put the tea cup on the table and looked at his kurta.
'Sorry Jai… can I get a wet towel or something to wash the stain..' asked Kiran guiltily.
He waved his hand. He tried to get up from the settee with difficulty. He had to keep up the charade he thought. He needs to be cautious around Bani. Jai couldn't get up from the settee. Bani put her hand out for him.
Jai looked her from head to toe and smiled. 'Move away Bani.. you can't lift me up from here. Do not forget your size.
Kiran suppressed her smile. She felt good about Jai he was joking about him.
'You have no idea of my strength Jai.. give me your hand or you will take ages to get up from the settee..
Jai looked at her serious face for a moment and extended his arm. She took his arm in hers and pulled. For a second Jai was pleased by her manners. Jai lifted himself up from the seat. Bani tugged at his arm using all her strength. He was up from the settee. His belly came in between him and Bani and Bani fell back in reflex. Jai held her hand in time to steady her.

The action was too much for Kiran to take she was after all human. She picked up the cup and plate and walked to the kitchen controlling hard not to laugh.

Bani glared at his belly. "What are you growing in there Jumbo? You should grow muscles on your upper arm not on your tummy.' She shouted.
Jai found the accusation very funny but he made a sad face. 'I can't help it Bani… the medication I had taken during my illness had caused this….' He said.
'Oh, what happened?' she was immediately concerned.
Jai gazed into her eyes and shrugged his shoulders.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 3

Sham Lal slapped the man on his right hand. 'What the hell were you doing? When that ba****d broke the lock of our warehouse.. you were supposed to guard it. Have you any idea how much it will cost me? 'Sham Lal trembled with fury.
'Sorry sait ji… we will take care from now on…' said the side kick in fear.
'You better be.. and one more thing find out who the man in black dress is..'
His side kicks nodded in unison.
Sham Lal let them out of the back door of his house and turned to his assistant.
'How long the Walia son's been here?'
'30m minutes sait ji…' said the man.
'I'll be in a minute… give him tea Ganesh..'
Ganesh nodded and left.

Jai was sitting in Sham Lal's living room leafing through a magazine , the sait walked in. Jai lifted his head up and acknowledged him.
'You are Jai Walia.. right?'
Jai nodded .
'I am sorry to have kept you waiting '. Said Sham Lal and took a seat opposite him.
'So what brought you here?'
A business deal.. Sham Sait..'
Sait frowned. 'we have a deal Jai Walia with your father..'
'Yes indeed Sait I have come to revise it..'
A scowl appeared on Saits face.
Jai spoke to him in lengths about his business proposal. Sham Lal had to give into Jai's proposition. If he backed out Jai would deal with someone else from the neighboring village. Walia's provided wheat and rice from their field. Sham Lal sold them in exorbitant price. If he reduced his price Jai would let him have the stock else he would talk to some other dealers. Sham Lal did not have any choice. If he brought the stock from elsewhere it would cost him more than he would get from Jai. Even if he sold it for the price he had fixed. For time being he decided to go with Jai, may be later he would work out something.
Jai left his place with a smile on his face.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bani was aware of the commotion the savior was causing in the village everyone had only one thing to talk and that about the savior. Some said they have seen him in person. He was a handsome man with thick black hair and perfect face. Bani knew they were rumors. She hardly believed anyone saw his face. He was creating quite a stir among the young girls.
She too was eager to hear about him. She would stop by if any one showered praises about him. She would at times contradict their bizarre stories. All in all she was infatuated with the man in mask. The savior she referred him as.
Bani was sitting near the river bank one afternoon lost in thoughts she heard someone stand behind her. She had no idea who it was she was terrified. She lifted her skirt ran fast but was caught by a strong hand. She turned her gaze towards the man in fear. Bani heart stopped to beat for a moment. The savior stood in his black dress and mask looking at her.
They stared at each other for a never ending moments and she spoke.
'What are you doing here?'
'I have come to see you…' he almost whispered.
Bani's eyes widened. "why me?' she asked trying to loosen his grip.
'I have been wanting to ask you if you have stopped asking men to wear bangles around the village..'
Bani did not know what to tell him. She looked at him for a second and moved her gaze. She noticed he was looking intently at her.
'They disserve to wear bangles…. But why are you asking this? You are doing good work though'. She said looking around to see if anyone was watching them. "You should be going. You know I have heard you raided Sham Lal's warehouse….' She smiled saying it. "He is a mean man.. you might get into trouble if anyone saw you…'
'Thanks for your concern Bani… I can take care…'
Bani was surprised. How does he know who she was? Does that mean he is from the same village? Who could this man be? Her mind raced checking and cross checking the village men. No one had any similarity to the person who was standing before her. He looked completely different in stature.
"you are lost in thoughts Bani..' he whispered again.
'Who are you? And where did you come from?' she was curious.
She heard him chuckle. "I can't tell you that.. but I can tell you something Bani. I like you…'
Bani looked at him stunned. Her cheeks flushed. She looked away from his intense eyes. They were dark brown with thick lashes.
She heard him chuckle again. He waved at her and walked hurriedly towards the elderly people's house.
Bani looked at him go. She couldn't believe what she just heard he said he liked her. She felt on top of the world. With a smile she walked in daze to her house. Bani was not aware a man walk towards her hurriedly he stopped her holding her hand in an iron grip. The smile she had on her face vanished at the sight of the goon who smiled at her. 'So you are with him?' he said.
Bani tried to shake her hand away from his tight grip. 'Leave me, you wretched brute..' she shouted.
He laughed. 'my dear girl.. I am going to present you to Sait..' he would be impressed…'
'Leave me… you are making a mistake…' she tried to shrug off his hold.
'I don't make mistake girl I saw you with him…. You are his girl… the savior's' he seethed angrily.
A tremor ran through Bani. What in God's name was he accusing her off.
'Leave me. I am no one's girl….'.
The goon roared with laughter pulling her towards Sait's residence. Few passersby saw her dilemma. No one came to her aid. They did not want to be a part of Sait's wrath. Bani looked at them with disgust.
She was dragged to Sait's residence. The goon locked her in a room. Bani looked around her in fright. She did not have any idea how she would be out of there? Will the savior come to save her from this wretched people? She closed her eyes and prayed. Bani did not know how long she had spend in the dark room. The door was opened and she saw Jai's huge form at the door. A sigh of relief washed through her.
"Jai..' she called him. Jai extended his hand and pulled her towards him. His face looked flushed with anger. He held her shoulder securely and walked her out of the room. Sham Lal looked at her with guilt. He thrashed the man in front of her. 'A mistake '.. he said.
Jai waved his hand in casual good bye and took her out of the house.
'Jai… ' she called him with disbelief. 'Thanks Jai…'
'Shut up Bani.. what did you do to get in such trouble?' he shook with anger.
Bani knew Jai. He always behaved the same way when it concerned her. He had been too protective towards her from their childhood. She patted his hand. He shook her hand off.
'Why are you angry with me Jai? I did not create any trouble. That wretched man saw me with the savior..'
Jai turned to her sharply. 'What were you doing with him?'
Bani did not like the tone. 'I am not telling you Jumbo do not raise your voice with me. I am thankful you helped me get out of here but you have no reason to be very hyper about it.'
"I do…' he shouted back. "your mother was worried sick and your father.. he was..well ..'
Bani softened at the mention of her parents.
She was quiet the way back.
'Well, you did not tell me what you were doing with the savior?' he repeated the question little soflty.
'Nothing , he just came to talk to me.. nothing more.. may be that goon might have seen us together he thought…'
'Keep away from him Bani he is trouble..' Jai spoke little too harshly.
'Do not forget he is saving us girls Jai. He is what the village needs..' she defended him.
'Oh really Bani, the same savior got you in trouble too..'
Bani wanted to contradict him. But the door of her house opened and Kiran cried running to Bani and taking her in her arms. "I am fine ma.. really…' Bani said soothing her mother.
Kiran mopped her eyes at the back 0f her hand and looked at Jai and murmured. "thanks Jai, Bani's father just stepped out of the house.. I think he went to look for you in Walia house..'
'It's okay Mausi.. I'll talk to him..' Jai left taking Kiran's leave. He couldn't believe what he had got Bani into. He should be careful next time.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Kiran did not let Bani out of her sight after that. Bani was home bound for two weeks. They heard about the savior and his achievement from the people around. Chameli visited Bani and told her about the stories taking round. Some people in the village do speak about Bani and the Savior. She told her some believed Bani does contact the savior and she was involved with him. Bani looked at Chameli aghast. She never expected one meeting with the savior would malign her name in the village. Chameli more or less trusted Bani. She knew Bani would never cross her limits. Bani made sure no such news reached her parents. Nishikant Always stayed out of town for his work and nobody spoke anything to Kiran about the savior and Bani.
It was one afternoon a servant from Walia mansion arrived at Bani's door step. She informed Kiran, Uday Walia wanted to meet her daughter. Kiran let Bani go with the woman to Walia house. Bani loved the man. In her early days Uday Walia always took Bani's side when she fought with Jai. Though Jai was 6 yrs her senior he never slipped a chance to mock her and anger her at given chance. Though he took that as his duty he never let anyone hurt her feelings.
Bani went to Masui first to say hello and then followed Mausi to Uday Walia's room. On her way to meet the old man Mausi told her Jai was ill. He was suffering from bad fever. Bani decided to meet him on her way back.
Mausi left them alone and closed the door. Bani looked at Uday and he motioned her to take her seat near him.
'Bani, how are you?' he asked taking her hand in his.
She nodded.
'Do you know why I had called you here? I wanted you to tell me about the man in black…'
Bani looked at him hesitantly. 'I don't know much about him, I have seen him just twice once at the fair and 2nd time he..'
'He? ' Uday Walia prompted..
'He just came to talk to me..' she said hesitantly.
'What did he talk to you about, if you don't mind you can tell me Bani..' he said squeezing her hand affectionately.
'He said if I have stopped asking men in the village to wear bangles.' She looked guiltily at him.
Uday Walia smiled. "you are right Bani … I agree with you about that..and what else did he tell you?'
Ban's face grew pink. She looked away from him and said. 'he .er… likes me..'
Uday Walia nodded.
"I heard Jai bought you from the sait's house..'
'Yes, he did……..' she said looking at the old man.
'He might not be what I thought of him then?' Murmured Uday Walia.
Bani was surprised, "what did you think him to be? a coward?' she asked with a smile.
Uday did not answer her. 'He has brains.. chachaji.. he is fat alright but he has brains for sure.. Did you know he made Sham Lal Sait reduce the price for rice and wheat and some stuffs..'
Uday nodded studying the girl. Bani smiled at him and took her leave.
She was out the door she spotted Hari in the corridor.
'Hari.. she called.
Hari turned and looked at her. "Bani.. what are you doing here?'
'What happened to Jumbo Hari? Mausi tells me he is sick..'
'Yes, he is…'
'I want to see him. Is he in his room?' she asked walking towards Jai's room.
Hari walked quickly and blocked her way. Bani looked at him shocked.
'What are you doing?' she asked.
'You can't go in there… he is not well.'
She frowned. "why not? You move aside I need to see him..' she tried to push him.
'Bani go.. come tomorrow and meet him he will feel better.. he is in a mess Bani he doesn't want to get embarrassed.'
'It is me, Hari.. I am his friend.. why should he get embarrassed.' She could not understand his reasons.
Bani listen to me.. you leave okay and come back later..' Hari did not move from the door.
She stared at him for a while and left the door to meet Mausi. Bani chatted with Mausi for a while and left the Walia house. She was out on the porch she was intrigued by Hari's behavior. She walked towards the side of the building and saw his window opened. She stood below the window in thoughts. Masui told her Jai did not let Mausi in the room. He did not want her to see him in a bad state. He looked horrible all the messages where conveyed by Hari. Mausi was very upset. She need to speak to Jai. Why should he feel embarrassed thought Bani? Oh she had done her role in ridiculing him many times but she would try to keep her mouth shut from now on. She spotted a ladder little away from the window. She carried the ladder with much difficulty and placed it in front of the window and started climbing.
Bani was at the window, Hari caught the ladder and glared at her. 'Move aside Hari I need to see him.'
'Bani just get the hell out of here alright. He doesn't want to see you.. not now..'
Bani ignored him and called out, "Jai.. let me in I need to talk to you please ask this Hari to get out of my way.'
She did not hear any response. She looked accusingly at Hari.
'Bani behave like a woman, and please go…. do not embarrass him further..'
Bani glared t him mumbling inaudible and went down the ladder.
Hari heaved a sigh of relief.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was in the wee hours Jai climbed the ladder and got in to his room.
'Jai… 'called Hari.
'Yes Hari… I am famished.. I need to get something to eat..'
'God, Jai you are putting me in tight spot yaar, now where will I get something for you to eat?' here take this apple and fill your stomach. Wait for few hours you will have something to eat.'
Jai caught the apple he threw towards him sat on the bed and stretched his feet and took a huge bite.
Hari sat next to him and looked at his friend. "so, tell me Jai what happened?'
'I spoke to the commissioner. He will send someone here soon. I have given him a picture about the village and Sham Lal. And the worst part was stealing sait's papers from his house. I thought I was caught. Well I did get few documents. I am sure all the hell will break lose when he finds them missing.'
Hari was proud of his friend. He went and hugged him. 'Jai I am really proud of you.. and Jai you won't believe Bani was here last day.'
Jai looked at Hari. 'Yes if I did not doubt her antics she would know you were not in here. She climbed the ladder you have left behind Jai.'
Jai chuckled. 'You mean she tried to sneak in here? What did you tell her?'
'I told her you are in a bad state it would be embarrassing for you if she walked in.. it wasn't much convincing but she left glaring at me.. and knowing Bani she would be at the door early in the morning to make sure if you are alright take a nap soon and get ready for her..'. Hari smiled.
Jai nodded.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

True to Hari's words Bani was pounding on the door early in the morning. Hari was up from the bed. He saw Jai sleeping lost to the world. He shook him up. 'Get up.. Told you the devil will be here early in the morning…'
Jai sat up immediately running to the toilet and then coming back he sat on the bed. "God, I can't do this I don't have mental peace since I have adorned this disguise'.
'Jai you are asleep you are not thinking rationally. Get up and please wear that damn suit. ' Hari pulled the cotton pad from the cupboard and handed him. Bani pounded on the door. Hari gritted his teeth.
'Damn you Bani..'
Jai glared at him. 'Don't you damn her Hari..'
'Okay.. okay my mistake… now please hurry up..'
'Hari she will break that door if you don't open let me think something. Wearing this will take time. I'll lie down and please hand me the wig… I'll tie this thing … and here..' he jumped on the bed covering him in the quilt and plastering the wig on his head. Hari adjusted the wig and went to open the door.
Bani glared at Hari pushed him aside and walked to Jai's room.
'Bani did you not leave here yesterday? how come Kiran mausi let you out of the house so early' Hari shouted. Bani ignored him. She walked towards the Bed. Jai was lying there, his belly making a mound under the covers. He looked up at her. She noticed his face. The outrageous wig was on his head and he had such beautiful eyes she had not noticed before. He had dark circles around his eyes.
"jai how are you doing?' she asked standing near the bed. 'Hari suppressed his laughter he soon moved out of the room. 'Why are you wearing that thing on your head Jai.. you really look awful.'
Jai made a sad face. 'I am bald Bani I don't want anyone to see me..'
'Oh. Jai I did not know you were so sick and I have made so much fun of you.. you need not have to wear these things..'
Jai couldn't believe what he was hearing. She was actually feeling bad for him. What would she do if she came to know he was pretending to her all the time?
'Mausi tells me you haven't eaten anything for two days.. can I get you something to eat?'
'Yes Bani that would be good, ask Hari to come in ..' she nodded and left him.
After half an hour Bani came back with a tray full of food and steaming cup of tea. She sat cross legged opposite him placing the tray near him. Jai looked at her concerned face for a moment and began to attack the food. Bani watched him eat and thought God, if he could control over his eating habits he could at least reduce the size of his belly. Bani was not aware he hardly ate for two days. He was on a mission to save the village with the help of law.
She removed the tray from the bed gave him the cup of tea and walked out of the room.

Mausi waited for her in the hall. 'He is fine Mausi.. he looks little tired and he looks a sight with that wretched wig he is wearing why he has to cover his head in front of his family I don't understand…'
Mausi shrugged her shoulders. 'well, my Munna did eat right?'
Bani nodded giving her the tray. Mausi patted her cheeks affectionately and walked to the kitchen.

Bani walked back to the room. He was sipping his tea Hari was not around. She sat on the edge of the bed. "Jai I am sorry for being rude at times. I do understand your condition. Why don't you consult a good doctor over here?'
'I'll Bani . don't worry and thanks.' He caught her hand and squeezed. Bani smiled. 'okay Jai I am going.. Ma will be worried..'
'Do you meet the savior?' he asked all of a sudden.
'No why?' she frowned.
'Keep away from him he is trouble..'
'Look Jai..' she pointed a finger at him. "he is not trouble.. he is what the village wants now..'
'Bani… you do not understand.. why did he come to meet you?'
'It's not your business.. and by the way how do you know about that?'
There it is Jai be careful. He had warnings from within.
'I have heard and don't forget I was the one who got you back from the sait. Where you meeting him when I was sick? I'll be too sick to save you from the wrath of sait.'
Bani grabbed a pillow and slammed it on his head. 'How dare you talk to me in that tone jumbo Jai.. you just saved me, he saves the whole village. He is the hope for this village don't you talk about him in that tone..' she broke off because, when she raised the pillow to hit him. His head was lying at the sharp edge of the bed.
"oh Jai I am so sorry…' she fell over him and took his head in her lap. 'I forgot you were sick.. but it's all your fault you make me angry… Jai.. open your eyes..' she said stroking his cheek.
Jai opened his eyes and smiled at her. She pushed him off her lap his head hitting the head board.
'Yeash! I am sorry again.' She straightened and looked at him. 'Bye for now and get well soon..'
She closed the door after her and Jai sat up on the bed with a huge grin on his face.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chapter 4
Kiran was waiting for Bani when she walked to her house. Bani knew her mother was worried for her.
'Ma, I am fine do not panic'.
'You can say that Bani.. you have no idea of a mother's fear… now get in and tell me ho's Jai?'
'He is fine…. Though he looked little tired. Bauji left?' she asked walking in with her mom.
'Hmmm.. he is worried Bani. We can let you be like this we have to find someone for you..'
Oh no.. Bani grimaced. Her mother had only one thing in mind her marriage.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
It was late in the evening. Bani was reading a book sitting near the window. She felt a knock on the glass.
Bani looked outside startled. There he was the savior standing in her courtyard with a mask.
'Hello..' he said to much stunned Bani. Bani's eyes widened. It took her few seconds to respond.
'What are you doing here?'
'I came to apologize.. I am so sorry Bani because of me you got into trouble..'
"it alright ...' she said hurriedly looking at her door if anyone was coming.
'I know that buffoon got you out of sait's house..' he said with heavy accent.
Bani did not like that tone. 'Don't talk about him that way..'
'Oh, you are upset…' he said surprised.
'He did what he can. He may not run around like you do but he got brains,' she said defensively.
Jai did like what he heard.
'Do you like him Bani?' he asked in a whisper.
'Why do you ask such questions?' she frowned.
He took a second to answer. 'Because I love you, I want to know if you love him or not?'
Bani looked at him in shock. The savior loves me? But…
'Bani,' he called her softly.
'Who are you I don't even know how you look..'
'You will know, but not now… you did not answer me Bani, do you like that man?'
'Yes, I like him, I like you and I like my parents…'
'No Bani not that kind of like, do you love him?'
Bani did not understand. She was confused. She like the savior and she like Jai and she like almost every one other than Sham Lal and his goons..
'You are thinking..' he laughed.
She nodded.
'Then think about it and tell me… and before I leave I want to apologize to you once again Bani, I am really sorry for the trouble I caused you…..'
'Don't feel bad, you are doing good for the village now the girls can roam around without fear, my trouble was nothing when you go through lot of problems yourself…'
He leaned towards her and touched her cheek. Bani felt a tremor run through her. Then the unexpected happened he leaned forward and pecked on her cheek. Bani looked at him wide eyed.
He left her with a wink.
Bani did not know how long she sat near the window touching her cheek he had kissed. She sprang from her seat when Kiran called her to have food.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bani spent her afternoon with the elderly ladies. They asked about the savior and Bani told them what she knew about him. She left them at 4 pm and walked back to her house she saw Jai, he was talking to one of the elder from the village. Bani passed them and Jai called her.
'Hey bani …'
Bani turned to look at him.
'Wait.. '
Bani waited for him. She had not seen him for two days. He did look fine and she hated his wig. She should convince him to take that thing off form him head. Jai nodded at the elderly and walked towards Bani.
'Did not see you around the house'. He asked.
'What is the use I need to get permission from Hari 1st right? I did not think you were that important a person to meet.'
'Bani you are breaking my heart.. those were very cruel words..'
Bani smiled. 'why did you want me to wait? What is it you want to tell me now?'
Jai shrugged his shoulders. "Is there any use me telling you anything you live by your rules Bani..'
'You are right I live by my rules… anything else you want to tell me?' she looked squarely at him.
'What is the hurry? Meeting the savior again?' he was sarcastic.
'I am.. what's your problem?' she challenged.
'Oh my, my you are really getting angry.. well what is it in him really I wonder? Does anyone see his face? He must be a deformed man..'
'Stop it Jumbo… you are getting jealous.. oh I love that..' she smiled. 'And for your information he is a handsome man…'
'Oh really? Have you seen his face?' he asked walking along with her. 'Slow down Bani.. I can't run like you I am sick you do know that..' he said controlling his breath.
She slowed. 'You go home Jai… you have no stamina to fight nor walk with me…'
'Are you challenging me Bani?' he was getting angry.
'Whatever you want to think… you hardly can walk whereas he moves like a panther..'
'Very impressed aren't you'. He stopped and glared at her.
'Oh I am impressed. I have not seen his face but I know he is a handsome man…'
'Oh girl you don't know what he is hiding in there'. He was sarcastic again.
'Quit being Jealous… I don't care what he looks like, he has beautiful eyes, very intense?'
When did she notice all that thought Jai covering his smile.
'And?' he prompted.
'You don't want to hear, he said he loves me'. She bit her lips immediately.
''Excuse me?' he held her shoulder and turned her towards him.
She looked around shrugging of his hands. "jai let us not argue in here people are looking at us.'
'I don't care…'
'I do, now come on we will talk, sit and talk is that okay?' she asked looking angrily at him.
He was quiet she took that as his consent walked towards the river bank. She sat on one of the rock and looked at him. He followed her with so much difficulty. Bani felt bad for him. She got up and went to help him. He shrugged off her hand.
'Okay jumbo as you wish..' she left him and took her seat gazing into the deep water.
Jai sat down with much difficulty and looked at her. 'Tell me what the savior said..' he asked controlling his breath.
'I told you what he told me,' she looked at Jai.
'And what did you tell him?'
'Nothing..' she said.
'Well you could have, you love him too .. you…' he was little upset and he did not have any idea the reason behind it.
'Jumbo quit fretting, if I want I will tell him I love him. But I don't.'
'You don't?' his eyes widened.
'I don't know, I like him, I like you too but jumbo not always you irritate me little too much and then I hate you..'
'Thank you very much for that information dear..' he chided. "And keep away from him Bani he cannot be trusted.'
Bani studied Jai he did sound jealous. But he is Jai he has been that way since childhood. 'God, the man has to grow up. 'well, how are you doing now?' she changed the subject.
'I am fine, well thank you, let's go your mother will worry..'
Bani got up from the rock and followed him. He stopped suddenly and asked, 'what else did the Savior say other than love you?'
He was not going to let it go thought Bani. "he…'
'He?' A scowl appeared on his face.
'He kissed me…' said Bani looking at his face widen in horror.
'How?' he asked.
'Like this…' she walked towards him and stood on her toes and kissed his cheek.
Jai was stunned beyond words. He knew her action did not make any impact on her but him.. he was bowled over.
'This is what happened Jai now stop asking about the savior if anything I'll update you okay?'
Jai nodded touching his cheek.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jai was on top of the world . She had kissed him not the savior. He was happy with the way it was going.
Hari studied his friend's face and asked. 'You seem very happy..'
'I am … ' he stretched his feet and relaxed on the foot stool.
'Bani?'
Jai nodded.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Jai was up from the bed and walked towards the cupboard to wear the back suit. He need to see Bani. He was hopelessly falling for her. He had loved her from the time he remember being with her. Hari had gone home taking his promise not to roam around without him. Jai needed to see her just once.
He was at her window. The window was open and she was anywhere near it. He heard them talking inside the house. He waited patiently for her to walk in. waiting for her for fifteen minutes he saw her come to her room. She closed the door looked around the room and walked towards the window to shut.
'Hi Bani..'
Bani jumped. 'You..'
'I am sorry to have scared you I need to see you Bani.. '
'Why? She asked whispering.
'You stole my heart Bani. I am in love with you…'
'You told me that.. ' she said with a blush.
'Don't you love me?'
'I like you….' She said.
'There is so much difference in love and like..' he said little upset.
'oh, I never thought about it much'. She was being honest.
Foolish girl thought Jai with affection.
'Well, what were you doing with that buffoon I saw you two..'
'Now you don't start.. what's it with you two.. don't you have anything else to talk?' she was getting annoyed.
'You in love with that buffoon?' he asked angrily.
'Did I not tell you I like him? What has this love got to do with it. He is my friend I tell him everything…'
'And you kiss him too..'
Bani was stunned. 'you are sounding jealous like him what is it with you two..g row up..'
'I kissed him yes, because he was getting on my nerves asking about you.'
And you kissed him?' he was hurt.
'Please go away.. someone will see you..' she was worried someone will spot him.
"Okay Bani as you say, but before I leave I want you to give me a kiss ..'
Bani looked at him shocked. She shook her head. 'Go.. please..'
'Give me a kiss Bani… I love you..'
She shook her head.
'You kissed the buffoon..'
'I did he is Jai ..' she was defensive.
'What does that mean Bani?
'I don't know he is Jai.. and he is my friend… you won't understand we go a long way..'
'And you tell me you don't love him?' he was upset.
'I don't know what love has to do with this… now go away before anyone catches you..' she tried to pull the latch he caught her hand in his. "I have no idea what you are saying either, but I love you Bani… he lifted her hand to his mouth and kissed her palm. Bani pulled her hand as if burned.
'Bye love..' and he was gone.
Jai did not have any idea what was in her heart. Was she so nave she doesn't know the difference between love and like? He was happy to certain extend she defended Jai . He was Jai. What does that mean by Jai? He got more confused thinking about it. Before drifting off to sleep he was happy to learn that she trusted Jai more than the savior.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
All hell broke loose the day her father learned about the rumor taking rounds. He called Bani to his room.
Bani stood at the door looking at her father's angry face and her mother's anguish.
Nishikant was pacing the room up and down when she walked in. he stopped pacing and looked at her.
'What am I hearing Bani?'
Bani did not respond. 'why the hell do you think people are talking about the man in black and you.. Have you any idea how you will get any good alliance from the respected families. Daughter, what have you done?' he asked covering his face.
'Bauji, I did not do anything wrong..' she was defensive she felt bad for her father.
'I don't want to hear anything Bani.. I am going to fix your marriage..'
'Bauji.. no.. you can't just fix the marriage I don't want to get married to any spineless boy from the village..'
Kiran looked at her aghast. 'Bani, be quite…'
'No ma, I can't marry the boys..'
'Shut up Bani… what do you think your savior will come to ask for your hand?' Nishikant shouted.
'Yes he may…'
Nishikant looked at her with disbelief. 'I am not hearing this..'
'Bauji listen its not what you think… I …'
Nishikant stopped her from further arguments. 'Kiran take her away from here. I'll speak to Uday ji about good alliance….'
Bani couldn't believe what she was hearing. They are going to get her married to some …. No… she shook her head in denial and ran to her room and shut the door.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bani was under house arrest. She was not supposed to be out without a chaperone. She hated everything and everyone. A week later Jai walked to her door step.
Kiran ushered him in. 'Bani…'
'In her room..' Kiran looked very sad. Bani refused to eat or drink anything from the house. At times Kiran had to use force to make her eat.
Jai knocked on her door and went in. Bani looked up from the book she was reading.
'Now you got time to look for me? If you have come to know about the savior I don't know where that stupid is gone…'
Jai smiled. He walked towards her and sat down next to her jerking Bani.
'I am sorry Bani and I did not come here to ask anything about the savior. I heard your father is looking for a boy..'
'I won't marry him.. I won't..' she denied vehemently.
'Okay relax….. what are you going to do about it?'
'Help me Jai please.. you know I haven't done anything wrong.. please.'.. she threw the book and put her head on his shoulder. He held her close stroking her head. 'Please talk to Bauji tell him I didn't do anything wrong and if he marries me with some boy I'll not come back here never ever..' tears came flooding her eyes.
'Then what do you want Bani.. you know what people are talking about..' he asked.
'Is that my fault Jai? I told you Savior told me he loves me and he had come to meet me again and he said the same things… you try to contact him Jai .. Tell him to come forward and marry me. He is better than any boy Bauji finds..'
Jai had to sit with a straight face. 'you would marry him even if you don't love him?'
'He is brave Jai he has something that no … I don't want to say anything more you do understand me don't you…'
The hell I understand thought Jai. He was quite for awhile.
'Would you marry me Bani if I propose?' he asked holding her away from him. He saw the shock register on her face. Oh man he thought.
She shook her head.. no Jai.. you are Jai..'
What does that mean thought Jai angrily I am Jai what could be the definition for Jai?
'Yes I am Jai am I not good enough? Am I worse than the boy your Bauji will find?'
"oh, Jai I did not mean anything like that.. you are Jai my friend my…. I don't know… please try to contact savior for me tell him I would marry him rather than…'
'What if he can't marry you?' Jai asked controlling his anger. He was getting very angry and he and she was not making any sense.
'Then I'll marry you…' she said with finality.
'Thank you very much Bani… you were very considerate..' he was sarcastic.
Bani couldn't make out from his tone he was offended. Jai left her and walked to the door and turned back.
'Are you sure you will accept my proposal if savior turns you down…'
'Yes, you are better than any man I can remember living in this village…'
'But not better than your savior?'
Bani did not reply him.
Jai left her and went to meet her mother. Bani watched him walk slowly towards the door. She did not have any idea why Jai wanted to marry her was he jealous of the savior. She did not have any reason for the emotion she felt at present. She did like the thought Jai being jealous. Bani sighed and grabbed the book.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Jai was upset when he got ready for bed. He had a long day. He had to use all his might to shoo away the goon who was harassing an old man on the street.
Hari stuck his head at the door to take his leave and saw his friend in thoughts. 'What is it Jai?'
Jai took a second to respond.
Hari walked in and shut the door. Jai was in his black suit
'What happened Jai?' Had problems today?'
'Not that I cant handle.. it is..'
'Bani?'
'Han.. she is ready to marry savior not me….'
'They are one Jai..' smiled Hari.
'Yes I know.. but it is different.. she says I am Jai. What does that Jai mean Hari?'
Hari shook his head 'I don't know Jai. She is right you are Jai..'
Jai groaned. Not you too…'
Hari laughed well I don't know what you mean. You wanted her to love you and she loves you…. Be happy about it'.
'Oh! There you are wrong.. she doesn't love him..'
'What?' Hari's eyes popped out.
"Yes she doesn't love him but she prefers to marry him. He is better than any man.. and she chose me second if the bloody savior says no then I …'
Hari laughed. 'You are confusing me Jai. And Bani is always confused. She makes people around her also confused. So what are you going to do about it?'
'One of this two will marry her for sure…' Said Jai falling on the bed.
'Jai you are the winner either way… '
Jai did not respond. Hari left him with his confused thoughts.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bani waited for two days Savior would meet her. She was disappointed every time when she heard sound in her courtyard. Chameli and Jhanvi visited her with the stories of the savior how he was saving the village.
Bani hoped against hope he would come to meet her. She was lying on her bed after dinner she heard a knock on the door. She ran and opened the window. She smiled at him in relief.
'Oh you have come finally..'
He nodded. He stood little away from the window. Bani frowned. 'Why are you standing far come here. I want to talk to you..'
He took a step forward. 'Do you know Bauji is looking for a groom for me..'
He nodded. The silence filled between them.
'Don't you have anything to tell me?' she asked eagerly.
'I wanted to take you away from here Bani but I can't. Don't get me wrong I can't do anything about it at present..'
A scowl appeared on her face. Her heart bet fast.
''What are you telling me? Don't you love me?' she was almost on the verge of tears.
'I do Bani with all my heart but I can't marry you love… I am sorry..' he spoke with heavy accent.
Bani tried her best to hold her tears he had let her down. Her savior was not man enough to marry her. She took a step backward and said, "okay, now you can leave, do not come before me go away…' she slammed shut the door on his face.
Tears came running down her cheek. Bani fell on the bed crying her heart out..

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tbc

love
Kamy

(pls Ignore my mistakes.....)

Edited by kamy - 17 years ago

jeenal20 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 2

poor jai

what has he done now
ab bani bhi jai pe hass rahi hai
seeing this look of jai
i think when bani will see jai in is original shape
she would be shocked
😉
plzzzzzzzzz cont soon
the name jumbo jai
was too funny
Edited by jeenal20 - 17 years ago
pooks thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Kamy...I nearly fell off my chair 🤣 while getting to know what Bani called Jai as..."Jumbo" hahahahah and to top it all the poor fellow had to disguise himself and literally look like a sack of potatoes when getting off the train. Let's see how Bani reacts when she sees the actual Jai.
jinzcool thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
hey gr8 part
wow bani callin jai jumbo jai
hehehheheheh
can't wait for bani's reaction wen she will see actual jai
cont sooon
kuttu thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Wow a nice change from the usual Jai and Bani. So looks like Jai is already smitten by her an Bani just ignores her feelings towards him looks like. The name for him is really great Jumbo Jai. Jai is going to be th town hero I guess. waitning to know who will finally win Jai or bani in their duel.
Bye
janu_2006 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
hey kamy
gr8 part.. interesting story..
cont.sooon
nishiraju thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
omggggg.........🤣..🤣.........u have done a mind blowing job Kamy dear..........i never thought u will turn it out like this .... this is great.... Hats off to u dear..............jai is such a gentleman .......... bani tu dekh lena 😡..........👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏.👏........................pls cont soooooooooooon
btkr thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Pehle King KOng, now Jumbo - tumhari sab Bani have no sense of sharam - love it!!!!!! I am laughing and already looking forward to the next part. Poor Maasi, Jai can't even bend to touch her feet....hilarious part.
nema123 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hey Kamy....
Jumbo Jai..... 😆
This suites so much to the KS JW too.......
Fantastic start Kamy..... Can't wait for JB fights.... :)
divan thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Kamy...this is going to be hilarious...it has already started with such fun...can't wait to read more...