S2 going through a time warp? -- the snark review on the week that was

mango.falooda thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail 7th Anniversary Thumbnail + 4

-- so the first three episodes were actually amusing but I breezed through the rest of the week in super FF mode because it was a bore. 🤷

-- we are supposed to be in 2040. chalo, none of these leaps ever move forward but at least they show realities of the present. why are we moving backwards in time and showing ideas from movies/dramas from 90s-2000s????? 🤦

-- imlie the airhead who didn't know what white powder was recognizing the evil romeo of parul was amusing. which is why her giving lecture was rather ineffective. šŸ˜†

-- chalo, if we are going to do marriage scam, can we do crime patrol style? show some sophistication in your track. why not reflect the news by showing IG romeo frauds?

-- or if you are going to do a marriage scam, then take clues from crime patrol -- he is certainly not going to take her jewelry and just dump her in the road? please at least show her waking up drugged or sold off or almost dead in a ditch. 🤐

-- imlie doing her old woman disguise and giving gyaan -- this is the same girl who got conned into taking drugs. and she is the one they think will rescue parul? šŸ™„šŸ™„šŸ™„ and all the adults sit back and let the young adults deal with it??? which old movie is this from? why aren't they calling the police or sending sensible relatives out to search for her?? 🤦🤦

-- which decade are we in that they think getting atharva married will cure his restlessness? 🤦🤦🤦 papa, please take tips from 80s movie which had more sense -- just cut off the money and make him work for it. atharva will wake up. šŸ˜„

-- do people still write poems in the newspaper?? if she loves poems, why is she not studying literature in college? 🤷

-- again, what is with atharva getting the feels from reading poems? so is he a groupie? does anyone form an opinion of the author based on their works? is it even possible to know the writer just because you are familiar with their works? again, which decade are we in? if we are going to show fan culture, can we update it to reflect the curent times? šŸ™„

-- let me share the 80s movie version with a twist. you remember those large family movies with each character having an arc? well girl falls in love with poet who is popular in some news magazine. she approaches him thinking he is some amazing fella based on his poems. he instead turns out to be cheapo and dumps her after sleeping with her. unfortunately for her, she gets pregnant and then after a lot of drama, he finally marries her. that is the bitter 80s version. šŸ˜†šŸ˜†šŸ˜†

-- so just because imlie is nice in her interactions, immediately, they consider her as potential daughter-in-law? no one asks how old she is? seriously? we all know that once the parliment panel gets done with their review, the marriage age for girls will get pushed up to 21.

-- so why are they showing young women obsessed with marriage when they should be showing them obsessed about their future? chalo, they are a bunch of horny teenagers šŸ˜† but why not have them obsessing over wanting a boyfriend or a romance or going on dates? reflect the times writers!!!!

-- also what decade are we in that we can't have women with different layers? so we have a bland sister who is all good and the one with complicated emotions as bad? 🤦 why can't we have complex characters? what is this one note characterization like from the 90s movies?

-- and atharva being attracted to one sister while he is talking to another -- again how many 90s movie we have seen this kind of trope? and why did he even need to talk to imlie -- why not do what people do these days -- search through social media for pics, see the tags, then DM the person? so simple right?! šŸ˜‰

final notes: if the creatives are serious about wanting to be successful in S2, they need to stop taking ideas/tropes from bad movies several decades back. write characters with nuance and reflect the current times a little. if I wanted to watch a 90s movie, I would. I don't need to see this drama for it -- no one is going through nostalgia to see outdated ideas on television. šŸ˜‚ if I wanted to watch cute teenage love stories, can re-watch stuff like "yeh hai aashique" šŸ˜‚

as of the moment, S2 feels very dated and makes it even more unbelievable that these characters are essentially all teenagers played by adults in their late 20s/early 30s? and to make it worse, the plot is like out of some badly written wattapad teenage love story. šŸ‘»šŸ˜…

Edited by mango.falooda - 2 years ago

SRKian thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 8

Yaar I can’t with this🤣🤣 this is too funny🤣🤣 Thanks for the laugh.šŸ˜† The show is already going down the gutter.

Atharva is too dim witted kya bolu The less said about Imile the better! She slapped Parul’s bf for lying and conning her but the same Imile lied infront of everyone to save her cheeni di🤪 What a downgrade from Krishna/Garima to Imile and from Veer to Atharva! As a MeRan fan I’m disappointed tbh

Wedding being the only solution for all problem is just🤪🄱 And what’s with Cheeni’s grandma encouraging her to secure the alliance for herself? Matlab kalko if a better and richer alliance comes for Imile cheeni will leave Atharva and marry again that other richer guy??🤪 Such faltu ppl they arešŸ‘ŽšŸ¼ The jealousy angle between is so forced. There’s no head or tail to it. Cheeni is rich as it(her parents were rich I heard) toh why does she need Imile’s father’s property?

mango.falooda thumbnail

Originally posted by: SRKian

Yaar I can’t with this🤣🤣 this is too funny🤣🤣 Thanks for the laugh.šŸ˜† The show is already going down the gutter.

Atharva is too dim witted kya bolu The less said about Imile the better! She slapped Parul’s bf for lying and conning her but the same Imile lied infront of everyone to save her cheeni di🤪 What a downgrade from Krishna/Garima to Imile and from Veer to Atharva! As a MeRan fan I’m disappointed tbh

Wedding being the only solution for all problem is just🤪🄱 And what’s with Cheeni’s grandma encouraging her to secure the alliance for herself? Matlab kalko if a better and richer alliance comes for Imile cheeni will leave Atharva and marry again that other richer guy??🤪 Such faltu ppl they arešŸ‘ŽšŸ¼ The jealousy angle between is so forced. There’s no head or tail to it. Cheeni is rich as it(her parents were rich I heard) toh why does she need Imile’s father’s property?

I don't get why cheeni is even living at the rathore house when she has her rupi bua. why not live somewhere else? are they leeches? and cheeni's grandma has a point -- the girl apparently has no legal rights but is still living there. what is she a pile on? why? when she has relatives who are well off, why must she live in this rathore hotel? 🤷

SRKian thumbnail

Originally posted by: mango.falooda

I don't get why cheeni is even living at the rathore house when she has her rupi bua. why not live somewhere else? are they leeches? and cheeni's grandma has a point -- the girl apparently has no legal rights but is still living there. what is she a pile on? why? when she has relatives who are well off, why must she live in this rathore hotel? 🤷

I thought Cheeni was adopted by them so she lives with them😲 In that case the whole jealousy angle between the two makes zero sense! This is probably the most weakest jealousy angle in GK shows ever!

mango.falooda thumbnail

I thought Cheeni was adopted by them so she lives with them😲 In that case the whole jealousy angle between the two makes zero sense! This is probably the most weakest jealousy angle in GK shows ever!

apparently she wasn't legally adopted -- hence the whole "snatch what you can" dialogues repeated shoved in there. basically since she won't be able to inherit legally and it may not seem like they will give her as a real daughter, she will have to move things to make it happen.

shidin0117 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Thanks for the tag.....atleast we can a good laugh mainly because of your snarky review. "Seriously "....this is my daughter's favorite word when she see's something from 90's or 80's....her fav dialogue are " they from 300 BC or 300 AD ofcourse the numbers are randomšŸ˜†" for the teens nowadays FB is for people like me...moms and aunt 's....🤣 so imagine she watching a clip of this trope.

But I am staying away from Sitara and all their shows...almost all ITV shows. Nothing has caught my fancy, infact at work Ii was pondering on going back to Netflix, Kramas...but Seriously no patience or time . Raddhi bar ki interest nahi hai yaar aajkal. The time I used to spend on this forum has also reduced. No other couple has been able to catch my interest or made me feel that I want to watch that series. I am not gonna watch BB too but catch some clips if it's posted by fans about Sumbul. I admire her spirit and the risk she is taking or the experimenting she is doing.

mango.falooda thumbnail

laughing that facebook is now outdated - 🤣

I remember when it was hip and I didn't want to join because I didn't see the point. I didn't even like that previous platform -- orkut?? (was that the name) hahahahha...

just watch clips on youtube -- that is what I do. I keep browsing randomly through different promos and clips and get an idea of the drama without having to watch. šŸ˜‚ if the episode looks good, I check it out. that way, I don't have to spend too much energy.

when I am going through a slump, I go back to genres and dramas I like -- for me that is high voltage revenge + emotion. have you seen the kdrama "lie of lie" (lie after lie). I recently re-watched that and feel back in the drama mood. :)

https://youtu.be/mroFwWthp3w

shidin0117 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

laughing that facebook is now outdated - 🤣

I remember when it was hip and I didn't want to join because I didn't see the point. I didn't even like that previous platform -- orkut?? (was that the name) hahahahha...

just watch clips on youtube -- that is what I do. I keep browsing randomly through different promos and clips and get an idea of the drama without having to watch. šŸ˜‚ if the episode looks good, I check it out. that way, I don't have to spend too much energy.

when I am going through a slump, I go back to genres and dramas I like -- for me that is high voltage revenge + emotion. have you seen the kdrama "lie of lie" (lie after lie). I recently re-watched that and feel back in the drama mood. :)

https://youtu.be/mroFwWthp3w

Seriously I just asked her do you want to create a FB account and she gave me comic glance and said mom thats for old people ...🤣and oh BTW mine was created by my hubby since he wanted to add my name in his bio....back when I was in India I never used to open FB...maybe once a month but after we moved to US it became time pass to watch videos. But now it's just to like some friends pics or someone shares something. I opened an IG account only for Arylie Snapchat my daughter created one just to take pics. I am very wary of any social media platforms.

SRKian thumbnail

apparently she wasn't legally adopted -- hence the whole "snatch what you can" dialogues repeated shoved in there. basically since she won't be able to inherit legally and it may not seem like they will give her as a real daughter, she will have to move things to make it happen.

But this doesn’t make to me at all! If she isn’t legally adopted toh she can’t even claim any part. I’d have understood if she was legally adopted and then didn’t get any part then the snatch whatever you can would’ve made sense imo. Now toh it’s utterly BS that she’s going around so proudly flaunting and taunting Imile for things that she doesn’t even concern her She should go after her Nani’s property along with her parents. Why settle for Rathor’s property when she can have two sets of properties from her parents and her nani šŸ˜†

mango.falooda thumbnail

But this doesn’t make to me at all! If she isn’t legally adopted toh she can’t even claim any part. I’d have understood if she was legally adopted and then didn’t get any part then the snatch whatever you can would’ve made sense imo. Now toh it’s utterly BS that she’s going around so proudly flaunting and taunting Imile for things that she doesn’t even concern her She should go after her Nani’s property along with her parents. Why settle for Rathor’s property when she can have two sets of properties from her parents and her nani šŸ˜†

you need to understand a bit of the last track/arc which was convoluted to say the least. for some viewers like myself, it made zero sense.

so let me recap -- imlie 1.0 for reasons that cannot be explained gets obsessed with cheeni. now, who is cheeni? she is the daughter of imlie 1.0's half-sister malini and her ex-husband (hubby#1). it made zero sense because both these half-sisters hated each other and at one point rivals for the affections of the same man. so, some of us viewers were like why is imlie 1.0 having so much feels for her ex's child? if she cared so much that this baby will not be looked after, why not give the child to tripathis? but no, she has to be super mahaan or depressed (after miscarriage and split with hubby) that she takes in cheeni she finds at the temple -- instead of calling the police like regular people. then when the truth comes out, she insists that she did not kidnap at all and it was all out of concern. 🤦🤦

now at the end, when imlie 1.0 was killed off, she said that cheeni (who she raised for five years) kept her going and so rathores (hubby#2 family) must raise her. šŸ™„šŸ™„ again, no sense because cheeni is not orphan. she apparently has tripathi family alive and kicking (that is rupi bua and those relatives), anu (malini's mum / cheeni's grandmother). both tripathi family as well as anu are reasonably well-off. so there was no reason for cheeni to grow up like a pile on in the rathore house because they can afford to raise her. now her growing up in the rathore house without any legal agreement means that cheeni is technically some sort of extended guest. however, she was also raised as imlie 1.0's daughter. hence the grey area on whether she can or cannot inherit or what exactly her place is in this family.

cheeni is well aware that technically imlie 2.0 will inherit everything and so she has this kind of mindset to enjoy what she can. she also knows that she has to fight for her rights because talk is cheap. this whole setup means that someone brought up in these conditions will feel insecure and feel that they will have to snatch what they need to any way. so cheeni has been set up to be evil in some ways.

this whole conflict can be so much better played out if the leap showed these actors playing closer to their ages -- in their late 20s and working professionals. because then, you will really see the rifts happen with high voltage drama. property disputes and inheritance wrangling does not happen with young adults. so instead we have a teenage love triangle here. 🤦

the story as well as the actors have potential but the creatives are writing arcs with immature teenager characterization. they are borrowing liberally from 90s movies and am not sure whether to laugh or facepalm. šŸ˜‚

for me, one of the biggest question of the leap is who on earth keeps the name cheeni? as a pet name in your childhood but as you grow up? does this girl not have a real name? can you imagine 'cheeni' on your school certificate or aadhar card? 🤣

Edited by mango.falooda - 2 years ago