Goddy2010 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Hey yaar. I can help you why AKT is being rooted so strongly by some people. I have said many times in this forum that AKT is very much flawed character. He is not a tailor made hero character.you cannot get inspired from him many times. Just like most of the us, if life throws us at unimaginable/difficult circumstances the first thing we will do is become nasty and blame the people around us 🤣🤣. AKT is no exception. He has been nasty,rude and mean to Imlie in the initial part of the show. Inspite of all this, whenever Imlie was in dangerous situation he was there for Imlie’s rescue. That showed he couldn’t completely kill the goodness in him.All these situations made him to see the true character or Imlie( As a person who searches for truth couldn’t ignore this fact). He will be more and more nasty to her whenever she does something that reminds him that they are married. He also wanted her to accept that this is. Illegal marriage and there is no foundation or future to it. But Imlie being Imlie the stubborn lady whenever she gets an opportunity reinforced that this is an indeed true marriage, he is indeed her husband and there is no looking back to it. Though AKT wanted to be indifferent to Imlie he couldn’t as he started feeling guilt about Imlie’s situation. AKT became a actual hero when he realized what love and who his heart actually longs for, he intially denied like any of us, later accepted. Once he accepted it then there is no turning back. His intentions are always good, he wanted to accept Imlie and giver her the wife status by bringing less damage to Malini and the rest of the family members. He understood the damage is inevitable. He well knew he wil be painted as the bad guy in the end and he is okay with that as long he is able to do the right thing. He accepted it because of his one wrong decision, all three lives have come been destroyed to some extent. I am not sure how many people wil be able to accept their mistake first hand and then start correcting it. AKT is a good man but he is not smart. If he has been smart, he would have known to keep Malini at bay and he could have lived a happy married life with Imlie. Most of the time his unnecessary guilt and the want to the right things at the moment put him to problem and made him to suffer. Last but not the least, Gash understood AKT like no one and he played AKT in a very dignified and likable way.

komaliyaaa thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Hey Yaar.

Thank you for trying to make me understand your views so fully.

Flawed Characters exist in most TV shows. In fact, it is harder to find a perfect character nowadays. AKT was not a tailor made hero character, you say? AKT was the most tailor made hero character ever. I watched the first episodes of Imlie, and all I see is an idealist journalist who doesn't cover Bollywood Gossip and instead has a predisposed view of what journalism is supposed to be, and frankly this AKT has continued throughout the show. This character was made to inspire, because of his approach to serious journalism and he did inspire Imlie to become a journalist, didn't he?

So why does he fail to inspire the audience?

Moreover, I pity the world you live in where people lash out and blame others for their own circumstances. This is deeply personal, but whenever situation doesn't seem to go according to me, I end blaming myself. So, who are these people who blame others in difficult circumstances? Are all people like that? The answer to that is a resounding NO.

I commend his character for saving Imlie in dangerous situations, but what are his reasons for it? The goodness of his heart? Or his inability to live in guilt that would occur in case a person in his charge is dead?

He falls in love with the true character of Imlie? What all does he see in Imlie? Her dedication to their marriage? Her dedication to his family? Her dedication to him? Or the real Imlie that does everything for everyone in her life? The Imlie that doesn't hesitate in helping people, even if they are not Aditya's family?

What does he love, Imlie, or her dedication to all things related to him?

And the forced marriage befell on the both of them. Was Imlie given a chance to lash out? If we agree to your point that AKT lashes out as a common person does, doesn't that mean Imlie should be also lashing out? Why doesn't she?

An 18 year old has a better control of her emotions than a 30 something year old man?

It may be forced, and Aditya actually, being the educated man that he is, could have annulled the marriage on grounds of that, carries on being married to her, even when he has an idea of Imlie's dreams and aspirations.

Okay, I agree Imlie is stubborn, but it is canonical that Aditya is actually a very determined man once he decides to be. Case in point being his refusal to accept the marriage.

There were many other ways he could've handled the girl, but his character chose to lash out.

And this love started with guilt. You say this yourself. AKT felt guilty towards her character, and slowly begins to fall in love.

How is that a trait of an hero? A hero who became one when he fell in love. Because of his guilt. That sounds a bit off.

Also, as long as his intentions are good, and he knows that damage is inevitable, but carries on anyway to hurt the people in his life and Imlie too, he becomes a hero.

He wants to do the right thing, even though he'll be tagged a bad guy. Okay, that makes a bit sense. But he actually had to continue to do the right thing to become a hero after being tagged a bad guy. He stopped midway.

The decision destroyed three lives. He worked on his being better, and just accepted that the other two will eventually be better. Inability to take action after accepting the mistake is evident here. He started correcting the mistake that was affecting his life, and Imlie and Malini's lives were collateral damage.

I do not agree with the fact that AKT is not a smart man. He is more smart than anyone gives him credit for. The reason he could not see malini's deceit was because of his excessive guilt as he had a hand in ruining her life.

Isn't it smart to just let the woman do what she wants because you don't want to be on bad terms with her after you destroyed her life?

He may start to rectify his mistakes, and his excessive guilt may play a hand in it, but he leaves midway in all his actions.

I absolutely agree with the fact that AKT is a character only GM understood and played perfectly. GM is an amazing actor, and I have absolutely no beef with him.

egle thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: komaliyaaa

Hey Yaar.

Thank you for trying to make me understand your views so fully.

Flawed Characters exist in most TV shows. In fact, it is harder to find a perfect character nowadays. AKT was not a tailor made hero character, you say? AKT was the most tailor made hero character ever. I watched the first episodes of Imlie, and all I see is an idealist journalist who doesn't cover Bollywood Gossip and instead has a predisposed view of what journalism is supposed to be, and frankly this AKT has continued throughout the show. This character was made to inspire, because of his approach to serious journalism and he did inspire Imlie to become a journalist, didn't he?

So why does he fail to inspire the audience?

Moreover, I pity the world you live in where people lash out and blame others for their own circumstances. This is deeply personal, but whenever situation doesn't seem to go according to me, I end blaming myself. So, who are these people who blame others in difficult circumstances? Are all people like that? The answer to that is a resounding NO.

I commend his character for saving Imlie in dangerous situations, but what are his reasons for it? The goodness of his heart? Or his inability to live in guilt that would occur in case a person in his charge is dead?

He falls in love with the true character of Imlie? What all does he see in Imlie? Her dedication to their marriage? Her dedication to his family? Her dedication to him? Or the real Imlie that does everything for everyone in her life? The Imlie that doesn't hesitate in helping people, even if they are not Aditya's family?

What does he love, Imlie, or her dedication to all things related to him?

And the forced marriage befell on the both of them. Was Imlie given a chance to lash out? If we agree to your point that AKT lashes out as a common person does, doesn't that mean Imlie should be also lashing out? Why doesn't she?

An 18 year old has a better control of her emotions than a 30 something year old man?

It may be forced, and Aditya actually, being the educated man that he is, could have annulled the marriage on grounds of that, carries on being married to her, even when he has an idea of Imlie's dreams and aspirations.

Okay, I agree Imlie is stubborn, but it is canonical that Aditya is actually a very determined man once he decides to be. Case in point being his refusal to accept the marriage.

There were many other ways he could've handled the girl, but his character chose to lash out.

And this love started with guilt. You say this yourself. AKT felt guilty towards her character, and slowly begins to fall in love.

How is that a trait of an hero? A hero who became one when he fell in love. Because of his guilt. That sounds a bit off.

Also, as long as his intentions are good, and he knows that damage is inevitable, but carries on anyway to hurt the people in his life and Imlie too, he becomes a hero.

He wants to do the right thing, even though he'll be tagged a bad guy. Okay, that makes a bit sense. But he actually had to continue to do the right thing to become a hero after being tagged a bad guy. He stopped midway.

The decision destroyed three lives. He worked on his being better, and just accepted that the other two will eventually be better. Inability to take action after accepting the mistake is evident here. He started correcting the mistake that was affecting his life, and Imlie and Malini's lives were collateral damage.

I do not agree with the fact that AKT is not a smart man. He is more smart than anyone gives him credit for. The reason he could not see malini's deceit was because of his excessive guilt as he had a hand in ruining her life.

Isn't it smart to just let the woman do what she wants because you don't want to be on bad terms with her after you destroyed her life?

He may start to rectify his mistakes, and his excessive guilt may play a hand in it, but he leaves midway in all his actions.

I absolutely agree with the fact that AKT is a character only GM understood and played perfectly. GM is an amazing actor, and I have absolutely no beef with him.

Obama Drop Mic GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

timepassing thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail 4th Anniversary Thumbnail + 2

OK, this is not an attempt to justify the character of Adi or anything, but just in how I don't find him to be the complete jerk that he was made out to be later on, probably to justify his exiting from the show and to bring in the new actor as the lead. I think we have to accept that the characterization of both Adi and Aryan after Aryan's entry was deliberate and calculated, in showing every fault of Adi's in a very exaggarated manner, to the extent of turning him the complete opposite of how he was written in the beginning, and hence very unsuitable for Imlie and for Aryan to be shown as a complete opposite of Adi's arc, and hence very suitable for Imlie. Cue the reference to GM's age, the comment about his being ST's nanny etc. OK, with those out of the way, besides the fact that I am a huge, and I mean huge fan of Gashmeer, these are some reasons I have interpreted the story and why I am unable to hate on the character of Aditya completely.

To me, Aditya was not a bad man by nature, but the situations and circumstances thrown at him made him constantly have to choose between his head and heart! Now let us forget the fact that if the right thing had been done right from the get go, there would have been no story....

The first confict came with the gun point shaadi - accept the forced marriage or complain to the police about the forced marriage or annul it? Now, he had no intention of marrying, he only went to get an interview of the elusive rebel leader Satyakam and in the process got caught in this mess that resulted in a marriage. If he had complained to the police, it would have resulted in possibly exposing Satyakam and the villagers to the police. Annulling the marriage, not sure what that would have done for Imlie, since the villagers already talk badly about Meethi being a single mother etc. I am choosing to think that he was forced to take Imlie along because he had no other choice. And then when he married Malini, he genuinely did not believe in Imlie or the forced marriage, and the marriage with Imlie would not have been valid anyway, right, since it was performed under duress?

Also, they constantly show Satyakam as this rebel leader who is a big advocate for his daughter and education and all that. How are we completely absolving him of the responsibility of going after the villagers for forcefully marrying his daughter off, and he made 0 attempts to find out her whereabouts of where she was in the city and how she was doing. AKT tried, amidst all this to find an alternative for Imlie, and tell Malini about his situation, but one kept saying how this was Seeta Mayya sanctioned and hence she will stay committed no matter what, and the other ended up having health issues. Again, all these reasons are flimsy, but that's how the story was developed, so let's for that reason, consider these reasons as very valid!

At this point, I think AKT was also very conflicted about his responsibility for Imlie and his supposed love for Malini and did not know how to handle both without letting his family or Malini know the truth about Imlie (possibly because he himself was in denial about his marriage to Imlie). He saw what Imlie might be put though if he left her at PD or anywhere else, and was again forced to bring her back home, not knowing how else to explain their relationship to anyone. Also, he kept seeing her as a constant reminder of his helplessness, and was afraid of facing his own feelings about his relationship with Malini, all of which manifested as this extremely mean behavior with Imlie.

Once he realized on her birthday about how badly he had been treating her, he tried to do right by her, asking her to focus on her education etc. But Imlie also sort of kept guilt tripping him (not intentionally) that she was sufficient by herself to fulfill the relationship, and this was divinely fated for her, and then of course, the fool also himself ended up falling in love with her to boot!

And once he realized the love, he again tried to do right by everyone, again amidst getting constant mixed signals from Imlie that she loved him too, but will not wreck Malini's home, and then the resulting confusion of Malini attempting to kill herself for the very unrelated reason (as she claimed), of being in love with Kunal Chauhan! He kept saying he will reveal the truth about them to Malini, but Imlie had to be mahaan and keep saying no, while also gallivanting around with Adi, accepting sindoor from him etc.

In addition to all this, after the coffee table tod shaadi that finally revealed the truth out to the family, it was Imlie who said she wanted to win the family's approval and that they should wait until they got it. But now, she is apparently in extremely good terms with everyone from the Tripathi family except Adi (justfiaby so, on the relationship with Adi).

So in conclusion, while later on, Adi became thoroughly unlikeable, with him casting aspersions on Imlie's character and all the nonsense, he wasn't always so! I have always thought Adi was as much a victim of situations and circumstances like Imlie was. Of course, the turn of Adi's arc to what it is today was inevitable, and I completely understand that, with having to phase out such a well liked actor like Gashmeer, but I really don't think even the character of Adi is deserving of all the hate he has been receiving. This is just my perspective.

I have no problems with Aryan or anyone else, because thankfully, I am aware that they are all but figments of someone's imagination and that imagination can turn in any direction, depending on a lot of external factors! So I am really not looking to draw inspiration from any of these fictional people! Also, my interpretation of the the character arc of Adi is certainly no reflection of my personal beliefs. I certainly do not support force of any kind for anything, or bigamy/polygamy or anything else.

And, I truly, truly *heart* Gashmeer. So there's that bias at play also.

Goddy2010 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

TP, I love you dear. Thank you for speaking my mind. You almost spoke my heart. We are tuned with our thought in case of Adi. I don’t know Gash was before Imlie. But his performance, dedication to his craft and honesty made me to respect him immensely.

Deltablues thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Do people realise that being 'flawed' is neither an excuse nor an absolvement to be abusive? All of us are flawed— we aren't God after all. Most of us still, sonehow, manage to not commit crimes— like bigamy, obstruction of justice, labour exploitation etc etc etc.

When was Aditya written in such a way that he was worthy of Imlie. Most of things enlisted above happened months before the advent of Aryan. This was the same guy who instructed an 18 y/o employee to not forget her "jagah" within first 20 episodes of the show. This was the same guy who said things like "tumhari himmat kaise hui? [...] Kya socha tha, munh mangi keemat de denge?" when Imlie tried to assert her wifely rights 270+ episodes prior to Aryan's advent. Could he not council Imlie into breaking her socialisation that ratified the coerced wedding? She was the traumatised teenaged highschooler, he the award-winning journalist, after all, albeit traumatised himself.

Yet he chose to obfuscate the truth to Malini on his own volition. He chose to not spare a thought to Imlie when this misguided teenager, he'd just met weeks earlier, told him to get married to Malini without nullifying his marriage to her

Then he continued to be nasty towards her as a trauma response—because she reminded him of the truth that his spineless ass had used a highschooler's idealistic drivel as an easy cope-out?

Sorry but the perpetuation of the cycle of abuse makes you an abuser as well. A person csn be a survivor and an abuser in different contexts.

Then he became a hero when he realised that he loved Imlie?

When had he ever considered anyboby else's feelings, trauma, consequences? Dil behlane ko Ghalib yeh khayal accha hai ki Aditya was rendered completely unsuitable for Imlie to highlight Aryan's suitability. If anything, Aryan has been written as a complete antithesis of what Aditya had been from Day 1.

Which is to say, Aditya Kumar Tripathi comes across as a raging naricissist in the posts above mine.

To say that Gashmeer's acting or his chemistry with Sumbul made the Adilie equation palatable is to Ralph's superlative acting turned Voldemort into Mother Teresa.

People can love a shitty character for the crafty way it's written or enacted without resorting to literary and mental gymnastics to excuse their shittiness. Aditya loses out even on that front.

Edited by Deltablues - 3 years ago
nmurali thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: Deltablues

Do people realise that being 'flawed' is neither an excuse nor an absolvement to be abusive? All of us are flawed— we aren't God after all. Most of us still, sonehow, manage to not commit crimes— like bigamy, obstruction of justice, labour exploitation etc etc etc.

When was Aditya written in such a way that he was worthy of Imlie. Most of things enlisted above happened months before the advent of Aryan. This was the same guy who instructed an 18 y/o employee to not forget her "jagah" within first 20 episodes of the show. This was the same guy who said things like "tumhari himmat kaise hui? [...] Kya socha tha, munh mangi keemat de denge?" when Imlie tried to assert her wifely rights 270+ episodes prior to Aryan's advent. Could he not council Imlie into breaking her socialisation that ratified the coerced wedding? She was the traumatised teenaged highschooler, he the award-winning journalist, after all, albeit traumatised himself.

Yet he chose to obfuscate the truth to Malini on his own volition. He chose to not spare a thought to Imlie when this misguided teenager, he'd just met weeks earlier, told him to get married to Malini without nullifying his marriage to her

Then he continued to be nasty towards her as a trauma response—because she reminded him of the truth that his spineless ass had used a highschooler's idealistic drivel as an easy cope-out?

Sorry but the perpetuation of the cycle of abuse makes you an abuser as well. A person csn be a survivor and an abuser in different contexts.

Then he became a hero when he realised that he loved Imlie?

When had he ever considered anyboby else's feelings, trauma, consequences? Dil behlane ko Ghalib yeh khayal accha hai ki Aditya was rendered completely unsuitable for Imlie to highlight Aryan's suitability. If anything, Aryan has been written as a complete antithesis of what Aditya had been from Day 1.

Which is to say, Aditya Kumar Tripathi comes across as a raging naricissist in the posts above mine.

To say that Gashmeer's acting or his chemistry with Sumbul made the Adilie equation palatable is to Ralph's superlative acting turned Voldemort into Mother Teresa.

People can love a shitty character for the crafty way it's written or enacted without resorting to literary and mental gymnastics to excuse their shittiness. Aditya loses out even on that front.

So in conclusion, no matter how much a Man mucks everything up He is NEVER to blame, its always someone else's fault.

The world we live in!!!

Such Disappointment.

Deltablues thumbnail
Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: nmurali

So in conclusion, no matter how much a Man mucks everything up He is NEVER to blame, its always someone else's fault.

The world we live in!!!

Such Disappointment.

Are we surprised?

nmurali thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

No... But actively working on Breaking some of these Glass Ceilings for sure..
wizardofoz2 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 4

Adi is a flawed character or aam aadmi reacting the way most of us would under similar circumstances. He was not meant to be inspirational. GM played akt so beautifully that one could not but love and hate akt at the same time. Sumeer had explosive chemistry which lead to the rage for adilie that will be always be etched in our hearts. Like tp said core characteristics of adi were deliberately changed so much more for the worse than needed to make him seem totally unworthy of imlie.

Edited by wizardofoz2 - 3 years ago