DJ_3 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: BaAZiGar0

they can do a bit of both in a respectable way, that doesnt insult anyone’s intelligence. its hard to digest that her life still revolves around vanraj.

Plus if V needs screen space there are so many ways to show him either developing or becoming worse. I mean realistically Indian women are very forgiving and if they had shown it this the show would have been an even bigger hit. 😎

Edited by DJ_3 - 3 years ago
BaAZiGar0 thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Most Comments (February 2022) Thumbnail + 9

Originally posted by: DJ_3

That is an unfortunate reality for sure Ali.

Similar to how in the west having LBGTQ representation in shows helped people understand or become more comfortable with the idea. The same can be done here if the story was presented in that manner.

Plus the PH never ever shows any support lines or advocates for any NGOs that support such women. Not even in social media or even the actors. Hence at the end of the day, it remains a caricature that we can admire but would remain hollow. 😭

representation matters period. knowingly or unknowingly, DKP is addressing so many people directly with this show. its a huge undertaking and the reality is many people who watch tv take what they see as gospel. the challenge is how do they make this entertaining, informative, relatable AND maintain competitive trps? pretty tough. 😕 atp, i would even appreciate some information at the beggining or end of the show offering resources for abused women. there are tooooooo many women watching this show seeing similarities and then thinking nah, not me. um actually yeah you…

we need to stop pretending like being subservient and sacrificial are the pillars of desi culture.

BaAZiGar0 thumbnail

That is an unfortunate reality for sure Ali.

Similar to how in the west having LBGTQ representation in shows helped people understand or become more comfortable with the idea. The same can be done here if the story was presented in that manner.

Plus the PH never ever shows any support lines or advocates for any NGOs that support such women. Not even in social media or even the actors. Hence at the end of the day, it remains a caricature that we can admire but would remain hollow. 😭

i just re-read ur comment and realized i reposted half of what u wrote..i agree with i tho 💯
BaAZiGar0 thumbnail

The problem with good people is they see everyone like them 😕. I think this could be a coping mechanism for Anu too. Maybe shriz is right and Anu is so scared of being alone she will take any scraps of love and deny the reality of what happened.

she has 0 self worth. none. she is constantly on stand-by waiting for the other shoe to drop. i hate that she is constantly on call. she is a good person and its so hard to see all of the injustice meted out to her. we all know an anupamaa.

you are right tho, by keeping herself busy with their issues/lives its gives her something to do..makes her feel less like everything was ripped out from underneath her.

DJ_3 thumbnail

i just re-read ur comment and realized i reposted half of what u wrote..i agree with i tho 💯

Aww it was nice to share and be reflective. A show that did this great initially on being competitive, social message and change was the initial Balika Vadhu.

By the way, did you read my latest OS? I think you will like it as it has some of the points we had discussed and raised here before. 🤗

ektag06 thumbnail
Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 2

The problem with good people is they see everyone like them 😕. I think this could be a coping mechanism for Anu too. Maybe shriz is right and Anu is so scared of being alone she will take any scraps of love and deny the reality of what happened.

I understand and agree. But now why is she scared? How many more reassurances does she need from Anuj? Doesn’t she keep yapping about how lucky she is to have found “true” love?

I also understand that you don’t realise what you’ve been void of till something better comes along and/or till you want to accept. In her case, both of these things have happened. And still the realisation hasn’t happened? Conditioning I get, but this is pushing it a bit further. I’m not asking her to be rude, but she can still put her point forward. It doesn’t have to be all at once but where are the baby steps? The whole thing has become an irritating affair and for which trp aunties? I’m pretty sure these are the same people who’ve been through similar cases IRL and now are not “ok” to see another woman taking a stand/moving forward

And yes, why don’t we see the actors talking about the changing society in their interviews? They are either justifying the character or thrashing it. But where is the message? Wasn’t that the whole idea of this serial?

BaAZiGar0 thumbnail

Aww it was nice to share and be reflective. A show that did this great initially on being competitive, social message and change was the initial Balika Vadhu.

By the way, did you read my latest OS? I think you will like it as it has some of the points we had discussed and raised here before. 🤗

ive never seen BV, i think surbhi said somewhere that this was her fave show? i tried to watch season 2 but gave up cuz of too many shows on the go. lol. i like shows with a rural setting and a message. imlie started like this but went left really quickly. uttaran was another great show that gave into the saas-bahu drama and same with bidaai. i think having a bank of episodes would help to keep things on track. i loved anupamaa before bae entered and now its become the maan show, and ive been totally sucked into the drama. 😆
Ishabharatdwaj thumbnail
Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Ab Baa ghar ki badi hain, jo unki marzi kar sakti hain, unhe koun rokega😀😀😀

DJ_3 thumbnail

Originally posted by: Ishabharatdwaj

Ab Baa ghar ki badi hain, jo unki marzi kar sakti hain, unhe koun rokega😀😀😀

See this would be dialogue that would become undeniably hit. 🤣

DJ_3 thumbnail

ive never seen BV, i think surbhi said somewhere that this was her fave show? i tried to watch season 2 but gave up cuz of too many shows on the go. lol. i like shows with a rural setting and a message. imlie started like this but went left really quickly. uttaran was another great show that gave into the saas-bahu drama and same with bidaai. i think having a bank of episodes would help to keep things on track. i loved anupamaa before bae entered and now its become the maan show, and ive been totally sucked into the drama. 😆

Yup saw in the mandir, what you had posted. How was your holi?

I am celebrating tomorrow.