When do you realise a film is not working for you?

642126 thumbnail

As audience, as a viewer what makes you feel that a film is not working for you or is 'not worth it'?

For me, if a film is unable to draw me into the universe of its characters and story in first 40 mins and if its cast does not gel well with each other or does not look convincing as either family, friends or enemies and has no chemistry at all and if film does not make curious to know what lies ahead, then it is not working for me. I lose interest and quit watching. If I do not feel attachment or curiosity for characters and story then even a favorite actor or big star in the film does not make me complete watching that film.

What about you? When and what makes you feel an instinct as a viewer that film is not interesting to you, nit working for you?

423728 thumbnail

The best indicator for me is when I start to feel my eyes roll to the back of my skull.

ImageImage

Moodyblue thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Usually i watch anything unless it has something related to stalking / men are men being glorified, it is difficult to ignore.

bollyqueen0 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Depends on my mood. Sometimes, I love watching movies that are SO bad that I watch the entire thing to understand just how bad it actually is and how it's possible that such a movie was made.

Rekha_ji thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

It takes me 7 minutes or less. You get to see "red flags" in the direction and editing right from the get-go. A good film is the result of a combination of factors, and they all need to come together beautifully to work.

Like 2 days ago I watched Atrangi Re. Right from the first opening scene, I noted that the cinematography was exceptional, the detailing in the costumes, the camera angles, the lighting, the colours used, the close-ups on Sara's face as she's running, the background music. The extras moving out of her way were convincing. The setting of the train station was proper... but then there was a slight issue transitioning into the scene when she leaves the train station, sort of unexplained as to what exactly transpired as well as the rawness in Sara's performance. And that revealed to me that the writing wasn't upto par with the rest of the technical elements. And that's how the whole film turned out.

Haiwan thumbnail
6th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

There is a small voice in my head. Occasionally it takes a megaphone and shouts hoarsely - "Bh$$$$$d yeh kya chu$$yapa chal raha hai, inke $$ ka $$$$$da".

And that's when I realize I'm done with the film. 👍🏼

1191706 thumbnail

After the end credit roll.

Edited by Justice4Samosa - 4 years ago
CriticusExpert thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

About 15 minutes or so, and if I start with the fidgeting or if that fast forward button has to be activated then it's over...

Ruhi.007 thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Don't know..

Still trying to complete bunty aur babli 2 from 1 week. Seems like such a chore 🙄. Liking rani but have to sit through the other actors screen time.

Another ongoing one is aranyak. The screen is so dark, I am seeing myself half the time. Liked raveena here trying to watch for her

FlourishedPeony thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Love Couple India Season 2 Thumbnail + 4

When I don't feel continuing watching it or fast-forward straight to the ending.