1123225 thumbnail

Originally posted by: FlauntPessimism

Is it true that at the end Duryodhan reached heaven too? I always thought that he was in hell and Yudhisthir was shown an illusion of Duryodhan in heaven, but when later Yudhisthir denied to stay in company of such evil being, he was told that actually this was hell and all his brothers, Panchal warriors, Uppadavas+other kids, Karna etc. were in real heaven.

But today someone told me that all of them reached heaven including Duryodhan. I am trying to find the citation but am unable to, could someone please guide me.

Aside I want to understand if Duryodhan was actually in hell (as I know), then why was Karna not in hell. What good deed (excluding being the son of Kunti) did he do to get into a better place than Duryodhan

P.S. Ok got the citation, so probably, heaven was the worst option for all the people involved in Mahabharat. Everyone got a better place, some got into VishnuLok, some ChandraLok, Some DharmaLok, Krishna's wives became Apsaras, Dhristdhyum to AgniLok etc. All sons of Dhritrashtra were all Rakshas and so were those who supported Duryodhan, so they all could just get heaven.

Wow such a horrific life, worst you could get out of it is heaven

😆 You could cheat, murder, kill kids, sexually assault women and still go to heaven.

FlauntPessimism thumbnail
Screen Detective Participant Thumbnail ICC T20 CWC 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 9

Originally posted by: HearMeRoar

😆 You could cheat, murder, kill kids, sexually assault women and still go to heaven.

Someone who had staked his wife and had asked her to come into the amphitheater with have naval exposed, got into DharmaLok, I guess the murderers and molesters at least deserved Heaven.

Wow what the hell was the criterion of this selection

1123225 thumbnail

Someone who had staked his wife and had asked her to come into the amphitheater with have naval exposed, got into DharmaLok, I guess the murderers and molesters at least deserved Heaven.

Wow what the hell was the criterion of this selection

I prefer the Nepali Taru Barka Mahabharata ending. Panchali just left, and Bheema stopped the others from following, saying it's the end of an era.

Agni_Jytsona thumbnail

I prefer the Nepali Taru Barka Mahabharata ending. Panchali just left, and Bheema stopped the others from following, saying it's the end of an era.

A bhim thing to do

Bhim always stood by panchali no matter what apart from going to war . Though I don't understand why he would say what he said . But apart from that he has always been there for. Panchali and him has always worked like team. A very strong team

What do you guys think?

Screen Detective Participant Thumbnail ICC T20 CWC 2024 Match Winner Thumbnail + 9

Taru Bakra is a writer? That part is definitely good much better than this Mahabharata, but still how does not following Draupadi change the era? If the era changed, they should have actually followed Draupadi to apologize to her and tried to win back her trust. Remained under her till that didn't happen. But I guess that part was too much to expect

In the current Mahabharata, obviously Swargarohan is a story part(if not Interpolation), I guess those days the thought was that a Kshatriya who dies on the battlefield reaches heaven, irrespective of his other comduct.

Duryodhan, Dusshashan and all their brothers+sons+supporters died in the battlefield. They couldn't have just said that they reached the hell after this so made them reach the heaven and gave others a better place

1123225 thumbnail

Taru Bakra is a writer? That part is definitely good much better than this Mahabharata, but still how does not following Draupadi change the era? If the era changed, they should have actually followed Draupadi to apologize to her and tried to win back her trust. Remained under her till that didn't happen. But I guess that part was too much to expect

In the current Mahabharata, obviously Swargarohan is a story part(if not Interpolation), I guess those days the thought was that a Kshatriya who dies on the battlefield reaches heaven, irrespective of his other comduct.

Duryodhan, Dusshashan and all their brothers+sons+supporters died in the battlefield. They couldn't have just said that they reached the hell after this so made them reach the heaven and gave others a better place

Tharu farmers of Nepal have done this oral/stage version for generations.

End of an era not as in change for the better. End of an era as in their (Pandava Panchali) time together ended. Say like when Gandhi passed. End of an era, right? Panchali left. End of an era.

That version says she went on an Agni pilgrimage. Since she came from Agni, I assume she returned to her bio family.

Thankyou dear. It was a very detailed explanation. I always was confused about the Indra and Upendra thing

I guess even the Govardhan pooja started by Krishna was actually stopping of the Indra Pooja.

That probably was a later addition in Sreemad Bhagwatam to increase the status of Krishna-an incarnation of Vishnu over Indra.

The later Puranik texts have repeatedly made Indra a confused leader who always needs the support of Shiva/Vishnu to even protect his own kingdom, often gets defeated by demons.

There has been constant efforts to demean or at least undermine the Indra

Tharu farmers of Nepal have done this oral/stage version for generations.

End of an era not as in change for the better. End of an era as in their (Pandava Panchali) time together ended. Say like when Gandhi passed. End of an era, right? Panchali left. End of an era.

That version says she went on an Agni pilgrimage. Since she came from Agni, I assume she returned to her bio family.

Ok got the point.

Yes Agni pilgrimage could actually refer to her returning to the biological family.

In fact I always think that Seeta returning to the lap of Dharti maata was also her returning to her biological family instead of her committing suicide. Somehow committing suicide doesn't match with her character otherwise

NoraSM thumbnail
Sparkler Thumbnail 6th Anniversary Thumbnail + 2

Why didn't Indra give a counter weapon to Arjuna for the weapon he gave to Karna?

Originally posted by: NoraSM

Why didn't Indra give a counter weapon to Arjuna for the weapon he gave to Karna?

Arjun already had Pashupatiastra which couldn't be neutralised so he didn't need another one

Shaktiastra was given as a weapon without counter in lieu of the Kawatch Kundal hence giving a counter of it wouldn't be possible