Is Deepika a bigger star than her male contemporaries?

mintyblue thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 4

Let's debate this in a healthy manner please. Do you guys think Deepika is a bigger star than her male contemporaries like Ranbir, Ranveer, Varun etc.?

My take:

Deepika was listed in the highest paid actresses in the Forbes magazine, her position was tenth. She is currently the biggest female star.

Last year, she became the first woman to make it to the top five on the Forbes India Celebrity 100 list. The actress's earnings of Rs 112.8 crore placed her ahead of not just hubby Singh, who is at No. 8 on the list, but also megastars like Amitabh Bachchan, Aamir Khan, Sachin Tendulkar & MS Dhoni.

I think she is a bigger star than the names I mentioned (and again, I am talking only about Gen-y) because she can actually get films like Piku working. She has hardly had a flop in 7 years. All her films(except a stray Tamsha or Finding Fanny) are blockbusters. Ranbir even said and I am quoting him from an interview : "If I am on a project and there is Deepika on it, Deepika is as big or a bigger star than me so there has to be equality, or she gets the bigger piece of the pie, but somebody has to do it.”

FlourishedPeony thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Love Couple India Season 2 Thumbnail + 4

TM you must really dislike DP to keep on making threads like these 😆.

mintyblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: Bigbang_SHINee

TM you must really dislike DP to keep on making threads like these 😆.

I am not into trolling or reverse psychology. Please don't make assumptions

Maroonporsche thumbnail

No she is not even the biggest female. Alia is the no.1 Id say 😊

mintyblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: DragonBoy49

No she is not even the biggest female. Alia is the no.1 Id say 😊

Statistics say otherwise.

BTW, Alia just had a super big flop like Kalank.

hotchic thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Bigger than Ranbir and Varun. Yes!

Bigger than Ranveer? It's debatable. Post Padvamat, Ranveer's brand value has taken a massive hike. At the moment, Deepika is slightly ahead but after '83, i feel Ranveer will surpass her.

ponymo thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 4

Yes she definitely is - in her age bracket.

However, her male contemporaries are not just Ranbir, Ranveer, etc. but also Khans, Akshay etc. She's not bigger than them.

mintyblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: mintyblue

Statistics say otherwise.

BTW, Alia just had a super big flop Kalank. Despite being a massy film, it made just about as much as niche Tamasha made in 2015🤣

Edited

Edited by mintyblue - 6 years ago
mintyblue thumbnail

Originally posted by: ponymo

Yes she definitely is - in her age bracket.

However, her male contemporaries are not just Ranbir, Ranveer, etc. but also Khans, Akshay etc. She's not bigger than them.

They are not her contemporaries. They debuted in 90's and Deepika in 2007. Contemporaries are those who debuted around same time.

1098676 thumbnail

She doesn't even have the guts to do a woman oriented film as it'll expose her star power.