The filmmakers manufacture outrage to grab attention

JackSparrowcraz thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
says Smriti Irani
Published: Mar 05, 2018

At the inaugural ceremony of Ficci Frames 2018, during a Q&A session, Karan Johar remarked that Bollywood is considered as a soft power but often they become "a soft target". To this Smriti Irani quipped that several outrage is manufactured by filmmakers themselves.

As reported by Indian Express, she said,

My issue is this. Now that you recognise me as an insider, honestly put your hand to your heart and tell me, how many of us manufacture that outrage because we don't have a film which is that good but we know we will get the eyeballs.

She continued,

We are all in the business of it, it's the best-kept secret which is just out there. Nobody wants to talk about it.

To which Karan was quick to respond,

Okay, we won't get into that!

Pat came the reply from Smriti,

Of course you won't!

Smriti Z Irani@smritiirani

Interacted with members of the film industry at #FICCIFrames2018 on the potential of media and entertainment industry in the country which stands today valued at Rs. 1.3 lakh crores employing close to 3.6 million citizens.

She also said that Indian film industry should create their own identity rather than following others. She said,

I think we always position ourselves in comparison to others. We never really look at our strengths and then position ourselves completely different from what is happening in the world. We are always catching up. So, will we be happy playing catch up for the rest of our lives or do we as an industry decide that we define ourselves on our own terms?

divaz thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
wow👏
never thought much about her but this is brilliant, I am glad she put Karan on the spot
JackSparrowcraz thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: divaz

wow👏

never thought much about her but this is brilliant, I am glad she put Karan on the spot

Karan tries hard as always but gets spanked.
maal_u_have thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
They obviously have learnt from the masters of outrage-manufacturing. Gujarat elections FTW 😃
~*sindhu*~ thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I wouldn't really limit it to just film industry who manufacture outrage or reaps benefits out of it.
Cookies.. thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 3
LOL @Karan being stumped. He always puts up this facade of being so honest about everything and paints himself as the victim or being targeted by everyone (e.g. Nepotism controversy, cold war with Kajol, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil Hostage video, My Name is Khan controversy, poor lonely gay boy who never found true love image, etc)
But I love it when people blast him and bring out the ugly. The only way the film industry can grow bigger and better is when we show mediocre content makers their place and actually make room for real talent. Filmmakers like Karan Johar make shit like Ae Dil Hai Mushkil or Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna and create controversy and paint a 'sorry' image for himself to catch eyeballs to get people to watch his below par piece of work. Uufortunately, they are the power houses in Bollywood.
heartbleed thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
And why is Karan wearing glasses? To look intellectual?
TheRager thumbnail
21st Anniversary Thumbnail Achiever Thumbnail + 4
Billi nau sau chuhe kha kar haj ko chali...no one can beat pradhan sevakji and his cronies in manufacturing outrage.
BornHyper thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: TheRager

Billi nau sau chuhe kha kar haj ko chali...no one can beat pradhan sevakji and his cronies in manufacturing outrage.

The manufactured outrage has benefited both the parties - film makers and the politicians... obviously Karan did not have the guts to retort back...