DimpledGirl203 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
[/DIV]
See, DSDT isn't finite drama in that sense that it doesn't exactly have a set number of pre-determined episodes from the very beginning
But my friend's uncle told me that DSDT was set to be aired as a filler show in the gap before Big Boss 11 returns in its usual slot of 10:30pm.
Maybe now the plans have changed coz DSDT's ratings have improved for this week.
But I sincerely hope the show sticks to its initial promises and show Teni in a good light, and not the girl who's responsible for breaking Parth and Shorvari's marriage.
Mahakali is a high budget show.
And high budget shows have more priority regarding time slots.
But budget is also directly proportional to risk, so these high budget shows tend to go off air sooner if they don't receive desired trps.
And it's known that Mahakali won't get the desired ratings with respect to its budget on the 5pm weekday slot.
Why would even Colors try then!
And even if they try, the PH won't agree to it.
Nobody knowingly lets their hard work go waste.

I honestly started watching the show coz of sid..and i wanted to see him work with one of my fav actresses and i got that through this show because rashmi is one my fav actresses and she is a phenomenal performer too..
One more thing that caught my attention was it was a story of a childless couple..i have seen 3-4 couples in my own family go through the pain of not having a child and how it is for the woman to lose the ability to conceive...so thats where i was able to relate to parth shorvari story so much and of course rashmi-sid's sizzling chemistry added its own charm...i never saw this story for any other reasons..i never saw it for surrogate mother or her story or her love story crap
But unfortunately the makers promised something else and they are showing something else altogether..wat shud have been the love story of the childless couple has become more about the one sided love story of the surrogate mother thats threatening the relationship of the couple itself..which looks very stupid...
I wish good for sid and rashmi and jasmin because of their hardwork they are putting in for this show..i can oly hope that this show even if its finite or filler or watever it is ends with a positive note and doesnt land up being remembered as the most disastrous show tat made a mockery of marital relation or surrogacy or a show that promoted adultery...its a come back show for two of my fav actors so i just want it to be remembered for good reasons..tats all...
As long as Parth shorvari remain together in this show i shall watch it...else the show can go to hell...m not interested in watching parth teni crap..i hate them together..they give me all sorts of negative vibes because its literally telling tat if the wife is isnt able to concieve..then surrogate mother can be the substitute for her hubby...and if tats wat makers want to show then they better end the show only...
This sudden rise in trp shud be maintained consistently for a longer period of time..only then the show will sustain..else i dnt think it will be on air for long...
Lets see what happens...
goofyCat thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 2 Thumbnail
How can a show with two popular, established and highly paid actors who have a long and strong relationship with the channel, be termed as a filler show 😕 And why would the actors who were waiting for long time to get a good opportunity for comeback will accept a 'filler' show!!

I am not sure what happened behind the closed doors when the channel decided to give the 10.30 pm slot. Only thing that I could conclude from all the happenings was, the show was never meant to be a long running show. The channel promoted the show heavily, and the timeslot change indicates that even the PH is backing the show (despite all their blunders with story) as well. If the channel has to pull off any show to make way for new ones, there are shows with more disastrous ratings like the 7.00 pm show or shows which have nothing left in them like the 7.30 pm one.
1115557 thumbnail

Originally posted by: _goofyCat_

How can a show with two popular, established and highly paid actors who have a long and strong relationship with the channel, be termed as a filler show 😕 And why would the actors who were waiting for long time to get a good opportunity for comeback will accept a 'filler' show!!

I am not sure what happened behind the closed doors when the channel decided to give the 10.30 pm slot. Only thing that I could conclude from all the happenings was, the show was never meant to be a long running show. The channel promoted the show heavily, and the timeslot change indicates that even the PH is backing the show (despite all their blunders with story) as well. If the channel has to pull off any show to make way for new ones, there are shows with more disastrous ratings like the 7.00 pm show or shows which have nothing left in them like the 7.30 pm one.

Haven't you seen the quality of the writing of the show since DSDT started way back in Jan?
I know of a lot of serials which started badly with the writers struggling with the characterization but atleast the writers put in the efforts to improve the quality of the script.
But yahaan pe toh...it's like even baboons can write better scripts than the writers of DSDT.
It has been many months since the show started and the writing didn't improve even a bit
Probably because if the writing from the beginning is bad, audiences won't get attached to it except for Siddharth, Rashami and Jasmin's fans and Rangeela can pull it off air without any crazy fan demands when Bigg Boss is ready.😆

Also, 10:30pm is a lean time slot in terms of trps.
Consequently, the channel is forced to sell ad slots at that time or any other non prime time slot at a lower rate than they do for prime time slots.
Well, when Bigg Boss premieres, the ad rates obviously jumps by 20+% at the least
After all the biggest reality tv show hosted the biggest star Salman Khan!
Though the trps of the recent seasons, after moving to the 10: 30 pm slot are dismal 😆
But the ultimate motive of a Hindi GEC Like Colors is to earn money.
Last year, the show which was supposed to fill in for Bigg boss in between the season breaks , Krishnadasi gained low trps(obviously, the show was crappy though the theme was more trp aunty friendly than DSDT).
What was more insulting for the channel than gaining low trps was that the ad slots for the show which replaced Bigg Boss 9 sold for lower rates than the channel hoped for.
Anyways Bigg Boss 9 was a disappointment in terms of trps AND content.
But still...the channel had failed to leverage the legacy of the Bhai hosted self proclaimed Biggest reality show of India, Bigg boss to gain more money in the lean period.
However, I don't know if you know this fact, but a new soon to be launched tv show usually gain more leverage among the advertisers IF a popular tv actor(sometimes more than one),especially ones who have gained immense popularity by previously appearing in popular shows of that concerned channel the show is gonna aired.
This one factor is even more vital for shows based on unique concepts and/or airing in non prime time slots.
And I've already told you about the Krishnadasi debacle of last year.
That's why this year, Colors casted 2 popular,established and highly paid actors like Siddharth shukla and Rashami Desai as the faces of their new filler Shit se shit tak so that the channel bhaiyyas can leverage their respective popularities to demand higher rates for selling ad slots during the run of this show.
Especially "highly paid" phrase you used is an interesting catch.
For a strange reason, the Hindi GEC channels,believe that a show which has higher production costs but lower paid artists are more lucrative than a show which has lower production costs but higher paid actors.
Probably because it's a common belief that the trp audience is more interested in the costumes and sets of the show than the acting of the cast.
This phenomena has increased even more after the success of vfx driven shows like Naagin.
So there's thousand times more pressure on SidMi to give 2+ trps on a late prime time slot than the pressure Madhurima Tuli and Vishal Aditya Singh receives while acting in Chandrakanta.
And the channel is always brutal to cut down shows if they believe there's another show which can make a better connect with the audience on the longer run in the same slot.
Even if this show gets high slot topping trps now, people are watching the show for its peripheral drama and also many Swabhimaan fans are giving it a chance as another show featuring a cute couple which had an integration episode with their show.
Plus Surrogacy as an issue is one that most of the small town and rural audiences.
And even if they know, it's a hushed up taboo subject that many in those audience bands aren't really comfortable to get addressed by daily soaps.
And DSDT hasn't even done a penny worth of work to make wider India aware of this sensitive and grave issue like Surrogacy in a healthy way.
So, when the show will get down and dirty to explain the real issue of the show ie surrogacy, small town and rural audience will feel disconnected or even ashamed to watch and thus will the trps drop.
Maybe even under 1.
Especially the way this crappy show is presenting the issue of being a surrogate mother all these months, I don't really have hopes of the cvs having more sensitive and realistic approach to the subject in months to come.
And as the answer to why Sid ,Rashami ,Jasmine signed this show, they signed DSDT just because they wanted to be a part of a show that promises to address a trivial issue like surrogacy in a sensitive way.
They wanted to contribute towards the greater good of the society in some capacity.
Sadly, they didn't realize DSDT was a crappy show designed as a filler show for a crappier reality show called Bigg Boss.
Now, even if DSDT isn't replaced by Mahakali, it'll be replaced by Bigg Boss 11 in October.😉
(Apparently as of now, the channel has plans to bring the show on 10-11 pm slot for better trps than last season)
Some horses are just not intended for long races.😆
PS:Rangeela is planning to end Devanshi and SSK too by the end of 2017.

Edited by Luna99 - 8 years ago
libsrocks thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Shambavishivam

@sudha I agree that parth has made his stand clear several times..i am talking in general ma..the way teni gets the intuition about parth being in danger..those rituals..all those makes it look like they are showing a competition of who is better off for the hubby
Recent episodes of parth thinking like teni is one more of such stupid things...
As long as they show parth stand for his love shorvari the show will have some respect..else this will be one disastrous story which was showing adultery in the name of some dilchasp rishta
Sashi mittal had recently told in an interview which was posted here in this forum that they wanted to show surrogacy in a different light..and wanted the family to accept the surrogate mothers..but if they show surrogate mother falling for the father and the relationship of the husband and wife itself in jeopardy than forget accepting the surrogate mother no one will opt for this process at all..
As a woman she needs to put herself in shorvari's place and then write the story..the current story is really very very annoying the way the wife is made to look.. the hubby is behaving and don't even get me started over the surrogate mother..

@bold:
If this was their aim then they have failed miserably. In fact the reality is slightly better than the what is shown here. A compassionate person would always hold respect for a stranger that is ready to give them biggest joy of his/her life even if at some materialistic cost. In fact history of every civilization indicates that surrogacy and surrogate mothers used to exist in society even before the technological development in surrogacy procedure. So there is no question of acceptance in this whole issue. The violation of their rights is the major issue.

The show lacks the base required to show the dark side of this profession. A couple that seems to be compassionate and law-abiding citizens would never really have much of a problem with surrogacy. They would never ill-treat the surrogate and can follow the law while going through the procedure. I don't understand why Parth-Shorvori thought to go for unlawful ways to do the procedure. Also why the hell have they allowed their surrogate mother under the same roof when they want to hide the whole ordeal from the family. School-going students are more smart at hiding their report cards or PTMs from their parents than this adult couple.

Coming back to the point: The real problem lies more in villages, small cities or within orthodox uneducated families who hire poor surrogate mothers and exploit them for their own needs. These poor surrogates are unaware of their rights and even the uneducated families are not familiar with the laws laid down for surrogacy. In fact many NGOs or Asharams house widows or house-less women and do business of surrogacy for extra income. I recently read Margaret Atwood's Handmaid's Tale. The story did show a kind-of surrogacy. To sum it up writer need to have stronger backdrop and characters for such a story.
goofyCat thumbnail

Originally posted by: Luna99

Haven't you seen the quality of the writing of the show since DSDT started way back in Jan?
I know of a lot of serials which started badly with the writers struggling with the characterization but atleast the writers put in the efforts to improve the quality of the script.
But yahaan pe toh...it's like even baboons can write better scripts than the writers of DSDT.
It has been many months since the show started and the writing didn't improve even a bit
Probably because if the writing from the beginning is bad, audiences won't get attached to it except for Siddharth, Rashami and Jasmin's fans and Rangeela can pull it off air without any crazy fan demands when Bigg Boss is ready.😆

I have seen the show from its very first episode. Actually, the writing of the show was better in the initial episodes. Their problem in the start was they rushed the important story, that is, PaRi's journey from a happily living couple amidst the family problems to a couple who is desperate to have child through something as extreme as surrogacy. That was the main reason the show failed to connect to audience even though the writing was good at that time and performances were top notch.. Sometime during Teni's marriage track and around Aman's entry the quality of writing suddenly dropped and it is degrading day by day from there. Only occasionally they come up with good episodes. In case you are not aware of it, the writer and director of the show changed during that time.

And as the answer to why Sid ,Rashami ,Jasmine signed this show, they signed DSDT just because they wanted to be a part of a show that promises to address a trivial issue like surrogacy in a sensitive way.
They wanted to contribute towards the greater good of the society in some capacity.

Certainly. I have seen their interviews before the show started. No one will know beforehand how the show will actually turn out irrespective of how lucrative the role looks and how interesting the script looks.

Now, even if DSDT isn't replaced by Mahakali, it'll be replaced by Bigg Boss 11 in October.😉
(Apparently as of now, the channel has plans to bring the show on 10-11 pm slot for better trps than last season)
Some horses are just not intended for long races.😆
PS:Rangeela is planning to end Devanshi and SSK too by the end of 2017.

As I have said it may times earlier, I won't mind at all if the show ends before next BB season.. Its not like only long running shows are successful. I still believe that Colors tried a show with different concept which was meant to be a short duration show. Now you can call it a filler show, its just your perspective to look at it. (It is a different story that the show hasn't been able to highlight real issues or educate masses on surrogacy, at least till now, but the channel's attempt was surely that only). So I don't think the show will have to be termed as flop if it doesn't run for long. What I wish is they show atleast few things related to surrogacy in a sensible manner, mainly the conflict of emotions of the biological parents and surrogate around the baby, before the show ends.

goofyCat thumbnail

Originally posted by: libsrocks

@bold:
If this was their aim then they have failed miserably. In fact the reality is slightly better than the what is shown here. A compassionate person would always hold respect for a stranger that is ready to give them biggest joy of his/her life even if at some materialistic cost. In fact history of every civilization indicates that surrogacy and surrogate mothers used to exist in society even before the technological development in surrogacy procedure. So there is no question of acceptance in this whole issue. The violation of their rights is the major issue.

The show lacks the base required to show the dark side of this profession. A couple that seems to be compassionate and law-abiding citizens would never really have much of a problem with surrogacy. They would never ill-treat the surrogate and can follow the law while going through the procedure. I don't understand why Parth-Shorvori thought to go for unlawful ways to do the procedure. Also why the hell have they allowed their surrogate mother under the same roof when they want to hide the whole ordeal from the family. School-going students are more smart at hiding their report cards or PTMs from their parents than this adult couple.

Coming back to the point: The real problem lies more in villages, small cities or within orthodox uneducated families who hire poor surrogate mothers and exploit them for their own needs. These poor surrogates are unaware of their rights and even the uneducated families are not familiar with the laws laid down for surrogacy. In fact many NGOs or Asharams house widows or house-less women and do business of surrogacy for extra income. I recently read Margaret Atwood's Handmaid's Tale. The story did show a kind-of surrogacy. To sum it up writer need to have stronger backdrop and characters for such a story.

Very well put thoughts 👏
I am glad to see we Indian women are broad minded enough to think rationally on a sensitive issue from all angles, instead of looking at it as a taboo or a curse.
janecastle thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 7
Well about the topic, I said it when the promo aired that Bajirao lived in a time when polygamy was not a punishable crime. But we live in 21st century where polygamy is a legal offence and also ethically wrong. I still stick to my point that Teni's "love" for Parth is just infatuation. And this is a daily soap where the prime concern is drama. So they can show all this love but in the end Teni's going to realise her mistake. But if that don't happen then this show is over.
DSDT is still better than so may stupid shows that are aired on Indian TV. And even if the channel want to make slot for another show then they'll end a show that's giving very low TRP.
I used to love this show because it had such wonderful actors and not-so-bad story. But ever since they are showing this forced love triangle and only focus on one character, the show has become really boring. But still I don't think the show is going off air like some people said.
krystleAngel thumbnail
I don't agree that there is focus on only one character. They are giving equal focus to all the characters. Some fans who were saying the same last to last week, when the actual trp of the week came last week, admitted that trp of the show has increased because they have given equal focus to all the characters.
According to some fans here (not targetting any particular fandom here)
Trp of show increased = focus was on entire team
Trp of show decreased = Focus is only on one character.

If they really want to give focus on only one character, they can give through surrogacy as well by showing a surrogate mother's hardships. Or can give equal focus to all the 3 characters through surrogacy. They dont need to create drama on other things. But No, they are busy in showing these bakwaas love triangle track And creating drama on it.

Regarding people calling Teni Goddesss here and giving ...Really???
Don't you think Parth is also the ultimate saviour???? Whenever Teni is in problem, it's parth who saves him always instead of aman. He gets the intuitions too that teni is hiding something from him or family (Just like how teni got intution of parth being in danger instead of shorvari).

Regarding saving other channel couple, isnt parth saved naina last time in mahasangam episode????

Though Parth might have cleared viewers doubt about his love for his wife. But before that, everyone was doubting on his intentions too. So literally, in all these dramas they have butchered only parth and Teni's character. Now, they are completely butchering Teni's character.

Honestly, i dont care about this show anymore. We all are actor's fan here more than any character.

Problem is in poor storyline which they are dragging unnecessarily. They can create drama on surrogacy too. Im sure this way no one will be shown in bad light.

Edited by krystleAngel - 8 years ago