Originality and Ishqbaaz

redkelly thumbnail
Hi everyone,
I'm a first timer here and I'm actually posting here due to my complete frustration with the show.
I know there were a lot of complaints that this show hasn't turned out to be what it was sold as, but my simple answer would be- go back to the show's title. It's clearly supposed to be a love story, no matter how it's dressed up. NEVERTHELESS the three brothers cannot and shouldn't be overshadowed by other characters. They should always carry the story because frankly, they are the USP of the show- for me. I don't care if this involves their respective love interests but I want all three of them to have solid story lines. Unfortunately, right now Omru come across as prop-ups for Shivaay.

This leads me to Shiviika. I'm a huge fan, don't get me wrong, but I fell in love with Anika's character for her INDEPENDENCE. Where on earth is that independence now? She too seems to only exist to support/impress/stare at Shivaay. I want her to GET A JOB OF HER OWN- why can't she establish an amazing career, like being a cartoonist (that would be so interesting and cool); she needs to MOVE AWAY from the pathetic Shivaay bubble she's built around herself and work on her own life and priorities (What happened to gaining custody of Sahil, for instance? How can the crazy police officers disappear so obediently?) Of course I would love the Shivika romance to start up but this can only be respected and appreciated and enjoyed when it's a RELATIONSHIP OF EQUALS. And Shivaay is miles away from seeing Anika as an EQUAL (his views on the role of women, for instance) he's all about seeing her as someone who has a lower status than him due to lineage.

Anika needs to make and show that being nameless is a strength and nothing to be ashamed of- why can't she start a catering business or something called NAMELESS just to rub it in Shivaay's aristocratic face? How flipping cool would that be?! Or Nameless could be the name of the band her and Saumya (and Ishana, how I wish...!) start up. I know this sounds crazy and it can't be done immediately, but I really want Anika (since she's the lead, but I include the other girls too) to showcase her independence, her right to independence and the fact women don't need men to make them great.

Today's episide was bonkers. IF WE HAVE TO GO THROUGH WEDDING DRAMA TWO I WILL PUNCH SOMETHING. SO USELESS. I found it weird how the whole family, not just Anika were practically dancing because the wedding wasn't going ahead. Seriously? You know how awful and heartbreaking it is for a bride to be to be abandoned at the wedding altar and your all..cracking jokes?! Sorry, that's not normal.

Tia's reaction is also not normal. NOBODY can be that perfect. If her reaction has convinced me of anything, it's that she is sticking around because she WANTS something. Only a crazy motive could have her take back Shivaay after what he did to her. If I was Robin The Bodyguard, I would've killed Shivaay!

Oh and what's with the jaasoosee?? Don't the Oberois' have lawyers?! 😆

Rant over. I promise. Comments/criticism welcome!

Ps: Maybe Om and Anika should hang out more. Anika's OTTness can be diluted by Om's maturity. And maybe vice versa cause Om needs someone to lighten him up (ISHANA WHERE ARE YOU??)

Edited by redkelly - 9 years ago

nim_var thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
This leads me to Shiviika. I'm a huge fan, don't get me wrong, but I fell in love with Anika's character for her INDEPENDENCE. Where on earth is that independence now? She too seems to only exist to support/impress/stare at Shivaay. I want her to GET A JOB OF HER OWN- why can't she establish an amazing career, like being a cartoonist (that would be so interesting and cool); she needs to MOVE AWAY from the pathetic Shivaay bubble she's built around herself and work on her own life and priorities (What happened to gaining custody of Sahil, for instance? How can the crazy police officers disappear so obediently?) Of course I would love the Shivika romance to start up but this can only be respected and appreciated and enjoyed when it's a RELATIONSHIP OF EQUALS. And Shivaay is miles away from seeing Anika as an EQUAL (his views on the role of women, for instance) he's all about seeing her as someone who has a lower status than him due to lineage.

Anika needs to make and show that being nameless is a strength and nothing to be ashamed of- why can't she start a catering business or something called NAMELESS just to rub it in Shivaay's aristocratic face
Tia's reaction is also not normal. NOBODY can be that perfect. If her reaction has convinced me of anything, it's that she is sticking around because she WANTS something. Only a crazy motive could have her take back Shivaay after what he did to her. If I was Robin The Bodyguard, I would've killed Shivaay!

Love your points. you have raise very valid ones. I wish that Anika would walk away once this proof hunting is over and get a life... seriously... how much more does she need to be insulted. OFc would love to see her rub her independence and no surname fact being rubbed in the royal..aristocrat's face...

I was like duh...what was he doing...promising Tia to marry her later...not one iota of regret.at walking out of his own wedding.. or am I reading too much into his whole...feeling and staring...at Anika... The whole wedding scene was..such a silly distraction... and who gets married...when their dads are not present...happens only on TV and in movies.😆😆
Being the rich and famous O's, am sure Tej and Shakti could hired a plane/chopper n got back in time for Shivaay's wedding...

As for Tia...there is something wrong with her..or she has her selfish motives for wanting to stick around...despite..Shivaay being a mechanical BF with her. She is too undemanding and.. just keeps harping on Reiki and Universe...uh...did I miss anything here

As for Robin, he takes the cake..not one peep out of him when Shivaay got up..what kind of a bro is he... the dumb kind..as he was silent n was shown for 2 nano seconds...with not a bit of expression on his face. 😆😆
427050 thumbnail
originality aur ishqbaaaz ka dur dur tak koi naata nahi hai
subtlety aur ishqbaaaz ka bhi dur dur tak koi naata nahi hai

sorry...this is what came to my mind when i read the title😆

but about what you said - yes omru are mere props most of the times...if they can't be given equal importance as shivaay even that I understand but this is not how secondary leads are treated...this isn't even how supporting characters are treated...and of course soumya and ishaana were(was) treated worse...but honestly what can be done about it?
about anika's life starting to revolve around shivaay...perhaps I would agree with that too('perhaps' because I haven't seen the last 3-4 episodes yet)...this is quite the norm in indian tv...it's always the heroine who stumbles or gets thrust into the hero's world...always her who establishes relationships with his family/friends...it's never the other way round.
BettyC thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 2
All i want is equal storyline to all d three bros i dont mind if its their LS too bt cant tolerate OmRu as sidekicks nw-.-

SimSimmer thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 3
Tia's reaction is unbelievable😆 Girl your groom walked out of the wedding after delaying it for so many months. On top of that, your motive of marrying is crashing down infront of you and you be so calm🤣
Ridiculous I say
yellomellow thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Starting a business would be cool or she could do catering jobs on the side, something other than being in that mansion all the time. I wish they made it more about the house debt and her pride is making difficult for her to leave. I understand that she has to be around to form attachments, but I just wish it wasn't all her scenes. Sahil's custody, getting rid of the psycho Bua, evil cop lady, repaying the house debt, and catering events she could have scenes that related to just her and her problems.

Tia is off, I agree. That's not a normal reaction to your fiancee leaving you during your wedding, even more so if the marriage is a business deal. At least we know for sure now that Tia is marrying for something other than the agreed upon deal. Her and her family are hiding something.
TheTroubleMaker thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2
Glad to see m not the only one who feels so...so agree with watever u've written about Anika.

Am happy that she cracked the CD mystery...but after this, I do not want to see her continuing as the Wedding Planner anymore...that would not go with Anika's character...the strong independent girl that she is...and whatever she said about this being her "last day" at Oberoi Mansion.

Anika needs to move out of this job and Oberoi Mansion for some time now...She needs to go away from him for a while and stop wandering aimlessly in that huge mansion on pretext of Wedding Planning of a Wedding that's never happening...utter waste of time and talent...she seriously needs to stop acting as Oberois' security chief and get a meaningful job and focus on Sahil too...deal with her bua too...!!

Shivay needs to realize wat she means to him and that would only happen once she goes away from his life...the "Never Ending Wedding Drama" needs to stop...hated that he again promised Tia and the Reiki Queen has blind trust in Shivay...its so unreal and unbelievable, a guy just untied the marriage knot with u and u choose to trust him blindly again...so desperate!

Anika as a character needs a lot of development...true wen u say, she needs to make a name for herself...or atleast start working towards it.

The whole wedding drama was pathetically executed is all I can say, even the reason to stall the wedding was not convincing enough!

#ADisappointedShivikaFan

(I slightly disagree with ur PS part though...Anika's OTTness is her originality...Om n Anika's their limited but meaningful interactions look good, I personally would not like to see Anika "hanging out" with Om more 😆)
Edited by Crazy4Mayur - 9 years ago
OmkaraKiParvati thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4
Whoever you are.. Take loads of 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏 👏
U voiced out the opinions of many here.

I so agree with each and every point of urs. I fell in love with Anika' independence. And that independence is totally missing now. She instead has become Oberoi Detective now. I kind of hate that now seeing as to she's present to solve each and every problem of The Oberois when the brothers can solve it themselves 🤔

I don't even want to comment on Shivaay since he always manages to piss me off with his views on women. OmRu seem like pillars for ShivIka 🥱 But then since the show is about three brothers who are leads and not about a particular couple, I trust Gul with her word for Om and Ru's story.

Ur P.S. I see a possible best buddies relationship brewing between them. I want them to be best friends and share everything with each other. That angle would be great to watch
itsmeshingi thumbnail
Seriously.. The richest guys are on the street looking for that poster when they can hire an army to do the job.🤣
And yes lawyers ka koi scene he nahi-- and did they even check if the girl who committed suicide actually worked for them??

Tris007 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Crazy4Mayur

Glad to see m not the only one who feels so...so agree with everythin u've written!!

Anika needs to move out of this job and Oberoi Mansion for some time...She needs to go away from him for a while and stop wandering aimlessly in that huge mansion on pretext of Wedding Planning of a Wedding that's never happening...utter waste of time and talent...she seriously needs to stop acting as Oberois' security chief and get a meaningful job and focus on Sahil too...deal with her bua too...!!

Shivay needs to realize wat she means to him and that would only happen once she goes away from his life...the "Never Ending Wedding Drama" needs to stop...hated that he again promised Tia and the Reiki Queen has blind trust in Shivay...its so unreal and unbelievable, a guy just untied the marriage knot with u and u choose to trust him blindly again...so desperate!

Anika as a character needs a lot of development...true wen u say, she needs to make a name for herself...or atleast start working towards it.

The whole wedding drama was pathetically executed is all I can say, even the reason to stall the wedding was not convincing enough!

#ADisappointedShivikaFan

@Bold Nd I'm so happy to found another person who's disappointed with this Wedding crap. The whole thing was so absurd! See! Didn't I tell you the wedding wouldn't lead us to anywhere and CVs seriously are just stressing this, with nothing taking place at the end!
I don't know how I survived the first half of the episode today.
Annika seriously needs to move away from Oberoi Mension! She looked so negative while stopping the Wedding, that it's almost sad.
I'm sorry but this wedding track was seriously utter crap. Now I wouldn't surprised if Tej and Shakti get out of this fiasco soon, and they all live happily again. Disappointed? Yes totally.
Anyway, @redkelly Annika can should definetly think about getting Sahil's custody! File a police case against that lawyer (If she is ready to fight against SSO, which doesn't like she is really, given her sudden worried self with him and his family from few days), or yes get a job as a cartoonist!!! She look so apt for it! Go for business and make SSO's funny sketches everyday😉😆😆
Gul talks about feminism and women equality one day and become so hypocrite about it the next day
Edited by Trissy - 9 years ago