Kunj sauntered into his room, eyes drooping with exhaustion and sleep. College had been tiring as always. The sense of something missing immediately swept through him as he noticed the absence of his wife. As his eyes circled around the room in search of her, they landed on a neatly folded sheet of paper on his desk. Curiosity took over and he strode towards the desk to have a better glimpse of the paper. It was a letter addressed to him and just by the handwriting, Kunj knew it was from Twinkle. A small smile crept upon his face at his wife's antics. Placing himself on the chair he began reading.
Dear Kunj,
I love you. Those 3 simple words just don't seem to do justice to the extent of my feelings for you. There's so much I want to say but I can never muster up the courage to say them to you face-to-face. So I suppose a letter will have to do. Oh god, I don't even know where to start. I suppose the very beginning might be a good place. (I know you're rolling your eyes at me Mr. Sadu Sarna and I warn you that if you do it again I will deprive you of your morning kiss and that's a promise). The very first time we met Kunj, you caught me. Since then you've always caught. I've slipped so many time but you've never let me fall. You're always there to catch me. So I know that if I ever want to let go, you'll catch me before I fall of the edge. Back then, when we first met, I was so in love with Yuvi and I did everything I could to cancel our relationship. I remember sitting in your room and I was going to make myself seem like the worst girl possible but you beat me to it. From there I hatched the perfect plan to make you seem characterless but you proved me wrong. I gave you ever chance but you never made move. Then I found out the truth of you not wanting to marry me and I couldn't have been happier but neither of us managed to break the truth to our families. Instead we ended up arguing because we couldn't do it and ended up falling on the bed. We were so childish. The day I truly saw the real Kunj Sarna was that day in the boxing ring. I saw the vulnerability in you rushed home and I saw it again when you told me you had feelings and I should respect them. I remember feeling absolutely terrible because I knew I'd hurt you and for some reason that hurt me more than it should have. The next day I met the kind and giving Kunj Sarna. I'd only ever loved one guy in my life Kunj and as much as I hate to say it, it was Yuvi. He was never liked that. He was arrogant and though himself above charity. Yet I saw you, giving water to people suffering from the heat, and I remember thinking what a kind guy you must be. You proved that again when you didn't care that my oiled hair could possibly mess up your car. Yuvi would never let me do that and from that day I continuously made comparisons between you 2 and no matter what, you would always win. When you planned the date for Alisha, I couldn't help but feel jealous because no one had ever put that much effort for me. Sure Yuvi's were exotic but they weren't set-ups. Yours's was. Everything had been so delicately and wonderfully and I remember being so mad at Alisha for walking away from you. You were perfect and only later did I realize that maybe you were perfect for me. Because you are in every sense my perfect fit Kunj; my soulmate, my better half and the true love of my life. When you jumped into the pool to save me, I realized that there were other guys in the world who without even loving you would willing risk their live for you. You caught me from falling again that day. You stopped my marriage with Yuvi and I never thanked you properly for that. So thank you, for stopping me from making the biggest mistake of my life. I drank poison but once again you saved me. You were, you are and you always will be my savior Kunj. You're my hero. After that everything suddenly seemed to go downhill. I misunderstood you and I am so, so sorry for that. But even then, somewhere deep inside me, I knew it couldn't be you. You'd always saved me from losing repect so why would you take it away from me? Despite my allegation you still came to save from Yuvi because that's the kind of person you are. That day when I hugged you, in front of the mosque, I felt safe. Your arms have become my safe haven. If anyone were to remove from them, I'll die. Then we got married and everything was so awkward. Our honeymoon night was spent in jail. We really are one of a kind. When those goons stole my mangalsutra from me, I remember feeling empty. I don't know when, but that mangalsutra had become a part of me. We came home and my mother disowned me. I was broken but you picked me up and stopped me from shattering completely. You stood up for me and although you failed, you did it. We argued so much, over the littlest of things. Yet I loved that. It gave me a sense of normalcy. You are the constant in my life, the one person that I know I can always count on. Our family went bankrupt and I met the responsible so of the Sarna family and my respect for you grew. I was in the hospital, in a coma and when I woke up you weren't there. I remember feeling so scared and then you came and all of a sudden everything seemed right again. You defended me against your mother and my respect for you only grew. Karva Chauch came and all fingers were pointed against me but you stood by me like you always have. Your support has always been my greatest strength. When you're with me, I know I can do anything. Bebe sent us on a honeymoon and there you protected me against everything. That day outside the dance, your reassurance meant everything to me. We came back with a new siyappa but then again it's us. We're siyappa magnets. Yuvi created a thousand walls between us and what hurt most was that you believed him over me. But no matter how much we fought against each other, you were still there for me. When at Raman mam's anniversary, you supported me again, I was overwhelmed. You supported me again in front of Anita Aunty and then again in front of my mother. You slapped me on my birthday. The slap didn't hurt, you slapping me did but you apologized for it. That's another thing I love about you. You never hesitate to apologize. When you found out Yuvi's truth, you supported me unconditionally. I was kidnapped but I knew you'd come. You always come and that time was n different. You welcomed me home, like a bride. Your sorry and thank you date was planned out perfectly. When we danced, I felt as if it was the start of something new. We got you admitted to a college and due to Anita Aunty's taunts, I saw you cry for the first time. My heart constricted seeing your tears. Then came Maya. She was your best friend and she seemed to know everything about you. You always seemed so happy around her. Now don't smile but I admit I was jealous. The though of you with any other girl kills me. I found out the truth of the night at the farmhouse and I felt like crap. How could I have ever doubted you? Finding the divorce papers in your bag was terrible. It hurt so much but I wanted you to be happy. So I decided to leave but like always you stopped me from making a mistake. I found out my dad's truth but maybe that hurt less than the fact that you hid it from. Yet you were there every sep of the way to make sure I didn't break. Thank you. Mahi came into our lives and she brought with her Yuvi. I got so lost in her, I forgot about you but still you supported me. That day in the boxing ring, when you fell to the ground, my heart stopped. But you got up and you fought for me. I joined the Mrs. Amritsar contest against your wished but I did it for you and our family. As angry as you were, you didn't let me down. You arrived at the dance competition and we won. Despite what happened the night before, you still came to support me during the sola shringar round. We shared a bed finally and it came as a relief for me. It felt nice to have you so close. The nest day I realized I loved you. You didn't know how to swim but once again you jumped into the pool to save me. You loved me that much to not care about your own life. Your idea of starting over again sounded so appealing. Your dates were perfect. You dressed up as SRK for me and you told me I was the one. You can't fathom how much that meant to me. We got caught sharing a noodle and the next day in a bid to make me jealous you flirted with another girl. HOW DARE YOU?! If you ever do that again, I promise I'll kill. Just to see my smile, you organized antakshari and you succeeded in your goal. You mad me smile. We made plans to confess, I had a whole speech ready but the second I saw you, I forgot everything and I improvised. We were so close to admitting but you received the new that your father had a heart attack. You ran off and you never looked back. The truth came out and you were livid with me for hiding it. Yet you believed that I hadn't leaked the video. I walked out of the house, you didn't stop me once. When I saw you on the terrace, you walked away. That hurt me more that you can imagine. Then, as if it was god's will, I got a share of the business. I returned home but not to our room. You behaved coldly with me yet when I was about to fall off the ladder, you caught me. I never had a second doubt that you wouldn't. My first marriage would've gone to hell and I would've been dishonored but you came and stopped anything like that from happening. The next one did fail but still you never left my side. They say 3rd time's a charm and I suppose for us it was. I walked into Chaudhary mansion expecting to set up a marriage for Rajjo and someone else. Instead I found myself preparing for your marriage. It killed me. I know you were mad that I hid under the veil for the roka. But what could I do? I wouldn't let you get engaged to someone in front of me. What's mine is mine and you're the most important things that's mine. You came to me that night because you knew I'd be scared. I loved you even more for that. I got so mad at you because you didn't seem to care that we'd just been labelled siblings and you were about to get married to someone else but you proved me wrong. You stopped the bhai teeka by having a seizure. How you got an idea like that, I don't know. What matters is that you stopped it and you proved to me that you cared about me just as much as I cared about. You returned my lost faith. The next day we found out Rajjo was pregnant. Chaudhury ji slapped you but I felt the sting. That night you held me in your arms for a while and I knew things were back to normal. You were the first one to apply color to my face and I was the first one to do it to you. It was a rather eventful holi. My brain stopped working the moment I realized Chaudhury ji was pointing his sword at you. I ran in front of you but I knew you wouldn't let the sword hit me either and you didn't. Drama happened and suddenly everything was fixed. Rajjo and Raja were getting married and we were free from the siyappa and I knew I had to tell you how I felt. When you told me you loved me, my heart stopped. I don't think, I'd ever been happier in my life. When you kissed my forhead, I knew. I knew we were forever. Kunj, I've always thought love was pain but you showed me elsewise. You showed me how beautiful, how pure and how unconditional love could be. You showed me that love was meeting each other at half, about always being there for each other, about always trusting each other and always loving each other. I don't know when it happened but somewhere along our journey, I have fallen, hopeless, madly and unconditionally in love with you. I love you Mr. Kunj Sarna. Forever and always!
Love
Your Twinkle
Kunj's eyes glistened with tears. His wife had outdone had done herself this time. A huge smile stretched across his face. Suddenly he felt a pair of arm encircle his waist and creep up towards his shoulder. The familiar feeling of his wife's touch settled upon him. He turned her around and wrapped his arms around her wait. Twinkle looked up at him. She was smiling up at him, a happy twinkle in her eyes. He pulled her into him so that her head was pressed against his chest.
"Thank you," she whispered in his chest
"What for?" Kunj asked.
"For showing me how to love again. I love you," she turned to look up at him.
"I love you too," he said, gently pressing a kiss on her forhead. They stayed like that, just basking in the serenity and comfort of each other's arms. Their story had just started. Many obstacles were yet to be faced but they could face them together. After all they were Kunj and Twinkle and their love was pure, unconditional and eternal.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I don't know why this popped into my head but it just did. Joote, chappals, all are welcome. BTW I know I have FF to update and I have started the next chapter and I'll try to have is finished soon but for now I hope you enjoyed the OS.