12th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
barsha_dash thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 5

Banner Credit: arnavini🤗

Chapter 10

Hello Diary,

2014 is coming to end along with this Chennai trip. And I don't need to mention that this year had been really eventful with Jiji's marriage and the introduction of a certain Arnav Singh Raizada in my life, who has recently taken away all my sanity. After 68 days, I am going to meet him tomorrow finally. For the first time, I am more excited to meet someone else other than my family. Is this how people feel when they are in love? These are so alien to me. I feel like a love struck teenager. Silly, isn't it? I can't think any more. I need to sleep to catch the morning flight in time.

Saket entered his sister's room and stood for a few seconds with his mouth agape. He had never seen his sister's room in such a mess. Khushi was generally a very organised person and liked her things kept in their rightful places. However, presently it seemed that her room had been affected by a storm. Her wardrobe had entirely been shifted to her bed, clothes strewn everywhere around her room. Khushi was standing lost in thought, with one hand on her hip and the other resting on her chin.

"Khushi, are you alright? Why have you taken out so many dresses?"

"It is already late and I have not yet decided what to wear for the party", she said still lost in deep thought.

"Khu baby, you look the same whatever you wear. It is not that you are dressing up for someone special. So wear anything and get ready quickly. Or I am going to leave for the party alone", Saket said trying to hide the smile. He knew why his sister was taking so much time in selecting an outfit.

"Whatever. Stop eating my brain and get out of my room so that I can get dressed", Khushi said rolling her eyes clearly irritated by Saket's comment.

This is what happens when you oversleep. Khushi thought. She had been exhausted due to flight. She had decided to take a short nap after lunch which had turned into a full four hour sleep. Waking up from her slumber, she realised that she had to get ready for the party organised by the Raizadas to welcome the new year and she had not yet decided what to wear.

She had been rummaging through her wardrobe trying to select a nice dress. She had never felt the urge to look good for someone. Yet, today was different. She felt different. Her eyes shone as she spotted the red knee length dress among the huge pile of clothes. Her lips broke into an involuntary smile as she remembered him telling about red being his favourite colour.

Forty-five minutes later, she looked at herself in the mirror for one last time before rushing downstairs hearing Saket screaming her name.

Making the perfect knot with the thin navy blue tie round the collar of his button-down shirt, he checked himself in the mirror. Perfect. He thought.

He was going to meet Khushi after almost two and a half months. He could not wait any more to let her know about his feelings. He had not spoken to her for two days. He had been busy the previous day arranging for the New Year's Party which was held annually by the Raizada Corps. By the time he had retired to bed the previous night, it had been quite late and he did not wish to ruin her sleep knowing that she had a morning flight to catch. He remembered their text conversation that had taken place five days ago.

"When are you returning to Delhi?"

"Arnav, this is the twenty-sixth time I am telling you. I am returning on 31st morning."

"Wow! You were keeping counts how many times I had asked you this?" He had replied teasingly.

"I just have a good memory. :)"

He got an instant reply. He very well remembered when she was returning. He just couldn't control the urge to rile her up.

"Anyway, you are attending the New Year's party, right?"

"I do not remember anyone inviting me, so no."

"Okay.

Khushi Gupta,

You are cordially invited to the New Year's Party to welcome 2015, organised by the Raizada Corps.

Arnav Singh Raizada

Now that you have got the official invitation, I need an answer. Are you coming?"

"I will attend it just because Jeejaji has lovingly invited me unlike others who forget to invite people and ask for their presence."

His thoughts were broken by his sister's chirpy voice.

"Bade khush lag rahe ho, Chhotay. (You are looking very happy, Chhotay.)"

"Why? Is there any specific reason for me that I should be sad?"

"Not at all. By the way, you look handsome, Chhotay. I am sure Khushi will be impressed", said Anjali, a mischievous smile playing on her lips

"Di?! What are you talking about?" He said feigning innocence.

"Aww my little brother! Don't act so innocent. I know what is going on between you and Khushi", she said pulling his cheeks.

"What the!" He exclaimed rubbing his cheeks. "How did you know Di?" He asked shocked.

"So, this is true! I had some doubt since Diwali when Khushi had vanished for a long time and later you had come to the living room from the pool side with a flustered Khushi behind. You know, it does not require too much brain to guess what had transpired between you two."

He closed his eyes for a fraction of a second embarrassed at his sister's insinuation.

"Di, nothing had happened that day. Okay," he said, a red hue creeping up his neck.

"Chhotay, are you blushing? Oh my God! I still can't believe! You are in love with Khushi. I have to prepare for another marriage soon. I can't wait to bring another bhabhi home", Anjali squealed in excitement.

"DI! Stop screaming and stop dreaming about my marriage. I haven't even proposed her", he said.

"What! You are useless, Chhotay", she sighed, disappointment clear in her voice.

"Exactly, Di. Both of them are good for nothing." Payal joined the siblings, teasing Arnav even more.

"Unbelievable", he muttered under his breath as the ladies broke into laughter.

The Purple Orchid Club was bustling with guests invited at the Raizadas' New Year's Party. Khushi was sitting at one corner of the hall sipping her fruit punch, eyes trained on a person. She had a brief encounter with him when he had greeted her with his charming smile and a "Hi". Soon, he had been dragged by Akash to meet the Who's Who of the business circle since Arnav had returned after five years and the New Year's Party was the official party of the Raizadas.

She spent some time chatting with Payal and Anjali but as the night descended, the two went to join their respective spouses and Saket had ditched her mid way through the party since he wanted to spend time with his girlfriend. So, presently Khushi was utterly bored and felt completely out of place. Her only source of entertainment was the plight of Arnav, who desperately wanted to release himself from the clutches of the woman who was clinging to him. It was completely his fault though. How could women stop themselves when Raizada looked irresistible in the pale blue button down shirt, black jeans and the thin navy blue tie adding to his charm! Watching him in the colour that suited him best after such a long time, was a balm to Khushi's eyes.

Arnav Singh Raizada was totally frustrated. He had wanted to spend some quality time with Khushi. Instead he was spending time meeting business colleagues. He wanted to kill his brother for leaving him among these businessmen and enjoying the evening with his wife himself. And now, he was trapped within the arms of some irritating Ms. Sharma. She had started talking business in the beginning but then was trying to get closer to him, touching him at the slightest opportunity. He was not listening to any of the things that the girl was saying. He just wanted to remove her hands from his body. He looked in Khushi's direction and saw her gaze on him.

He fished his phone from his pocket and typed,

"Please, help me get away from this chipkoo."

He got an immediate reply.

"Why? You two make such a good couple. ;)"

"Pleeeaaseee."

He looked at her with pleading eyes and saw her giving him an amused smile. He saw her walking towards them. She tapped the shoulder of the girl and said in an extra sweet voice, "I need to talk to Mr. Raizada in private. I hope you don't mind." She looped her hand in his and dragged him with her. Arnav was enjoying the scene. The girl was clearly pissed. She asked, "Who are you?"

"Doesn't matter." Khushi replied in the same sugary sweet tone with a smile.

"Thank you, Khushi. Tum nahi hoti toh aaj mera izzat lut jata.(My honour would have been at stake, if you weren't there.)"

"I thought you were enjoying her company", Khushi said. Arnav rolled his eyes and said, "She was too clingy." Khushi chuckled.

"Anyway, you owe me, Arnav Singh Raizada, for saving your honor."

"Anything you say", replied Arnav.

"Get me out of this party. It is too boring."

"With pleasure", Arnav said smiling. Finally, he was alone with Khushi.

They failed to notice four pairs of eyes who had seen them sneaking out of the party.

"I can't believe my own eyes. Khushi snatched Arnav from the bitch and led him out of the party!" Payal said in shock.

"I had complete faith in my sister-in-law," Akash said grinning.

"Aww! They look so good together with their hands interlocked", Anjali said with dreamy eyes, admiring the couple.

There was complete silence inside the car. They had been driving for some fifteen minutes. It was already past eleven. Arnav did not know where he was going neither did Khushi say anything. They wanted to speak so many things, but were enjoying the silence. It was soothing.

"Arnav, I want to eat ice cream," Khushi said suddenly breaking the silence spotting an ice cream parlour. They were away from the crowded city. The ice cream parlour had a few people though. They decided to have ice cream outside instead of being inside the parlour. Khushi sat on the bonnet of the car while Arnav was just leaning against it. He gulped hearing Khushi moan as she relished the taste of the chocolate ice cream. Her red dress along with her moans were creating havoc to his senses. A bit of chocolate chip from her ice cream, was sticking at the corner of her mouth which she licked with the tip of her tongue. Ice creams and jalebis could turn Khushi Gupta into a kid. He chuckled at the thought.

"What is so funny, Arnav?"

"I was just wondering, how much you can eat."

"Not again. I love eating. What is your problem?" She said, angry at being teased because of her love for food.

Arnav leaned towards her, his face just inches away from hers. He said in his husky voice, "It is red."

"What?" Khushi barely managed to utter the word as her mind was clouded by the musky smell of his cologne, again.

"Your nose. It is red." Arnav said with a teasing smile and flicked it.

"By the way, why were you sitting alone at the party?" He asked.

"No one was there to give me company."

"You could have danced, you know. I saw Di and Bhabhi on the dance floor."

"I don't like dancing."

"You don't like dancing or you can't? I remember Saket telling that you are a pathetic dancer."

"Excuse me. I can dance pretty well. At least I am a far better dancer than Saket," Khushi said annoyed.

Arnav yanked her down from the bonnet and said, "How about we test that now? Dance with me."

"What! Here? In the middle of the road at this time of the night? Are you crazy?"

"There is no one here, Khushi. Are you afraid of taking up the challenge?" He teased. He knew how to get Khushi Gupta to do things.

"Never. Khushi Gupta never backs down from a challenge. But I cannot dance without music."

Arnav turned on the music player on his phone. "See, problem solved. Any more excuses left?"

She nodded in a no. His left hand reached her waist and pulled her towards him. They swayed in sync as the soft tunes of Nazdeekiyaan came into life.

Raaton ke jaage subah mile hain
Resham ke dhaage yeh silsile hain
Laazmi si lagne lagi hai
Do dilon ki ab nazdeekiyaan

Dikhti nahi par ho rahi hain mehsoos nazdeekiyan
Do dil hi jaane lagti hain kitni mehfooz nazdeekiyan

He twirled her and brought her closer. Their feet moved with the beats of the music. Khushi placed her hands on his chest. She forgot that she was dancing in the middle of the road. She forgot that they might be watched. She was drowning in the depths of the caramel orbs and felt lighter with exhilaration.

Zariya hain ye aankhein zariya
Chhalakta hai jinse ek armaano ka dariya
Aadatein hain inki puraani
Ankahi si keh de kahaani
Parchaaiyaan do judne lagi hain
Dekho hawa mein udne lagi hain
Pankh jaisi lagne lagi hain
Do dilon ki ab nazdeekiyan

The music had stopped. Yet, they stayed in the same position. His knuckles traced her jaw. She closed her eyes. His touches were inciting sensations which were alien to her. "Khushi." Her name sounded so good in his voice. She looked into his caramel orbs. They reflected emotions and desires similar to her.

"I think I had fallen for you the first time I had heard your voice while talking to Bhabhi over phone. I had fallen for you during Bhai's wedding. I had fallen for you whenever you had got angry at me. I had fallen for you when you ate jalebis or seeing you drenched in rain. I had fallen for you when you were in your polka dot pyjamas and oiled pigtails."

He paused. They were lost in each other's eyes oblivious to the surroundings.

"10, 9,..."

Far away, people started the final countdown to welcome the new year.

"Khushi Gupta...", continued Arnav, "I have fallen irrevocably in love with you." Arnav confessed along with the last 3 seconds of the countdown.

The sky lit with the bursting of crackers as the new year set in. Khushi was still silent. "Say something. Please, Khushi", Arnav pleaded. His heart was pounding in anticipation of Khushi's answer.

Khushi cupped his face with her palm and leaned in. Her breath was fanning his ears. "Happy New Year, Arnav."

Arnav stilled. Khushi moved back. She saw Arnav's blank face and eyes rounded in shock. She bit her lips trying to stifle a laugh. "Khus.." Before Arnav could say anything, she burst into laughter.

"Damn you, Khushi." He ran his fingers through his hair.

"I could not let this golden opportunity of teasing you slip. Your expression was worth a million dollars."

He pulled her flush against him. "So, Khushi Gupta knows how to tease. You still didn't answer Khushi."

"I don't remember you asking any question." She replied tongue-in-cheek.

"Do I need to pronounce it?"

"Ahan"

"Say it, Khushi. Please."

She looked straight into his eyes and said, "I love you too, Arnav."

The words had barely escaped her mouth when she found herself losing as Arnav's soft lips met hers. The kiss was slow and gentle, promising new beginning of their relationship.

A year later,

Hello Diary,

It is wee hours in the morning but I couldn't help myself from penning down what I am feeling. First of all, Happy New Year. 2016 has arrived. I still can't believe that another year passed by in a whiz. So many things have changed. The most important one is my surname. I am Mrs. Khushi Singh Raizada now.

My marriage was quite an event with me being teased 24x7 by either Saket, Jiji, Anjali Di or Arnav. Gosh! I must have given competition to the reddest of tomatoes with my blushing.

It feels that it was just yesterday when we had confessed our feelings. Time really flies.

Last night, we had again sneaked out from the New Year's party and I know that I am going to be teased again by Jiji. I saw her winking at me when we left. Sometimes I wonder what sadistic pleasure they get by teasing me.

Arnav's opinion, I can understand. He finds me adorable when I am angry since my nose turns red. (Sometimes, I pretend to be angry just to hear him say that.)

By the way, Arnav had taken me to the same place where we had confessed last year. And he had kissed me senseless just at the stroke of midnight.

Well, my hubby is sleeping peacefully now, mouth slightly open, like a baby. He looks so childish and...

Before she could write further, she felt ticklish as her husband stubble grazed her neck as he placed open-mouthed kisses on her bare shoulders. "Spending time with my sautan again, are you Mrs. Raizada?"

"Mr. Raizada, you should stop being jealous of inanimate objects."

This was one of few things which helped Khushi avenge him for all his teasing. Arnav Singh Raizada gets irritated when Khushi spends hours scribbling in her diary.

"That is because you spend more time with your diary than me. Khushi, what fun do you get in writing the same reality? But yeah I do appreciate that you find me irresistible when I wear something in blue or the fact that my cologne drives you crazy. And you are pretty good at doodling your heart condition and the butterflies in your stomach when I am near you." He winked at her, only to hear a gasp.

"What the! Arnav you read my diary? It is personal! You are not supposed to read it."

"Well, I couldn't resist myself from finding what my sautan had that I didn't. You forget your husband when you keep scribbling in that."

"Arnav Singh Raizada! You are incorrigible!"

"I know baby. Now can we please stop talking about my sautan? It is time you pay some attention to your husband too." He said and slammed his lips on hers.

The toe-curling kiss turned into passionate love making as the blue diary lay forgotten at a corner of the bed.

Song: Nazdeekiyaan

Movie: Shaandaar

Please read the Note Below

Epilogue

Edited by barsha_dash - 9 years ago
barsha_dash thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 5

Note:

Phew! The relief and happiness on completion of my first SS! I would like to share a few facts behind Love Countdown.

The story was originally written as a non-ArHi OS for a competition in the Fan Fiction Forum Last December. That was my first attempt at writing anything related to romance. I did not win it and the piece lay in one of the least visited folders of my laptop. Seven months later, I met Sadhana, my virtual soul-sister, who had read it and coaxed me to make it an SS. And thus began the journey of Love Countdown.

Thank you, Sadhana, for encouraging me to write this and for the most wonderful beta. I remember whining to you whenever I was stuck and have been my Knight in the shining armour. I love you.🤗

Most of the traits of Khushi resemble mine. *sheepish smile* I am a Mathematics student and wish to become a Professor one day.😎 And before you ask, I have no Arnav in my life, yet.😆

Finally, a big Thank You to all the amazing readers who have liked, commented or have just silently read the story. Mere words are not enough to express my gratitude for the all the love you have showered on this story. I have not been a good writer. My updates were highly irregular. Yet, you continued to support me continuously all these four months. You guys are the best!🤗

I am taking a break from writing since I have exams coming up in three weeks. I will resume writing the OS series next year.

Till then, enjoy My Index:Whispers of the Winds

Take care.

Love,

Arunima

Edited by barsha_dash - 9 years ago
Sadh123 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 5
The final countdown has ultimately come. And I am going to miss this story, tons and loads. I felt like I have travelled with this story since long..it has been a journey for me too, with you.. and this story was highly instrumental in bringing us together.. and to see it reach the end, very beautifully is a very happy moment for me too.

Ah so every thing falls in place. Oh everything about this story amazes me and every character was totally different, be it Arnav, Khushi or Saket, Payal, Anji, Akash and Sadh.. 😆 I mighty enjoyed the fine flavours of uniqueness you have induced in this lovely piece of work.

So Arnav did confess and how! Ha that dance reminded us of the Teri Meri dance.. and what a song! I don't see the credits here 😆 ha Khushi has learnt to tease.. Yay.. go girl!!! Finally Arnav did read her diary! I loved that ending... sautan...the humor in this story has always kept me hooked and the whole story was like slice of sweetness.. I love everything about this story and now I wish for the next series to start!

A Happy New Year to you too 😃 A little advanced. But sounds fitting here..

"There is no real ending. It's just the place where you stop the story." - Frank Herbert
Edited by Sadh123 - 9 years ago
-cadbury- thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3
unres!

How sad it is when I think that this is the last chapter of one of my most fav fic !

Kushi's diary writing thing is one of the things I admire in this ss along with their morning walk' part!

Finally she got to leave Chennai :P

Lol kushi checking and rejecting the dresses was so hilarious and it got more spiced coz we knew the reason behind this :D

And saket knowing the situation very well, pulled her leg...ROFL

And arnav on the other side is no less either! He dresses just to kill kushi (ofc with his looks)

I loved their text message' part...kushi is all feisty in front of arnav...

Everyone in the raizada clan is so mischievous, including the now included payal! But none the less, they are clever enough to find the secret of their chhotay'

Who wouldn't cling to a handsome young man, wearing a blue suit? But I didn't see kushi jealous or possessive about her dear arnav in that matter! It surprised me that she was just bored of everything and to get out of the party as early as possible!

And it happened...woah.. what a help our khu baby has done to our arnav...lol

The proposal was the most awh scene in this update and it wasn't the end I expected... and you told me that you are not good at writing romantic scenes! Liar, liar kurthi on fire 🤣😆

I was blushing profusely while reading some parts of your updates..

Kushi is such a tease really! She disturbed the most romantic moment L

And he calls her diary as sautan' 🤣 that's funny actually

Ahem ahem...😳 im not in the age to comment about the last part *runs with her hands on her face*

P.S- this story has ended...NO NO and a VERY BIG NO...u SHOULD give us an epilogue...that's all!

Edited by -cadbury- - 9 years ago
mahrusweety thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail
beautiful
romantic
ending
loved it.
and for the change we have khushi diary as sautan.
lovely part
Sona257 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
loved the last part! Really going to miss this story, Thank you for writing it so beautifully <3

Happytwinkle thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 3 Thumbnail
Beautifully written
Fantabulous update
Loved it
Awesome ending
Enjoyed it
Thanks for the pm
-afsha- thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3