8.4.15 - And the oppression starts..

RestlessWriter thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Chaubeyji, sadhiya gaye ho ka? Kaunas zamane ki baatein kar rahe ho?

Really now, Chaubeyji is turning out to be more of a vamp than Uma. Mantu was so spot on in his dialogue yesterday that though GC has grown in age, he hasn't in wisdom. And dude, if Chaubey khandaan will not partake from a woman's salary, then don't! Let the girls keep their money for themselves. Oh but then they wouldn't toe your lakshman Rekha and blindly obey you would they? How would you exert your control over them? Where were all these high handed archaic morals of yours when your daughter living right next door was mortgaging her house? When they did not have a fridge to keep medicines for her? When they were struggling to meet day-to-day expenses? But of course, letting the girls work would mean giving them more "freedom" to do as they please like buy sweets to celebrate their achievements. Because of course buying sweets to celebrate your achievement and forgetting to get sugar free ones means the end of the law and order of nature and absolute anarchy! A couple of days ago I mentioned in my review that I wasn't entirely convinced with Sneha's story of her past. That I felt like she was looking for a means of escape from her family. I was right. She was probably so oppressed that she wanted to escape somehow anyhow! Now I will be severely disappointed if Sneha stays quiet tomorrow when GC mouths those obnoxious dialogues saying Chaubey women are not permitted to work and nonsense. I want Sneha to fight for her daughters. The way she did the night Amaya tried to run away. Amaya was in the wrong but still, as a mother, Sneha stood up to her father and told him that she had nothing to do with his family and walked out with her pride and dignity intact. I want to see that Sneha again. Because if she stays quiet, I fear this only the start of GC's dictatorship. How will the girls be able to battle for their rights when their own mother stands in silence, unable to support them? I am scared what's going to happen tomorrow. Because we know there is going to be the pooja sequence soon and things seem to be normal there. How do they become normal? I am sure if Amaya and Rachita defy GC there would be no peace in the house. If they give in to him, that'll be the worst possible solution. And as it is, amaya is bound by a three year contract so I really don't know how it's all going to play out.

Now that I've vented my bhadas on GC, I can move on to the rest of the episode. Uma madam has been saved by fisherfolk. She laments to them about her phooti kismat and in turn, the fisherman tells her how you have to fight for your own kismat with the example of the odd fish that manages to escape the fisherman's net. But bhaiyyaji, do you really know if it's enjoying it's life of freedom in the water or was it eaten by a bigger fish? Or did it get trapped in another fisherman's net? Then what would you say, that it was it's destiny? Your story was inspirational but they also say you need to choose your battles wisely. And Uma dear, one story and you forget reality? You forget Mantu's heartbroken confession of love? You forget the absolute depth and sincerity of his love for Amaya? Do you really think, even if you manage to snatch him from Amaya, that he'll ever be able to love you that way? Your willing to make life miserable for him and in turn for you as well? Why can't there be one same person, other than Amaya who can drill sense into Uma? Why? *sigh*

Amaya realizes that Mantu did come to see her night and her love gets wings as she relishes the realization. But when she goes to see him, she finds him sitting upset and dejected having failed to find Uma. She waits for him to see her and come to her to tell her he loves her but instead, he walks by her and goes to Uma. It was an eye opener to Amaya as well that it won't be that easy to fight destiny. Which was good because I want to see Amaya do something other than sit around and wait. But then the very next minute, she reminds herself of the promise she made Uma and leaves the scene. Damn! Can we have Amaya and the sisters go watch Jab Tak Hai Jaan so they realize that these promises and barter system don't really matter when your love is true and you are meant to be? But of course I am sure GC would have another heart attack if Chaubey khandaan's girls ever stepped into a movie theater.

Dev babu.. Nice move! In the lure of a promotion, you've tied her to your side for three years as your personal secretary. Like they say, keep your friends close but your enemies closer. He really holds Amaya's strings now and the worst part is, Amaya cannot mention any of her professional troubles at home coz GC wouldn't miss an opportunity to taunt her about it. Mantu, please just go back to office! Please! Amaya needs you.

Scene of the day - Amaya's monologue when she realized Mantu had come to see her

Character of the day - Dev. For his smooth move to get his prey to walk right into his web.

Nautanki of the day - GC. He has stopped trying to pretend as if he is anything but the dominating, egoistic, chauvanistic, stone aged man that he is. He needs to be taught a lesson. Sadly, even realizing why his own daughter ran away from him hasn't done him any good.

Dialogue of the day - none really that stood out for me. The worst dialogue however would go to GC's ones about Chaubey women working.

On second thoughts, I would give dialogue of the day to Amaya's monologue when she realizes Mantu came to see her.

I miss Rama and Rachita. Can we please have more of them on screen? Cut down on GC's and Uma's screen space and give it to these two. Oh and Chiklu as well. That kid is awesome!

And please Sneha, please stand up for your daughters tomorrow! They need you! Be their mom before being a daughter. Your dad as other people he can oppress. In this "new family" you have to be your daughters' support system, just the way they've supported you through thick and thin! Please! I'll be thoroughly disappointed if you don't!

..Crimson.. thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Hey dear.. 😊 nice post and well analysed it's true today's episode was not one of best ones. It was disturbing actually both the villains uma rani n GC left no stone unturned to make it even more worse (using this word because i can't disgust such stupidity and hypocrisy)
only the part where Amaya learns about mantu coming to meet her(i wish she'd know how he made it to her room!) but then everything that followed was crap.. Amaya coming to meet mantu but wait for him to see her n confess his love.. then enters uma rani after failing to kill herself ready to fight for her love oh wait! Obsession!!
And here our so-called-heroin is losing her love by a stupid oath!!
Mantu confuse me sometimes, i understand his concern for uma as a friend(as they claim to be best friends) but if he's known uma for years thn how come he's unaware of her feelings?! As far as i remember uma has made several attempts to rejhaofy him in the past episodes but he often turn her down and now all of a sudden he forgot about her pagalpan!
And he knows the limit of her pagalpan e.g. dresswala scene, reception fiasco and so on.
Anyways we can only rant despite knowing that it's of no use this people will continue to show whatever they like! And we as a loyal viewers can do nothing but sit back and witness the drama.

I always try not to over-attached myself to any melodramatic serials but shit happens, all the time!
RestlessWriter thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
I get Mantu's perspective. Other than his sudden realization of love towards Amaya, his character has been pretty consistent. He was oblivious to all the doe-eyed, dreamy looks and silly-in-love smiles that Amaya gave him too, remember? When she texted him through the night, he never once thought why she was doing it, could she have a soft corner for him? So him failing to realize Uma's feelings makes sense to me. To him, Uma is family. Their relationship has boundary issues. Like Uma cooking for them everyday, walking in and out of his house all the time and claiming her authority over him and Chiklu all the time. But at the end of the day, he considers her family. She can be a screeching, screaming maniac at times but he thinks she is pure at heart and that makes her worthy of forgiveness. For example, when Jazz's shoes go missing from inside his house, he never once thinks of suspecting Uma. When Uma makes such a hue and cry over the dress, he simply attributes it to her possessive nature but doesn't think that there could be more to it.

I don't think Mantu has ever ever thought of Uma anything more than a best friend and hence, it's unimaginable for him that she would think of him as something more than just a friend. Again, the dress fiasco is the perfect example.

The only inconsistency I've found in Mantu's characterization is his sudden realization of love. And that too just because he says the dialogue "hum tho yeh bhi nahin jaante ki uske dil mein kya hai" when they go to deliver the letters together. I wish he hadn't had any idea that he might being feeling something for Amaya at that point, other than the fact that he missed her messages all night long. Instead if that moment of realization had happened when the mala fell on both of them at the temple, that would've made it way more realistic to me. They'd been spending a lot of time together, he had started to appreciate her hardwork and sincerity and dedication, he respected her love for her family and her willingness to do anything for them and he knew the extent of her craziness from the Shravan Puja race. And now, the Mahadev he believes so strongly in and invokes multiple times a day had given them his blessing. If that had been his first moment of realization, if felt it would've been more consistent with his characterization.

Disclaimer - I could have a biased perspective since I like Mantu's character and Dhruv's portrayal of Mantu so much 😉

AartShefa thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
Very good analysis dr..totally agree with you. .sneha should come out of her dad's spell and to support her daughters.they need her
-Fedex- thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Good Analysis!
I skipped the episode after reading the written update. I am waiting to read today if Sneha stands up for her daughters and says to her father that the girls need to work to be independent. If she doesn't I am going to be highly disappointed. I cannot stand watching such crp on tv. I don't watch any other shows because of these reasons if they show this kind of crpfest I am going to have to stop watching until they can fix it 😆