indi52 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 6

Originally posted by: aarwen

70% gulabi on green? hayee..

That is pink.. okay I have caught hold of your wrist and am staring right into your eye.. hum samajhte hai Indi di.. was just telling Indu di that however great a scene or the acting I am always left with a slightly unsatisfied feeling in watching these episodes.. for one maybe its too heavy a feel.. the treatment the early episodes got was so fresh and full of life.. each frame had a spark.. nothing drab or dull.. now even the lighting, music, clothing sometimes feels lifeless.. yes so much happening, but why when a man just sat inert, exhausted, with his eyes closed, not knowing his life was about to receive a burst of sanka that would fall right into his extended arms, it had felt so damn exciting?

and that scene where Anjali shows him his care of Khushi.. I remember your thoughts from that thread where we discussed it.. shesherkobita had also joined us for a while there.. I get your hesitance in accepting it.. I think its this problem of making everything a little too much in place, contrived.. the free flowing feel left IPK in those scenes and that itself means we can never like them or find them as satisfying and definitive as the early days..

aah well..

Agree about the alienation of Khushi.. I will really enjoy 300 to 310 .. but the whole premise all wrong.. why couldn't she have a heart to heart conversation with his even after he repeatedly tried to get her to understand the crux of the matter.. yes she is hurt.. she has all right to be angry.. so say it.. or run away, but when he repeatedly comes to get you, finally just admit you can't stay away from him.. tell him he broke your heart with his angry words and a meaningless contract.. render him iissspeechless like you did in that guest house.. and say this marriage is the most important deal of your life and you are not leaving him.. umm ya sure use the word deal because you can talk like him since you are business man ki patni..

haha okay I made no sense maybe..

About naniji.. I mend my judgement.. for mamiji.. sorry Indi di.. but too angry with her treatment of the two bahuriyas..

i see millions of proofing errors in my post... sorry.

you make complete sense. i never ever understood why khushi couldn't tell him why she was so upset... what it was that had bothered her in the first place.

this is why i rave about the achhi bahu construct, there you are just an object of use... you don't have feelings, needs, you never get angry, unless it is for other's sake, to save the praivaar or the parampara, the two sacred cows of indian soap, (then of course you often become durga kali or some other goddess like in your krodh, another obsession of our tv, patriarchy with heavy doses of religion as they have decided it is, to curb and corral the female population of a nation, nahiiin me not imagining this, sir, tv has a major impact over time on how we think, we act, 70 percent of the country watches these dramas every day often entire evenings long, don't tell me they have no effect on us), you have no personal desires or wants, nothing. so even when something is done that is patently hurtful and you have every right to talk about it, feel things, you don't. you even tell your god a pack of lies, because... ah a song from abba... i am a marionette see my pirouette round and round.

if ipk remained true to the original inspiration, khushi would have done something we would have understood. maybe not exactly what you or i would do in such a situation, but something that felt real, moving.

funny you mention that anjali showing asr his feelings argument. i just wrote to sabi, shesherkobita and said i was most likely wrong in my reading, but really, asr was never the guy who needed such direction pointing. he was sharp and his heart was bigger deeper and capable of more love than anyone had ever imagined. he would never do such a silly thing just to get after her, but to let her off the hook, he might. that making her hold her ears in front of the cop he might have, but this one was too not him. and contrived, yes. why so much drama?

nowadays, everything is too carefully put together... look at the set up for that family bursting in on them in the drawing room scene. major shenanigans.. from straight after the haye besharam chai coffee scene, who is satsanging, who is going to agra, why khushi won't go, ah asr will go, but no, in front of di he gets a call... raves rants... and of course there's traffic jam... ohohoho... too much work just to come to that scene... and by the way, how dumb is asr, that he would set up this whole thing in the drawing room of his home...

you are right abs.

freshness missing.

energy missing.

intelligence missing.

oh yes, a tired man in his waist coat just sitting in his room... sometimes that is enough.

sometimes i really wonder what happened. how it all went so crazy, flat, thick.
aarwen thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: sohara

india-my-passion:miss thm :(

credit goes to the maker

sorry no time for making edit. so posting an old edit from my collection.

Episode-295

Doctor is calling out Anjali's name incessantly and Arnav is also searching her like crazy.

Arnav finds the doctor on the corridor and asks her about Anjali. She thinks she must have left. But nobody saw her going out. Arnav gets awe-inspiring to hear this, where did she go!

Anjali comes to a room where all the operation equipments are kept. She recalls how Arnav got Shyam out of the house and next moment she remembers how happy she became when she got the news of her pregnancy. "There is an innocent life is developing inside you."...Khushi's words are reverberating in her ear. A chaotic mlange of turbulent thought deranges her. Her heart squeezes with sudden realization as her face blanches and her eyes turn murky with undecipherable grief.

Anjali picks a surgical scissor. Fortunately Arnav sees her from the window. To see her like that a tremor runs through his vein. He runs inside to stop her and throws the scissor from her hand, she is flagrant, blabbering she doesn't want this baby. Doctor and nurse also come there right then. Anjali is muttering, she doesn't want this baby. Arnav tries to control her and the doctor says not to, because she is not in her sense. Arnav is confident that he will be able to pacify her and they can leave.

Anjali says, she doesn't have any other option beside this. She can't envisage the future when the baby will be born, his face will remind her his father's face whom everybody hates. Her eyes get turbid with frustration to think who will love that baby! He will be left alone in this world. She is frenetic in excruciating pain and uncontrollable anger. Arnav tries to tame her, he will fix everything. Anjali gets madder, if he asks him about his dad, what she will say; she doesn't have anything to answer.

So it's her indirect demand to Arnav to bring Shyam back, so that she can show her baby that this is his father. She wanted Shyam for her baby or for herself? you know at this point I was still thinking maybe she has accepted the truth which is why she is so upset. silly me.. one scene later I knew Anjali was never going to be strong enough for the truth.

Arnav says, he is with her always. But Anjali looks so incorrigible as if she is not listening any thing and gets more berserk in anger, that tone in Barun's voice as he said "main hoon di".. so so sweet and caring, scared vulnerable.

"koi nahi hai, aur humari bachcha bhi iss duniya mei akela rehe jayega...there is nobody and my baby will be left alone in this world."

Arnav tries to hold her, but she is cantankerous in anger that doesn't even let him touch her.

"I have to do it, leave me" she is not even looking at his eyes and finally gives up. She wilts down in his arm and Arnav hollers doctor.

Pause: What did she plan to do with surgical scissor, to kill herself or to kill the baby! If she had a plan to kill herself then she could do it at home. Why in the hospital! I guess this is all her drama to bring her husband back. By the way, how she could abort the child with a surgical scissor! She said she had nobody. How could she deny her brother, who gave his whole life for her service, ensconced her like a father! Anjali is a selfish woman! She just wanted her nefarious husband, her baby was also not important to her. I never saw any mother wants to kill her kid, because nobody loves his dad. Selfish lady became so demented in her fiend husband's grief that forgot that her brother was kidnapped and could be killed also.Or Arnav gave importance to his selfish sister so much that didn't care of his selfless wife's intention. He became judgmental and cursed Khushi for nothing.ooo scary sohara, but I have to agree about Anjali..she completely forgot her chote was kidnapped..

In RM mami's tirade continues against two innocent sisters. She thinks they will piece piece the peace of their family. When Khushi tries to make them understand that her intention was not that, mami berates her even more. nani tells her to keep quite, right now she can't think anything else beside Anjali. Mami is scared whether anjali does any mayhem to her or not. She prays to God to take care of her. Nani tries to comfort her, that chottey went to bring her back. she also prays to God that she brings them back at home safe and sound.

Mami's concern for her daughter like niece was good, but her demeanor to Payal and Khushi was too mean.

Arnav brings an emaciated anjali home. She looks decadent and her eyes are turbid with sadness. All heave a sigh of relief to see her. Mami gestures Payal disdainfully to move form here. Khushi says a silent prayer to God for bring her home safe and sound. Nani asks, what happened to her, where did she go? Arnav replies she needs rest. He knows she is still upset with him and will not like his presence, so he tells Akash to take her to her room. But Anjali is so weak that wilts again. So Arnav has to pick the big lady in his arm to take her to her room.

After laying down Anjali on the bed Arnav intends to leave, telling her to take rest. But Anjali holds his hand gestures him to stay back.

Khushi did the same last night. But the difference was Khushi ust wanted his company without uttering anything and Anjali complained like an obtuse person and tried to annihilate his morals, ethics and wish.

Arnav helps her to sit. Anjali holds his hand with her both hands and says with constrict voice,

"Ye sab kya ho giya chottey, kaal tak to sab theek tha. to phir achanak yeh sab. hume kya hogiya, hum dono ko kya hogiya. (what happened chottey? since yesterday all were fine, but why suddenly what happened to me? what happened to both of us? )

She breaks down in tears. By holding her head on his chest Arnav tries to pacify her again. Anjali pleas him,

"will you do something for me? Make everything aright like before. You always can fix things. So fix everything this time also. My husband, used to be with me. chottey please bring my Shyamji to me."

Her voice gets more thick and dense. She begs him again to bring Sjhyam back. He is so helpless, just requests her to calm down.

Anjali says again, if he wants then everything can be fixed.

"At the beginning everybody was so happy! Then what just happened? Why everybody has become so upset? Where is the sound of the laughter gone? I don't know who is responsible for all this? I don't know who casted an evil eye on our family? Chottey, will you please bring my happiness back? Will you fix everything like before?"

He can't answer her plea, because he can't lessen her pain. If he could he would replenish her life with merriment again. He just looks at her with bafflement. Anjali holds his hand on her cheek as a gesture of plea. But he apologizes, " I'm really sorry di."

Both the sibling hugs each other to comfort them.

Anjali is such a moron. She was oblivious that she was requesting her brother to bring the person who kidnapped him! She only wanted to live in her delusional world of happiness.

Mami knocks at Arnav's door to incite him against Khushi. Arnav is still embroiling thinking about Anjali. Mami tells him not to worry, as Anjali fall asleep. Arnav asks her weren't they at home when Anjali went out? Mami tells him that nani went to temple and she was looking for Laxmi. She strictly admonished Payal not to go in Anjali's room, but she doesn't know when phatti saree?

Arnav is confused

Mami says it's all happened because of Khushi, she went to Anjali's room. Sasuma forbade her not to go, still she went there. "Why she needed to go there and whatever she could tell her that compelled Anjali to leave the house! Or moreover in such condition!"

To hear this from mami, Arnav's handsome face is now marred by intense anger. He just didn't recover from one bouts of extreme panic, now mami's goad makes him flagrant in rage. His spirit sinks again when he remembers what just happened with Anjali, what mayhem she wanted to do with her!

Arnav goes out from his room in rage to find Khushi. When he found her near the study, she was looking extremely upset. Arnav grabs hold of her hand vehemently. She is eerie, what happened! His is so outraged that drags her along with him and brings her straight by the poolside. His face is dark with anger and the fire in his eyes causes her heart to jolt with a touch of fear. She again asks him what happened.

Arnav asks her peremptorily, "what happened to you? When everybody forbade you then what was the need to go to di's room or talk to her? why khsuhi?' he screams at the top of his voice makes her shiver..
'I just wanted"

He yelps more, not ready to hear her excuse. He tells her scornfully with a steely glint suffusing his eyes, "you don't know, what is her condition? What she has been going through? She thinks everything has happened because of you. Still you went to go to meet her? Why damn it?"

OK, so Arnav also thinks Khushi shouldn't come in front of Anjali. Oh yeah maul her like rest of the family for her infringement. She did an infringement for meeting your precious di. He also became cretin like his family. It was always my complain that Arnav was kind of responsible for Anjali's immaturity. He always tried to ensconce her, never wanted her to face the harsh reality of life. But a pragmatic man like Arnav should be more realistic with Anjali. Who knows it better than him that life is not a bed of roses or it's not perfect how people want to make it. The meander of life is never smooth; it is coarse and sometimes really difficult. Arnav already knew about Shyam's truth and he also knew that someday it would come in front of Anjali. So he should make her mentally prepare for this, rather than treated her like an immature kid. He knew Anjali was kind of rigid that time, but at least he could listen to Khushi's side rather snubbing her disdainfully.

Interesting thought Sohara. Yes he did want to protect her from all harm, perhaps he knew from experience that she did not have the strength to bear any strife even the slightest in her life. But one place where I was happy with the decision he was about to take was when he immediately went to Anjali wanting to tell her about Shyam after that terrace scene.

'Please forgive me. Arnavji" khushi stammers, she is also in compunction.

"tumhare maafi mang ne se kuch change nahi hoga Khushi! You can't even imagine in what situation I found di today. Only I know what I had to do to stop her! So that she doesn't harm herself. If I would've reached there just one minute late." he can't control any more to even utter the dreadful act what she was about to do.

Still It's unfathomable to me what she was trying to do with that surgical scissor.

Khushi embroils to hear this; trepidation is flashy from the hazel of her eyes.Arnav asks her in hostile accusatory tone, what she told her that she... nice description. his anger was scary.

Khushi says she just told her. Arnav relents her a bit, so he asks in a softer tone "what was the need to go to her?

"Because I also care di, like you do.I love her like the way you do'

Arnav veers his look, he even doesn't want to hear her excuse. Khushi continues,

"I went there to talk, because I somehow felt whatever happened, happened because of me."

'ha hua hai, yeh sab tumhare bajase hua hai...yes it all happened because of you" Arnav vociferates and makes Khushi tremulous in fear.

So Anjali and mami both became successful to manipulate him against Khushi.

He turns around and says with despise,

"the time you came, since then. tum mere zindagi mei ayi kiyu? Mai tumse milahi kiyun? saab kuch kitna acchcha tha! Aur sabse important baat di khush thi. saab tumhari galti hai Khushi, Tum nahi ati to shyam aisi harkat nahi karta...Why didyou come to my life? Why did I meet you? Everything was so perfect. And most important thing is di was happy. All is your mistake Khushi. If you were not there then Shyam wouldn't do such act!"

How Arnav was so sure that if Shyam wouldn't meet Khushi, he wouldn't go to any other girl! Can't expect it from ASR's mouth. If Akash would've said this I would perhaps excepted.

Arnav's every words are piercing Khushi's heart like million needles, tearing her asunder. She just stares at him with excruciating pain and bafflement. Arnav says more afflictive words to her,

"aur di peheli bhi tarah khush hoti... And di would be happy like before. you are the biggest mistake of my life Khushi Kumari Gupta. Kash mei tumhe kabhi milahi nahi...I wish if I would never meet you"

He leaves after spurting out all his pent up frustration. Khushi is startled; her eyes get imbued with tears. Her heart slams painfully against her ribcage. And the sad piano note of rabba ve intensifies her pain even more.

Arnav's disdainful words are reverberating in her ear drum. She crumples down by the poolside with indecipherable pain, thinking of her capricious destiny which is mocking at her.

I know Arnav is penchant to Anjali, though he says two most important persons are Khushi and Anjali. But his obnoxious behavior towards Khushi didn't prove so. Arnav could be indignant but why so much affliction! Doesn't he know Khushi can't do or wish evil to anybody. She had every right to talk to Anjali to clear her doubt about her. Or anjali is not a baby that everybody has to pamper her! I can understand her situation; she has been going through a terrible mental trauma. But because of that nobody can support her immature act!

Arnav is in his driving seat,. he is disturbed, to abate his demented mind, to release his frustration, he needs some solace and driving in the dark street gives him solace or help him to think rationally. There is a clamor going on in his heart. His mind inadvertently wanders into the realms of kaleidoscope memories. Anjali's act, her words reverberating in his mind, she wanted to kill her baby, because everybody hates his father. She thinks she is alone in this world and her kid will be left alone in this world. The horrible night of their parent's death haunts him again. He utters di with scorching pain. nani warned Khushi not to go to anajli's room and mami told him that she went to her room in spite of nani's admonishment. He becomes mad at her temerity, but he also dithers to think that he loves her. His mind ebbs back in the memory of his confession to her, then how she desperately tried to find him and rescued him, how he met him in the warehouse and became so intimate in the hut. She almost lost her life to save his life. Then all his scathing words what he just told her gnaw at his conscience. He realizes that he made a mistake by saying all the excruciating words.

'What i just did!"

A sudden moment of realization leaves a wave of bitter self-recriminatory anger in it's wake.

When his heart is shrouded with pain and misery, it always found it's easy way to hate. But now after Khushi's entry in his life with the cleansing rays of optimism and merriment dispelling that shroud, it is difficult to harbor hate in his heart or moreover for the girl who is his oxygen to breath and his nourishment for soul.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFKJc5E1nCc[/YOUTUBE]

credit goes to the maker

Lovely last paragraphs Sohara.. in those lines you yourself answered why ASR behaved the way he did.. He was frustrated, scared, helpless and Khushi was so much a part of him that she became the brunt of all his pent up agony.

But his scathing words must have hurt Khushi so badly. She did blame herself for all the trouble at home, and on top of that to have Arnavji yell at her and blame her too. She would be broken hearted.

but I do think she remained upset for too long. He did try so hard to bring her back. earnest playful loving flirting.. everything just for her.. when all the while he must be so tensed for his di too. I don't know why the cvs decided this story line of him having to almost get divided between the two most important women of his life.

enjoyed reading your take after soo long. thanks..
aarwen thumbnail
Episode 296

It is said a picture is worth a thousand words. So if you didn't read anything I said, if my words were inadequate, simply gaze upon his eyes that tell tales untold and her tears which let the love story unfold.

The work of fiction is usually to take us to far off places, sweep us off our feet, perhaps riding a white steed, we go off to meet, a handsome rajkumar and a fresh beautiful next door sankadevi. This story time and again unfailingly took us into that world.

Our dhak dhaks rose at seeing a dashing suave hero, who didn't smile too often, who got angry and was impatient, but loved like only he could, with all of himself. And how not to smile and feel our hearts melt when the heroine after a terrible day would turn on the stove and fry herself some crunchy orange jilebis, dip it in sugary syrup and gulp down so many that it would almost seem an impossible feat.

There were flowing dupattas that clung to the heroes face or often his briefcase, earings that stuck to his shirt, and silver payals that loved to get left behind. Also those pearl doris that formed such an extremely integral part of this love story.

And then the heroine would slip and fall and who would rush and come along? Save her, catch her, stare into her eyes. We would swoon and a lovely rabba ve singing voice would croon. It was perfect. A sapno ki duniya colored with shades of love that talks of heartbeats and eternity. And to that heady concoction the writers decided to add a perfect touch of finesse in the form of ajeebness.

But when the story refuses to remain just another fiction it becomes so real that it touches you and becomes a part of you. That you feel your eyes fill with tears and heart ache to see two lovers fight. That it matters a bit too much that they sort out their differences . that you are convinced they deserve a chance at a happily ever after till hamesha..

A subtle stooping of her shoulders, almost shrinking in grief, Sanaya looks tragic and beautiful today. The flashback extremely pertinent of the defining moment when she watched from far, realizing that the rakshas had a heart of gold. His world revolved around his ever smiling affectionate di. That their bond was special.

It feels like her pain is imploding within, as his harsh cruel words reverberate in her ears. He does not want her in his life, he wishes she never entered his life. She had found someone who was her own, only to hear him shout that he wished she never fell into his arms, and entered his di's life. Dejected, defeated, she gets up to pack her stuff and leave.

ASR has rushed back. Here is a hero who had courage to admit he is wrong. Courage to want to set it right. Try as hard as he can to make her understand she is his and he is hers and it can be no other way. That di is important and star plus as a channel has demands and viewers and writers want funny things but ASR and Khushi are just meant to be.

How he berates himself, "I didn't mean it", he says, but will she listen? Not now, when he, his words have wounded her terribly.

He did not mean it. In anger he said too much. It was a heartfelt apology, and had he been anyone else Khushi might have understood his dilemma and forgotten her pain. But she won't and that shows how much she considers him her own. She has a right over him. Right to feel hurt. Right to show anger. And though she does not say it in words the hurt and anger are there, a strong sense of unfairness.She must wonder why did he push her away, make her feel lonely?

She will walk away if that is what he wants. Of course he doesn't want her to go, she knows, they have been together for far too much by this point of the tale. However tonight of all nights, she can't be calm and sensible, not where he is concerned.

This is love. From the gut, without restrictions, definitely not following conventions.

"Please don't do this right now". It is a plea, he is near exhaustion, there is everything else to fight. He can bear all that, but he cannot bear to have her walk away from his life..

"main tumhare bina.." the depth and sincerity in his voice... It rings in my ears, impossible to ignore yet she does not let him complete. Because she can't bear what he said earlier. Am wishing very badly that now was the time for Khushi to be sensible and magnanimous, but am glad that atleast for now she remained upset. It is human and real. It talks of true identifiable emotions.

"Aur main?" Two small words, a short sentence and such a plethora of feelings. For the first time since when he was 14 years old maybe, this man finally asks something for himself. And still she does not give in. How can you be happy when di is not happy?And how can di be happy when I am around. Convoluted logic sounding extremely rational to the hurt wife.

She refused to listen, he kept trying. And then when all else failed, his patience gave way, he brought in the mention of contract, as a last desperate resort. The words brought only more indignation and pain. She misunderstood him even more. Her angry words hurt him, but he held steadfast, unwillingly to let her leave. Had she left she might have taken his breath with her too , just like his di had foretold days ago.

The writers had decided this fight would be a strange complicated one, very hard to resolve. lifelike in the ugly shape it would take. Birthday's and gifts and purane moments would not suffice. We would get lots of hot raizada man and his fiesty wife.

However before we reach the light win-her-back and have-her-claim-me moments we will have to endure tonight watching two wretched lovers miserable after a fight.

I stood and watched mesmerized. usually everywhere there is the mention of the selflessness of love. I personally think there is too much of that in the world. In this episode two people were selfish for their love, they wanted love, and wanted to be happy. And it was a beautiful demand of a most true emotion. Love should be what you fight for, and if your happiness and existence depends on love then why should you not hold on to it, in whichever way you must.

They had fought many times in the past. Harsh, out of control, hurtful, of hate and ego and anger, but always there was an undercurrent of love. And today's fight spoke only of this beautiful love.

Other scenes made me think too -

I feel bad for Payal. I feel indignant at the assumption that girls become bahus and it is their duty to think of husbands di's while the one who calls her jiji is also in pain. And if the very person for whom you have come to this new unknown household and embraced it as your own does not understand then where do you go? Pity that he demands and thinks it is a most natural demand that she forget her sister and only remember his.

Another interesting scene was ASR asking di where Khushi was.. I was remembering these lines from a sufi song.. mohe sudh budh na rahe tann mann ki ye toh jane duniya sari.. A rough translation would be I forget my body and soul and the world seems to know..a life in which Khushi is not near him is incomprehensible to ASR.. So he stupidly asks di about Khushi, immediately realizing what a thoughtless action it was.

Last scene he looks really tired and not too good looking as he enters Gupta house, but we did have the ASR music and also a rabba ve for old time sake..

aarwen thumbnail

Originally posted by: sohara

episode-296

Khushi's heart constricts with excruciating pain remembering Arnav's afflictive words. She thinks about Arnav and Anjali's divine bonding; how much love and care they have for each other. She recalls how he assuaged her to get back home when she left the house. She never could think that a ruthless man like Arnav Sing Raizada could be so weak in front of somebody. The memory of their raksha bandhan reverberates in her mind, when these siblings shared a special moment of love, promise and togetherness. Her mind flits back to the event of last night, how Anjali got Arnav out of her room in spite of his incessant plea. self flagellation continues unabated under the her turbulent mind.

"Saab kuch kitna achcha tha, di khush thi. Saab tumhari galti hai Khsuhi...everything was so nice, di was happy, it's all your mistake Khushi. If you wouldn't come, Shyam wouldn't do such thing."

The cruel, terrible words what he just spurted out is ripping her soul apart. Khushi decides to leave the house. Because now she really thinks that she is the reason behind the rift between these siblings who are inseparable.

Payal is also dithering for Khushi. When she wanted to go to see Khushi, Akash berates her, that she is not only Khsuhi's sister, but DIL of this family. She should care more for Anjali, because she has been going through a difficult phase. She must have some responsibilities which are greater than being a sister. he asks her doesn't she have any responsibility to think about his di!

Is Akash a moron or what! This girl Payal literally lost her identity to please her obnoxious mother in law and forgot that she has s sister is now getting accused for neglecting her in laws! Is he blind! I am so angry with him Sohara

Arnav returns back with expedition, he has to reconcile, what he did with Khushi. He gets in his room in haste and sees that Khushi is packing her bag.

'Khushi what are you doing?" he asks with maniacal fury.

Khushi replies calmly that whatever he said was right. He tries to speak, but she stops him,

"No Arnavji, if I wouldn't come in your life, it wouldn't happen!" Khushi says weakly with the pupils of her eyes dilated with pain.

Arnav shuts his eyes to thwart a rising wave of emotion. Khushi continues,

"if you wouldn't meet me in sheesh mahal that night."

Khushi stop." Arnav can't take it any more. Khushi antagonizes him,

"Whatever happened, whatever shyamji did, if I was not there, nothing like this would've happened. Di would be happy in her married life; she would be happy with her new family and would've never taken such step."

Arnav gazes falters in contrition. his heart is leaden with not only grief but also remorse at the terrible, harsh words he blurted out.

'Everything is my fault." Khushi's voice constricts with tears.

"Ahh Khushi." Arnav tries to speak.

But Khushi is obdurate, "that's why I am going."

"Khushi, you just can't leave like this." Arnav says with a plea in his look. But khushi is not looking in his eyes. She knows she will get weak if she looks in his eyes. So without looking at his eyes she says him to assume that they never met.
'khushi stop, whatever I told, I didn't mean that. I said too much in anger."

'But this is the fact." Khushi adds with painstaking voice.

They stare at each other for some moment.
"Don't think that I'm leaving out of anger. I just can't hurt anybody any more, and especially to you."

She loves him so much that she was ready to leave him to relieve him from pain. Whereas his selfish sister has been paining him by her inconsequential demand to bring her criminal husband back in the house. Though Khushi said she doesn't have any rancor, but she looks terribly hurt. Actually both are in pain, excruciating pain. Khushi continues,

'Aur di ko to bilkul nahi." Tears well up in her eyes.

"That's why I am going to buaji's place."

She intends to leave and he stops her by holding her hand.

"Khushi I will not let you go like this."

'Arnavji, don't stop me. I just can't hurt anybody like this."

Till now they were standing facing their back and now Arnav turns her towards him in a jerk.

"Khushi, listen to me, what I told you, didn't want to. Just don't do it right now. Mei tumhare bina...without you I just can't"

Khushi doesn't let him complete and says that she also can't withstand that di is in pain because of her.

"Aur main?" he asks with some kind of authority.

yes Arnav needs her badly now by his side, cause he is vulnerable in this chaotic situation. And Khushi is his solace, his anti depression drug. But he shouldn't tell those cruel words to her. He also should remember that she also has been going through a terrible condition, not less than him and she has been supporting him like a shadow.

"if di is upset, then will you be happy?" Khushi tries to make him understand.

He doesn't have answer of her question. So he just can't protest at the next word what she says.

"Let me go."

Arnav reluctantly leaves her hand. Khushi picks her bag and about to leave, but Arnav shuts the door.
"Let me go."

'You just can't go." He says in an imperious, authorative tone, with a steely glint suffuses his eyes.

"How can you go breaking your contract?"

Khushi is flummoxed to hear contract from his mouth.
"What I told you on the night of our wedding? We did a contract marriage and the contract didn't finish yet. So remove the thought of leaving me from your mind."

He takes the bag from her hand and Khushi is just stupefied to see his demeanor.

"Because you simply can't" Arnav adds like a ramrod.

'kya...what! After happening so much, whatever it was and whatever there is, you still consider that a contract." Khushi asks with disbelief.

He knows why he had to say those poignant words, cause to stymie Khushi for leaving him. he can't lie by looking at her eyes, so he turns around and says, interesting reading of the moment Sohra. so that is why he has turned

"I don't agree, but whatever it was and whatever it is, just saying this."

'What will you do? Get me arrested by police?"

'Whatever I said I will do that, separate Akash from Payal. and you know that I can do that."

He turns to face her now,

" Khushi how much you will insist, I will not let you go. you came to know about me by this time."

"Yes I did, that what you were, you will remain same, a shaitan, who doesn't care anybody. I thought that you had changed, but no. I knew how will I start to forget you, you will start to trouble me to remember you. You will hurt me, break my heart."

Khushi's words are ravaging his soul, because he knows it's not true, but he has to bear it to tether Khushi for the rest of his life.

"Khushi mei sref."

'Bas Arnavji, it was good that you reminded me, that Arnav Singh Raizada can never change. Alright, I will not leave the house until this contract ends."

Khushi leaves the room with a broken heart. He is now hurting as much as he hurt her for telling her those terrible words. He mutters in deep dense voice,

"Sorry I had to tell all this to you. Because how can I let you go! And now I am not just stopping you leaving, but before this contract ends, I will get you completely."

When Khushi was sauntering slowly across the living room, she hears somebody is in the kitchen and it's Anjali, who is warming milk for her. Her heart wrenches with an inexplicable twinge of sympathy to see her. She feels to go to help her, but she bridles her wish and hides behind the pillar, so that Anjali doesn't have to see her face.

Mami comes in the kitchen and tells Anjali why she didn't call her! She makes Anjali sit.

Khushi feels a tug in her heart. She loves Anjali so much, but the relationship with her became so acrimonious that she even can't come in front of her. She is in such imbroglio that she has to live in the house like a convict, like a thief. Her movement is literally stinted in her own house.

Now I feel why Arnav didn't let her go. At least for some days she should stay away from this obnoxious Raizada people.

Suddenly someone keeps a hand on her shoulder. It is Payal, who is also in grief for her baby sister. Khushi breaks down to see her loving sister and hugs her tightly.

In this predicament situation, one good thing happened is Khushi got back her loving sister who was lost after her marriage.

credit goes to the maker

By the poolside a derelict Khushi is staring at the sky, trying to find solace by looking at her parents. There is a faraway look suffuses her eyes.

"We did a contract marriage and the contract didn't end yet... her heated arguments with Arnav are echoing in her ear drum. She looks at the sky with teary eyes, with heavy heart. Arnav espies her from inside the room and to see her distraught face a sharp dart of pain runs through his heart. The pain and regret in his tempestuous caramel pools tells us how remorseful he is now. The new female version of rabba ve enters the BG to depict her sorrow. To see her staring at the sky Arnav recalls her thought about the connection between stars and her parents. With the ghost of pain gnawing at his heart he recollects the night of their turbulent contract marriage, that night when he was the master of their destiny. She also remembers that night. Closing her eyes, she tries to thwart, to strangle her impenetrable grief. How can she absolve him for playing with her life and how Arnav can atone now for giving her so much pain! There is an impregnable silence engulfs the air. But the sound of heart breaking, splintering into a million pieces is the loudest of them all. Dark clouds of bleakness hover over his conscious. Arnav mutters in contrition,

"I'm sorry Khushi, please forgive me, I hurt you so much. But I will win you back. tumhe wa paas jitke rahoonga, aur apne zindegai ka hissa banaooga hamesha hamesha ke liye...and will make."

Self recrimination that brutally flayed him, mocked at his self worth and ripped it to smithereens.

The turbulent night is over and a new day has arrived. Arnav wakes up and gets scared not to see Khushi beside him. he gets up in haste and starts to look for her everywhere. First he checks the bathroom, but she is not there, then in the kitchen, living area, dining room,, she is nowhere. 'Damn it" he consternates, whether she left or not!

Nani was feeding Anjali lovingly, when Arnav comes to her room.

"Di, did you see Khushi?" Arnav is so tensed about Khushi that he is completely oblivious about the fact that di can't even hear Khushi's name. Nani resents that he asked her about Khushi and looks at Arnav with darting eyes.

What! This is unbelievable, nobody can't even utter Khushi's name in front of Anjali! Is Khushi a criminal! What kind of unreasonable thought it is! the whole situation became too complicated and dramatic. This day was still okay, but after this I just feel bad for ASR. Di and Khushi both not thinking about him.

Anyway Arnav also thinks he did a mistake by uttering Khushi's name in front of his precious di. Or moreover he is feeling bad that he showed more concern for Khsuhi than her. So he equivocates, "Di, did you take your morning medicine?"

he comes out in remorse, what he just did? He shouldn't have asked her about Khushi. Nani also comes out and keeps her consoling hand on his shoulder. Arnav turns around in a jolt, anticipates it can be Khushi! But no it's nani and he apologizes to her that he was thinking something else. He asks her is Anajli fine? Nani assures him, Anjali is fine. Nani tells him that Khushi went to buaji's house early in the morning.

Arnav gets scared to hear that. He thought Khushi left the house for good. He gets ready fast and leaves for buaji's house.

After a long time buaji's delectable face has shown in the screen. She is making flower garland for pooja. She is happy that Khushi came, cause she was thinking about her. But Khushi still looks sullen. To see her anxious face bua asks her is everything alright? Khushi answers that everything is fine. But bua is still incredulous, then why she didn't bring Arnav! Whether she eloped from the house! Because she is expert in eloping.

"I eloped" she makes bua scared. When she sees bua's anxious face, she tries to alleviate her mood,
"If I wished to come and they didn't let me, how is that possible?" Khushi seems back in her sanki character. Since Arnav has revealed Shyam's secret on the terrace, the old Khushi was lost in some other planet. Or moreover, Arnav's kidnapping, then Shyam's accusation, Arnav's harsh behavior, all the recent unfortunate circumstances made her morally weak. after meeting her family she looks a bit happy now.

When Bua goes to call her dad, Khushi confronts her DM. She begs her apology that she hid her family all the unfortunate event that happened in shantivan. that''s why she told Payal also not to tell anybody. ooohh I wanted to write about this and then forgot in my take. really this made no sense, why hide it again from her family? Wouldn't they be happy that Shyam was exposed finally and ASR trusts Khushi? I think the writers just wanted to keep gupta house a light place so added this stupid reason. very flimsy setup.

Khushi and her hiding game, seriously I don't like this. I know she doesn't want to make her family worried, but sometimes because of this hiding game people has to face big trouble. Or who knows it better than Khushi. But still she never learnt her lesson.

Arnav reaches GH with a tense mood. When he was cantering across the patio of the house, a neighbor asks him,.

"damadji kaisa hai aap?" he asks.

How warm it sounded, he actually became the son in law of the whole neighborhood.

"I'm alright."

He rushes inside the house and finds Khushi right there. He starts to rebuke her,

"how dare you Khushi, I admonished you not to come here. How dare you? Don't you know what I can do!"

Khushi doesn't turn back at his words. A vein throbs at his tensed jaw as he thinks she is ignoring him. He comes near her and says angrily that he told her several times that whenever he talks to her she must look at him. He grabs her hand and makes her turn towards him. When he sees that she was doing aarti, he feels bad.

"Why did you come without informing me" How could you? answer me." he asks her

Bua intervenes, "Arnav bahua, why are you scolding my sanka devi?"

Amma and babuji also came. bua defends her niece,

"I agree that sanka devi came here without informing any body, but like every year, on her birthday, she came to eat buaji's jalebi and rabri."

Rabba ve ascends and Arnav looks at Khushi with astonishment, he is about to speak, but bua continues,

"When I saw you coming, I thought.." he looks at his hand and makes him embarrassed more,

"you didn't bring any gift?"

Like always amma tries to defend her favorite son in law,

"theek ha jiji."

Both Arnav and Khushi stare at each other without uttering a word.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvybMO-1Qso[/YOUTUBE]

credit goes to the maker

Sohara more than ASR and Khushi I loved your thought on payal. Am fedup of Akash in these scenes. He was considerate and kind in the beginning and look now.. Why can't they keep the characters likable I wonder. mamiji, Anjali everyone is just shown irritable and petty.

Lovely lines about the fighting couple. Both hurting so much. They should have resolved the fight in the next episode. It felt so sad to see it drag for so long.
Crazy4IPK thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 5

Episode 295

Am giggling madly remembering a crazy Sukhi, but it has been too long away from ASR and ab saas lene mein problem ho ri so to breathe again saw this episode.

Wish I could take away your pain..

Through the glass door in the hospital you spot di staring unblinking at a pair of scissors in her hand. My heart stills just writing it here, imagine the younger brother across the door witness to this. The setup was contrived, you had reached just in time to see her standing having reached a brutal decision in her deranged and delinquent mind.

I did think Anjali's dialogues were interesting. When she said others don't respect him and hate him I almost thought she is angry with Shyam too. But Anjali's words were not "I hate him". The viewers were already being told there is no way Anjali will believe the allegations against her husband. She will willingly destroy the life inside her. She is unstable out of her mind without the man she worshipped. Remembers how the brother who adores her threw her husband out of their home.
Yes Shyam was Anjali's god. and for the sake of him she was ready to sacrifice her own baby. But still it's not palpable to me what she wanted to do with surgical scissors!

You had to take control, scoop away the surgical instruments and send the doctor away. With infinite softness you say "main hun.. main hun" .. Seems like you will have to remind both women you love that you are also a person.. With a heart and feelings and not a super human rock to depend upon.. Your di's child, how could you not love the child? You, who have hurt the girl you loved madly, tortured her, left her crying in the cold all for this child and di.
well said Rhea. I wish if his selfish sister could understand that!

In a quiet firm voice you try to calm down your sister. Oh you poor chote! cradling your ailing sister. I see how tired you are. At fourteen perhaps you had to go through a similar harrowing experience, we never shall know the details of, because the writers forgot that the viewer might have wanted to know more. To a casual onlooker it might have looked that ASR was the one most hurt by the experience, but ASR had the strength to fight it for his di's sake. It was the smiling affectionate di who was brittle inside. Who needed someone else's strength to survive. You know that, which is why you have always taken care of her. Made that your reason to live.
lovely thought. ASR actually lived for his di. But as soon as Khushi entered in his life the perspective of his life started to change.

In my first viewing at this point I still had hope. Anjali reaches out to you as you set her on the bed. And with childlike belief wants her chote to fix everything. Make it like before. You tenderly stroke her hair, like a mother shushing her scared wailing child. A haunted look in your determined eyes. You want to protect her. You can't.. not from this..

Di is talking to you again. I really was hopeful. And then she says she wants him back...

"Calm down. Pehle aap chup ho jao, please." Who can say you are just a paid actor doing his job in a long running daily soap. A live breathing brother out in the real world might not have emoted this depth of emotion as Barun does here. And not melodramatic in the least bit. Marvellous acting. and I thought Anjali rather Daljeet acted well too. As brother and sister both actors gave us fresh believable scenes which have always been a pleasure to watch.
Barun is a genuine actor, he loves acting. so whatever he does he does it from heart. All the directors worked with him all said that Barun is a director's actor.

And now starts the delusion. She does not want to accept the truth. Make it better, make the sadness go away. Demanded the child as the helpless parent looked on. She cries some more, you look completely torn and helpless. The man who must have worked hard ensuring di never had to face a moment of sadness, uncertainty and loss ever again for as long as you were with her, which would be each of your breathing waking day of your life. Your di's home is destroyed, and you can't mend it. In fact you are the harbinger of this destruction and in di's mind perhaps your own wife is the cause of it.

"I am sorry di.. Really sorry".. Both siblings in a hug, crying for today and for a past that they had wanted to leave behind, but the shadows always loom. Had Khushi heard the defeated sorrowful moan from ASR would she have been affronted by the outburst for as long as she did?

A few words from mami and you have a reason to break the hard fought on control.. Oh that exquisite anger! How your words tear and wound your beloved.. You are heartbroken seeing di in such a state. And all the frustration helpless hot acid rage is lashed at the one person completely your own.

"Kyu Khushi?"! The voice raised in pitch reaching the perfect decibel. Khushi stood at a loss of words, suddenly facing the anger of her Arnavji.

"To hell with your sirf!" that's right.. Don't wait for her to complete her sentence.. Stride towards her as she cowers startled by your sudden outburst. A sudden vulnerability dripping in your words. "Tum soch bhi nai sakti maine di ko aaj kis halat mein dekha hai". You were terrified for your di, but Khushi didn't see the scene in the hospital. She can make assumptions, but she did not witness it.

"What did you tell di that she was forced to take such an extreme step?" You aren't angry with khush, as much yet. You are trying to find a way to channel out the fear, panic, frustration at being helpless and seeing di broken.

Khushi tries to respond. A little self righteousness. I have been this way in fights. Sounded much more holier than how I actually felt. Felt more wronged at being misunderstood by the one I love madly. She loves di a lot, but her love for di cannot compare to ASR's love for Anjali. But she has to say it to you because she believes it to be true at that moment. And I know you would believe her, you know how much she cares for di, but you are not thinking straight at the moment.

If mamiji was telling her all this Khushi's response would be different. The hurt and indignation would be different. You are her Arnavji, her very own reason for existence and you are being unreasonable and mad at her for some mistake that was not deliberate. Yes a real life fight with messy vortex of emotions that I find you both plummeting into. The tension of the past few days, the intense scare of the past few hours, everything reaching a heady climax in these heated words.
loved your take here. It was Arnav that's why she was hurt. he knows well that Khushi can't hurt anybody deliberately. Or Khsuhi also was going through a lot, She had been taking the whole family's grudge. Arnav's indignation, the words what he uttered was terrible, what bereaved her.

It's a way of loving too, being comfortable enough around a person to let go of restrain. To allow your feelings to surface and be free to let them take any shape you want. Not caring if they are pretty or correct, just free flowing with instinct. If we had to be politically correct all our life even with ourselves we would be stifled.. no outlet... bound. With ourselves and if we are lucky with some special others we can be just be our true self. No faade. That is this fight tonight. 👏👏👏

The words being spoken, meant to wound, actually are meaningless. The pain is what is wretched out of the gut. but your pain takes the form of uncontrollable anger. How can she make you understand when you are furious and unwilling to listen? when you are hurtful and insensitive. And you have hurt her so much that she almost forgets how much you are hurting because of all this too.

"ye sab tumhari wajah se hua hai. Jab se tum aayi ho tab se." She stills. Way past hurting now. You are too worked up to see how much your words pain her. The trusting sweet girl who is yours and with all of her pure heart wants the very best for you and di, you are making her cry. Making her feel lost and alone.

You don't even want to look at her, with your back turned, your voice raw and heavy. "Tum mere zindagi mein aayi kyu? Main tumse mila hi kyu?" Why did you enter my life? Why did I meet you?

Complete nonsense. Hurting. Irrational. Un raizada like or maybe exactly like the hot tempered man who rips girls doris and her heart. Only this time it hurts much more because you are the owner of her heart. It is ripped and shred into pieces. I remember that day on the bright terrace when you had lashed out at her calling her characterless and left the shattered girl to weep alone. The thoughts you utter out loud have the power to inflict pain upon her.
those excruciating cruel words mortified her. I can understand why she thought to leave him. It was not easy for anyone to stay with the person who thought like that. Or those words affirmed Khushi that she was responsible for Anjali's sorrow.

"Sab kuch kitna achcha tha. Sabse important baat di khush thi." your words are mean and wrong. It is all her fault. How? You know that is not true.. Sadly you are not in the state to think and hearing these words even she isn't. She can be sensible, but not this time. Not when your anger is biting and words echoing within her, leaving a vacuum.

Stride away muttering "It's the biggest mistake of my life Khushi Kumari Gupta. Wish I had never met you." You are angry. Not thinking. You are Arnav Singh Raizada the man with the hot acid temper and sharp tongue. You don't see the lone tear escape her eyes. She is miserable.. Same thoughts of blaming herself must have been in her head too, but to hear it from you. Spoken in a harsh convincing voice. Do you realize what you just did to her? The wounds your scathing words left behind in the loving simple girl..

I know this is the girl who is so completely yours, belongs to you just like you belong to her.. I can't grudge you this single outburst. What you went through is too much. You are not the one to cry and curl in someone's lap.. not now at least.. you had boiling unmanagable volley of emotions inside you and this eruption was the only way you could share it with the one you love.. hum samajhte hai ASR.. we understand..

Consistent with your character a lone drive in your SUV. I shudder to even see Anjali standing with the scissors and imagine what must you have felt. You who have tried so hard to keep her happy and sheltered from any discomfort. You who remember the laughing young bride who watched her mother die on the very same day. You who have spent years living for only one person.. Di..

A gradual change in memories I witness in you.. your face relaxes just a little. A deluge of moments... of a young bright girl you love.. Whose single tear torments you.. Someone as important as your di. Someone who found you.. Ran and hugged you.. Trusted you.. Loves you.. Whom you love.. Someone who had never wanted anything from you, just tried hard, with all of herself, to be there for you.. Someone whom you almost lost and stopped breathing at the very thought.

The last voice over was not needed. your "dammit!" and face say it all.

Before I forget I had to mention.. mamiji was absolutely awful. Khushi made a mistake, tried to be a little too goody goody and I didn't like her preachy tone with Anjali, still mamiji was hurtful and after a while there is just no excuse for this kind of behaviour.

Nani was again not her usual self today. All worry for her missing broken grand daughter, a fit of tears and panic. She was not her strong level headed self. I try to reason that she was extremely anxious for the well being of Anjali, still it felt like she almost dismissed the feelings of the daughter in law of the house. The nani I look upto, the nani who ASR looks upto also went missing in these episodes am not really sure why.

It is always a delight to read your insightful take rhea.
As usual i enjoyed reading.
Very painful episode, especially for Khushi. Armav was simply obnoxious and inexorable. You forgave him, Khushi did too, but I couldn't.
all the blue lines stood out for me and I have some comments too.
Horizon thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 90 Thumbnail + 2

Episode 296

It is said a picture is worth a thousand words. So if you didn't read anything I said, if my words were inadequate, simply gaze upon his eyes that tell tales untold and her tears which let the love story unfold.

The work of fiction is usually to take us to far off places, sweep us off our feet, perhaps riding a white steed, we go off to meet, a handsome rajkumar and a fresh beautiful next door sankadevi. This story time and again unfailingly took us into that world.

Our dhak dhaks rose at seeing a dashing suave hero, who didn't smile too often, who got angry and was impatient, but loved like only he could, with all of himself. And how not to smile and feel our hearts melt when the heroine after a terrible day would turn on the stove and fry herself some crunchy orange jilebis, dip it in sugary syrup and gulp down so many that it would almost seem an impossible feat.

There were flowing dupattas that clung to the heroes face or often his briefcase, earings that stuck to his shirt, and silver payals that loved to get left behind. Also those pearl doris that formed such an extremely integral part of this love story.

And then the heroine would slip and fall and who would rush and come along? Save her, catch her, stare into her eyes. We would swoon and a lovely rabba ve singing voice would croon. It was perfect. A sapno ki duniya colored with shades of love that talks of heartbeats and eternity. And to that heady concoction the writers decided to add a perfect touch of finesse in the form of ajeebness.

But when the story refuses to remain just another fiction it becomes so real that it touches you and becomes a part of you. That you feel your eyes fill with tears and heart ache to see two lovers fight. That it matters a bit too much that they sort out their differences . that you are convinced they deserve a chance at a happily ever after till hamesha..

A subtle stooping of her shoulders, almost shrinking in grief, Sanaya looks tragic and beautiful today. The flashback extremely pertinent of the defining moment when she watched from far, realizing that the rakshas had a heart of gold. His world revolved around his ever smiling affectionate di. That their bond was special.

It feels like her pain is imploding within, as his harsh cruel words reverberate in her ears. He does not want her in his life, he wishes she never entered his life. She had found someone who was her own, only to hear him shout that he wished she never fell into his arms, and entered his di's life. Dejected, defeated, she gets up to pack her stuff and leave.

ASR has rushed back. Here is a hero who had courage to admit he is wrong. Courage to want to set it right. Try as hard as he can to make her understand she is his and he is hers and it can be no other way. That di is important and star plus as a channel has demands and viewers and writers want funny things but ASR and Khushi are just meant to be.

How he berates himself, "I didn't mean it", he says, but will she listen? Not now, when he, his words have wounded her terribly.

He did not mean it. In anger he said too much. It was a heartfelt apology, and had he been anyone else Khushi might have understood his dilemma and forgotten her pain. But she won't and that shows how much she considers him her own. She has a right over him. Right to feel hurt. Right to show anger. And though she does not say it in words the hurt and anger are there, a strong sense of unfairness.She must wonder why did he push her away, make her feel lonely?

She will walk away if that is what he wants. Of course he doesn't want her to go, she knows, they have been together for far too much by this point of the tale. However tonight of all nights, she can't be calm and sensible, not where he is concerned.

This is love. From the gut, without restrictions, definitely not following conventions.

"Please don't do this right now". It is a plea, he is near exhaustion, there is everything else to fight. He can bear all that, but he cannot bear to have her walk away from his life..

"main tumhare bina.." the depth and sincerity in his voice... It rings in my ears, impossible to ignore yet she does not let him complete. Because she can't bear what he said earlier. Am wishing very badly that now was the time for Khushi to be sensible and magnanimous, but am glad that atleast for now she remained upset. It is human and real. It talks of true identifiable emotions.

"Aur main?" Two small words, a short sentence and such a plethora of feelings. For the first time since when he was 14 years old maybe, this man finally asks something for himself. And still she does not give in. How can you be happy when di is not happy?And how can di be happy when I am around. Convoluted logic sounding extremely rational to the hurt wife.

She refused to listen, he kept trying. And then when all else failed, his patience gave way, he brought in the mention of contract, as a last desperate resort. The words brought only more indignation and pain. She misunderstood him even more. Her angry words hurt him, but he held steadfast, unwillingly to let her leave. Had she left she might have taken his breath with her too , just like his di had foretold days ago.

The writers had decided this fight would be a strange complicated one, very hard to resolve. lifelike in the ugly shape it would take. Birthday's and gifts and purane moments would not suffice. We would get lots of hot raizada man and his fiesty wife.

However before we reach the light win-her-back and have-her-claim-me moments we will have to endure tonight watching two wretched lovers miserable after a fight.

I stood and watched mesmerized. usually everywhere there is the mention of the selflessness of love. I personally think there is too much of that in the world. In this episode two people were selfish for their love, they wanted love, and wanted to be happy. And it was a beautiful demand of a most true emotion. Love should be what you fight for, and if your happiness and existence depends on love then why should you not hold on to it, in whichever way you must.

They had fought many times in the past. Harsh, out of control, hurtful, of hate and ego and anger, but always there was an undercurrent of love. And today's fight spoke only of this beautiful love.

Other scenes made me think too -

I feel bad for Payal. I feel indignant at the assumption that girls become bahus and it is their duty to think of husbands di's while the one who calls her jiji is also in pain. And if the very person for whom you have come to this new unknown household and embraced it as your own does not understand then where do you go? Pity that he demands and thinks it is a most natural demand that she forget her sister and only remember his.

Another interesting scene was ASR asking di where Khushi was.. I was remembering these lines from a sufi song.. mohe sudh budh na rahe tann mann ki ye toh jane duniya sari.. A rough translation would be I forget my body and soul and the world seems to know..a life in which Khushi is not near him is incomprehensible to ASR.. So he stupidly asks di about Khushi, immediately realizing what a thoughtless action it was.

Last scene he looks really tired and not too good looking as he enters Gupta house, but we did have the ASR music and also a rabba ve for old time sake..

That is one splendid write up rhea... quite a mature way of presenting their emotions..
Indeed these couple of episodes were so specially different that spoke of their selfish love... these two carrying their best for their families till now, finally seek something for their own self...realistic to the core..
Yes, I was happy that khushi was upset, she had al the haq to be upset with him rightfully so after all the word war he threw at her, would have preferred a direct expression of it, like in the guest house, than putting a sacrificial facade .. the collage you brought in for her is so pertinent, with her right in the middle of these two..the lonely khushi looking at her reflection by that pool side presented a very somber picture..
I may have said this earlier, I loved that bruise on his face these few epis post kidnap... carrying all the pain he did for Anjali and now for khuhsi ..he came across a rather walking talking poetry... it just sat perfect with his ever intense visage like a bindi on a girl's face .. or a kaala teeka on a little one's.. so yes that face told all the story ..
As much as I found akash's anger to payal justified, his complaint about not remembering Di was almost repulsive.. since daljeet demanded screen space, writers seemed to have made it a point to include Di in all the lines with or without sense...
Edited by Horizon - 10 years ago
kizh72 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Agree with Indu, fantastic take Rhea. Khushi's hurt and pain are totally justified, but like Indu rightly put it, would've preferred that she articulated it, gave him a mouthful and said I need a break, need to get away from here for a few days! He would've taken her to buaji's house himself after that. Guess, they need to have the drama quotient high at times, but this just took away from the story. Aakash and payal, well the acchi bahu syndrome had infected everyone by that time I guess. This idea that you some how have to care less about your flesh and blood once you're married is ridiculous, and the idea that your husband's family is going to mean more! Gets me fuming! 😆 That relationship between payal and khushi, inspite of there been no blood ties, so beautiful, wish they had explored all that!
aarwen thumbnail
Episode 297-298-299
They had a hurtful fight the previous day. He forbid her to leave home, she did just that. He followed her and in scary ASR vein tries to intimidate her. It turns out the writers think it's been a little too much of tears and today the tone has to be humorous. So, it's her birthday...

A tired slightly unwell looking oily haired ASR is informed by a rather unsubtle buaji that it is her sanakadevi's birthday. The husband looks a little aghast. Buaji, as is her straightforward nature, comments on the typical trait of first forgetting the wife's birthday and then scolding her too. But I liked the line, "tumhare phuphaji bhi bilkul aise hi hai". His stay this time is much different from the formal visit last time.

He is part of the family. Their bitwa. And though Garima tries to calm her rather tactless jiji, buaji is in a slightly sanaka mode herself today. Khushi hugs her babuji a little more tightly than normal, ASR looks on, perhaps understanding the pain the girl is trying to hide.

Of course there is no question of this house being shrouded in heavy sorrow or worry because Khushi conveniently has witheld this important piece of news that Shyam has been thrown out of Shantivan. She has even asked her devi maiyya forgiveness because she does not want to pain the family...errr that his truth came out would pain the family?

Ours is not to question why, ours is to simply to watch him stammer ha.. ha.. happy singh.. As suddenly as his wife's bday sneaked in without us knowing, this aversion to wishing someone on their birthday is thrust upon the viewer. And just as suddenly it becomes apparent that the wish is the only thing that his roothi hui wife wishes for.

Buaji scares him and bitwa meekly goes.. "khaunga na"..

The initial few minutes were quite entertaining, where she gives him a hard time. A typical khushi scene with her buaji, the heavier her heart the lighter she is from outside. No one is allowed to see the pain she hides, she has shared it with only one other. When her babuji was in the hospital she shed not a single tear and was strong for others, but ran and hugged the strange man who loved yelling at her.

So today on her birthday, as she still hurts because of his harsh thoughtless biting words from yesterday, she jokes around with her buaji, but with him she is still angry. He looks from far, watching her make everyone around her happy, realizing this chirpy girl is whom he loves madly. that her smile means the world. His action has stolen her smile away, and he wants to bring it back. Wants his pagal Khushi and her happiness back with him.

However, before long they drag this whole birthday for far too long. Her bag has torn and it is time for a practical gift. Like Kizh I love practical gifts too. And when ASr gives a practical gift it still costs 2 lakhs. Well, he is the man who traveled once to Lucknow in a helicopter.

Gone is that tycoon with an edge. He shouldn't come to Gupta house, every time he becomes this unshaven slightly tired looking too much gharelu babua. In rab ne bana de jodi Shahrukh as the pleasant bespectacled suriji eats biryani even when he is full of golgappas, so that his wife's heart does not break. It does suit that guy, not really our ASR.

Buaji gives him far too many puris and jokes about how he should focus on setting things right with his wife. I liked the man's confidence, "usko toh main mana lunga". Again the feeling that this is his house too. He fits right in, helping her lay the table, and does not want her buaji angry either.

Gift 1 - He has called Aman and ordered a purse for his wife. And why is noone calling it a purse? She had a slight smile, but then decides that the endearing ha..ha.. hhandsfree won't melt her anger. Sharp eyes pointed out that the card says by Aman (poor guy might be in for a good yelling from ASR for this slip). And if the gift isn't selected by ASR or bought by him or packed by him then is he sure it is a gift by him? The reasonable man grudgingly admits "lag toh nai raha hai". That was pretty funny.

Soon am already feeling upset. She didn't have to really call and thank Aman. And definitely not put tamatar in the purse. Not in front of him or others, but atleast alone she should have looked at the gift with love. Just one tiny second of treasuring it is all I wanted. So later when at the door he told her the price and she spoke of the low quality of the gift it all felt wrong. Not funny really.

Naniji gives some advice. NK has a whole lot of advice. Usually the scenes with the curt ASR and goofy NK are a delight, but to me today the fact that ASR was being given advice to woo his roothi hui Khushi felt off.

"Its cheesy".. "main manage kar lunga" .. Even in these moments when they are trying to make ASR look cute he got to say dialogues that suit him perfectly. "maine bitani hai ya tumne".. I think he just gets endearingly possessive around her. And the moments of jealousy and faraq parta hai we got thanks to NK were itself iconic in the show.

Gift 2 - He ordered roses for his wife. The card seems to be mixed up again because it was in elaborate Hindi with words that ASR would never say to khushi. This time the complication is in the form of his di.

Anjali first thought it was from Shyamji. When ASR states he ordered the roses she thinks its for her. He was about to explain, but then seeing her vulnerable state, he transformed into the sincere brother. Sad that she will see him celebrate his wife's birthday and doubt her value in his life. He cajoles her as he strokes her hair. A lovely gesture. He will protect her no matter what. "aapke liye". The straightforward man says this knowingly, since she needed to hear it. And whatever be the price, be it forcing the girl who broke his heart to marry him or name the flowers he brought for her as his gift to his di, he will do it. Its almost his duty to look after her happiness.

If ASR cares, Khushi cares too. She overheard everything, saw the depth of feeling in his eyes when he admits to knowing whose favourite flowers these were. Was there ever a question of her doubting his intent to make her birthday special?

Payal meets Khushi and a touching interlude to the serial like feel that IPK heads for in these episodes. Payal has had to bear the wrath of her utterly senseless and petty mother-in-law and a very self centered husband all day. And yet she has a beautiful smile and saree for her little sister. Khushi laughs and feels young again.

Then comes NK with his special gift. She acknowledges and appreciates the love ASR has for his di. The girl who has a large heart still does not forgive him as easily.

Gift 3 - he has lit up the poolside with lights like the ones she put in her room that new year night. Hayee why does the man insist of being so disarmingly sweet? The lights look gorgeous and the cake looks good too. She was all smiles as he walked in with an arresting trepidation in his eyes.

The soft music plays and we are misled into believing this is the fall of all resistance. Some more bag talk. Again Khushi came across as a little unfeeling, even though there was the mention of the fur coat on the evening of the very first rabba ve.

A man woman perfect moment. She is aggressive, he is a little unsure. Till he returns in full ASR glory. Forces her to cut the cake, when a moment back she was sure he could do no such thing since it is her birthday. Almost childlike this insistence that she wants things a certain way since it is her special day.

"Candle toh bujhao dammit".. A dammit.. Can we list that as also her gift? He orders her to blow the candle and cut the cake. Basically just do as he says. Its almost like ordering her to wear the seatbelt. We see the love in these words, does she?

Not one to be docile she threatens him with a knife. He grasps her hands and uses it to cut the cake. It is going to be the theme for the coming days. Her resistance and his insistence. All love really. Intense and passionate. She cannot be a good natured, always calm, understanding wife with him. She has to be a fiesty, sometimes wild, woman only with him. His woman. Who demands and expects. Who will fight with him and not give in because it is the 'right' thing to do.

There is force cake feeding. A single step forward and a step taken backward. Also fingers that brush her lips, wiping away that chocolate. A touch seething with yearning. And while he is drowning in this heady feeling, she is busy plotting the ruin of his birthday. Could that be why his birthday was such a debacle? Her crazy sanaka special ideas bring a smile to his face, just like the mango juice had, at the very same place.

It was actually a perfect birthday.

But the writers wanted to ruin it all. Anjali saw her brother immersed in his life with his wife. Unreasonably and in a way quite naturally she suddenly felt all alone. She also recollects the signs that had been laid out before her eyes. Only in her eyes she blamed Khushiji. And so it hurt even more. This incidence was enough to make her throw away the roses, go ballistic actually. She came to the conclusion she no longer was the center of her chote's universe. And apparently that was a fault of his for which she had a right to be hurt. I did think there might be people out in our world who would react in this way. Such people would be weak and maybe unlikable, just like Anjali, but would still exist. In troubled times we come to know who we really are. And Anjali turned out self centered, immature and in plain words.. not nice.

And the writers also definitely sadly alienated khushi. She spoke of bina matlab ki banwati cheeze. Is this the same girl who was perceptive and saw the good in people? I have been trying to reason out that he was special to her so she remained angry, but there were days when he had been impossibly beastly to her and she had still wanted to go back to him, take care of him, think of him. I don't know about him, but Khushi's tirade really hurt me.

Gift 4 - It is still not midnight. He comes quietly, sits by her side. A single rose for her. And a most sincere wish for her happiness. Also the words she has wanted to hear, Happy birthday khushi... Now I do think if she wanted to hear them he would have said it before this, shook her awake and said it. Still this did seem like the way ASR would celebrate his Khushi's birthday. Not a song or dance, bare minimum fuss, nothing remotely cheesy, just awfully sincere and speaking of unequivocal love.

When a man looks at the woman he loves with this infinite feeling in his eyes, and wants for her happiness with so much truth in the wish, then if the girl heard him, she could have hugged him. Yes he hurt her, that is why this messy state of emotions, but he has been through hell. She could have empathized with him just this once. Specially now.

I know we are not reasonable when we are upset, but I also know Khushi has a very kind loving heart and seeing his genuine present I do feel her heart would have melted. But lovers behave in inexplicable ways. When she could keep his mannat ki chabhi in her bag (not the designed one) for all those days, then if she wants she can remain upset with him too.

Complicated, indescribable, beyond comprehension, conflicting emotions all fall within the territory of love.

Gift 5 - So ASR who does not give up, asks nani to make mathura aloo puri. Beautiful conversation with his nani, his voice again holds that childlike innocence and integrity. The nani I was missing has returned, caring and considerate and wise, just the way I like my nanis.

the birthday girl still did not thaw, but the grandson does not forget to thank his nani even though he is most probably heartbroken. One of the best qualities about this hero was his genuine niceness. Came up at random times in subtle scenes. Once he had wanted to call a doctor for babuji, he dimmed the light when all he wanted was to burn in the flames of his desire for his wife, he paid the hospital bill, even said sorry when he hurt her. And when he realized how difficult it is to say sorry he was also nice to OP the next day. Uff the more I get to know him the more perfect he gets.

NK was as enthusiastic early morning as on the dining table, but the problem is that the previous night left me serious and dejected, so the morning laughter did not make me smile too much. Felt out of place. Also this insistence that ASR needs help. He does not. I envision his good at everything. If he decides he has to woo his wife there is nothing that NK can tell him that he won't do better. Bas.

Gift 6 - I have read Cynthia di's review, and all I notice is the gaudy green wrapper. Yes definitely what ASR would chose for his wife, after all he knows her taste far too well by now. He tackles the problem and goes for a solution. A saree that he selected. His gift.

She resolutely ignores it. Again that love play. He wants her to notice his gift, she determinedly ignores. How can she concentrate on anything else when he sits like a dream in that brown shirt with sleeves rolled up and crisp dark brown vest. The piano notes soften and I became hopeful again. Silly me.. she is still not giving in. His stance as he waits with the gift in his hand. I am wishing it was my birthday.

His patience has run out he is ready to confront her. Raises the gift.. "ab dikh raha hai?" No, I can't see anything except you.. Do you have to look so heart stopping good when angry?

aarwen thumbnail

Originally posted by: indi52

episode 297

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9ghRKcXSNY&feature=youtu.be[/YOUTUBE]

she was a clear bright untouched innocent girl with a definite streak of whimsy... maybe a bit of lunacy too. she was sunny and warm and happy and she loved from her heart, no, from the bottom of her toes with every bit of her self and soul, even those reserved for jalebi eating frenzy. she couldn't bear to see anyone hurt. and if she loved someone and they were in any sort of trouble, she was prepared to take all their woes herself and fill their lives with happiness. she would go to any extent to make sure those she loved were not hurt. and she did it all with the lightest of touch and a fey air and an optimistic heart that had the power of vishwas. not for nothing was her name khushi.

he was a guy who had been robbed mercilessly by life and had shut himself from the heartlessness of this world. he had set out to restore his sister and his broken lives, trusting only himself. working hard, working relentlessly, depending on his dimag, amassing power and wealth, the two things he reckoned the world respected, feared and did not mess with.

they met. they clashed, they hated each other, they bristled around each other, and then one day she said, yessir i put mango juice in your shoes... because i didn't get orange juice and he smiled.

cut. through.

something happened to his heart, you could see it in his eyes. arnav singh raizada could perhaps resist everything on earth, but not miss khushi kumari gupta's sanak. i have always felt that mad streak, that innocence, that complete pagal thing was what got him bad. if she were merely a good girl with a big heart, he may have cared for her, admired her. if she were gutsy and strong, he'd have respected her. if she were beautiful, he would have desired her... but she was all of that and she was sanka devi, titalitya. how not to be smitten by her, huh. aah lovely!

i like that also because then character design had meaning. that sanak had a role.

a slight reversal of roles now. he is doing everything he can to make her happy, because he has hurt her. of course in asr vein, it was, "main tumhe wapas paa loonga", "but i will bring you back, tumhe wapis jeetke rahoonga", he has said he will get her back and make her part of his life, he will win her back. a little win lose has to feature of course.

he is willing to go to lengths he wouldn't for anyone else. they had had the most horrendous of disagreements. she wanted to leave him. he was doing all he could to not let her go. in the middle of that, he realises it is her birthday and he had not even know, in fact he had gone raving and ranting to her aunt's place to threaten her and bring her back when he was tartly informed by bua ji.

she was really angry and upset with him. and for some odd reason it had been decided that he had a huge problem with wishing anyone happy birthday. murphy's law... that is the only thing she wanted from him. which would make her happy, bring a smile to her lips... all that he wants is to see that smile back. can anyone explain why he has this problem? I mean not really wanting a birthday party.. I could reconcile with.. but having such a tough time wishing his wife when it is apparent that is the only thing that will make her happy. A few false attempts, is still fun, but when it gets serious he should have had no problem in wishing her. And why Khushi this pathar dil please tell me?

in a mahaepisode, almost 42 minutes were devoted to showing many things, mostly with an accent on humour, his efforts to wish her, to buy her a gift, to bring her back... to win her back.

she was having none of it. sorry, if you can't wish me, i am not going to thaw.

so he did all sorts of things including eating a tonne of poories and following bua ji around like a lost child... was this asr?

while it was a pleasant enough episode, nothing really touched me...

except for one scene.

and i have to say only sanaya irani could look as fetching as she did in that fairly ghastly velvet tent. you know this might be one of Gul's pechant.. Almost all her shows these days have the female lead dress is drabs.. very weird.. is this also a m and b thing? man has to fall for the girl even though she is never well dressed?

cut to the scene.

he happened to hear khushi and bua ji talking in the room while he washed his hands outside... again that broken mirror, perhaps a reminder that things were at a point of breaking err no indi di..I don't think the writers are thinking that much at this point of the tale.. ... he peered in and found bua ji insiting on driving evil spirits away with her hot dried chilli technique and khushi in a fit of sanka at her cuckoo and loving best with her favourite aunt, talking nonsense and being jhalii sankadevi.

as he watched her, his whole world seemed to fill with sunshine.

there's nothing he loved more than to see her happy. happy and sankafied, that was like three scoops of icecream with a cherry on top. she brought sweetness to her diabetic's life. a sweetness that overpowered the bitterness of his world and made him smile.

and he did. i just shook my head at the beauty of this simple moment. could have been soppy and sugary, but was not. you could feel his heartstrings give way... especially when he broke into that smile. you could feel that tender love of his for this beautiful girl. his eyes went mellow and loving, his smile was the sweetest ever. she was the most precious thing to him, he'd do anything to keep her safe warm happy feeling loved and far from the bedardi of ad. just one scene... and all the discomfort i had been feeling was set aside. because this was what it was all about. this love. the essential connect of asr and khushi that went way beyond right wrong good bad who is better who is worse.

and how he loved her. especially, when she was unselfconsciously and completely khushi. he'd look at her, she often not even aware of him or his gaze, and fall for her... pagal... pagal hai par cute hai. I like this staring from far completely smitten, in any love story actually. I look for it in real life too. That one gaze, maybe flicker of a second, from across the room, with the indescribably tender intense feeling.

as for the bag, well she had him nicely properly and rightly bagged. while on the b word, asr i don't think would ever tell her the price of her bday gift, though that doh lakh produced much mirth and the actors were all rather good in that last rm sequence. also, couldnt they have found a slightly nicer looking bag? i do understand khushi's point about the long handle... a girl has the right to be particular about her bag teehee.

and sorry, asr definitely would not call khushi "aap", nor write such a foolish message. so the red rose scene is deteriorating to tearjerker stuff, very forced. yes.

back to the scene that got me... barun sobti, sanaya irani and abha parmar were spectacular in it. they worked to create a feeling that is so precious, you feel like putting it away somewhere safe, taking care of it yourself. i am sure they didn't even shoot at the same time. in fact the physical gap you can sense. but the emotions just come through flawlessly.

sanaya as i mentioned looked utterly lovely and khushi. interedtingly barun was looking a bit down and dank today, but that was good, because despite that, asr did shine... said what good actor i was watching. and uff the slightly oily, a little too long flying hair... hawa mein udta jaaye... hahaha I didn't like his look.

as i watched him i thought of the other times i have seen him in that smitten or about to fall flat state... and a vm pretty much suggested itself. i hope you like it. it's not too long and i have not added any jalebi swirls to it, a simple straightforward piece. about that happiness in the heart...

thought
i did feel pretty bad for the guy at the way khushi who wouldn't hurt anyone made him suffer over his gift and hit back at him. i liked that in a way though, because it said to me she had a certain ease in her relationship with him, she could show her anger if she needed to, or her hurt... everywhere else, khushi never shows her tears, her own needs. in a milieu where girls are constantly taught to, exhorted to, made to, fit in and never think of their own individual needs and aspirations, this always being pleasant and caring of others never of yourself becomes the way i guess. it happens in many places, not just middle class gomti sadan india.

... but he and she had a different equation from the beginning. something they shared with no one else. he would take her angry outbursts and modify his plans, though making sure she got some hell in the bargain... can't imagine anyone else getting away with the things khushi did when it came to this khadoos. no one would dare to tell him anything, but she would. and he never expected her to fit in, be less... in fact, he wanted her to take her "haq" and fought with even his dadi over this. i found his asking her to claim him as hers and exercise her right over him very very moving. and essentially all he wanted was to see her smile.

hona tha pyaar
a beautiful song by atif aslam and hadiqa kiani

hona tha pyaar...
love had to happen
hona tha pyaar...hua mere yaar...
love had to happen and it did, my friend (lover)
love had to happen and it did, my friend

aaye nazar, chehre hazaar
i did see thousands of faces

hona tha pyaar...
love had to happen

tere dil ke shehar mein... ghar mera ho gaya..ho gaya...
in the city of your heart, got my house... just did
sapna dekha jo tune, wo mera ho gya...ho gya...
the dreams you saw, became mine... just became mine

doobey to yuun... jaise ho paar...
we drowned as if it were the shore... (did i get that right?)

hona tha pyaar... hua mere yaar...
hona tha pyaar...
love had to happen

thaamey dilo ki baahein, hum aate saalo mein.. saalo mein...
holding the arms of our hearts... in the years that came
paaye jawab humne, tere sawalo mein... sawalo mein...
i found answers in your questions... in your questions
khwabon ki dor... tootey naa yaar...
this thread of dreams, may it never break, my friend

hona tha pyaar...
love had to happen

Heard this song after very long. the vm is beyond lovely.. its beeeuuutiful Indi di.. put a smile on my face.. and loved that you ended with the very first rabba ve..

nice take.. but like you the episode was a bit off for me too. Actually I guess more so because I liked that khushi, buaji sanka scene , but the oily haired unwell ASR isn't the way I envision him. I somehow feel he should be immacuately dressed and always looking crisp alert and fresh, even if the face is aloof and inert.

About Khushi and the gift. Am wrestling with the dilemma. She was angry and gave him a hard time. With only him can she be this natural, but she need not be insensitive right? And when it became apparent how hard he was trying then it just felt wrong that she would still not relent or worse be moved by all his sincere love.

ooh am worked up now.. but am off to watch your VM again.. its really very sweet..

Edited by aarwen - 10 years ago
aarwen thumbnail

Originally posted by: indi52

episode 298

di, yeh... maine mangwaye hain. di, i ordered these.

tumne mangwaye hain? you ordered these?

aaj wo... yes, today...

hamare liye? for me?

he was a little unsure as to how to handle this, his sister thought the red roses were for her but he had bought them for the girl whose birthday he really wanted to celebrate. he was wooing her in fact, dammit. trying to get her to be happy, forget the fight and the bitter words of the night before.

then anjali hugged him, and a tenderness came over him as he felt her in his arms... she had been in such a bad shape...

a hand went up to stroke her hair, his face showed his own need to see her well... almost seventy episodes later, as his di suffered terribly in a hospital he actually enunciated these words... when di was a little happy, i would think all was alright again. today he simply let his expression say it. he let her illusion remain.

haan, di, aap ke liye. yes, di, for you.

and with that he just hugged her, held her in his protective arms, made her safe again. every relationship has its place and need. he faced a challenge not unfamiliar to most of us. when, though his heart absolutely yearned for someone he loved and he had bought something as simple as her favorite flowers for her on her birthday, he just could not give it to her.

because at that very moment, another love needed to be cared for, given strength. and his beloved stood right behind watching the whole scene, clearly understanding the problem and approving of the choice he made. yet, in his own way, with only his eyes to tell her exactly how much she mattered to him and who he wanted to give those roses to, he said, of course he knew whose favourite flowers these were when his sister presumed he meant her. khushi's smile, which had peeped out already, became slightly bigger.

i liked the communication between asr and khushi here. the only thing that said what the in the head, was that message that asr just couldn't have written. apart from its tone, he never called khushi "aap".

i guess birthdays are about relationships in many ways. payal, who had also been trying to celebrate her beloved younger sister's birthday without much success till now, waylaid her when no one was around, holding her gift behind her, hiding it. khushi rose to the bait instantly. the girl obviously loves her birthday and a whole set of rituals are observed diligently by her family to mark it.

wasn't it on payal's birthday, when she had plans of organising a little surprise party that the man who was now looking at her with an ocean of love in his eyes had been instrumental in drowning her in a deluge? of an awareness that seeped through and poured all over and drenched the mind and body. and then there was the rain, of course. uff your way with words

a lovely little prattle between sisters.

kya chhupa rahi hai?
what are you hiding?

tumhara sar. your head.

she wants her gift, loves that leg pulling on her bday... khushi is looking happy and herself. the gota on the saree gets special attention. (how come that saree too was never seen again? another bday ritual, maybe?)

tum hamesha hamesha hamehsha hamesha hamesha khush raho.
may you always always always always always be happy.

payal makes a fervent wish for her sister. hamesha. it was always about that. especially today.

sweet thought to get the other picture of the sisters here.

i feel bad for deepika pansare, a good actress, she portrayed an interesting payal, a girl who was quieter and more composed as compared to khushi, but who had depth, integrity and who was capable of thinking with clarity, she even had a steely determination, clear sense of right and wrong and tried to tackle all problems head on, facing them and often viewing issues in a rational, intelligent manner. and she never ever sounded preachy or achhi bahu, managing to look like a real person despite the mandatory tv bahu ridiculous saree, makeup, open hair. in the opening scene of ipk, she was stunning i thought, later in her simple churidars and low key make up with that quiet, lovely air, and surprising little bursts of humour, she was a girl i really liked. there was an intensity in her, a potential one sensed. me too. and her interactions with her sister felt natural.

she also had a protective, tender, unquestioning love for her sister. a lot like asr's feeling for his di. the sisters shared a strong and sparkling tie, how they had dreamed together back in the early episodes. payal never knew how key she was in her sister's marriage, but then again, it was thanks to payal, that the two had met in the first place.

chaliye chaliye, miss kkgsr ji, chaliye...
let's go, let's go, miss kkgsr, let's go.

miss kkgsr... cute. umm too much stress on cuteness? just my feeling..

it was nk's turn to wish bday girl. she was delighted with his gift, which was really a promise that he said he'd be her friend... hamesha.

she also said, she didn't mind at all about the roses. to bring a smile on someone's face if asr did it, how could she not like it? she liked his gesture very much.

asr had to hear that, in a touch of heavy, hindi serial direction, and quietly fall apart. poor chap, just wants to see her feeling upbeat and pagal.

when she walked into her room, there was darkness, and then lights. this was no dream from another day, it was actually happening, all those beautiful fairy lights hanging in clusters. she smiled. she must have guessed what was afoot.

i loved the lights, the look, the feel of this sequence. actually, i fell for the man woman thing by the poolside. that's where he had to set up a lovely surprise for his wife of course. though he had informed nk such things were cheesy.

but only asr could make cheesy downright knees knocking hot, i had no doubt. i even liked the cake, nothing fancy, perhaps ordered from this lady who does special ones from her home. khushi saw everything. khushi liked everything. her man's efforts were not lost on her. and i bet she wanted to have him wish her, make her cut that cake, feed it to her... you know all the bay stuff. umm that lady in red you mean?

behind her, from the dark a man came out, a curious apprehension in his eyes...

against the blue of the night and sparkling little yellow lights, his brownness was even more stirring... dark chocolate ganache in the after hours.

she gave him a sweet little smile... though she sort of kept her distance. i got the feeling she wanted his wooing.

then bag talk started. fur coat came up... ah, the cause of first rabba ve. maybe they should preserve it in a museum or something, orange juice stain and all. hahaha.. want to go with me to visit this museum?

forget it... bag ko bhool jaao...

the man said in asr vein, not smiling so much any more. instead, focused, goal oriented asr. okay, the little roughness in the voice, the clipped tone, the determined air, i just have to swoon.

birthdays can put funny pressures i think and the unexpected, not at all longed for can start to happen. some sort of crazy dance between two people that really is all about do you love me, show me how. it's an intimate thing... with most wives always complaining that he forgot or in my case, he never forgets but this angst in me around some sort of expectation. I just don't like birthday parties one bit. aah my one ASR trait.

key word i hit. expectation.

from the one you adore... because you want to be his most loved one... esp on that day. your day. oh i loved it when khushi raved about it being her birthday not his. and smiled with him when she planned her revenge. mosquito coil of course took me straight to the chaise longue and the canoodling warring lovers. i fell breathless into the pool when he commanded her to blow candle, saying i have set all this up and you jolly well will do as i say, celebrate, woman. that forced cake cutting, only asr ha ha. and the heavy duty won't give in, while my eyes are saying all sorts of things and my anger is showing love for laad governor, only kkgsr.

the expected janamdin things happened but in a slightly unexpected way.

i am weird i guess, to me all of this just said: super sexual tension, major pyaar. we all are together in the ajeebness di.. perfect birthday.

the party included candle blowing, cake cutting, cake eating, and additional surprise delights like finger jabbing, wrist grabbing, force feeding, a dammit, a step forward step back (which was short but real sweet, intense), eyes going from anger to adoring, birthday tantrum, and a most unique way of joining hands to celebrate.

however, sorry, that whole i don't want all this...

nahin chahiye humey bina matlab ki banawati cheezen.
don't want all these meaningless, pretentious things...

pretentious? meaningless?

that was a senseless one. and very hurtful. okay, she was still mad at him and needed to be appeased. but this was churlish and ridiculous.

and it said, alas, to me... she really did not understand the man she loved at all.

which is funny, because she seems to understand other things pretty well, like why he gave his sis the flowers.

very weak writing. if they wanted to prolong the tension, there were other ways i bet to do it.

by the end of the show, khushi just started seeming totally insensitive. her love for asr hardly coming through. pity. that was my major reason for disconnect. I can't like a heroine that does not have any qualities to like.. I can't like mere childish silliness and specially not the apathy towards a man like ASr.. hate him.. love him.. but not get affected by him? that is impossible. farak nai parta became a little too true.

and that whole he does not know how to say happy birthday... a suddenly thought up story with no meaning, just to create five episodes. whereas the can't say sorry was highly plausible, given the man's personality; and melded beautifully with the story. agree completely.

c'mon, let's cut the cake...

at least candle toh bujhao, dammit!

stop there right now!

since all these beena matlab ke cheezen mean a lot to me, i'll just be happy with the poolside romance. aww he put the fairy lights because during new year she had this sort of lights in her room. or is it because she just lights up, no fairy lights up his whole life.

even when she is being mean and a brat.

anjali made kheer, brought it up, gatecrashed the party, saw her brother and his wife together, realised it was her birthday, went fairly ballistic, especially about the roses... at last she knew whose favourite they were. in anjali like anger, she chucked the flowers. she recalled
scenes of khushi and her shyam ji in various situations. did she feel perhaps, khushi was taking away both the men she loved and needed from her life? her two mainstays?

she had instinctively known who was the stronger of those two men and clung to him. just the day before she had asked him to make life as it used to be before. he had held her, rock solid, reassuring.

did she feel horribly insecure and turn totally petty because of that... how could you forget everything, chhotey? you'd said i was your world, now when i am in this state you are having fun with your wife.

it all sounded terrible. I did think there would be people like this around us.

yet, had the acting been a bit more nuanced and the direction a little less obvious, including the too pat under dressing and flat colours, i may have still understood this.

it's a crazy state of mind, extreme insecurity. not only asr, she has lost her parents too in a tragic way. and ever since childhood, her handicap has had its own effect, its own cruel play, making her feel all sorts of things that those who don't limp can never understand. chhotey was her anchor, then came shyam ji... things seemed to be better. she reached out for happiness but not too boldly. she did her pooja and path, pacifying the gids, seeking protection, praying nothing should go wrong.

then everything did go wrong.

somewhere i can identify with that broken fragile feeling. even its hysterical, almost vicious questioning of her brother's right to be happy. okay I was just saying the same thing above.

but khushi's almost equally vicious rejection of asr, i will never get.

you forgot everything, anjali said of the man who remembered every single thing and tried his best, even if in his laad governor asr way.

"if you aren't in over your head, how do you know how tall you are?"
~~~ t.s. eliot ~~~

enjoyed your take indi di.. am exhausted with too much over enthusiasm over all forms of media thanks to this show and one man.. but wanted to read a take before calling it a day.

lovely walk down memory lane hand in hand with the two sisters.. and am going to ignore all the nonsense and only focus on that man who made me swoon at that poolside. Angry, impatient, regal air.. I want my birthday celebration just this way.

And very nice edits.. mine were hopelessly bad.. haha