Recap:
Getting no reply from Jalaal made Jodha even more angry and she snapped again "Who were you talking to?? Was it the same girl from last week you hung up on me for??"
Jalaal closed and opened his mouth a few times trying to say something but his efforts went in vain and nothing came out of his mouth. He was still in shock.
Chapter 22
Jalaal's shocked mind finally registered Jodha's last lines 'Was it the same girl from last week you hung up on me for??'
When did I hang up on her?? thought Jalaal confusingly. What GIRL is she talking about and why does she think I hung up on her?? I would never do that...suddenly he remembered the incident from last Friday when he was on phone with Jodha and got the call from USA and he cut his call with Jodha short. Oh my god!! She thinks I was on phone with some girl and that's why I cut her call. Is that why she has been behaving so oddly with me since Monday. Why does it bother her if I was talking to a girl?? Is she JEALOUS?? But why?? Does she think I was talking to my girlfriend or something?? Is that why she is jealous?? But why would she get jealous, even if she thought I was talking to my girlfriend?? You get jealous only if you love someone...does this mean she loves ME??? Is that even possible??
He looked up and scanned Jodha's face one more time to try and figure out what exactly was eating her?? She looked furious. No answer from Jalaal was making her really mad.
Seeing her mad like this Jalaal's heart fluttered with happiness and a small smile made its way to his lips. If what I think is right then it means...Oh my...I gotta find out how she feels about me!!
"Jodha, what happened to you suddenly?" asked Jalaal very calmly.
"Nothing, don't bother!!" Jodha snapped back.
"I think you didn't like me talking to someone else..." Jodha cut his sentence short and bitterly said "Why would I not like that??" Then sadly she added "Anyway it doesn't matter what I like and what I don't. Don't worry about me, I am not that important...there are many more important people in your life, worry about them."
"Who said you are not important in my life?? You are very important" Jalaal said frustratingly.
"I can see how important I am" replied Jodha sarcastically. "I am not important for you at all, I am just one of your students who is crazily in LOVE with you."
"What??????" Jalaal asked in shock, he was not able to believe his ears, not able to believe what he just heard.
Realizing what she has just blurted out Jodha covered her mouth with her hands in shock. 'What have I done?? He will get mad at me now! Oh my god what have I done????' thought Jodha and closed her eyes in fear.
Jalaal's happiness knew no bounds and he asked Jodha again "What, what did u say??? Did I hear you right? Did you just say you love me??" He asked so many questions together, he couldn't hold his excitement.
"Uhhh I I I..." Jodha was really scared and hence unable to come up with an answer, she was scared to say YES but didn't wanna say NO either.
Jodha slowly opened her and looked at him fearfully with mixed emotions of embarrassment and worry.
"You love me, that's what you said didn't you?" asked Jalaal in cheerful tone.
Jodha looked up and got shocked seeing his happy face, without realizing she shyly nodded her head in a YES.
Jalaal couldn't believe what he saw, after a few seconds of blank stare at Jodha. He slowly put his hand on her hand and squeezed gently to get assurance if she really means what he heard. Sudden blush on her face gave him the courage to move further, he lovingly pulled her in his arms and hugged her tightly. "I LOVE YOU TOO, SO MUCH, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU, I LOVE YOU..." he just kept repeating. Jodha was completely lost in his warmth...slowly but timidly she encircled her hands on his shoulders and closed her eyes with deep contentment. After a minute or so he pulled himself back and held Jodha's face in his hands and looked at her lovingly, he had a huge smile on his face and just couldn't stop looking at her.
Jodha was in shock, she couldn't believe Jalaal also loves her. 'HE LOVES ME!!!!!!' She was unable to believe her own ears, Tears pricked down her eyes as she saw him looking at her lovingly. Jalaal gently wiped her tears with his thumbs and kissed her forehead tenderly. Jodha relished his first touch with closed eyes. Then Jalaal looked at her and saw her eyes closed, he couldn't stop himself from kissing her beautiful eyes and she blushed as she felt his lips on her eyes. Jalaal smiled seeing her blushed face and then he kissed those blushed pink cheeks slowly, lovingly, one by one. He pulled back and waited for Jodha to open her eyes and look at him but when she didn't, he whispered "Jodha" prompting her to open her eyes.
Jodha shyly opened her eyes, she was blushing heavily, she couldn't look at him in shyness. She was looking down. Jalaal held her chin between his finger and thumb and slowly tilted her face up. Jodha looked at him shyly.
He bent down towards her lips to kiss her. Jodha turned her face to one side in shyness while smiling, blushing, feeling butterflies in her stomach.
Jalaal smiled seeing her feeling shy and then he went close to her ear and whispered "You are so beautiful Jodha. I Love You So Much!"
Jalaal gently held her face again with both of his hands and turned it towards himself and asked "Jodha do you love me?"
Jodha looked at him lovingly while nodding her head in a YES shyly. She couldn't look at him anymore, she felt shy and closed her eyes again.
Jalaal felt ecstatic knowing she loves him too. "Jodha, look at me please" pleaded Jalaal.
Jodha smiled and nodded her head in a NO.
Jalaal chuckled a little and again said "Jodha please look in my eyes and tell me."
Jodha quickly opened her eyes and asked in confusion "Tell you what??"
Their eyes met and they kept gazing at each other lovingly. Finally they both felt content with their feelings now out in the open.
Jalaal gently kept his hand on Jodha's cheek and let his fingers slide down her soft cheek, feeling her soft skin.
Jodha felt a shiver run through her whole body with his sensual touch. She started trembling.
He reached near her lips and traced her lips with his thumb lightly, they trembled in response to his sensual touch.
Jalaal couldn't stop himself anymore and he bent towards her lips to kiss her, Jodha closed her eyes in anticipation.
Jalaal bent further and closed the distance between them, their lips were now so close that they were almost touching each other.
Jalaal held her from her shoulders and said "Jodha! Jodha! What happened?? Are you okay??" His voice was filled with fear and concern. He was staring at Jodha in confusion.
Jodha opened her eyes and looked around confusingly, unable to understand what just happened. "You...you were...just now..." Jodha fell quite unable to understand what was going on.
"I was what??" asked Jalaal all confused. "I was on the phone and saw you were thinking something and then you looked angry, then you were suddenly smiling and then you closed your eyes. What is going on? Are you feeling okay?? Do you still have the headache??"
Jodha realized she was imagining all that and he didn't really say anything to her. She was shocked at her own imagination and thought 'OMG!!! I WAS DREAMING!!!' Fee seconds later she grinned shyly and thought Ohhh!!! Can this actually happen?? Can I tell him I love him?? Will he react the same way as he did in my imagination?? Does he also love me?? I really hope this dream comes true.' She smiled thinking all this while Jalaal looked at her bewildered by her silence and mysterious smile with changing expressions on her face.
Suddenly the doorbell rang and before Jalaal could ask anything further Jodha went out to open the door for Meenu and Jassi.
Meenu and Jassi asked together "Sir is already here?? We saw his scooter downstairs."
"Yes he came a bit early today" replied Jodha hiding her blush.
"Good evening Sir" Meenu and Jassi said in unison.
"Good evening" replied Jalaal still bewildered.
"Since we are still waiting for Niti, I'll take these cups inside in the mean time" said Jodha while quickly picking up the tray she almost ran out of the room.
Jodha felt elated reminiscing her dream confession. Suddenly she noticed Jalaal's cup of coffee, there was still a little bit of coffee in it. She picked it up as she reached the kitchen, turned it and held it as Jalaal did, then she looked left and right and then put her lips, where Jalaal's were, kissing the cup she drank that last sip. Feeling happy about what she just did and smiling at her mischief she kept the cup in the sink. She took a few deep breaths to calm her heartbeat which was beating at the speed of an express train and composed herself and then she started walking back towards the room where Jalaal and others were. As she reached she saw Niti on the stairs. Opening the door for her Jodha let her in and they both went in the room together.
Finally the class started after Jodha and Niti took their seats.
Throughout the class Jodha and Jalaal kept glancing at each other. Jalaal looked at her in confusion and concern while Jodha looked on in hope that maybe her dream can one day come true.
Soon the class got over and as usual all the girls were copying from Jodha's register so Jalaal had to leave without being able to talk to Jodha.
'I came here confused and am leaving from here confused' he thought sadly. He turned and looked at Jodha who seemed lost in some thoughts and smiling dreamily. He smiled seeing her smiling and thought 'This girl is making me crazy. No no...not making, she has already made me crazy.' He shook his head while smiling a bit and left.
While driving home Jalaal kept thinking about the whole interaction between him and Jodha and her confusing behavior, trying to figure out what was going on with her.
After thinking for some time he decided to call Jodha after reaching home and talk to her and try to find out what was going on with her.
Once Jalaal reached home he called Jodha hoping to get some answers from her and clear his confusion.
Jodha picked up the phone and sweetly said "Hello"
Jalaal always loved hearing her sweet voice but today it sounded different, it was sweet but somehow felt a bit different...perhaps it was too sweet.
"Hi Jodha" replied Jalaal.
"Oh Hi sir" said Jodha extra sweetly as she blushed hearing his voice.
"Are you okay Jodha?? Uhh I mean how your headache is!" Jalaal asked cautiously.
"Oh it's fine, don't worry I'm fine." said Jodha cheerfully. 'See he cares about you, worries about you' told Jodha herself gleefully.
"Hey Jodha you still there??" asked Jalaal due to the silence.
"Oh sorry, yes I'm still here!" She paused and slapped herself on her head and scolded herself 'what are you doing Jodha? "You called because you were worried about me?? To check up on me??" asked Jodha surprised.
"Yes I was worried" Jalaal replied honestly.
Jodha smiled hearing Jalaal's answer.
"By the way I also wanted to ask what is going on??" asked Jalaal.
"Huh!! Meaning???" Jodha asked confusingly.
"I mean for the past week, you haven't been talking to me and behaving differently and today, before everyone came...what happened to you??? What were you talking about?? What did I do???" asked Jalaal everything that had been bothering him the whole week.
Jodha got panicked thinking 'Oh god...Oh Nooo he noticed my different behavior...what am I going to tell him???' thought Jodha anxiously.
"Uhh nothing, nothing happened to me... I told you I am fine" said Jodha trying to act as if she had not done anything. "Umm when did I behave differently?? When was I not talking to you??" asked Jodha feigning innocence.
"Really?? Then why didn't you call me all week??" asked Jalaal confusingly.
"I... I... I thought you... uh... you didn't have time, you were busy" stammered Jodha and then added almost in a whisper "with other important people."
"What?? I was busy?? With what other important people" asked Jalaal confusingly.
"On Friday you hung up on me while I was still talking when someone from USA called you, so I thought u didn't have time to talk to me..." said Jodha in low voice sadly.
"No!! I didn't mean to hang up on you and I called you back but you had left by then" Jalaal replied instantly but sounded regretful and sad. "It was from USA so I thought..."
"It was more important??" asked Jodha disappointedly.
"No, it was just a friend." told Jalaal in persuasively.
"A friend or a girlfr..." Jodha stopped herself from blurting.
"What??" asked Jalaal shocked as he understood what Jodha was about to say. "I don't have a girlfriend! Who said I have a girlfriend??" asked Jalaal perplexed.
"I didn't say that" said Jodha in low tone trying to hide her gloomy feeling.
"But you were about to say that! Tell me why you thought I was talking to a girl?? That too MY GIRLFRIEND??" asked Jalaal unable to understand what was going on in Jodha's head.
"Ummm uhhh I...I don't know, weren't you?" said Jodha who was now very confused. "You said you will go stay with umm whoever you were talking to, so I thought...uhhh so who was it then??"
"So you thought I was talking to my girlfriend the other day??" asked Jalaal in horror while letting the implication of this thought of Jodha sink in. Suddenly something clicked in his mind and he said "Wait a minute, let me get this straight, on Friday you thought I was talking to my girlfriend and thats why I hung up on you and since then you haven't talked to me properly. Oh my god, were you avoiding me?? But... but why??"
"I wasn't avoiding you, I was just mad...uhhh I mean umm... " replied Jodha in haste and struggled to hide her feelings. "I I I have to go to mumma, can we talk later?" asked Jodha to change the topic.
Jalaal smirked and asked "Are you taking revenge on me by hanging up on me??"
"No I'm not hanging up! I just have to go, mumma must be waiting." said Jodha with a pout. 'If this conversation continues I might end up saying something I don't want to, so it's better to finish the call here and now only. but why is he teasing me?? Seems like he is enjoying... may be he likes that I am jealous. Why he is reacting so calmly? thought Jodha.
"All right! Go if you have to but we will continue this conversation tomorrow." said Jalaal. 'I need to think this through, what she told me today and what all she was doing for the past week. Something is going on and I need to figure out what it is.' thought Jalaal.
"But what's there to continue?? Oh ya, you didn't tell me who you were talking to...you can tell me that tomorrow" giggled Jodha. "I have to go now, bye."
"Bye!" smiled Jalaal. And they both hung up.
'I love the sound of her smile.' thought Jalaal and smiled. 'Well atleast she is smiling now, whole last week I was missing it so badly.' Then he started thinking about all the things that happened in the past few days.
'Hmm so let's see - 1. She thought I was talking to my girlfriend and hence I hung up on her!
2. She got mad at me because of it.
3. She stopped talking to me.
4. She basically avoided me as much as she could.
5. Today again she looked mad when I was on phone.
6. She got extremely happy to know that I don't have a girlfriend.
7. Why she wants to know who was on the phone...??? Hmmm I will wait for her to ask me who I was talking with...He smirked.
All these things indicate that she doesn't want me to talk to any other girl, just her. Now the question is why?? Was she jealous?? Was that the reason behind her silence?? Her anger?? And today also she looked angry when I was on the phone, guess she thought I was talking to my girlfriend again. She looked really mad or may be it was jealousy!! Does this mean she loves me too?? Omg!!! Is she falling for me too???? NO, that is not possible, is it?? How can I be that lucky??? She is so beautiful, Can she fall for me??? Why my heart says every time she looks at me...It is different...She always blushes at my comments... I feel a strong connection with her... Is it because she also loves me!! I would love for it to become possible though. If she also has feelings for me...the same feelings that I have for her then OMG that would be great. She can be MINE. God!! Please make it possible.' All this thinking made Jalaal very happy and excited. 'I have got to find out what's in her heart! I have to!! I will start by asking why she behaved the way she did last week and why she wants to know who I was talking to?? Depending on what her answers are I might get a clue to how she feels about me. Oh god... I can't wait to see her... How will I pass my night today???'
That night Jalaal was feeling happy, nervous, excited, restless, eager all at the same time. He couldn't wait to find out how Jodha feels about him.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Following are the lyrics of the song playing in the background, with english translation!!!
Kuch mere dil ne kaha, kuch tere dil ne kaha
(There's a few things my heart has said, There's a few things your heart has said)
Yeh dil bezubaan tha, aaj isko zubaan mil gayi
(This heart of mine was voiceless, but today it has found it's voice)
Meri zindagi ko ek haseen daastan mil gayi
(Its like my life has found a beautiful Tale/Inspiration)
Jeene kaa marne kaa aayega abb maja
(It will be fulfilling to live life and to die now)
Tujhse milke jaana kitnee tanha thee mai tere bin
(After meeting you, I realized how lonely I was without you)
Pal pal kaisi hulchal zindagi me hai, abb raat din
(I don't know what this commotion in every second of life is all about day and night)
Main kahu aur kya, bas tera shukriya
(What more can I say, except for Thank YOU)
Hope u guys enjoyed😳😳 Don't forget to like and comment.
Love
Preet