Well, my dear, I think it is my kids and Adiana and Mandy et al! They are a tough lot and not easy to silence!😉 Besides, I am still hovering over it, like Caspar the Friendly Ghost.😉
Now, my dears, Divya is not going to forgive me for what I have just done to her latest,nice, hopeful thread, but after watching today's episode, climaxing in a replay of the Gwalior Hakim's eulogies to Jodha Begum, I simply could not help it! I think at least some here will enjoy it, so here it is.
See you soon, Mandy, and many more of you too, I hope! And yes, I will PM the full list to all those who have asked for it.
Sandhya, Jalal today reminded me of Kamalahaasan in a shilambu (singlestick) fight.
Shyamala /Aunty
Posted: 18 April 2014 at 1:36pm | IP Logged
Divya my dear,
I always like your lucid positivity and your determined optimism, even when the grounds for it are not clearly visible to more cynical souls like myself. This post of yours is no exception.
But how many times do I have to tell you that you cannot have it both ways? Either you blame everything on the CVs, or you analyse the character. You are hedging your bets here. You do not want to say that Jodha is still ego-driven, and not yet really in love with Jalal, l for all her sudden revelation of her bahut prem for him.
For as my favourite reader of hearts, Vicki, noted the other day, in love there is no room for any ego, and today in Jodha, the ego did not lose to what she calls love. Jalal is in love, for he has no ego any more where she is concerned and he is willing to go to hell and back to get her.
But what does she do? She stands there and watches him fight, one against so many, exactly like a 1960s film heroine, the only difference being that she does not wring her hands as they used to do! 😉She does not run out to help him, as would be the instinctive reaction of any woman with the man she loves. Or even to shield and drag away the unfortunate widow.
Instead, she acts as a silently applauding audience of one, except that what she is applauding is not Jalal, but herself, her lines and her teaching that he has absorbed so well. Pretty soon, you will see Jodha Begum somehow given the credit for Akbar's attempt to permit widow remarriage as well.
OK, let us let her inertia pass, attributing it to the proprieties of those days. But she does not run out to help him even when she sees him staggering away, and instead she exclaims, as if she was Columbus discovering the New World, Shahenshah ko chot pahunchi hai. unhe aushadi ki aavashyakta hai! What on earth did she think all the khoon bhari maang came from? The local paint shop?
As for her harassing Kanha later, she seems to have forgotten all that she confessed to her antaraatma, about the role played by her stubborn silence in precipitating Jalal's furious jealousy and all that followed. Now she is one up on her cheerleader Ammijaan in leaving Jalal to shoulder all the blame for everything that happened.
This apart, while Jalal is lost to all but his need to get her back and is in an agony of despair, regret and guilt all this while, Jodha has not been shown to miss him or to think about their special moments together, except for that one scene when she weeps and prays for his well being. Even there, there is no helpless sense of loss of the kind that comes from a lost love.
It all boils down to what I have said all along: Jalal is the lover and Jodha the beloved. She will never be capable to his kind of deewaangee; she is no Laila or Juliet. I hope Jalal understands this, for otherwise he is in for a major disappointment.
All that she seems to remember is her hurt pride and her aatmasammaan, not the agony he is going through. This is not my idea of love.
Now he will fall at her feet, literally and metaphorically, and abase himself in an orgy of repentance, but she will not utter a single word of apology for all her cumulative follies that have led to this, including the endless risks he is running chasing after her across the country all by himself, or nearly so.
The part in your post with which I agree unreservedly is this one: It was not Jodha's journey of love and how she transformed from a Rajput princess to a Mughal Begum. It was all about the softening of Jalal and hence, I feel the story has focused more on the evolution of Jalal's love than Jodha's.
This process has been coming along swimmingly. It is not just the evolution of Jalal's love. It is really about the reverse of Darwinian evolution. Jalal has in fact gone backwards from a vertebrate to an invertebrate. 😉He now also resembles a marshmallow left out in the sun, and he is crying enough to solve the water problems of any city in his empire.
As for Jodha's journey of love, I have not seen her go anywhere, whether towards the woman who loves Jalal or towards a Mughal begum. She is still exactly where she was, or nearly so, for she no longer hates Jalal.
How I miss the delightful, sassy, discreetly self-assertive Kajri! She was too good to be true, so no wonder she vanished like a will o' the wisp.
I am sorry to have rained on your parade, my dear, but it is always best to face uncomfortable facts. and not wrap them up in pink cotton candy. Jodha might well prove me wrong and come to love Jalal as he loves her, but that day is going to be long in coming, if at all it arrives!
Shyamala Aunty
PS: As for your major realisation, the Zee tagline was not "from a great warrior to a benevolent king". It was haivaan ko banaaya insaan. Let us not soft soap that! A more ill-founded assertion cannot be found, but still this is trotted out as if it was the Eleventh Commandment!
========================================================================
Originally posted by: Star_girl
This thread is still alive?
What is this sorcery? 😆
Edited by sashashyam - 11 years ago