Minion23 thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3

Detective Byomkesh Bakshy: Make way for Bollywood's new action hero; less of brawn, more of brain

He doesn't flex muscles, neither does he sport six pack abs, doesn't romance the heroine-is rather awkward around them and yet there is this undeniable charm that Dibakar Banerjee's hero Byomkesh has.

There are spoilers in the story. In case you haven't watched the film yet, please come back to it later.

Played by Sushant Singh Rajput, Banerjee's latest 'Detective Byomkesh Bakshy' gives Bollywood an uncanny action hero who uses his brain more than brawn. In an age where six pack abs and flexing muscles is the norm, Banerjee makes the viewer time travel to 1940s era where a young 24 year old Bengali stumbles upon a murder case and realize he has a ticking time bomb in his hand for a case which has the potential to ruin Calcutta. The young good jobless man may not be too clear about where the case is heading, tends to jump into conclusions and even falters at times- but with a razor sharp brain Byomkesh manages to stand out.

Banerjee's 'Detective Byomkesh Bakshy' gives Bollywood an uncanny action hero who uses his brain more than brawn.

#detective byomkesh bakshy #dibakar banerjee #sushant singh rajput #

Banerjee makes the popular detective, who most of us have grown up idolizing thanks to the TV series which featured Rajit Kapoor, very humane and very real.

Byomkesh is not a hero. He is, in fact, a far cry from the usual Bollywood action hero who fights the goons and charms the heroine with equal ease. Bakshy, instead looks down at the floor when a woman tries to seduce him, throws up at the sight of blood and dead bodies, and fumbles around nervously near dead bodies. He doesn't have all the answers to the mystery at once. Funnily, he even faints and let others fight the bad man in the end- only to wake up later and witness the aftermath that his friend and assistant Ajit created.

While a lot of credit should be given to the writers for making Byomkesh's character so believable, it is worthy to mention here that actor Sushant Singh Rajput plays it with utmost conviction. Getting the gawky characteristics to perfection, not once does Rajput let the star stand out more than the actor in his performance. It is a far cry from the roles he has played on screen so far and in addition belongs to a certain period which demands very distinct mannerisms. And Rajput doesn't falter.

While the overall screenplay of the film could be a lot more gripping and thereby increasing the pace of story telling, I'd say that Bakshy's character is very well etched. It is a welcome change to witness a dhoti-clad bhadralok fighting the villain and saving Kolkata in his own charming way.

Minion23 thumbnail

Movie Review: DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY by FENIL SETA

3:10 PM

Posted by Fenil Seta

Detective films are enjoyed by everyone, in my opinion. Who doesn't enjoy racking up the brains and trying to solve the mystery before the sleuth in the film succeeds in his/her endaevour? Shockingly, there have been very few detective films in Bollywood. Last year saw the release of 3 such films - Mr Joe B Carvalho, Bobby Jasoos and Samrat & Co. While the first two were disappointing, the latter was a timepass fare but nothing special. Detective Byomkesh Bakshy however shines and emerges as one of the finest detective films of Bollywood, despite its weaknesses!

The story of the movie: Calcutta, 1942. The very young Byomkesh Bakshy (Sushant Singh Rajput) is an aspiring detective and gets his first case when Ajit Banerjee (Anand Tiwari) approaches him to help him find his missing father, Bhuvan Banerjee. Byomkesh looks at the whole thing practically and logically and concludes that Bhuvan Banerjee has been murdered. Ajit refuses to agree Byomkesh's theory. As Byomkesh tries to prove he's right, he realizes that the case is much deeper and complex and that it is connected with the drug mafia, Japanese invasion, Chinese goons, political party workers etc.

Detective Byomkesh Bakshy has a thrilling start as a mysterious person makes an entry and creates havoc. The opening titlesare too good and the song Jaanam' adds hugely to the impact. It's just superb! From here on, there's no dull moment as Byomkesh Babu tries to solve his first ever case. The introduction of characters like Anguri Devi (Swastika Mukherjee), Satyawati (Divya Menon), Dr Anukul Guha (Neeraj Kabi), Meiyang Chang, Gajanan Sikdar (Kaushik Ghosh), Sukumar (Shivam) and of course Yang Guang add to the mystery and intrigue. The intermission point is a shocker and makes a tremendous impact. Post-intermission, the fun and entertainment continue as the mystery gets deeper. At this juncture, it's no longer about who's the culprit - it's about what led that person to do what he/she eventually did and what shall be gained by that person in the future. It is quite interesting but at the same time, the whole thing gets a bit complicated. Too much of things get clear in a short amount of time in the end resulting in too much of information for the viewers! It is intense and gripping without doubt, though. However, one wishes if the whole complex plot was revealed in a slightly better way to the viewers.

Talking of the performance, Sushant Singh Rajput comes out with flying colours! He's one of the most talented actors today who has already proved his worth with 3 brilliant films. But undoubtedly, he delivers his finest and most accomplished performance in Detective Byomkesh Bakshy! This is a dream role for any actor and Sushant puts his heart and soul into it. The manner in which he exhibits his wit, sense of humour, vulnerability and arrogance has to be seen! Way to go, Sushant! Anand Tiwari plays his Dr Waston-kinda role with utmost sincerity. He's not just another hero's sidekick. He has an important part to play in the narrative and Anand brings out the characteristics of Ajit Babu beautifully.

Swatika Mukherjee is pretty and does a great job in her supporting role. The same goes for Divya Menon. Neeraj Kabi, who rocked in Ship Of Theseus comes up with yet another memorable performance. The actor is sure to go places after this film! Meiyang Chang is adorable as always and does quite well. Kaushik Ghosh, Shivam, Mark Bennington (Deputy Commissioner Wilkie) do a fair job. Takanori Higuchi (Dr. Watanabe) is fine, especially in his entry scene. The actor playing the Chinese goon and his son are quite good.

The music score of the film is quite unconventional and definitely stands out. Jaanam, as aforementioned, is the best of the lot. Calcutta Kiss is foot-tapping while Byomkesh In Love is used in the most unexpected situation in the film that makes for an interesting watch! Background score is minimal but immensely impactful. Nikos Andritsakis' cinematography is arresting.Vandana Kataria's production design deserves lot of praise. The sets looked every inch the Calcutta of 1940s! The VFX (Prana Studios) compliment the sets in helping viewers relive the yesteryears. Urmi Juvekar and Dibakar Banerjee's story is inspired from Satyanweshi, the first story written Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay, the creator of Byomkesh Bakshi. They neatly expanded and made the story more complex so that even the people who have read the story will be in for a surprise. Dialogues don't reflect the period in which the film is set. It is in fact quite contemporary and hence appeals to the modern youth (same goes for editing, by Manas Mittal and Namrata Rao). Screenplay is gripping although it could have been slightly better and easy to decipher at places. One can say the same about the direction as well, especially towards the end. Also, the character of Anguri and her actions seemed unconvincing to an extent. Also, more light should have been thrown on Sukumar's track. But nevertheless, a great effort by Dibakar as always! Here's one filmmaker who has never disappointed even once and always comes up with something entertaining and unconventional everytime! Hats off!

Some of the best scenes:
1. The opening titles
2. Byomkesh meets Dr Guha
3. Byomkesh's first night at the Boarding House
4. Byomkesh meets Anguri Devi
5. Byomkesh enters the abandoned factory
6. Byomkesh's meetings with Gajanan Sikdar
7. The intermission point
8. Byomkesh in disguise
9. Byomkesh gets his blood tested
10. The last 20 minutes

On the whole, Detective Byomkesh Bakshy is a well-made suspense thriller that deserves a watch for its gripping storyline, execution, the beautiful period setting, performances and music. Sushant Singh Rajput delivers an outstanding performance while Neeraj Kabi will go places thanks to this film! It is a bit complex and the goings-on become a bit confusing thanks to the manner in which the mystery unravels so quickly in the end. Nevertheless, a great effort and kudos to Yash Raj Films for backing such an unconventional film and giving it all the support that it requires so that it reaches to more number of people!

My rating - *** out of 5!

Minion23 thumbnail

Interview with Sushant Singh Rajput : I would like to be the first Asian James Bond

"I would like to be the first Asian James Bond"

Sushant Singh Rajput might be just a few films old, but he has never failed to impressed us. Be it as a loyal friend in KAI PO CHE!, a confused lover in SHUDDH DESI ROMANCE or a faithful boyfriend in PK, he has always entertained the audience to the fullest. The charming actor, who will now be seen in the crime thriller DETECTVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! which releases today (3rd April, 2015), in an exclusive interview to Glamsham.com, spoke about his film, his preparation for the character, his favourite detective character, the Khans of Bollywood and much more. Excerpts from the interview:

DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! MOVIE STILLS

Had you seen the television series of Detective Byomkesh Bakshy before shooting for the film?
I saw it, but not as a preparation for Byomkesh. I saw it when it used to come back in 90s when I was a kid. So, it was just like I had faint memories of it when I started shooting for it. The visuals, the mannerisms of Rajit Kapoor, the music & the sketch we use to have of Byomkesh Bakshy, those were the slight distinct memories I had, but never as a preparation for the film. It was only after I did the film is when I saw everything about Byomkesh has already been done.

Did those faint images help you in any way while preparing for the role?
No, they don't. I think the script does and just because I read all the stories of Sharadindu (Bandyopadhyay), who wrote Byomkesh, all the 32 stories, is why I got an idea of the character and the world it was set in and also because the film that Dibakar wrote was a completely new interpretation of the same thing. So, I didn't have to.

When Rajit was playing the character of Byomkesh, he was loved by almost everyone and as it was a television series, it wasn't too glossy still people enjoyed it and religiously watched it, so do you think people will be able to connect with the film just the same way as they did with the TV series?
We need to understand why people got connected with that TV series. We always have this fascination of something that is slightly complex & how a person is very seasoned and his style of working solves it, but the process of is what fascinates us. So yes, why not, we are very clear about our intent as film makers and actors. Dibakar always seeks honesty in whatever we do as actors and just because the script is so fascinating, it's written in a very tight way and also there is a sense of abstractness in the film. And also I'll tell you, this Byomkesh Bakshy is not as seasoned as Rajit Kapur was in the TV series because this is his first case; he is just fresh out of college. He is intelligent and he thinks because nobody is, he has this seduction for anything & everything that's intelligent. So he gets himself into this complex case and then what happens is going to be like how he transforms while solving the case. He is intelligent, but he is not seasoned. He still lacks those fundamental abilities which a very seasoned detective must have. It's like an amateur doing something and very gradually transforming into something.

''In my head, this is the best performance till date''

When you were offered this film, a Dibakar Banerjee film, how was your reaction?

I was very excited; number one-it was Dibakar Banerjee's film, number 2- it was YRF's film and this never happened, Dibakar doing a film with YRF and then the idea of doing something that has already been there for the last 50-60 years doing that in a very personal and a very innovative way. So this idea of doing something very new with the same old thing was very fascinating.

Was it a conscious decision on your part to do DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY!?
Of course, it's always conscious. But, I don't think about the audience when I say yes to a film or when I am shooting for the film. Its only after I am done with the film is when I think that everybody must come and watch it and should like it so that they get entertained and also, I get to do movies like these like I always wanted to do. It's a very conscious decision of doing films.

Byomkesh as a character has always been morally right; in this film will we see any grey shades of you?
Yes you will. You definitely will because more than his idea of what is moral, immoral & what is right & what is wrong, he is a secret of truth and he is fascinated by anybody who is intelligent irrespective of how moral he is. So it's his fascination of solving something very complex and at the same time having that company of somebody who can give him a very intelligent challenge. So these two things are most important to him and not the moral & not what is wrong according to somebody else's point of view. There are many scenes in which this guy knows that the other guy is wrong (the villain) and he wants to have a good conversation, he wants his company just because he is getting seduced by his intelligence. So that thing is the most important for him, also solving something that is slightly complex and then comes morality & everything, so yes, grey shades, very much.

You all haven't revealed much about the villain and there were reports that Aamir Khan was offered this role, so is the villain somewhere close to Aamir or someone who is all well-known as him or we haven't seen him at all on screen?
You have seen him but then we are not telling you who the villain is just because that is one of the things that I solve in the film. So if I tell you who the villain is right now, you will lose the curiosity when you are actually watching the film. So, that is the reason of not telling you who the villain is and nothing else. I can assure you about one thing, he is a fabulous actor and I have done workshops with him. Sorry, he has taken workshops of me as an instructor.

''I don't think about the audience when I say yes to a film''

You have not been the sole lead in most of your previous films, and DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! is entirely your film, if you are offered a good script where you will be playing the second lead, will you accept it?

Of course. I don't think how or what are the things that make a script powerful, but there is something that I can understand when I read a script that ok, this is something that I need to do. Irrespective of the first lead or the second lead, irrespective of the duration that character is there in the film, I'll say yes to a film. So I'll do another film like PK or KAI PO CHE! even after say my three solo hero film's success. The film is more important and getting to be a part of the film is more important.

What about television? If something appealing comes up, would you mind going back?
I am thinking of something that I might be able to pull off. So, we might be doing something on TV and also on digital platforms very soon.

You are amongst the most promising new comers of this industry, how do you feel about it?
I feel very good. I never thought thinking about all the logical reasons that can help me to be in this industry and survive and get the kind of roles that I am getting, so it was a very distant ambition but at the same time I was very sure that one day just because of the sheer reason of enjoying what I do is why I'll get a chance in Bollywood and I'll survive. So these two ideas were always there. And right now when I am actually doing it, I feel fortunate and at the same time I feel very very confident that if the reason remains the same, of me working in this industry, I will survive and I will, I think, do a much better job in the near future.

Which is your favourite detective character?
Karamchand and Sherlock Holmes.

Minion23 thumbnail

Detective Byomkesh Bakshy

Movie:
Detective Byomkesh Bakshy
Director:
Dibakar Banerjee
Cast:
Sushant Singh Rajput, Anand Tiwari, Divya Menon, Swastika Mukherjee, Meiyang Chang
Avg user rating:

Kolkata in the '40s, a missing person, his distraught son, and student Byomkesh Bakshy (Sushant Singh Rajput) who happens to dabble in detective work. The distraught son Ajit (Anand Tiwari) approaches an indifferent Byomkesh for help. When Bakshy makes fun of his situation, Ajit punches him. He then proceeds to become Bakshy's assistant as they unravel the mystery. Such unlikely friendships and interesting equations are rife in the movie.

But what is the case? A man is missing, Bakshy is on his trail, a politician seems to be involved, a glamorous actress named Anguri Devi appears, freedom fighters are baying for blood, there is unrest among the drug mafia, and the timid house-help serves chai with shaky hands.

Anyone could be involved in this, and in the larger crime linked to this man's disappearance.

And as we watch Bakshy get deeper into the case, we often stop and admire the sights and sounds unfolding (often distractingly) in the background. In fact, there is an interesting scene where Bakshy is sitting in a tram in the foreground, merely as an accessory, while the vehicle movies slowly and we watch the bustling street scenes of pre-Independence Kolkata. Kudos to Vandana Kataria for an excellent production design and cinematographer Nikos Andritsakis for capturing its every texture. Now, the film begins on a gruesome note, and there is enough grime to keep your toes curled. There are brutal murders, all the characters are suspect, some move stealthily in the dark, and motivations run deeper than one thought.

Writer Urmi Jivekar and co-writer and director Dibakar Banerjee, in a very Tarantino- esque turn, brings in hearty black humour in the midst of it all. The film also has incredibly arresting portions like the detective and the culprit sitting across, playing a sort of game, where Bakshy guesses his modus operandi and the villain looks on admiringly, apologizing for the mistakes that got him caught. Sneha Khanwalkar's superb, trippy music adds to the fun.

The film is a triumphant whodunit as, even if you guess the culprit, you won't guess his motive. And the film keeps you hooked through the trials and tribulations that Bakshy encounters in cracking the case.

But the biggest strength of the film yet is the character of Byomkesh Bakshy, first created by Bengali writer, Shardindu Bandhopadhya decades ago. Bakshy has the sharpest mind, instincts, and courage veering on stupidity, but also carries the humbleness and awkwardness of an amateur. He's a genius who doesn't brag and comes across as a whiz kid, who's still learning the ropes, but is still good enough to nail the biggest fish.

Sushant Singh Rajput plays Bakshy with an understated elegance. He plays Bakshy as someone who appears calmer than he actually is, the passion brimming under the surface. Rajput gets the portrayal right-from the passion, to the humour to the innate clumsiness and lack of success with love.

The scene-stealing supporting cast, especially Anand Tiwari, Swastika Mukherjee, Neeraj Kabi and Meiyang Chang, is an absolute treat.

The actor (keep guessing) playing the central villain is so formidable, he transforms this character into one of the most reprehensible onscreen villains one has seen off-late. Where the film falters is that it leaves too many unanswered questions. However, if you avoid being too exacting, this is an unputdownable film.

Dibakar Banerjee (Love Sex Aur Dhokha, Oye Lucky! Lucky Oye!) serves up a film that's an immersing whodunit with memorable characters, set against 1940s Kolkata that was in the midst of known and unknown strife. Whether you are on tenterhooks as another murky twist unfolds, or you laugh despite yourself even though the joke is outrageously taking place in a scene full of dead bodies, you'll definitely enjoy this film.

One also recommends you follow Bakshy's fondness for chai and follow it up with a discussion on the red herrings and what could happen next. Yes, the film leaves you with a sequel possibility, and this one will be awaited!

Rating: 4 stars

Rate:
Minion23 thumbnail
Content Removed

Hindustan Times

Minion23 thumbnail

DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY: Splendid, spectacular & mesmeric! [4/5]

A man goes missing. The detective offering help doesn't even blink or think before giving out his verdict that it is a possible case of murder. His one of many simplistic theories draws even the son in suspicion. As a viewer, you don't need much time to realize that he is not your usual unrealistically intellectual' beast like Sherlock Holmes and is not at all a detective but a detective in making. Dibakar Banerjee's splendid-spectacular & mesmeric murder-mystery thriller DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! may not be able to flabbergast you with terrific twists and reckless revelations but then, it also never ceases to engage with enticing visuals, imaginatively authentic art-design to recreate the nostalgic period, acquisitive music score, brilliantly written characters and some really well-directed sequences for a cinematic treat.

It is Calcutta of 1940s. Japanese are constantly trying to snatch the control over the city from the British. Chinese drug mafia wants to make it a world drug capitol. The young ones are fighting for freedom. The newborn in business' Byomkesh Bakshy [Sushant Singh Rajput] is trying to prove his theory of missing man's murder for his forced client Ajit [Anand Tiwari]. He is the same who joins Bakshy later as his sidekick or subordinate. The connecting threads lead him to a powerful politician, his sultry & seductive mistress [Swastika Mukherjee], an intimidating dentist-cum-Japanese tutor and a kind and obliging [Neeraj Kabi of SHIP OF THESEUS']. For the most parts, Bakshy is only seen finding links between two loose ends. For times, when we all are modified to watch razor-sharp detectives seeing it from miles and acting against it in an electric-speed; there is hardly anything in the plot you would describe as extremely surprising' but the ambiguity in the air never goes missing.

DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! is stylishly shot gorgeous looking film where everything you see is fabricated, but how aesthetically and inventively! This is the world nowhere close to what we have seen in Doordarshan's Byomkesh Bakshy series. The case-to-be solved here also doesn't have limitations of being just another family affair. Dibakar Banerjee takes it on a bigger canvas to make Bakshy's first case the biggest of what we have seen before. His Calcutta is nothing but a painting with brilliant art-design powered with nostalgic posters on wall, approaching vintage status' ambassador cars, man-pulling rickshaws on streets and Bata leather shoes for instance. In one momentous shot, we see camera following Bakshy-Bakshy bumping into a stranger-camera following stranger-stranger bumping into the man following Bakshy and then again camera getting back on track to follow the man; all this exercise through the windows of an ambassador car. See it, and you won't miss it.

With subtle and deadpan humor, film is a delightful watch. When at a drug-making company's office, Bakshy jokes about him providing blood-sample that it is a must for every candidate before the job-interview, we see the whole lot of young candidates disappearing like a Jeannie. In another just after the blood-bathed climax, Ajit instructs his home-servant to make some tea as the police can visit the crime-scene anytime soon. Though Sushant looks very much in skin of the character, it's the supporting cast that excels in the performance-sheet. Anand Tiwari as Ajit is a spot-on. Neeraj Kabi makes his act a balanced yet exceedingly outshining one. One more significant contribution one can't ignore is the outstanding music score by Sneha Khanwalkar. My first move after the movie got over was to put the album on my playlist.

At the end, Dibakar's DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY! is like a strong and effective opium intake once taken you will sure get addicted to it, sooner or later. Expect the unexpected while watching it but don't forget, even Bakshy is a man with many drawbacks. Don't expect him to beat goons single-handedly. Watch it for being one of the most magnificent looking films of simple nature and nostalgic feel. [4/5]

Minion23 thumbnail

In an introductory scene in Detective Byomkesh Bakshy, which comes soon after one of the most iconic and brilliantly done opening shot, Dibakar Banerjee focuses his camera on to his central character sitting in a tram. Even though the camera pans straight towards the innocent face of the protagonist you also get to see how gorgeous the production design is. How impeccably he manages to show the good old Calcuttawith all the vintage cars, trams and double-decker buses.

Detective Byomkesh Bakshy as the title suggest is a small piece in the tale of the Bengali detective. He is raw, rude, arrogant and good with his eyes. He manages to notice the minute details in one's character. Does that mean he is perfect? No. After all he is human. The good thing about the film is Banerjee knows it and manages to throw in a small buildup before Bakshy gets into his first case in what looks like a franchise in the making.

Set in pre-independence Calcutta, the film has a lot of things going on. Firstly, we get two plots which you know will have a definite cross-over. One of them deals with the Japanese trying to bombard and win Calcutta over, involving the drug-smuggling scene. The other deals with a murder mystery, where Ajit (Anand Tiwari) approaches Bakshy (Shushant) with the case of his missing father. Banerjee very brilliantly sets up his main character's arrogance as he puts down four possible outcomes of his father's whereabouts. Bakshy is a little skeptical at first but later when he learns that his lady love is not more his lady love, decides to get into the case. What follows is a classic old-school whodunit tale that fuses love, lust, betrayal, politics, drug-lords, patriotism and naivety in equal measures.

I will warn people before-hand. This is not a fast paced thriller as the trailers suggest. Infact, it's pretty inert throughout the first half. For a fast-paced whodunit tale Byomkesh Bakshy's dark themes wouldn't have left a mark and am glad Banerjee took the route of showing how the case evolves taking up small twist and turns as it goes forward.

"Duniya main aaise hi kuch nahi hota." says Byomkesh as he stumbles upon clues and new characters who do lead him in the right direction, but he has to face more hurdles than he can imagine. I know people who go into watching the film will complain about the premise not being thrilling enough. I agree it is not as thrilling as one will expect but I think the film manages to replicate the 1940s era and the things which happened there to a greater extent. This slow-burner never gets its morale down and there is something or the other going on in every frame. Dibakar has put so much work into the films detailing that non of the frames feel out of place. The no-filter cigarettes, the low-cut blouses, even the houses with a wooden framework and a big central veranda all speak-out brilliance.

The character of Bymokesh Bakshy is very well fleshed out. For around 20 minutes into the film you see a subtle sadness on his face, maybe its the lost love or maybe its the lack of excitement that doesn't arouse him. The film shifts gears and gets into the intriguing phase when he discovers that there's a murder at stake. He glimmers in excitement, pretty much like Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes.

As I said before the film is not very thrilling. For an intelligent lot of people, it might even be predictable. But there's no denying the fact that those intelligent people just won't notice how unpredictable Dibakar Banerjee'scharacters are. They are not just two faced assholes but strangely there is insanity, vulnerability and selfishness in every single one of them. The interesting part of the film is, even though we see Bakshy battling his eye-lashes and solving every step of the ladder with ease, he is also portrayed as this naive fellow who doesn't really understand that the road less traveled by is not always the right road.

"Sach ke aas paas ka jhooth pakadna mushkil hota hai", remarks one of the characters. I think this statement is a meta for the viewers as well. If they try to decipher every single lie in the tale, they'll understand that a story like this can be penned by anyone. What they don't understand is every lie they put in has to be equally balanced with a truth and Banerjee manages to over-shadow every film-maker in that aspect. Even though he does go into the throw-in-the-interesting-twist-just-before-the-interval cliche. He manages to move the film forward bringing in one after other interesting twist and turns.

Between all the glam and glow, the film manages to be very grounded. There is no over-the-top melodrama. There is no rotten egg in the seemingly complex way of story-telling which makes this and incredible experience. There are a few laughs here and there as well. Specially the part where you see two bihari body-guards all oiled up. The great thing about the movie is, even though there are not many exciting moments the seldom few leave you breathless, and that an achievement on its own.

I loved how Bakshy closes his window every time there's a girl in the balcony showing his distress for love. Shushant Singh Rajput completely own the roles of the savvy, charming and arrogant master-mind. I fell in love with the sexy, saucy counterpart of Irene Adler (Anguri) played bySwastika Mukherjee. There's also the immensely talented Neeraj Kabilast seen in the brilliant Ship Of Thesues. He is a treat to watch here. Everyone else does their part pretty convincingly and there's no one who is a sore to the eye. Sneha Kanwalkar's music is brilliant, so is the background score. The cinematography is flawless and the production design by Vandana Kataria deserves all the praises. Special shout-out to Yashraj Production, after this years Dum Laga Ke Haisha and the upcoming Titli, I sure hope things are going in the right direction.

Final Verdict: Detective Byomkesh Bakshy is a brilliant film. I hope it gets the love it deserves so that we get to see another well made film in the next episode of the Indian Mastermind. MUST WATCH!

Minion23 thumbnail

DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY MOVIE REVIEW

Release Date : Apr 03,2015
Detective Byomkesh Bakshy (aka) Detective Byomkesh Bakshi review

Review by : Anita, Kaushik L M
CAST AND CREW
1 of 2
Production: Aditya Chopra, Dibakar Banerjee
Cast: Anand Tiwari, Sushant Singh Rajput, Swastika Mukherjee
Direction: Dibakar Banerjee
Screenplay: Dibakar Banerjee, Urmi Juvekar
Story: Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay
Music: Various Artists
Cinematography: Nikos Andritsakis
Editing: Manas Mittal, Namrata Rao

While every genre of a film gives you a specific feel, a detective story will always make you want to think about minuscule things and observe small details that you wouldn't have noticed otherwise. Detective Byomkesh Bakshy is one such film that is impactful and will make you start thinking like a detective while you watch the film. This brilliant piece of fiction taken in the 1940s will make you get immersed in the silver screen and you may not want to come out of it.

Directed by Dibakar Banerjee and with story inspired by Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay's fictions, Satyanveshi' and Pother Kanta', Detective Byomkesh Bakshy makes you sit at the edge of your seat from the starting to the end credits. Byomkesh played by Sushanth is a detective who goes about solving a murder mystery. This film is one of the best performances of Sushanth as he has convincingly played a detective and has submerged himself into the character. The character's look, with the trim mustache and the authentic Bengali attire, deserves a special mention.

Adaptation to excellence

This film is a fictional adaptation of Sharadindu Bandyopadhyay who has written about 32 Byomkesh Bakshi stories between 1932 and 1970 with one incomplete story at the time of his death. During that time the character Byomkesh received popular recognition through TV serials, films, radio series and comic strips.

Be it showcasing the time period very precisely, delivering the dialogues in an extremely convincing manner or maintaining the costumes and make-up to utmost reality, the film has given nothing less than top-notch. Speaking of the time period, we usually relate the 1940s era to Indian freedom struggle, but Dibakar Banerjee has smartly incorporated the impact of World War 2 in West Bengal in this film.

A complete surrender to the script

The production designer of this movie has quite literally surrendered to the script while showcasing scenes in the streets of Calcutta, the set designs for each sequence, the properties used in the background and more. From the little detailing of the cigarette brand, properties in a house like chair, table and cot, vintage cars, subtle yet bright colors used in the backdrops to the old radio sets and ancient newspapers, the production value was something to be highly appreciated. Even from the cinematography standpoint, the visuals were impeccable complimenting the production design work, thanks to Nikos Andritsakis. Being a complete two and half hours film, editors Manas Mittal and Namrata Rao have been very precise and taut.

Dibakar's visual magic

Post films like Shanghai and Bombay Talkies, Dibakar Banerjee is set to give an out and out entertaining and gripping story with a keen eye for detailing. The screenplay of the movie is so tight and stiff that, all the knots will be knitted fully before you come out of the theater. With versatile characters and many performers, this film is one complete package catering to all center audience. The performances of Neeraj Kabi as Dr. Anukul Guha, Swastika Mukherjee as Anguri Devi, Anand Tiwari as Ajit Bandyopadhyay, Meiyang Chang as Kanai Dao and other cast have been spaced out so well that, they will deviate your thoughts for the right reasons. They have all been directors' actors who have delivered excellent performances.

While the story unfolds to more characters and clues, the scenes were tied together with complete continuity. Case in point, the scene where Byomkesh leaves the house while shaving half-way through, and a few scenes later where he appears shaven one-sided. Such intricate detailing has to be appreciated.

BGM - A surprise treat

In a serious detective story that makes your conscience very focussed and non deviant, the music score is the only element that gives you a relief from listening to continuous dialogues. The BGM of Detective Byomkesh Bakshy will swing you to different moods and genres of music. You can expect tracks swaying you through various emotions. The music tracks are composed by artists from different backgrounds. While some tracks are remade, some retain the novelty. Kudos to everyone who worked for the sound designing.

The long, interesting table sequence in the end explains the film in one go and it demands complete devotion to the screen. The Western influences in the end credits roll and while showcasing bloodshed add to the style and impact of the film.

The film ends in a bloody brilliant, adrenaline pumping manner and all eyes would be on the sequel now.

Verdict: An arresting investigative story and a must-watch!
( 3.5 / 5.0 )
Minion23 thumbnail

DETECTIVE BYOMKESH BAKSHY!

Yash Raj Films and Dibakar Banerjee Productions' Detective Byomkesh Bakshy! (UA) is a murder mystery solved by a detective. The film is set in Calcutta in pre-Independence India.

Ajit Banerjee (Anand Tiwari) is concerned about his father, Bhuvan Banerjee, who disappeared two months earlier. He approaches Byomkesh Bakshy (Sushant Singh Rajput) to help him trace his father. Byomkesh gets on the job and soon realises that Ajit's father has been murdered.

He now sets out on a journey to understand who murdered Bhuvan Banerjee and why, and to trace the murderer. He chances upon some clues and keeps getting closer and closer to the murderer with every clue. Along the way, a few people are murdered by unknown persons, probably because they would spill the beans about the murderer of Bhuvan Banerjee before Byomkesh Bakshy. The finger of suspicion points to different people at different times.

Not only is the revelation of the killer shocking but so is his motive. Byomkesh Bakshy realises along the way that the murder of Bhuvan Banerjee was just the tip of the iceberg and that the murderer had very big and insidious plans.

Writers Urmi Juvekar and Dibakar Banerjee have adapted the original story of Saradindu Bandyopadhyay. The story is interesting as it involves the audience in the guessing game. But it becomes heavy and boring and confusing post-interval. The screenplay, penned by the duo, moves at a fairly fast pace in the first half. However, the scenes to unravel the intent of the killer get boring after a point of time. In other words, while the attempt of Byomkesh Bakshy to solve the murder mystery throws up an interesting and engaging drama till the point where the identity of the murderer is revealed, the bigger drama of why the murder was committed does not remain as interesting, and not just because the same is confusing. Besides, many of the characters have difficult (Bengali) names and are played by unknown faces, making the drama only more difficult to comprehend. A lot of shooting has been done in the dark as the scenes are of the night and although these would not normally have irritated the audience, they do so because the drama gets boring after a point of time.

On the other hand, what holds the audience's interest is the intelligent way in which Byomkesh deciphers clue after clue and keeps getting closer to his target. And since the screenplay involves the audience in the guessing game, it does manage to entertain upto a point. The duo's dialogues are natural and interesting but definitely often lack the punch.

Sushant Singh Rajput is natural and easy-going in the title role. He plays the titular character well but it would've been far better if his character had been made more endearing. Anand Tiwari does a fine job as Ajit Banerjee. Newfind Divya Menon is quite nice in the role of Satyawati. Swastika Mukherjee is truly impressive as Angoori Devi. Neeraj Kabi shines as Dr. Anukul Guha. He is supremely natural and steals the show whenever he comes on the screen. Meiyang Chang is alright as Kanai Dao but it must be added that he gets limited scope. Mark Bennington performs ably as deputy commissioner of police Wilkie. Takanori Higuchi has his moments as Dr. Watanabe. Dr. Kaushik Ghosh is alright as Gajanan Sikdar. Shivam lends fair support as Sukumar. Pradipto Kumar Chakraborty (as Puntiram), Arindol Bagchi (in the role of Ashwini Babu), Anindya Banerjee (as Prafulla Ray), Moumita Chakraborty (as Leela), Peter Wong (as Underboss), Tirtha Mallick (as Atanu Chandra Sen), Piyali Ray (as Dr. Watanabe's receptionist), Kawaljeet Singh Banga (as the Sikh taxi driver) and the others provide the desired support.

Dibakar Banerjee's direction is fairly good but, like the script, caters more to the class audience. His narration also seems a bit too indulgent. Music (by Madboy/Mink, Sneha Khanwalkar, Blek, Peter Cat Recording Co., Mode AKA, Joint Family and IJA) is functional. Lyrics, by Madboy/Mink, Sneha Khanwalkar, Rishi Bradoo, Suryakant Sawhney, Sandeep Madhavan, Akshay De and IJA, are alright. Background music (by Madboy/Mink, Blek, Peter Cat Recording Co., Mode AKA, Joint Family and IJA) is good but too loud at places - so loud that the dialogues are not clearly audible, at times. Nikos Andritsakis' camerawork is splendid except that the night scenes sometimes become difficult to comprehend because of the limited lighting. Action (Parvez Fazal Khan) scenes are okay; some of them are very gruesome. Vandana Kataria has done a creditable job of the production designing by re-creating the atmosphere of Calcutta of the 1940s. Editing, by Manas Mittal and Namrata Rao, could've been sharper.

On the whole, Detective Byomkesh Bakshy! is an ordinary fare which does not give the audience the thrill of a murder mystery. While it will be liked by the classes, its acceptance among the masses will be limited. It will, therefore, not do good business at the box-office.