TALKING POINT with pooja kanwal

Aarohi.. thumbnail
16th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Networker 2 Thumbnail

You started off with films like Uff Kya Jadoo Mohabbat Hai. So then why did you move to television?Television just happened when I was shooting for a Punjabi film and a movie called Blue Oranges. I just couldn't resist this offer because it sounded so original and innovative. And television is as big as films these days.

Rajshri was a huge banner to start with. What kind of roles were you looking at then?I always wanted to do author-backed roles. And I am happy with the way my career has shaped up. I have got the chance to essay many different roles.

How would you define your role in Palampur Express?I play the role of Pavni, a very ambitious girl who is very focused on her running. While girls her age are discussing crushes and exchanging makeup, her only goal is to bring glory to her country.

Sport is not an explored genre on Indian television. Do you think this serial will be accepted by the audience?Of course. Sports as a concept has worked very well in Bollywood. Lagaan, Iqbal, Chak De India, Jo Jeeta Wohi Sikandar have been superhits. I think this show is going to be special because Indians have never seen this concept on TV.

Are you a sports enthusiast?I am a fitness freak, but not a sports enthusiast. However, now I have been training for running. Besides, I also watch a bit of cricket.

How did you prepare yourself for this role?I had to work very hard on my look. Girls in the mountainous regions are not very lady-like. So I had to work on my walk and also my voice. It had to be high-pitched. Also, I wear slippers and tie them up most of the time during shoots, because the concept of keds is not known to many here. I have to always tie my hair into a ponytail because it is distracting otherwise. I have also been watching Olympics CDs to see how they run and so on.

You have done films in various languages. Hasn't language ever been a barrier to you?Never. Although I have done four films in Kannada, I cannot speak the language. But if I get two pages of dialogues in Kannada, I will be able to deliver them in an hour, expressions in place.

What's next on the agenda?Nothing much. I am focusing on Palampur Express, because I need to be in every frame here

plzz click the thank u button and do comment😳

LeadOxide thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
she is sweet, I wish all the best
khan-hk thumbnail