mishtidoi thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
There was a segment in news, where they showed Daadi, Shivanand and Rudra...doing pooja and dhwajarohan of their panth...seemed like they all are together now
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
My dear Adiana,

Not necessarily big, the garuda chinna, it can be small if Thappadiya Mai has it on her nazuk ankle, but it has to be visible and easily identifiable,if only for identification purposes. Of oourse there would different levels among the rakshaks, I agree with you on that.

I cannot of course affirm that it is so, and Utkarsh can turn things upside down when he pleases, but somehow I do not think Shivanand is a rakshak, or his mother either. His father was one, and Rudra is one, and as for the rest, we seem to have too many candidates for 5 seats, as in musical chairs! I am not letting go of my dark horse Kuba, not as yet!😉

Maya, as she is now, seems unlikely rakshak material, for things happen to her, she does not make anything happen. And the only times her act is convincing is when she is having an asthma attack!

There was one very significant point daadi made last night. Two, in fact.

First, she told Rudra that the Saraswati Kund had dried up before the 1989 attack by the 'Veshes on the Sri Sant Panth ashram. I had assumed that the drying up was after the attack, and because of it, but now it clearly preceded the attack. A very intriguing point, that.

Two, she mentions that in the course of his researches on the links between the amrit, the Saraswati Kund, and the garuda chinna, Shivanand had been corresponding with several foreigners. Now these were clearly not part of the Cardinal's group, which means there must be a second, "good" group of foreigners involved with all this mystery of the Mahakumbh.

This brings me to the enigma of Katharine, and her satellite phone pal. It is clear that she is not part of Prof. Rao's group, even clandestinely, for he is spying on her. That leaves only

(a) the Secret Society, that is to say, in Prayag, Greyerson, or

(b) if she is a rakshak, as seems to be widely surmised, maybe there is yet another group of "good" foreigners, the ones with whom, as daadi tells Rudra last night, Shivanand was in constant contact, who are seeking to bring the rakshaks to the Mahakumbh and brief them about their mission.,

(c) A third option would be a combo of these two, that Katharine is a mole, or double agent, for the second, good group, pretending to work for Greyerson and the Cardinal.

One thing is for sure, she is not what she seems to be. We have to wait and watch.

As for Ashoka, I shall watch it as long as Siddharth is there. It is bound to improve after he arrives, it can hardly get any worse! As for the NR of Helen (She of the face that launched a thousand ships and burnt the topless towers of Ilium would have had a fit if she had sighted this namesake of hers!😉), it is no worse than importing Chanakya into Ashoka's reign, as seems likely to happen, and having characters apparating from Magadha to the North West frontier and beyond to Khorasan at will.

I did not know that in the fourth century BC, there were Persians with Muslim names who say Mubarak ho😡! Darius and Xerxes would be turning in their graves! The whole thing is a worse mess than the latter part of Maharana Pratap, where a gigantic Bairam Khan was shown being defeated in hand to hand combat by a 14 year old Kunwar Pratap in an encounter that never ever happened, and a 14 year old Jalal, already called Akbar, was shown roaming the countryside with Pratap and falling in love with a Marwar princess. I gave up at that point, so I do not know what else they cooked up subsequently.

Shyamala

[adiana12]You knw Shyamala, we are putting a lot of weight on the Garud chinna being big and visible and of rakshaks being mentally in sync with their jobs - as far as what has been presented is that the rakshaks are the protectors of Amrit and there are seven - its also been mentioned that there would be some who are weak - so I feel that there would be levels of strength ala the show Maharakshak on Zee where there are the lower level rakshaks and the maharakshak - so too here we have Rudra as the Maharakshak - and I feel the next level shd see two rakshaks of similar strength which I feel would be Charles and Maya - and the level below maybe Shivanand, Daadi, Thappadiya mai and perhaps Katherine.

As for Greyerson statment on Shivanand's tattoo not being garud - if Shivanand can survive what Greyerson put him thru then can Shivanand not distort his tattoo to mislead the Polish group ??? Also Daadi's angst could be becoz she is a rakshak and is pushing the same away due to events in her past - she seems to be one who is battling a huge inner conflict - one thing is for sure - the rakshaks would not only have the magnetic pull for the Amrit, they would also be pulled towards each other and that does put Shivanand, daadi, maya, thappadiya mai and katherine to being the remaining rakshaks.

As for Ashoka, the helen angle is pure NR, they needed a reason to put Bindusaar in the same vicinity of Dharma and so created the magadha riots, the sp effects are okayish and nothing to write home about and the actors are competent but they have not connected with their characters - they are acting the characters, they are not the characters - but I am giving the show sometime - but story is fast paced and if this pace continues then the senior Ashoka maybe seen by June this year - and they did manage to keep their details right regarding clothes, living space, music and activities of the varied cultures they had shown yesterday - and that is something in their favor.
sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
Well, Charu, I cannot help wishing that RT would go back, to Episodes 3-13, for choice, with No. 31 added on. That one is Sandhya's all time favourite!

Shyamala Aunty

Originally posted by: chitterati

Well Aunty, as they say once you go RT, you dont go back 😉

adiana12 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Well it seems from Shreya's post that we all missed one spot where the chinna could exist without being seen - the bald pate of Shivanand seems to be the place !!! And it makes sense as Sivanand is the more cerebral of the lot !!!
Arijit007 thumbnail
12th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
hmm, new promo? lagtaa hain epic tv ke baahar bhi dekhnaa padhegaa.
sp108 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: adiana12

Well it seems from Shreya's post that we all missed one spot where the chinna could exist without being seen - the bald pate of Shivanand seems to be the place !!! And it makes sense as Sivanand is the more cerebral of the lot !!!

Adi...decode this for me...chinha on head - intelligent Rakshak, then what about chinha on the back , and Mai's chinha on the ankle 😉😆.

PS...I don't know what chinha it was. Shivanand has a tattoo of "Shiva" on his hand. The one on his head was not very clear to me.
adiana12 thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail
Shreya that coding - decoding was me being cheeky !!! As for the tattoo of Shivanand - we will knw soon enuff where it is but I do think he is a garud - another point is why did the Veshes send Maya to bring Rudra to prayaag ??? What made them think that she would be able to pull it off ??? And I do not believe they are foolish enuff to think he would fall for her charms and be led like Mary's lamb - my guess is that they knw Maya is one of the rakshak's and that the rakshak's feel the pull towards each other and would unknowingly drift towards each other. This is interestingly the concept of Quantum mechanics and Particle physics.
sp108 thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 Thumbnail Visit Streak 365 Thumbnail + 5

Originally posted by: adiana12

Shreya that coding - decoding was me being cheeky !!! As for the tattoo of Shivanand - we will knw soon enuff where it is but I do think he is a garud - another point is why did the Veshes send Maya to bring Rudra to prayaag ??? What made them think that she would be able to pull it off ??? And I do not believe they are foolish enuff to think he would fall for her charms and be led like Mary's lamb - my guess is that they knw Maya is one of the rakshak's and that the rakshak's feel the pull towards each other and would unknowingly drift towards each other. This is interestingly the concept of Quantum mechanics and Particle physics.

Rudra didn't fall for Maya's charms(if any 😆)...only Maimui did...Rudra goes with Maya only because Maimui wanted him to. And mainly, to avenge Maimui and Udiya Baba's death by killing Khoye Paye Pandey. So Rudra had his own selfish interest and a clear purpose for going with Maya. But what you say is correct, Rakshak's feel the pull towards each other, but only because fate intervenes to have them together at Mahakumbh. They are born with the purpose, to guard the nectar, and the Gods ensure that they will be there at the correct place at the correct time to achieve their life's purpose. This is what I can make of it. So I really doubt if Maya is a Rakshak.

PS - I was hoping for a cheeky reply for my questions too 😉
ddsoaps thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 4
Dear Akka,

My deepest gratitude and heartfelt thanks for going through the effort of explaining things to me in such a detailed manner.

Once again it is not just a pleasure reading you but informative and educative.

This has really helped me understand things now. Thank you

Warm regards

Diana

Sandhya.A thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail
The biggest disappointment in Ashoka was Chanakya. He looked like a well fed very satisfied pujari without even an ounce of sharpness or astuteness. Whoever is the actor playing Shivanand, he was very good as Chanakya. Such sharpness and such a diction. I haven't watched the whole series though. 😕 He certainly has that something plus.👏

Btw don't swamis of different panths these days speak Shuddha Hindi. Balivesh says majboor, haalat, and many commonly used terms too.

Aunty, yes. RT looks more of a clown these days. 😭But as you say an actor should be judged by his best. Also by how often they can deliver that best even in ineffective scripts. But Mahakumbh is a sort of script that would bring outthe best of any actor. Like Amitabh's role in Khuda Gawah - a script woven entirely around the protagonist that gives him ample ground to shine and prove his mettle . Yet the plus moments in MK are few and far between. That is why i am not satisfied. I would vote for Shivanand Maimui and Siddharth any day. They shine/shone in almost every frame they appeared.

Edited by Sandhya.A - 10 years ago