Kundali Bhagya Launch / Ekta's Interview

Samrahaisha thumbnail
8th Anniversary Thumbnail Explorer Thumbnail

Kumkum Bhagya's spin-off Kundali Bhagya is all set to premiere on television on 12th July. The producer, Ekta Kapoor, launched the show at Delhi today, along with the new cast Dheeraj Dhoopar, Shraddha Arya, Anjum Fakih and Manit Joura. Kumkum Bhagya has enjoyed a successful run on the TRP charts and has been one of the most popular shows on television since three years. However, the news of its spin-off received mixed reactions from people. While some were excited to know Pragya's (Sriti Jha) family history, a few others didn't find the plot of the new show enticing enough.

Ekta felt that KKB was lacking something and that's when the seed of Kundali Bhagya was sown. "The beauty of Kumkum Bhagya was that it gave a lot of young girls a chance to believe that simplicity is beautiful. Somewhere when the story moves forward, there is kidnapping, murder and drama. But the simplicity is still there. And I felt that something was always missing. That's how we came up with Kundali Bhagya, she revealed.

Ishqbaaz's spin-off Dil Bole Oberoi has worked wonders for the production house and the channel. So was it DBO's success that inspired her to come up with a spin off? "Spinoffs are successful internationally also. It's like a parallel universe but a world you'd want to see. It's interesting, Ekta said. She also added that she is quite proud of her fellow female producers, "Gul Khan (Producer of Ishqbaaz and Dil Bole Oberoi) has done some fantastic work in the last few years. Female producers out there are doing some really good work. Gul, Rashmi Sharma, Benafair Kohli, everyone.

Speaking on why she opted for a spin-off instead of making a new show, Ekta said, "I have many times done different things. There was a show of mine, which was called Kutumbb, I did a spin-off of sorts with that where I put the same characters and changed the whole world. If you see, we were the first ones to come with the concept of a time leap, which is like a spin off but in the same show. You take a few characters and take the time ahead. Spin off is something that I have been wanting to do it since Grey's Anatomy. A lot of American shows have done that taking a character and spinning a show around them. Like even when the F.R.I.E.D.S' characters went ahead to do different shows, I have been looking forward to doing something like this. All my other shows have five or more strong characters so it was not possible. I wanted to make a spin off of YHM (Yeh Hai Mohabbatein) but it's not working out with the story line.

When asked how did she go about the casting, Kapoor said, "Sriti is perfect for Pragya. But Preeta needed a little more swag to her. And amongst all the auditions, I found these two perfect. I don't see how new or old the faces are when I'm casting as long as they suit the script. Shraddha Arya will be seen playing Preeta's role while Anjum Fakih will essay Srishti's part.

Dheeraj Dhoopar will be seen playing the role of Karan Luthria, a star cricketer. "This is something I have never played earlier so I'm pretty excited. I hope the audience likes me, he said.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All I have to ask everyone, that are we all intrested to know Pragya's father's history? Kumkum Bhagya is not like Baahubali where we wanted to know why he was killed by kattappa nor it is like Naagin serial where we were thinking around 7 to 8 months that why did ritik die? Or why did rocky killed shivangi at the end? Its just KUMKUM BHAGYA. The story just revolving around Pragya and her fate, vermillion and her husband. From where suddenly this Pragya's father history is need to be revealed? And if it has to be revealed, than reveal this also why Abhi's parents are dead? 👏👏

Edited by Samrahaisha - 8 years ago

LAV2725 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3
I was some what right, initially when first spoiler about KKB spin off came out, I opined out of all Balaji shows, only YHM has some scope for a spin off since they took so many leaps and introduced so many young pairs..so Ekta & her writers indeed tried with YHM but failed, and hence she made KKB her bali ka bakra 😛

If one reads all these articles related to Kundalibhagya and current launch interview, it still sounds more like a mockery of the word 'spin-off' in this context.. 😃

If no core plot is picked from KKB to expand more in the new show, and if no body from the existing core KKB starcast gets to have major screen space in this new show on an ongoing basis.. then what spin-off is this, has any journo questioned Zee biz head and Ekta on this mockery?? Kundali means Horoscope has any jouno asked her is your show title hinting about pushing astrology/horoscope matching beliefs big time thru your leads story?😆 😆

If a stranger old man Raghuveer's cameo role has been solely introduced in KKB all of a sudden so that he can kick start new show KDB then based on how Raghuveer has described his two daughters to Abhigya, both the sisters and female leads of this new show are a replica of Pragya & Bulbul's characters.😛

It just sounds like a copy cat title and copy cat lead roles characterization to bank on Abhigya popularity, KKB brand name and for grabbing initial TRPs, and Ekta herself admitted indirectly to grab eyeballs she is launching it.. Who knows Zee and Balaji writers may be goofing up big time and risking even KKB's brand name with confusing promos and spoilers or this may even work out with some bored Zee viewers? lets discuss after 2 mths!

Anyhow KDB's males leads are replica of Abhirab and female leads are replica of Prabul as per character sketches.. will not be amazed if a replica of double battery Suresh and main villain Aliya character sketches ofcourse with another vamp, also get used.. 😃 I'm convinced that its a show with two middle class sisters and their love story with two rich brothers who are poles apart..irony hits roof top as it is being called a spin-off, how innovative and creative! 😆 😆

We can't even treat it like Zee and Balalji are coming up with a new show on Zee at 9.30pm, with a new cast, new characters, new leads and a new story and wait for it excitedly. 😕 If someone from KKB audience is interested to start a new Balaji social drama in 2017 which will be mostly a replica of initial 3-4 mths of KKB episodes that were telecast during 2014, then it would be easy to watch, if at all they don't get confused between both shows! 😛
Edited by LA2725 - 8 years ago
LAV2725 thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 180 Thumbnail + 3
Excerpts of Ekta's interview from two latest TC articles are highlighted below. Pls look at bold lines. sort of indicates Ekta's focus, interest, involvement and concentration in Zee shows and especially in KKB content has been far minimal during the last couple of years. And surprisingly she isn't even aware that DBO, spin-off of Ishqbaaz airing on Star plus hasn't been doing well for a long time.

For 3 yrs it has has been imprinted in Zee audience minds - that Pragya's 'own sister' will and shall always be only Bulbul whether she is shown to be alive or dead, that Sarla is a widow single mother who raised single handed both her daughters by running a marriage hall, that Pragya's father and Abhi's parents have died in their respective childhoods..

Ekta and her team didn't see the risk that KKB fans won't relate to Pragya calling somebody else as her 'own sisters' all of a sudden in a promo other than Bulbul, and Sarla being shown as a mother of some other two new girls other than Pragya & Bulbul.. 😒

Ekta Kapoor, Managing Director and Creative Director of Balaji Telefilms says, "Over the last two decades, Balaji Telefilms in collaboration with Zee TV has created some great content. With our new show, Kundali Bhagya, we present a first-of-its-kind concept an all-new interesting and engrossing show that emerges from the sub-plots of an already existing show. 😛

We will introduce Pragya's sisters - Preeta and Shrishti and the Luthra brothers- Karan and Rishabh. We're hopeful that audiences will fall in love with each of these endearing characters as we have gone through hundreds of auditions before locking the impressive young talent.

The writing for this show is extremely strong in terms of characterization and the engaging screenplay should leave audiences hooked at the end of every episode. 😆

Ekta says she will not repeat the "mistake" of showing kissing scenes on TV again like she did in the Ram Kapoor and Sakshi Tanwar-starrer "Bade Achhe Lagte Hain".

"I don't have them now. 'Bade Ache Lagte Hain' was the last one. That's one of my biggest learnings. Ratings for that show, which was six and five on regular episodes, went down to two," she said.

"But at the same time on digital platform it received 10 lakh views. I know how it feels when you are watching TV with your parents. It's not that edgy content is bad, but you prefer watching it separately," she added.

About "Kundali Bhagya", which will be aired on Zee TV starting July 12, Ekta said:

We don't question on TV. We want to entertain, give a lot of family values and we show real stories also, but they cannot be questionable stories.

They have to be acceptable to everyone in the family. With 'Kundali Bhagya', we are making shows which are way more progressive featuring women, who say no to dowry, go out to work and say no to any kind of pressure. 😃

(We didn't forget this is what a highly educated, strong, confident, simple yet self esteemed professor Pragya did in initial months of KKB, but what happened after that in kkb and to its script and writing?)😆
Edited by LA2725 - 8 years ago
Samrahaisha thumbnail

Originally posted by: LA2725

We didn't forget this is what a highly educated, strong, confident, simple yet self esteemed professor Pragya did in initial months of KKB, but what happened after that in kkb and to its script and writing? 😆

So true La. But who can explain this point to our Miss Drama Queen that this spin off will just confuse the audience to the hell!

Moreover Abhi's parents history is still pending, so now what? Next year, another serial will be launched based on Abhi's parents, his Dadi And Dasi love lifes, and it will be named Kismat Phooti Bhagya.

And than after so many years, when Kumkum Bhagya will have 5000 Episodes, and when Abhigya Mehra and Prabhi Mehra will be grown - ups, than there will be another spin off named Mehra Bhagya

👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏👏

Just For Fun Exxxtttrrraaa Stretched Version Of Our KKB
Mitushi_Mitz thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
Neither i am interested in Pragya's sisters nor Abhi's parents. I am not going to watch a completely different show with different characters just because Ektq is using @bhiGya's popularity!! Instead they could have shown Rabul's story. Or Pragya's relation with her baba should have been shown in her own show!! Whatever it is, i hope Kundali Bhagya gets a new forum soon. So that we can stop discussing about it here!
Samrahaisha thumbnail

Originally posted by: Mitushi_Mitz

Neither i am interested in Pragya's sisters nor Abhi's parents. I am not going to watch a completely different show with different characters just because Ektq is using @bhiGya's popularity!! Instead they could have shown Rabul's story. Or Pragya's relation with her baba should have been shown in her own show!! Whatever it is, i hope Kundali Bhagya gets a new forum soon. So that we can stop discussing about it here!

C'mon, its a spin off of KKB. I guess it si fine to discuss here. If not than i am sorry for posting this.
Samrahaisha thumbnail

Originally posted by: Samrahaisha

C'mon, its a spin off of KKB. I guess it is fine to discuss here. If not than i am sorry for posting this.

Samrahaisha thumbnail

C'mon, its a spin off of KKB. I guess it is fine to discuss here. If not than i am sorry for posting this.
Mitushi_Mitz thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Samrahaisha

C'mon, its a spin off of KKB. I guess it si fine to discuss here. If not than i am sorry for posting this.

You need not to be sorry. I am saying in general that we should have a different forum for it!! There will be people who will be watching this show and everything will get messed up here!!
Samrahaisha thumbnail

You need not to be sorry. I am saying in general that we should have a different forum for it!! There will be people who will be watching this show and everything will get messed up here!!

Oh ok,