Part 54
Inder gripped the window grill tighter as he anxiously waited for Milind's phone call. He would give it another ten minutes and then go to the police. There is no point in waiting anymore. He can't believe that he was waiting for that one man's phone call who he had called every name in the world last night. The whole day had been very difficult for him. Mr. Sharma gave him a very odd look when he had walked into his office. He had placed a newspaper on his desk, which Inder ignored for as long as he could. Curiosity got the better of him and he picked up the paper at last. As expected, there was a column regarding Milind Mishra and the new girl seen with him along with a photo of Milind and Prachi smiling at each other. Much to Inder's surprise, the column was in no way degrading but speculating about how the mighty business tycoon is rumoured to have lost his heart to the simple and beautiful Indian girl and was head over heels in love with her. The columnist had mused about how one finds love in the least expected place and in the least expected way and Milind Mishra was not any different and wondered if wedding bells would be heard in the near future. Mr. Sharma continued to give him strange looks and two of his business friends had called him asking him about the article. Inder assured them that they would be the first to know if it was true. Thankfully, being new to the city, he didn't have many friends. It would have been a different matter if it had happened in Mumbai or atleast till his friends and relatives hear or read about it. Inder had pondered over a lot of things the whole day but never expected the evening to turn into this nightmare. Looking out into the dark night, his heart cried out for his child. Where could she be? Was she safe? He had been silently praying all evening. Dread filled him with every passing minute and he didn't dare look at Premlatha. The fear in his eyes would break her completely. God, please don't let anything happen to his gudiya. Just keep her safe, he prayed again. Oh, how he would give anything to turn the clock back to last night. How he wished he could undo everything he did last night. What if Prachi……….? No, he denied vehemently. God can't be that merciless. He won't punish him in that way. His hands gripped the rail tighter and he jumped up as Neev's phone rang. His grip loosened as saw the relief in Neev's face.
"Oh, thank God, she is safe", said Neev, sighing in relief. "Where is she, Milind? We are coming to get her", he spoke urgently and Premlatha took the phone from him again.
"Milind, is she okay? Can I talk to her please?", she sobbed and her eyes widened as she listened, "She is sleeping……….in your home. But you were out of town all day", her shocked eyes met Inder's and understanding slowly dawned on both of them. Her eyes silently reassured Inder's scared eyes. No, her daughter would never walk out on them. She would have gone there just to find some comfort, she said to herself.
Milind listened to the silence on the other end. He so wanted to tear Inder to shreds but that will have to wait. She had a very worried and concerned mother to reassure. "Aunty, I want you to trust me. I don't know what time Prachi reached here. But she is asleep now and I don't want to wake her up just yet. But I will bring Prachi back to you safely tonight. Please trust me on this. I need to spend some time with her. But I assure you, she will be safe with me", he said sofly.
Premlatha struggled. It was already late now. "Alright, Milind. Bring her back safely and beta, she might not have eaten anything all day", She said hesitantly her eyes silently pleading with Inder to understand.
Milind smiled, "I will make sure that she eats something. And thank you", he said and hung up.
With a sigh, Neev and Inder sat down, relief and happiness evident in their eyes. Their Prachi was safe. That was all they needed to know. And Inder knew that Prachi will be home soon. Milind will bring her home.
Milind walked back into his bedroom with a tray laden with hot vegetable soup, and some coffee. Prachi will have to eat something. He was not taking her back till then. Setting the tray on the sidetable, he sat next to her. Her position hadn't changed. Gently kissing on the forehead, he called her name softly, "Prachi". She didn't stir and he shook her gently, "Wake up, sweetheart. You have to eat something".
Getting disturbed, Prachi struggled pushing against his hands feebly, "No………..go away……………leave me alone", she moaned completely distressed.
Milind held her struggling body in his arms, "Shhhhhhhhhh, Prachi, It's okay. It's only me, darling. It's okay", he soothed her gently until she stopped struggling.
Prachi's mind atlast registered his voice, his touch. "Milind…….", she called his name softly and then more urgently as her hands touched his face, her eyes flickered open with difficulty. She repeated his name, her hands hugging him tightly, face buried in his neck, "You are back…………You are here……", she said almost to herself, tears streaming down her face.
Touched by the strength of her emotion, Milind held her close, lying down with her on the bed. Kissing her head ever so softly over and over again, his gentle voice kept reassuring her, "It's alright, sweetheart. Everything will be alright. Calm down".
After a long time, Prachi's sobs settled down into occasional hiccups. She held him closely, feeling his hand stroking her back, his warm lips on her head and she just lay in his arms hearing him tell her that everything would be alright. This was what she wanted to hear since last night. This was where she needed to be since last night…the reassuring safety of his arms. Fresh tears filled her eyes. Pulling back slightly, she looked up at him.
Milind eyes were tender as he cupped her face. Kissing her tears away, he asked, "What's all this, Prachi?"
Everything that happened the night before, poured out from Prachi, the anguish and shock and she repeatedly said sorry for her father's behaviour and asked him not to be angry with her.
Milind chided her softly, "Don't be silly, Prachi. Why would I be angry with you for what your father did? I told you before as well not to get too emotional and create problems for yourself at home. Leave it to me, Prachi. I can't see you like this, darling", he said and Prachi buried her face in his chest.
"I am sorry, Milind. I just couldn't take it anymore. I argued and then Papa………..Papa slapped me…….", she sobbed and Milind's arms tightened around her, his eyes hardening.
Struggling to sound normal, he asked, "When did you come here, Prachi?".
Prachi frowned, "I don't know. I never even realised that I was sitting in the beach till almost 2 pm and then I just walked home. I wanted to stay here for sometime. Atleast here I would feel your presence, feel that you were with me. I was feeling very dizzy and then I just went to lie down in your bed. It was very comforting and I could still smell you. I didn't know when I fell asleep", she said softly.
Milind struggled as a wave of tender emotion surged through him. She said she walked home…….to his home. Lifting up her face, he kissed her lips, "I am sorry, darling. I was very busy in the meetings. That's why I couldn't pick up your call. It was already very late when I called you", he said.
Prachi gave a small smile, "It's okay, Milind. I just wanted to be with you for sometime. I am glad I came here. See I am already feeling much better.And I have to appologise to Papa. I shouldn't have argued with him like that. I made him so angry, that's why he………", her voice trailed off, worried about what Milind would think of her father. She frowned suddenly, "But how did you come so early? God, I forgot to call mama and tell her that I will come by myself. Papa would be worried if he didn't find me at the Uni. I have to go home now, Milind. What time is it? Is it already 4 pm? Let me call Papa", she spoke quickly already trying to get up.
Milind held her still, "Prachi, It's 10 pm now", he said softly.
Prachi's eyes widened with shock and horror. "What? 10 pm, ………oh my God, Papa……..Mama..............they would be so worried! How could I sleep for so long? What would they think? Oh, how can I be so careless, so stupid! I have to call them now, Milind", very agitated, Prachi tried to get off the bed and the sudden movement caused a wave of dizziness and she swayed.
Steadying her, Milind made her sit against the bedrest. "Prachi, listen to me. They know that you are safe. They were very worried and were looking for you everywhere. Neev was trying to reach me and I was busy on the phone. Then when I knew, I was out of my mind with worry. Then atlast I found you here. But now your parents and Neev know that you are safe. So, don't worry", he calmed her down.
Oh no, her parents knew that she is at Milind's home. What would they think of it? Understanding how scared everyone would have been, she felt ashamed of herself. What was she thinking? She looked at Milind apologetically, "I am sorry, Milind. You must have been very worried", she said softly.
Milind cupped her face, "Worried is a very mild word, Prachi. I went to hell and back in that one hour. I can't explain to you how I felt when I found you sleeping here", he said huskily.
Prachi squeazed his hand, "I have to go home, Milind", she said.
Milind nodded, "Yes, I have promised your mother that I will bring you home safe, but only after you eat something. I have some hot soup for you", he smiled as Prachi made a face.
"Soup, yuck, they are so bland", she grimaced.
Milind laughed, "I knew you would say that. I doused it with black pepper and I am sure that would satisfy your taste buds. Now, drink it if you want to go home soon", he ordered.
She obediently drank every spoonful that Milind fed her. Tucking her hair behind her ear, Milind smiled as she licked off the soup from her lips, "You can be such a child sometimes, Prachi. And I love you more for that", he said and kissed her gently on her lips.
As he moved back, Prachi's hands held his face, her eyes looking into his almost pleading. The naked need in her eyes made Milind almost gasp. "Prachi……..", he called her name huskily and with a groan covered her lips with his. Prachi clung to him as if her life depended on it. A loan tear rolled down her cheek as she kissed him back almost as feverently as him. Her need for him scared her and she protested as he moved back.
With emotions running high, Milind fought for control. He wanted to erase all the pain and hurt she was feeling. What can her father do if didn't take her back now? Afterall, she had come to him herself, eventhough for different reasons. They could get married tomorrow and Inder won't be able to stop them. Prachi won't be able to refuse if he insisted.
"Milind", Prachi said his name huskily and Milind pulled her back to him almost forcefully. His mouth sought hers again roughly as anger and arrogance rose in him. She was his and not even her father can change that. Prachi was trembling when he ended the kiss and he hugged her tightly and buried his face in her neck. His mind was in turmoil and after a long time, commonsense and reasoning took over. He had promised her mother. He felt calm as he pulled away and smiled at her, "Go and freshen up, Prachi. I am taking you home".
Prachi was trembling as she walked to her home along with Milind. As the door opened, she almost shrank behind Milind afraid to look up. Neev welcomed Milind in and Milind walked in and gently led Prachi forward, "It's okay, Neev. I am fine here. Take Prachi, inside".
Premlatha who was hovering at the door, rushed towards her daughter hugging her close, "Are you okay, Prachi? We were so scared, beta", she said, her voice thick with emotions as she held a sobbing Prachi close. "Thank you, Milind", she said gratefully and Milind nodded.
With one last look at Milind, Prachi walked in. She passed her father and hesitated. Not daring to look at him, she mumbled a quick apology and fled to her room with her mom rushing behind her. Milind looked at Inder who was looking everywhere else but him. Understanding the situation, Neev left them alone.
Milind walked towards Inder and stood in front of him, his face a mask of anger and disgust. Inder looked at him, his eyes burning with mixed emotions, anger, hatred and shame. Milind spoke slowly and clearly, "I can see that you are ashamed of your actions, Mr. Shah. You might as well be, as I have no respect for a man who raises his hand on a woman, no matter who she is. You know, Mr. Shah, I didn't have to bring Prachi home tonight. I could have thrown her an ultimatum, to choose either you or me. Especially after last night, she won't find me at fault, if I felt that way. And we both know what her choice would have been, if I had pushed her. She loves me too much to refuse me anything. But she would never have been able to live with it. The pain would have been too much for her because she adores you, worships you. Unlike you, Mr. Shah, I love her too much to see her in pain. She means the world to me and I will do anything for her happiness. But next time, I may not be able to see any reason. I would simply walk away taking her with me and you won't be able to do anything to stop me. My love would have eased her pain too. But I don't want that to happen. There is still time, Mr. Shah. My parents will be in India next month and they want to meet you. It's up to you now. Just remember one thing, Mr. Shah, ……your daughter's life is with me,…. only me". Leaving a stunned looking Inder, Milind walked away. Inder stood there for a long time, Milind's words echoing in his mind.
Prachi gave a watery smile as Neev walked in as soon as her mother left. Glaring at her, Neev smacked lightly on her head, "Silly idiot. You know you scared me shit", he chided her.
Prachi's smile became wider, "Why? Did you think that I jumped into the sea or what?", she teased.
Neev didn't even smile and continued to glare at her, "That wasn't funny, Prachi", he said heavily.
Prachi grimaced, "Sorry, Neev. It's just that I spent the past few mintues with mama reassuring her that I was not thinking about doing anything stupid", she said apologetically.
"I know you much better than that, Prachi", Neev said softly.
Blinking her tears, Prachi hugged him, "I am sorry, Neev. I know how worried you would have been. I didn't realise that I had fallen asleep", she said.
Neev's arms tightened around her before moving away swiftly. He had felt like he was thrust in the middle of a horrible nightmare which felt too close to his heart. He tried to push it to the back of the mind that Prachi had complete access to Milind's home. It was easier to not think about these things too much. She was safe and that was all that mattered to him. After talking to her for a few minutes, he left to get some sleep.
Prachi was restless. She hadn't spoken to her father yet. Was he very angry with her? She wondered anxiously. She will have to appologise to him properly. Just as her eyes closed, Inder walked in. He stood looking at a sleeping Prachi for a long time. The swelling on her cheek had come down. His hand gently stroked her head and he bent down to kiss her head fondly. He caught a drift of her murmur and stilled, "Sorry………Papa", whispered Prachi in her sleep. Tears filled Inder's eyes, "I am sorry too beta. Mujhe maaf karde, Gudiya", he said softly. He placed her mobile phone next to her bed and walked out of the room, closing the door behind him softly.
The first thing Prachi noticed was her phone next to her bed. "My phone!!........Did Papa come here?", she wondered silently and a smile spread on her face. There was a definite spring in her steps when she came down for breakfast and Premlatha smiled at her. Smiling at Neev and her mother, she showed the the phone and whispered, "Papa has given it back to me". As they smiled at her, Inder joined them.
Busy eating his breakfast, Inder turned to Prachi, "Prachi, I will drop you in your uni only today. You can come home on your own in the evening. And haan, from tomorrow onwards, leave early in the morning. I won't be dropping you anymore. Understood?", he said casually.
Prachi beamed at him, "Yes, Papa". Just as they got into the car, she turned to him, "Thank you, Papa", she said softly. Inder smiled at her and patted her cheek. He would do anything to see that smile on her face. But tolerating Milind Mishra was a big price for that and he wondered if he was ready to pay it.
Prachi made complete use of the last few days of her Uni. Milind was surprised when she called him from her mobile and his smile widened when he understood the subtle gestures from Inder. Mr. Inder Shah was on the mellow, he thought to himself. Good going. The day before the annual day of her Uni, Prachi had gone out for dinner with Milind and Pooja and Vicky had joined them. How long had it been since she went out with Milind? She had been beaming with happiness. Pooja and Vicky and their very obvious love for eachother had made the evening even more romantic. Pooja had teased Prachi to the hilt and Prachi hadn't left a chance to pull her leg. She had missed Lisa and Peter. But they both were in Ooty and was coming back only after a week. The annual day celebrations in her Uni were also fun. She had put her heart and mind in her studies during her study holidays and Inder was impressed. Inder could easily make out when she was on the phone with Milind. Her shy smile and blushes gave her away and he struggled to ignore it and stay normal.
Prachi's exams had gone well. Only her assignment was to be handed in and though she had another week, she was almost done apart from last minute additions. It was another normal day when she left home in the mid morning to go to the bookstores near her Uni in search of some new articles that had just been published. The April sun was hot and she was sweating by the time she reached the plaza where another big bookstore had opened. Inder and Neev were in the office. She had spoken to Milind in the morning and he was busy at work too, but she was going to meet him later that afternoon. She smiled at the bright blue cloudless sky and with a happy smile she walked in. Never in the wildest of her dreams did she expect the day to turn out so differently from what it looked then.