Rits3016 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 6
Precap

"If you shoot then I will forget that you are my son" She spoke firmly though her eyes were red with tears that were still unspilled.Her hands were trembling , yet she was able to shield Manik and nandini with her petite frame.

But Pulkit was very sure of his aim , without a warning he shot a bullet which passed through Manik's shoulder.

"Ouch" he winced in pain and fell on the floor.

Hey guys

Gear up for the last chap of this last story.I know am pretty late but I hope your wait will be worth what comes up.Will update the chappy tomorrow!!!

sneha_glamarous thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
I'm very much excited... but last chapter... makes me little sad...
sadiya51 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 4
Scary promo
Pls do give last one long long long update
With lots of ananya manan moment
Dashreyaa thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 6
Omg it was a scary promo...how did he reach to manan...he even shoot at manik's shoulder...god someone please save manan from that psycho...
Rits3016 thumbnail

DIL KA RISHTAA

CHAPTER 14

Nandini had just tucked Ananya in the bed and switched off the lights a few minutes back but her eyes were sleep deprieved.The next day was such an important day of her life but unfortunately her mother was not beside her.Today she was missing her amma and Avani bhabhi more than anyone else.A lone tear rolled down her eye as she recalled the happy memories of her past.

Her amma had always pampered her like a little princess.Nandini had grown up overnight when she surrendered herself to Manik.

"I wish I could meet you amma"She sobbed silently .Suddenly her phone rang bringing her out of the trance.

"Come outside . I am waiting" Manik spoke hastily as soon as Nandini answered the phone. She looked at the clock in a state of shock.It was almost half past 1.

"Kaun hai ?"Navya who was sleeping beside Ananya asked in a sleepy voice.

"K...K..Koi nahi" Nandini lied and Navya drifted to sleep again.

"Manik its too late..we have to get up early..."She whispered into the phone but Manik cut her sentence just before she could complete it.

"I said I..am... waiting...outside"He spoke one word at time ,eliminating all her chances of trying to convince him completely.He then disconnected the phone .

---------------

"Manik ...I wonder why are you so impatient"Her pitch was higher than normal as she settled herself on the front seat of the car.

"Arrey baba , good news hai..for us" Manik spoke and nandini's expressions calmed down instantly " And I wanted to tell you personally"

"Good news" Nandini smiled excietedly "Tell me naa"

"Nandini , Neyonika has been convicted"Manik spoke "I almost forgot that we had a hearing in the court this morning.It was only when I reached home that I realised and called up my lawyer , who told me that the judgement was in our favour.Neyonika has been given life time imprisonment for betrayal and murder of Dad"Manik heaved a sigh of relief and looked up towards the stars "Now Dad's soul will rest in peace"

"This is truly the best news of the day" Nandini smiled and palmed his cheek " I am sure dad will be happy to know that his murderer has met her true fate now"

Manik nodded and gulped down the lump in his throat.

"Things seem to be falling back in place now.I was so lonely a few months back but today I am glad that I have you and Ananya in my life...I love you so much Nandini... I love you more than anything"

His confession was true and heartfelt and reached her heart .

"Vaise there is someone else also...who is my lifeline" Manik spoke " Whom you don't know ..."

"I know ...you are talking about Mukti naa, your sister"

"Tumhe kaise pata?" Manik asked in astonishment.

"Cabir had told me once about her " Nandini replied.

"I wish she was present on our special day with us" Manik gave a look of disappointment " But she has her final sem exams , so she wont be able to make it.Anyhow , I will inform her and once her exams are finished , she will come over to reside with us"

Manik looked at Nandini once he had finished speaking.She looked so lost in her thoughts.

"Hey...what happened"He nudged her shoulder to gather her attention.

"N..Nahi...ku..kuch bhi to nahin" she stammered looking everywhere but at him.

Manik sensed that something was definitely bothering his Nandini.

"look at me" He tilted her head to make her look into his eyes " Now tell , what's the matter"

Tears welled up in her eyes as her eyes met with his.

"Nandini , aren't you happy with our wedding?" He prompted and instantly Nandini covered his mouth with the back of her palm.

"Aise mat bolo please" She replied in a soft tone.

"Then speak up ...what's bothering you jaan?"He asked again wiping off her tears with his fingers " Batao .."

Nandini gulped down the lump in her throat " Manik...ye kaisi shaadi hai hamari... where niether of our family members will be present "

Manik let out a deep breath .He realised she missed her family but he was helpless.

"Relax" He kissed her forehead before speaking " I know sab kuchh jaldi me ho raha hai, but I promise ki ek din sab theek kar dunga. Now smile"

"I trust you"She smiled with wet eyes.

"But I love you"He closed his eyes and moved forward to kiss her.

She leant forward and pecked his lips and before manik could realise what she had actually done , she had already hopped out of the car.

"See you at 4 PM Mr. Malhotra"she winked before blowing a flying kiss and then she ran inside.

Manik smiled to himself as he saw her retreating figure.His eyes followed her as she finally eloped into darkness and went inside.He let out a deep sigh and drove off towards home .

-----------------------------------

"Ye Majnu Manik tumhe raat me bhi sone nahi deta naa" Cabir spoke as he saw Nandini entering the house " Thank God tum log ki shaadi ke beech me ek hi din hai..nahi to baba re.."

Nandini smiled and walked towards him.

" Cabir , I need a favour from you.Actually . I wanna give a surprise to Manik and I need your help."

"Why not" Cabir replied.

Nandini told something to Cabir , to which he readily agreed.

NEXT MORNING

"Good morning jaan" Manik spoke as soon as his call was answered from the other side "Missing you sooo much.Am just waiting for the clock to strike 11 so that I can see you...Hayye intehaan ho gyi intezaar ki "

"Aapki intezaar ki i ntehaan bahut jaldi khatam hogi majnu sahib" Cabir answered from the other side leaving Manik all baffled as he was expecting it to be Nandini .

Manik gulped down the lump in his throat to relieve the embarrassment at that moment.c

Cabir chuckled as he sensed Manik's state of mind " Bro , Nandini is getting ready in her room.Dont worry , teri amanat ko safely tujh tak pahuncha denge , sharp 4PM.Be there"

"Hello...baat to karwa..." Manik tried to hold on to the call but alas it was too late.

"Ab directly mandap me hi baat karna...Cya bro" Cabir literally hummed the last few words in a teasing tone and he was undoubtedly successful.

Manik was completely pissed off but unfortunately he had no other option.

"Aise friends ho , to one doesn't need enemies" He spoke to himself as he slammed the phone on the bed " Tujhe to main dekh lunga Cabir ke bachhe"

-------------------------------------------------------------------

"So you are the one who called me up" Pulkit spoke in his usual stern tone as he looked at Harshad from top to bottom " Look at this picture and confirm...Is she the same girl?You will not be spared if your news is false"He frowned.

"Sir , the news is 100 percent true..the girl who is residing in Malhotra Mansion " Harshad replied confidently " Issi ne mere Manik sir ko apne pyaar ke jaal me fasaya hua hai. Infact they are getting married today itself"

Pulkit was surprised at once.He had himself killed Nandini on that fateful night , but how did she escape.His eyes shot red with rage as he looked at harshad again.

"Alright then...abhi kahan milegi ye" Pulkit asked firmly after a few seconds.

"I will tell you Sir , but before that you have to promise me ki aap Manik Sir ko koi nuksaan nahin pahuncha..."

Harshad tried to negotiate but just before he could complete his sentence , Pulkit took out his pistol from his pocket and pointed it on Harshad's temple .

"I don't like people who speak so much "Pulkit's tone had the warning to make Harshad shut up " Ab tum seedhe seedhe batate ho ya main khud pata laga lu"

Harshad was deeply regretting his decision now.This was the same man whom he had helped and he was now pointing gun at him.

"But Sir...Manik.." Harshad tried to speak again but there was loud noise of a gun shot and boom the bullet was through Harshad's neck.He thumped on the floor with a jerk.

"Pata lagao ki iske wo Manik Sir kahan hai" Pulkit instructed one of his boys who followed his instructions readily.

All of them left thinking Harshad to be dead.

-----------------------

Harshad laid lifelessly on the floor.He was counting his last breaths.He was feeling immensely guilty of all his deeds.With all his might he pulled out the phone from his pocket and dialled a number.

"Hello..."His words were broken as he tried to speak " Police ...I ...I need help"

Saying this he somehow told them his address.

IN THE TEMPLE

" Dont get so impatient beta . wo log bas pahunchte hi honge"Maya tried to calm down Manik whose eyes were oscillating between the entrance of the temple and the clock alternately.

"But aunty , atleast they should be in time today..." He turned around to speak to Maya and just then a huge smile appeared on her face.

"There she is" Inderjeet spoke as he looked at Nandini who was escorted by Cabir and Navya as the three of them walked forward.

Manik's heart skipped a beat as he heard the sound of her anklets.He closed his eyes and turned slowly to look at his beautiful bride.

"Stunning"He murmured to himself and rolled his eyes slowly as he saw Nandini in a completely new avatar.She was wearing a red kanjivaram saree and a gajra in her plat.Her skin was glowing exceptionally and there was a saffron tint on her face.

Her crescent shaped eyebrows inclined slightly as she saw Manik staring at her. He yelped at being caught.

"Welcome beta ji"Inderjeet moved forward and wished all three of them.While Cabir and navya discussed about their further proceedings , manik's eyes were locked with those of Nandini.

"If you guys are done with seeing each other , so can we start with the rituals" Cabir s voice interrupted the love birds and both of them got conscious of their surroundings .

Everyone started laughing seeing Manik and nandini turn red with embarrassment.

"Chaliye pandit ji shuru kijiye" Inder instructed the pandit ji who was standing beside the havan kund.

"e...ek minute please"Manik spoke and all faces looked at him in astonishment " I have a surprise for Nandini...Look there"

Manik pointed his finger towards the entrance of the temple where Nandini's amma stood with her Avani bhabhi.

Nandini blinked her eyes twice to ensure that she wasn't dreaming.

"Amma...aap" She ran towards her and hugged her.

"Meri bachhi" amma spoke as she hugged back Nandini.Numerous tears trickled down their eyes amma kissed her forehead.It was such an emotional scene that , tears welled up in everyone's eyes.

" Mujhse nahi milegi Nandu" Avani bhabhi spoke and Nandini stepped forward to hug her .

Manik came forward and touched Amma's feet.

"Thankyou beta , thankyou for telling me that my daughter is fine and safe with you"Amma spoke to Manik " God bless you both with a happy married life"

"Nandu beta" Amma looked at Nandini " Manik ne hi haemin yahan bulaya , aur hamare aane ke sabhi arrangements bhi kar diye"

Nandini looked at Manik in admiration and murmured a thankyou under her breath which reached him and he nodded in response.

"Vaise , even we have arranged a surprise for Manik" Cabir spoke up and now all eyes were on him.

"Bhaiii" Mukti came running inside and clinged to Manik.Manik's eyes welled up with joy as he saw his sister.His feelings were indescribable.Only he knew how much his heart was longing for her but he had calmed down Nandini on the previous night , hiding his own feelings conveniently.

"But you had your exams , didn't you?" He asked pulling apart.

"Oh c'mon Bhai" Mukti replied with a huge grin " Your marriage is more important than anything else"

"But..."

"Chill bhai , there is something called re test also.So relax and just introduce me to my bhabhi and niece"

Manik smiled and introduced Mukti to Nandini and Ananya.Cabir had already told Mukti about Ananya and she was more than happy to meet her little niece.

"You be the prettiest bhabhi...Bhai is very fortunate to have you"Mukti remarked " and Ananya is the cutest baby " She kissed the tip of Ananya's nose and Ananya giggled back.

Mukti moved forward and greeted everyone , who were equally happy to see her there.

"Ab shadi ki vidhi shuru karein?" Pandit ji asked and instructed Manik and nandini to take their seats.

He started chanting the mantras and instructed Manik and Nandini to proceed with the rituals.

After the sacred vows were taken , Pandit ji asked Manik to smear vermillion on Nandini's forehead and put Manglastutra around her neck.

"aaj se aap dono pati patni hue" Pandit ji announced happily and everyone clapped including ananya.Hardly did the little soul know as to what was going on , but she was completely enjoying the scenario, flipping from Bhua's laps to that of nani and mami's turn by turn.

"Saat janam ke saathi" Cabir teased .

"Pehle ye wala janam to poora kar lo" A stern voice gathered their attention and all faces looked up to find Pulkit standing at the threshold with a few men behind him, all with their guns in their hands.

"Pulkit" Pushpa's jaw dropped open as she stood on her feet .

"Haan main"He smiled devilishly and spoke " Tumne kya socha , mujhe pata nahi chalega ki meri behan jinda hai.."

"Suniye ...aap" Avani stepped forward and tried to speak but one glare from Pulkit and she froze on her place.

" Behna ...ek baar to tu bach gayi " He grinned sheepishly and pointed his gun towards Nandini" Ab kaise bachegi"

Manik dived and snatched the gun from Pulkit and just before he could stand back on his feet , Pulkit took out another gun from his pocket and pointed at Manik.

Now both of them stood with their guns pointing at each other.

"Lagta hai tumhe marne ki jyada jaldi hai ...Jeeejaaji" He grinned again and shot at his aim.

" Maaanik " Nandini shouted in despair .Thankfully Manik dived again and the bullet missed its aim.But in this process , Manik's gun slipped from his hand and fell on the floor.

"Tum to bach gaye jeejaji" Pulkit laughed " Koi baat nahi, one more try"

But just before Pulkit could shoot , Pushpa grabbed the gun lying on the floor and pointed at Pulkit.

"Ruk jaa Pulkit" She spoke rigidly , holding the gun with trembling hands.

Pulkit was surprised at his amma's gesture " Tu mujhe maregi amma " He asked in a rude tone ,disappointed with his mother's response " Aur wo bhi iss Nandini ke liye , jo hamari poori community ka naam badnaam kar rahi hai , inter caste marriage karke"

"Haan marungi...community ka naam to tune badnaam kiya hai Pulkit .Love knows no community..."Saying this Pushpa went and stood in front of Manik and Nandini, still holding the gun in her hand.

"If you shoot then I will forget that you are my son" She spoke firmly though her eyes were red with tears that were still unspilled.Her hands were trembling , yet she was able to shield Manik and nandini with her petite frame.

But Pulkit was very sure of his aim , without a warning he shot a bullet which passed through Manik's shoulder.

"Ouch" he winced in pain and fell on the floor.

"Pulkit" Pushpa shouted and without batting an eyelid , shot a bullet in his leg.Pulkit also fell on the floor.

Just before Pulkit's men could react , the police came .

Everyone gathered around Manik.Inderjeet called for the ambulance while Cabir narrated everything to the police inspector , who immediately arrested Pulkit and his goons.

----------------------------

"Tum theek ho naa" Nandini asked as soon as Manik opened his eyes onn the hospital bed.She sat beside him since he was unconscious , praying for his well being every single second.

"Hmmm" manik nodded and lifted his head to sit up but failed in the attempt.

"Hey wait"Nandini spoke in an alarming tone and got up from her seat to help Manik sit up with the support of the back rest " Fine?" she assured before putting her hands off him.

He nodded again and just before she could realise he pulled her with a jerk so that she fell on him.

"Better now" He winked sheepishly and Nandini understood his intentions as he wrapped his free arm around her frame.

"You cant stop being naughty naa" Nandini patted at his chest playfully and he winked again in response.

"uhhu uhhu" They heard a gruff clearing of throat and Nandini stood up on her feet immediately realising that Mukti stood on the threshold with Ananya who had just woken up from slumber.

"Thank God bhai , you're fine" Mukti heaved a sigh of relief " We all were scared especially Nandini"

Manik glanced at Nandini who seemed to be drawing back her tears.

"Papa...mama" Ananya forwarded her hands on seeing her parents.Nandini moved forward and Ananya hopped on to her.

" Arrey relax baby " Nandini patted her head to pacify her " Mama is here and so is papa"

But Ananya again and again gestured to be with Manik.Nandini took her towards Manik and placed her beside him.Manik kissed her forehead and she sat calmly in his arms.

"She needed her father" Mukti smiled as she saw the father daughter duo enjoying each other's proximity.

"Aap log thoda romance kar lo and then I'll send everyone inside " Mukti winked and excused herself from there.

"Why were you scared?"Manik asked Nandini in a soft tone as soon as they were alone.

"Manik , you were shot...because of me.Tumhe kuchh ho jata to"

Manik smiled and pulled her hand to make her sit beside ananya.

"As long as your love is there to protect me , mujhe kuchh nahi ho sakta" He palmed her cheek and spoke "Trust me when I say that"He wiped off her tears with his thumb and kissed her forehead.

Manik then lifted Ananya and placed her on Nandini's lap " And we shall live as a happy family , forever...together."

He spoke as he took Nandini in his warm embrace and she nodded happily.

"Papa...mama...Aanya" Ananya giggled and the room was filled with their laughter.

*****************************THE END**********************************

Phewww!!!! Finally I am done , hope you guys liked it.So till we catch up again , my best wishes to all of you.Also , have a happy and safe Diwali.God bless all!!!

monstermanik thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
nice update ...

happy ending ...
liked it
butterfly7 thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail + 3
lovely ending
i will miss this story
thank you for penning down such a beautiful story
will there be an epilogue ?
Rits3016 thumbnail

Originally posted by: butterfly7

lovely ending
i will miss this story
thank you for penning down such a beautiful story
will there be an epilogue ?

Sorry dear..no epilogue planned!
Dashreyaa thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail + 6
wow such wonderful ending...really loved how harshad at last call the police to inform them...at least he feel guilty in last moment of his life...so that pulkit was arrested ...manik was injured but now he is fine...manan and ananya live happily ever after...so nice wala ending...
dhillon90 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
Wowww amazinggg suprrrbbb mindblowinggg update...jaate jaate harshad kch toh acha kaam krke gea...beautifulll...happy endinggg