Testmytest thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
@Kal: You are back to Colombo and rested well, hope you are still not in kumbhakaran mode 😃. Beautiful confirmation to BinduP's morning posts, love to read them! 🤗
@Tanya: Glad you dropped in to check on us! Marriage preparations is in full swing, looks like! Do check in here more often dear

@BinduP: Loved the Chaath pooja pics. This is new to me, we never do that at our house.

@Lavanya: Loved the @beautiful quote from FB and your quotes from HBAS to match it!!

@Manu: Glad to hear your grand parents were surprised to see you! So nice you are able to do that for them 🤗 and yes of course we missed you!

@Rose: Oh dear 😊 you try to be nice, you get in trouble! You doubt Khalil to our AMK, you get in trouble 😆. I love the QBs, they have the cutest expressions, one you posted today was so cute!

@Rashmi: The temperature here is 0 degree Celsius dear! 32F!! Freezing temp., so officially I can say winter is here

@Sandy: When is the next TIP episode coming dear? It has been a while since you updated 😉

It was nice to read Tanya and BinduP's reviews on C54 again!

Selvi, Appu, Bond, Aunty and anyone else I did not mention 🤗

@Lashy: Two more days, boy I can't wait dearie! Hopefully you have finished writing 7 scenes, and will do editing tomorrow and the day after! 🤗

karkuzhali thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Thank you Sandhya..But all these are the result after Google search.. Searching for "pic of a pretty Rajput princess" and searching for Assassin's creed images will get you these. But you must have patience. Nothing is "kambachitram" -especially for a talented person like you.
Now a days I don't have the time nor the inclination to do such art work. Perhaps I will try one shortly..
Aunty.

Originally posted by: Sandhya.A

Where from do you get these pictures aunty?🤓 I strongly suspecr you painted them yourself. 😉😆. They are so perfect.👏

Sabdabhala thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail
GOOD MORNING AUNTY AND BAISAS

REALLY AUNTY I TOO AGREE WITH SANDHYA 👏 YOUR PICS ARE JUST TOO GOOD 👏

I SPECIALLY LOVED THE ONE OF SAHIB AT THE MARKET PLACE 👏

BINDUP LOVELY CHHAT PUJA PICS 👏 LOOKS LIKE A MELA IN THERE 👏 SUCH A RIOT OF COLOURS

SUPERB MORNING MESSAGE DEAR 👏 YES WE ALL HAVE SAHIB IN OUR HEARTS 👏

MANU SWEETIE 😉 AB TO BACHCHI SAYAANI HO GAYI 😆 GLAD THAT YOUR MISSION WAS ACCOMPLISHED 👏

JAMES I AM REALLY LIKING YOUR DETAILED REVIEWS 👏WILL READ THE LATEST ONES SHORTLY

LASHY SAHIBA ME TOO AWAITING THE UPDATE EAGERLY 😉 KEEP US POSTED

LETS ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL WEDNESDAY ⭐️
Kalgi22 thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 3

Originally posted by: Testmytest

Kal this is so sweet of you to give us the link to all the chapters for the abridged version of HBAS 🤗

You are a sweetheart! Can't believe Aunty has painstakingly put these up with beautiful, apt. pictures in each chapter!!

It is possible to put these links on page 1?

Thank you, Rekha. No. Only author Sahiba can post it on Page 1. 😳 and yes I'm no more in Kumbhakarni mode. Back to normal routine. 😆

Periamma, you missed my query on previous page. 😒
karkuzhali thumbnail

A Re-run of the HBAS Ballet..

The Banjara Ballet Company
Presents
Hiding Behind a Stranger
( A Romantic Drama.)

Story, Dialogue and Direction: Lashy.

Related image

Lashy: Three Great Emperors had toiled hard to build the vast and flourishing legacy of the 'Mughal Empire', keeping relative peace by unifying its Mughals and Hindus. However; by mid 1600s, cracks began to appear in its solid foundations. Insecurities crept in through the gaps, widening the gulfs between the two religions once again.

With the old Emperor becoming too feeble to take charge and his jealous successors remaining preoccupied with expansion and power, the damage was never repaired. Not surprising then that new rebellions arose every day. Violence escalated, claiming many innocent lives.

Yet; in the midst of such turmoil and peril, there bloomed a beautiful story - much like a lone flower blossoming upon the steepest edges of a cliff - a story of love, of sacrifice and honour!

I am glad in presenting the story as a Ballet Drama.

Image result for gif pic of a ballet

The Baisas overwhelmed with joy..

".. Once upon a time.. there lived two young and beautiful sisters Durga and Heera who were heiresses to the lands and villages of the land Parnagarh.."

"..Then arose a dispute over the legal heirship of the lands and the Moghul Prince wants to get back the Farmaan.. He sends Khalil to Parnagarh to retrieve the document.." Image result for spartacus ballet gif pics

"Khalil couldn't get hold of the original document that was hidden by Durga.. He kills her after molesting her.."
Image result for spartacus ballet gif pics

"Akbarkhan, the Intelligence Officer is a true loyalist to the Moghul Empire and a noble person.. He promises to bring the Farmaan from Parnagarh.." Image result for spartacus ballet gif pics

"After Durga's death, the younger sister Heera leaves Parnagarh along with her maids.."
Related image

"Heera meets a stranger on her way who helps her..."
Related image

"He is none other than Akbar khan, who is in the guise of a horse trader.."

Related image

" They happen to meet a few times during her sojourn ..The become attracted to each other.."

" But... the nature of the errand he has been committed to puts him in a dilemma.. He decides to keep away from her.."
Related image

"One day.. she sees him lying down half dead near the Canal Bank.. She rushes to him and tries to save him..The incident makes them understand each other.."

Image result for spartacus ballet gif pics

" But .. keeping her welfare and safety in his mind, he finally decides to go away from her...He even denies his love towards her..She thus leaves him with a heavy heart.. Image result for gif pic of a ballet

"Heera finally reaches Bansi and learns that the Raja and Rani have fixed her marriage with Kunwar Mahendar..She is summoned to the Durbar and is humiliated by Mahendar and his parents. She thus comes to know of the true colour of the two faced Mahendar.."

Related image

"..She goes through a hard time.. On her way back to Parnagarh, she is attacked by the evil Khalil..She desparately calls for help.."

" Akbar comes there at the right time and saves her.. She comes to know that he is the Ustaad of the Moghul Army who had trained many warriors like the evil Khalil.."
Related image

"But Akbar's love for her is so intense that he wishes to marry her, to save her from the wrath of men like Khalil and Mahendar.."

"They get married and start their life in Parnagarh.."
Related image

The End of Part I

Edited by karkuzhali - 6 years ago
Testmytest thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail
Before our Author Sahiba updates C55, let's have a little fun with this quiz! This is super easy, no need to peep back to the chapters.
This is close book quiz

1. Which wood did Heera choose for arm chair for one of the rooms in the haveli?

a) Teak
b) Rosewood
c) Mahogany
d) Silver-veneer
e) Gold-gild

2. Which gift did AMK not send from the capital?

a) Crutch
b) Exotic herbs
c) Letter to Heera
d) Shawls
e) Time box

3. Which one is not part of AMK's fragrance?

a) Metal
b) Musk
c) Eucalyptus
d) Rose
e) Sandlewood

4. Which game was not played in the evenings at the haveli?

a) Cards
b) Chauper
c) Music
d) Wrestling
e) Riddles

5. Which one of the following is not mentioned in the HBAS chapters?

a) Notorious mind reader
b) Seasoned warrior
c) Huzoor's army
d) Prince's right hand man
e) Akbar Khan

6. How many of the 18 medicine ingredients have been collected so far?

a) 6
b) 3
c) 5
d) 7
e) 4

7. Pick the odd person out

a) Ratan kaka
b) Bindiya
c) Azeez
d) Gauri
e) Mohan banna

8. Pick the odd one out

a) Sufi
b) Bahadur
c) Red scorpion
d) Marwari racer
e) Chestnut Brown

9. Pick the odd one out

a) Meadows
b) Hunting grounds
c) Forest
d) Royal court
e) Wilderness

Like I said this is super super easy quiz, no peeking into the chapters!!
Good luck!

karkuzhali thumbnail

selvi1275

Hiding Behind
A
STRANGER
A Historical Romance by Lashy
( Abridged)

Part II. The Tempest.

Chapter 14.

Truth vs Truth
Related image

Inside the Tent..

'Lies, lies and more lies!'

He waited for her fit of laughter to fizzle out - a short, yet unpleasant wait - so that he could disclose the grave circumstances that had compelled him to 'lie, lie and lie'.

But before he could get a word in, he was stopped. By her glares. Chilling glares. He also noticed how she'd tightened the grip around the weapon's handle again - and strangely, her fingers were not quivering this time.

'You are right...' Heera recited quite calmly 'Khalil is NOTHING like you...'

'What?' frowned Akbar, studying the sudden change in her behaviour. The inconsolable 16 year old she'd turned into for a short while, had been left behind, somewhere. The person now facing him was a lady - a lady who'd somehow regained most of her composure. 'Sahiba...'

'Khalil is NOTHING like you because he's loud mouthed and brash... YOU, on the other hand...' her tone was oozing sarcasm 'you're an intelligence officer... a smooth operator... cunning and sly... isn't that why everyone has heard of Khalil's army, but no one's heard of you? He is dangerous, but he is a known enemy... we are aware of what to expect from him!' she shrugged 'But, YOU are an unknown enemy - the kinds that are far more destructive... like the snakes that lurk in the bushes... quiet... sneaky...' her lips curved into a dry smile 'difficult to tell how those snakes would strike... or how deadly their strikes would be... THAT's how they manage to outwit enemies! I... I... mean... princes from various kingdoms tried... influential businessman tried... many powerful men tried... Khalil's army tried... but...' she tut-tutted 'but none other than Ustaad Sahib could become the Mansabdar of Parnagarh! Isn't that what your friends outside were celebrating about?'

'Oh LORDDD!'

Since he could not scream aloud in frustration, he had to resort to exhaling hard to let out steam.
He had a mountain-load of explaining to do - where was he even supposed to start? 'Sahiba...' His lips tensed up, into a straight line.

However, her eyes had narrowed, turning her glares deadlier - deadly enough to stop a man twice her size, in his tracks. And while her eyes had turned stormy, the rest of her remained as 'still' as a marble statue, entirely detached from her surroundings. Stock-still.

DECEPTIVELY still!

The next instant, he knew! 'No'

WHOOOSH!

Akbar jerked his shoulder just in time, avoiding the blade that came lurching towards him. 'Sahiba... stop...'

'MANSABDAR? Y... you betrayer...' She raised the weapon once more, bringing it down in a flash 'You've taken away everything from me and my people... our homes... our lands... our pride... and you used ME to do it!!'

'Sahiba... I am not interested in Parnagarh... or in gaining power...' he angled sideways a little - keeping a watchful glance upon her, and another one upon the metal that'd just brushed past the skin on his arm 'trust me... I did this for...'

'I am supposed to protect my people...' she cut short his explanations with another swift attack 'but I... I'm the one who's let them down... and because of you...'

WHOOOSH!

'Sahiba! This is risky... the force with which you're handling that blade, it's going to cut your palm... please put it down...'

'What? MY palm?' How smug of him to preach about HER safety, when HE was the one facing the sharp end of the blade! It only made her feel smaller than she already felt!
Embittered, Heera sliced the knife against his blurry profile again.

And again.

But he dodged her attempts with such ease - it was as though he already knew where she would aim for, even before she actually took aim.

'You back-stabber'

'That is ENOUGH!'
Having finally slapped his fingers around her right wrist, and then around her left hand, Akbar restrained her within the might of his clasp. He hadn't wanted it to come to this, but she'd left him no option.

She hadn't been able to harm a single hair on his head - just as she feared. But she had provoked him, well and truly. He'd avenge his insults now - possibly by grabbing that knife and driving it right into the core of her chest!

Be done with it... please...' she fervently wished.
At least that way, she would be free - free from living an eternal hell, from living in eternal pain and from suffering eternal humiliation in front of her people.

She waited for that 'freedom' to come. But it didn't come.

Instead, he took a step closer.

'Call yourself a man?' she tried to provoke him further - hoping to bring it all to a quick and permanent end 'Well... real men don't cheat orphans, who've already lost everything... you're a cold-blooded impostor... that's who you are!'

She waited for him to react furiously. And waited some more.

But the violent outburst never happened.

A heated moment passed in silence. And another. And another. Till she could take it no more. Why wasn't he doing anything? What was going on in his mind? If she'd looked directly into his eyes, she might have found an answer then. But she didn't want to look into them - not once since his admission 'Yes, I am the one they call Ustaad'

'Let go...' Desperate to free herself from the shackles of his grip, Heera yanked her wrist away. Twice. Thrice. When that didn't work, she tried wriggling out of his grip.

However, Akbar didn't let her go. He'd held her hand firmly, with the weapon pointing downwards.
It wasn't ideal. Restraining a lady - even if for her own safety - was not something he was comfortable doing. All the more so, because it was HER. Her breathing was fast and feverish - reflecting the extent of rage still bottled within her petite body. The lady was overwrought! That bottled-in rage had to be brought under control, before it consumed them both. 'Sahiba... the knife handle's too short... you've already cut your fingers twice... PLEASE drop the weapon... and I'll release of your wrists...'

Heera continued to stare into oblivion. There was no strength left in her arms, but the fingers stubbornly held onto the knife.

'Sahiba, you have no idea what I've been through just to keep you alive and safe... the LAST thing I want, is for you to hurt yourself... so, please drop the weapon...'

Alas. There was no reaction from her, whatsoever.

'FINE... you want to do it... at least do it right!'
Releasing her wrists, the young man abruptly drew his own knife from the cummerbund - a proper weapon of combat - and handed it over to her. 'At least this one has a better handle... wouldn't cut you...'

Despite her fit of frenzy, he was now positive that she was not out to take his life. In fact, it'd become obvious to him as soon as he spotted the flimsy blade she was using - it wouldn't so much as scratch his armour and an intelligent lady like the Sahiba would've realised that too. Besides, being a Hakim Sahiba herself, she would've aimed straight for his exposed neck, if she wanted to take his life.
It was the 'hurt' she wanted to vent. So, he decided to take the gamble and let her vent the hurt. Maybe if she punished him, maybe if he bore a couple of her angry slashes quietly, it would thaw her heart, and get her to at least listen to him 'Go ahead, Sahiba...'

As soon as she felt the lethal blade in her hand, the young lady slashed it upwards, expecting him to duck.

However, the man didn't flinch. Instead, he stood there, overshadowing her frame, with his hands tied behind his back.

She swung it towards the outline of his neck, stopping just beside the life-giving veins that throbbed below his jaw.

No. Still no audible movement from him.

Sticking the cold metal upon his skin, she poked it through.

A blob of blood came trickling forth. The red droplets trailed along the handle, and onto the tip of her fingers.

She noted how the palm she'd managed to keep steady so far, was quivering again.

But his breath remained as tranquil as the ocean.

'God!' The more agitated she got, the calmer he seemed to get. And it grated against her already-bruised ego. 'What... what do you think... what are you trying to prove?'

'If you are prepared to listen... I'll prove to you that the last thing I wanted to be, was a Mansabdar!'

'What?'

'It IS for your sake that I became one, Sahiba!'

'Oh?' The young lady darted him a harsh frown.

'It may be hard for you to believe this... but, I'm not interested in power and fame... I never was interested in the iron ores of Parnagarh, never will be in future either... I became the Mansabdar of Parnagarh because that was the ONLY way I could save your life...'

A very slow spiteful smirk escaped her pale lips 'How noble!'
'Sahiba, I've known the Shehzaade for long... I am quite close to him. If I wanted, I could have governed several towns... owned numerous mansions... had plenty of slaves... but I've always lived a simple life...' he paused. The authority in his tone dissolved as his approach turned gentler 'I have always lived a simple life in Aidabad, as a horse trader...'

'Aidabad?' Unwanted memories returned. Unresolved hurt resurfaced. Something inside her snapped again 'Oh, how silly of me... I assumed that Aidabad was part of an act too... a cover-up!'

Contempt had darkened her features, but Akbar tried not to be weighed down.
'A cover-up? An act?' his jaws tightened with emotion, as he debated what he must say, how far must he say and how he must say it. 'Not all of it could be an act, could it?'

'Not all of it could be an act, could it?' An angry gasp escaped her lips, but Heera wouldn't believe the sentence - not one word of it. 'After what I've seen now... ALL of it could very well be an act! Your simple life... your simple haveli... your business... everything...'

Soon, she broke out into another fit of laughter. Or at least she presumed she was laughing - only this instance, her voice was actually choking with grief 'I... I... I had my doubts... plenty of doubts... but, I didn't pay proper heed... and it turns out... that you're the chief intelligence officer himself!'
She laughed louder, till her voice disintegrated into weak murmurs, and her smiles were tinted with tears 'Who knows how many innocent lives you might have destroyed... how many homes you have looted...' she bit the insides of her lip to stop them from quivering 'who knows how many women you might have used... preyed upon... argh' she abruptly caught her head 'I... I...'

'What's happening?'
The lady was tilting heavily to one side. Another dizzy spell, perhaps?

Untying his hands, Akbar quickly grabbed her by her arm, wondering if she wanted to take a seat. However, it soon became evident she was in no mood to calmly sit down yet. So, he helped her stand upright, by continuing to support her arm.

'Sahiba?' checking to see if she was fine, he observed her features from close quarters, his gazes brimming with concern and tenderness.

Ironical indeed! Up until an instant ago, she couldn't bear to look him in the face.- and here she was, unwittingly using his assistance to stay afloat..Where his heartbeats that'd stayed calm until an instant ago, despite a knife being stuck at his throat - had now started quickening.

He made a weak attempt to fight the tremors off. Alas. The stillness within had been disturbed. Maybe it was spurred by the subconscious belief that she needed him to support herself - even if only temporarily. But as he held her, barely a hair's breadth apart, it set off a hush rumble of feelings - dormant feelings that'd otherwise been shut down, fires that he'd deliberately suppressed, ever since their separation.

The proximity, the touch of her soft skin beneath his hard palms, the warmth of her breath breathing life into his stony chest - the fires that'd gone cold were being stoked into a flame, bright and warm.

'Ai Khuda...' he sighed, interrupting the intense silence.
Before he would shut those doors and douse the fire again, there was one last thing he wanted to say - something important, for which he might not find the opportunity or the nerve, once he returned to his right mind.

Waiting for her to regain some form of normalcy, the young man bent low, near her ears - his palms tenderly nestled around her arms 'Sahiba...' he whispered 'believe me when I say I've never destroyed the lives of innocent people... believe me when I say, I've never preyed upon any woman... in fact... in all my life, there is no other woman I've interacted closely with...' his voice cracked into a husky murmur 'I have touched, no woman...' his eyelids gently shut 'no woman, except one... this is the truth... I swear on Allah's name...'
He paused for a bit. The edge of his jaw had brushed past her ear. It was not intentional. But now that it had happened, he didn't regret it. Rather, it made him want to go on. 'Heera...'
'There is no other woman I've interacted closely with...' It was the most reassuring voice she'd ever heard, telling her the most reassuring set of sentences - a voice that could somehow sound manly yet soft, assertive yet affectionate, profound yet sincere.
'I have touched no woman... except one!' Had he just admitted his involvement in the moments they'd shared at the canal? Had he just acknowledged their relationship? Today? After everything?
And why had he decided to call her by name at this juncture? 'Heera...' the husky whisper was exactly how she used to imagine it would sound, had Khan Sahib actually uttered it.
But THAT was Khan Sahib - a man she had adored. THIS was a stranger she couldn't recognise. Ustaad!

Spinning around, Heera promptly liberated herself from his clasp and broke the spell before it would threaten to suck her in. Grappling at the folds and flaps of the tent wall, she stumbled towards a pot of water nearby and splashed handfuls on her face - forcing her mind to step out from the attacks of dizziness and bouts of throbbing headache.
'No I don't believe you, Ustaad Sahib...' she confronted him with renewed vigour, her sharp features glistening from the droplets of water that were dripping down in small trickles 'not one bit... since you've become the Mansabdar, you need me on your side, so that you have the support of the Parnagarhis... that's all... announcing that you returned to save my life is the perfect excuse for it!'

'What?' Akbar huffed. In spite of what he'd just admitted out loud, THIS was what she chose to deduce about him? 'You think I'm doing this for the support of 400 Hindu families? I became the Mansabdar of Parnagarh ONLY AND ONLY because I needed the title to save your life...' He raised his fingers, not far from her face, where she could watch them - before he began counting 'I utilised all of the goodwill I've collected over the past many years... displeased my Huzoor... and cut a deal with him... so that...'

'ONE, he would spare your people's lives and homes...'

'TWO, he would spare most of your lands...'

'THREE, no harm would come to you from the armies of Khalil if I'm... not here tomorrow...'
He dropped his counting hand midway - what was the point? She wasn't even TRYING to be convinced!

'So, you expect me to believe that you've returned so gloriously to save my life? After turning me away? When you were aware of the kind of risks I faced?'

'I turned you away then because...' he pointed at his chest 'I live a very dangerous life myself... and, you had people to care for you... but, I heard the situation changed... with the threat now looming over you... I couldn't sit back and watch you be harmed!'

Giving himself a while to simmer down, he tried a different approach - one she might relate better to 'I have no interest in Parnagarh whatsoever... it was yours to control and will remain so... that is a promise!'
He waited.
But, no. Not even that promise about her dear Parnagarh could get her to react. Taking a step closer, he held up both hands 'Can you see these?'

Guessing from her blank stares that she could not see what he was showing, he lifted her fingers, against her will - and placed them on his palms, to make sure she could 'feel' what he wanted to show 'You can recognise what these cuts are... and how they happen...'

Heera hurriedly recoiled her hand. Yes she recognised what they were and how they happened - bleeding calluses from riding for too long. However, she didn't want to 'feel' anything anymore - let alone sympathy for this man. She didn't want to believe in anyone anymore. Because, those who believed, were the ones that ended up getting the most hurt!

'Sahiba... I've been a rider most of my life... and yet... my skin could not take the strain - tugging at those coarse reins like a madman, hour after hour, day after day, to get to you, before Khalil could harm you... these marks are not a lie, are they?' he signalled towards the tent exit 'if you go outside, you'll witness how exhausted my men are... they risked their lives for your sake... my horses are barely alive... THOSE scenes are not an act, are they?'

'Alright... Ustaad Sahib' hissed the young lady.
The man was busy hammering away at his justifications. Now, she wanted him to see HER side - she wanted him to realise why his words weren't affecting her much.
'Let me get your story straight...' she raised her fingers, up in the air, just like he had, before she began counting -

'A girl had just lost her home and family... she was running for her life... ONE, you act kind by offering her people shelter and support...'

'TWO, you were involved with her enemies... the very men who murdered her sister - but you hid it... so you could spy on her group...'

'THREE, you faked concern... and used her vulnerability, only so you could g... gain infor... inf... information...' the fresh lump that'd formed in her throat was impossible to ignore. It'd become painful enough that she had to pause and swallow hard before resuming her narration. What a powerful slush of sentiments attraction-and-rejection, trust-and-betrayal were. So powerful, that any amount of bitterness seemed incapable of wiping them clean! 'You used her to gain information!'

'FOUR... once you got what you wanted, you turned her away with no answers...'

'Then, you sneaked into her home... behind her back...'

'Took away the one thing that could have saved her pride!'

'Traded off part of her lands... made yourself the Mansabdar of the rest of it... all of this, WITHOUT her knowledge...'

'And finally, announce a wedding where she's expected to comply... like she was a rag doll with no emotions of her own?'

Suddenly, there were no fingers left to count his list of crimes against her! It drove home the point hardest - that she'd been such a fool to have trusted him at all! 'TELL ME Ustaad Sahib...' her eyes welled up with a new batch of tears 'tell me all of this is NOT a lie!'

What an effective argument the Sahiba had come up with. A list of questions that would've left the best debater tongue-tied - and this young man was a mere soldier with no knack for words.
So far, he had tried to explain as well as he could, why he'd done what he had done. He'd been gentle. Tactful. Assertive. Reassuring. Reasonable. Loud. He'd shown proof. But none of it had worked. And while he didn't blame her for not believing him, he really didn't know how else to convince a lady. Maybe give her space and time?

Nevertheless, whether she needed space and time or not, he definitely did. For this was as much agony as his heart could take in a day.

It'd already been bleeding from her earlier accusations. These fresh allegations against his deeds and his character - were another stab in his chest. A fatal stab. And this instance, not because she was 'wrong' about him, but because she was mostly 'right'. Making it near-impossible to defend himself. Thus reducing the essence of every sacrifice he'd made for her, to nothing!

And for this, he had no one to blame but himself - he had wronged her and he was paying the price for it.

Understandably, not everything that she'd inferred about Ustaad Akbar Mahmoud Khan was true. However, in order to show her the real picture, in order to make her see HIS side of the story, Akbar would have to take her on a journey with him, to a lifetime ago from where it'd all started - introduce her to a sick abused deserted hungry little 11 year old boy.
But, it was obvious that she was in no state to make that personal journey with him today. And he would not allow that very troubled part of his life be ridiculed and dismissed by anyone - not even by her.
Therefore, till he was certain that the Sahiba would welcome his answers with a broad mind and an open heart he would not explain himself further.

Until then, if she chose to believe that he was this ugly monster she'd made him out to be, so be it.

Slapping on the wall of armour around his punctured heart, he put his mask back up. To face her as the 'Ustaad' that she so sarcastically referred to him as - there was merely a resigned sigh on his lips in reply to her questions.

Of course, just because the young man had lost this debate, he wasn't going to retreat from the arena. He would never let the heiress do anything that would endanger her life or bring her harm - she would have to follow his plans, whether she liked it or not - for her sake.
But to get this clever young lady to follow his plans, Ustaad would have to return to playing the kind of games he was best at - not emotions and words, but a game of politics. Mind-games!

'So, I WAS right!' Heera announced with a dull smirk, wiping the last tear with the back of her palm 'Just as I feared...' an awkward lull followed when she paused - for whatever reason - to find out if he was going to refute her questions with fancy reasons - like he had been for so long.

But, no. It was just the one 'resigned sigh'
'Well... I couldn't care less!' she told herself - why care for some answers of his, when she despised who he was altogether? 'Anyhow...' that line of thought was brought to a swift end 'I didn't think all powerful men were the same... but after this...'

The dull smirk on her lips was not so dull anymore.

'You men toss a woman around as you please... get rid of us when you have no use for us... claim your right over us, when you need to! The Khalils... the Shehzaades... the Kunwars... the... USTAADS! All the same!' the lady bit down on the sharp sides of her teeth 'After selling me out to your master this way... you take my name with yours in public... announce a wedding in court... how dare you! I am NO slave...'

She glimpsed up at the blurry face, at wherever it was that his eyes were - wanting him to observe the extent of hostility in her glares. 'I would walk with my head held high to the gallows, rather than walk to a wedding hall with you!'
'Hmmm...' he replied with a pensive nod 'I have no right to force you to do anything... and you can turn down the wedding if you want... but...' he murmured grimly 'I'm sure you understand... cancelling the wedding is not going to do either you, or your people any good...'

'Oh? So THAT's the game we are playing now?' Heera shook her head with disgust 'Ustaad Sahib... I'll take my chances with cruel fate, but not with you! So... I request you to leave from here...'

'I understand Sahiba... but, before I leave... you might want to view this from another angle' he folded his arms - every bit like the shrewd businessman he was, when taking on a tough fellow-merchant. 'I'm a businessman... you're a businesswoman... why don't you treat this wedding like a business deal? I used you to get the Farmaan... in exchange, why don't you use my manpower and my title to keep your Parnagarh safe? I took advantage of you, to make my Huzoor happy... so, why not take advantage of my influence to keep your people happy?'

Feel safe and happy? How could she feel safe and happy when she being cornered and trapped? 'I'm thanking the Lord he took my vision away today... because you're the last man on Earth I want to be looking at...' she folded her palms together 'please leave me in peace!'

'Oh really? Last man on Earth?' Akbar winced at that unpleasant remark 'So you would rather it was one of Khalil's men standing here... facing you?' leaning close by, he dropped his pitch to a soft whisper 'The Lord might have taken your vision away, Sahiba... but you can recognise, understand and judge better than most people I've met... so... I'll allow your good heart to be the judge of how unworthy I am... on that same note... I'm certain that you can recognise I'm not the sub-human that Khalil is either!'

Then, the soft whispery tone disappeared as quietly as it had made an entry. 'Of course Sahiba, at present, your ego wouldn't let you admit any of it... but it is what it is...'

His gestures, his words, even the modulations in his tone - the man knew exactly what he was doing.

'God!' Suddenly, it was difficult to stand the very sight of him. 'Just go...' Heera turned aside, not wanting him to notice the fresh mist under her lashes 'please go...'

Picking up his knife from the floor, he slipped it back into his cummerbund 'I trust you'll keep the details of this conversation to yourself...' his dark eyes gleamed, as he brought his hand up to offer her an adab.

Oh yes, he knew - his secret was safe with the Sahiba. Why wouldn't it be? It would make her life far easier, if the Parnagarhis DIDN'T learn that the Mughal man their baisa had been involved with, was the 'Ustaad' himself! 'Khuda Hafiz!'

Thereon, his silhouette disappeared through the tent exit. But the echoes of his deep voice lingered around long thereafter...

Mahabharatham - The Great Indian Epic...

[Journey Continues]
karkuzhali thumbnail

Kausi,

I extracted Chapter 14 from Bindup's reply and posted it above.
Periyamma.