I'll do my crying in the rain....
DD I mean maan Sir, aap, aap abhi thori der pehle to gaye the? Sab theek hai? Maan says yeah, I just wanted to check on Geet. Pinky says, Sir paanch minute mein kya hone waala tha. Maan realizes, he had not even reached far and he did not want to leave Geet's side and had called on an impulse. Haan, woh mein, anyway, Is Geet alright? Pinky, Yes Sir, she is, don't worry, she was crying when i entered the room but she has calmed down.
Crying? Why what happened, is she in pain, ask her pinky now. He screams, Pinky says Calm down sir! She was just emotional, she is fine. I am with her. If you don't mind, can I put the phone down and go back to geet, she probably needs something. OH ! yes ! of course, but Pinky call me if she needs anything you hear. Maan mutters embarrassed now. He mentally chides himself for being so foolish and puts the car in third gear.
Yes sir Pinky says and puts the phone down. Yeh Maan sir bhi na, pagal ho gaye hain, aiwain tension le rahe hain. When Pinky is here why does he need to worry, then hits herself behind her head and says, well chaddo…! Whatever.
Geet asks who was it? Pinky says, DD, woh pagal ho gaye hain. Abhi to yahan se gaye the and he called! Shaking her head. She was as usual holding some food item in her hand, which she got from kitchen, on the way to Geet's room. Tum logi offered Geet an apple which Geet refused.
Oh! She had said and again started wondering what to do, Maan was so nice to her. She really should not treat him like this. He deserves to know about her life.
She decided to go and meet Maan. She gets ready in a blue colored salwaar kameez. This was her favorite color. She picked up her jhola and told Pinky I am going out. Will be back. Kahan jaa rahi ho asked Pinky. DD mujhe maar denge, if he knows you are out, he told me not to let you out of the bed, let alone house. Kya kaam hai Geet?
I have to talk to Maan, I have to go and meet him. Its important. I have to. Pls don't tell him. I will go to the office and talk to him there.
Lekin itni baarish mein? Asks Pinky. Tume dekha kitni baarish ho rahi hai bahar, tumein taxi bhi nahi milegi.
I have to go Pinky she says one last time and leaves. She opens her umbrella and walks to the road to flag a taxi. Luckily she finds one. She gives the address to Khurana House and sits back, thinking how she is going to tell maan about her past. The incessant rain is pelting the taxi roof and she could feel the rhythm of the rain echoing her heart beat.
She paid the taxi wala and got out of the car opening her umbrella, which turned turtle, so she made a mad dash for the door and got wet in the process, she was looking down and did not see ahead of her and almost fell, when she collided into a solid chest with uff!
Maan had seen geet running towards the office and had lost his temper and had forgotten it was raining and went to her in a hurry and ended up colliding with her. He quickly caught a slipping Geet on the rain slick concrete driveway and held her close to him. He had been leaving the office to go and see Geet, cause he had been too restless to work. He wanted to see if everything was alright and this lady had decided to run in the rain. This is was the height of carelessness, he fumed inwardly as he had run to her.
He seethed, What are you doing here? Geet hearing Maan's voice, relaxed a bit and held on to him. Oh! I was coming to talk to you. She tried to move away from his embrace and he slowly let her go and steadied on her feet.
You should have called me, I would have come home, his voice still laced with anger though it was calming down a bit. No I wanted to talk to you and it would not be fair to call you to come and see me. I had to do this Maan. I had to tell you myself and I have to tell you now.
Both of them oblivious of the raining soaking them, continued to look at each other and Geet put her hand on his arm and said. Please Maan, I have to tell you. don't stop me now. I have to tell you about how I became pregnant and why. I am married maan. Maan is stunned into stillness. There is a humming sound in his ears and he could not believe that the girl he fell in love with is married. Married. No it cant be.
She continued Married but not married. Maan blinked, opened his mouth to say but she stopped him by putting her hand on his mouth. NO! let me finish. Yes, I was married off by my family to a guy from Canada who I found out is married already so I am legally not married to him. He and I spent only one night together, I was thinking it was a dream come true and it turned out to be the worst nightmare of my life. Remember you asked whom I had met in Amritsar, it was his wife. His wife, who had posed as his bhabhi. Such betrayal. I was heart broken. But you gave me strength, unknowingly you prodded me to face my life, you stood behind me invisibly guiding me to take action rather than suffer mutely. You it was you all the while who gave me my identity. She was sobbing, now with pain, with relief, with remorse at what could have been between them.
Maan, hugged her, he did not want her to see his tears. Tears at her pain, her turmoil, the beatings life had given her. She didn't have a fair deal. Silent tears ran down his cheeks washed away in the rain. He lifted his head up and let the cool rain drain the pain he felt for Geet subside. He held Geet close, not wanting to let her go. Geet hid her face in Maan's chest and cried her eyes out. She let her body be racked with pain which maan was absorbing like a sponge. Feeling spent, she lifted her head to Maan, who gave her a kiss so light that if she had her eyes closed, she would not have felt it, but it seared through her being. It gave her warmth against the rain. They were plastered together, unashamed, with clothes so wet, they were like lead but they held on to each other, letting the rain fall over them, washing away the past and bringing in a new beginning that is fresh and squeaky clean.
They both looked into each other's eyes and smiled and made a silent promise to each other of being together forever.
Maan silently questioned and Geet answered likewise with a small nod of her head. He kissed her again this time deeply with a promise of everything that they had not said till now, with emotions that were bottled in, with love, passion and tenderness for this girl who made his heart sing with joy.
Ab, chalo mein tumhein ghar chor deta hoon, I donno about you, but I am sure, but I sure feel it would be better if you can get into some dry clothes fast. Geet then looked where his eyes had travelled and blushed. She pulled her dupatta over her breasts, but it was not exactly any protection. Maan then removed his jacket and covered Geet's shoulders and wrapped her in it. Geet of course could not stop herself from stealing a glance at the chest under the white shirt which was soaked through and went red again when she realized Maan had seen her look at him with desire.
He hugged her to him and walked towards his car.