bella_indian thumbnail
17th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2
Posted: 17 years ago
Jodha Akbar Movie Review - Times Online

Anil Sinanan, Times Bollywood Film Critic

Director: Ashutosh Gowarikar, 215 mins, 12A, Subtitles

Stars: Hrithik Roshan, Aishwarya Rai, Poonam Sinha, Ila Arun.

Opening with an Amitabh Bachchan voiceover, we are told it is "Hindustan, 1450 AD". The Mughal Empire is establishing its grip over India. What follows is a three- and-a-half-hour journey back in time to a bygone era, well worth a visit.

The Mughals, members of the Muslim dynasty of Mongol origin founded by the successors of Tamerlane, ruled most of India from the 16th to the 19th century. This visually stunning film recreates the period in which Emperor Jalal (Hrithik Roshan) dominated the country via bloody conquest of the princely states, ruled by the Maharajas.

In order to prevent further violence, the King of Amer proposes a marriage of convenience with his beautiful daughter Jodhaa (Aishwarya Rai) to the Emperor. He agrees in order to increase his foothold over Rajasthan and ultimately the rest of India.

The Emperor faces his biggest battle yet: winning the heart of his proud Hindu bride. She resents being used as a pawn in his plan to increase the size of his kingdom. Jodhaa insists on maintaining her religion, cooking vegetarian dishes for her man and singing bhajans (Hindu devotional songs) in her specially constructed bedroom mandir (temple).

Her loyalty is tested when a vial of poison is discovered in her personal belongings. Is Jodhaa a Hindu spy intent on poisoning the Emperor? He gets increasingly suspicious of his wife's motives Otello-style, whilst simultaneously becoming increasingly attracted to her.

Oscar-nominated 'Lagaan' director Ashutosh Gowariker's sumptuous period epic has all the ingredients of a Cecil B DeMille entertainer. Lavish and loud set pieces threaten to swamp the propulsive proceedings. A battle sequence using thousands of real elephants and extras involves sword fights, the taming of a wild elephant and a fight to the death climax. Confidently executed with sweeping cinematography, these extravagances are ultimately props for the love story between two beautiful strangers caught up in an arranged marriage.

It works best when there are pauses to let the golden couple fall in love via some melodious Sufi-infused AR Rahman rhythms. Roshan and Rai (billed in the end credits as Aishwarya Rai Bachchan) portray the legendary lovers with conviction and credibility. Love makes the Emperor a more compassionate ruler. Indeed, he is remembered today in the history books as 'Akbar, the Great'.

The film ends with a passionate plea for tolerance of all religions in India, a resonant message for modern India.
*Jaya* thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Rediff.com

Jodhaa Akbar is a spectacular watch

Arthur J Pais in New York

February 14, 2008 12:48 IST

Set against the bloody and turbulent period of the 16th century when Akbar is consolidating his empire through unorthodox alliances that includes a marriage to a spirited Rajput princess, Jodhaa Akbar is a leisurely and overdrawn film, which is nevertheless magical for good part.

In a way it is like reading an epic Russian novel. There are too many characters and too much happening. But if you can read through the first 50 pages, you get hooked.
In the case of this magnificently mounted and often thrilling film, with a career defining performance by Hrithik Roshan [Images], the first 20 minutes look like a boring and at times, confusing history lesson which would have become burdensome but for the sonorous narration by Amitabh Bachchan [Images].
But once princess Jodhaa (Aishwarya Rai [Images] Bachchan) is persuaded by her father (Khulbhusan Kharbandha) to forego an arranged marriage to a Rajput prince and marry the young Muslim ruler (Hrithik), the film begins to blossom, and hold your attention.
The film is about three hours and 30 minutes but once it hooks you, the length does not matter.
Never mind how the film, which reportedly cost $10 million, will fare at the box office, there is no denying that it is arguably one of the most spectacular films India has made. Two of its musical numbers, Khwaja Mere Khwaja and Azeem-O-Shaan Shahenshah, are among the film's highlights. The former, a beautifully choreographed Sufi number, which is enthralling and accompanied with gentle trans-inducing movement, takes place at a crucial moment in the film. So does the second number, performed with vigorous dancing, which fills the screen soon after Akbar has consolidated his hold. Add to these songs, the splendidly staged action scenes, especially the sword fight between Akbar and Jodhaa, and a number of battle scenes, and you then have a spectacular epic.
There are times you feel the changes Akbar goes through could have been better narrated but one applauds writer Haider Ali and director Ashutosh Gowariker for not making Akbar a one-dimensional cartoon figure. In one of the most important sequences in the film, for instance, you see Akbar giving into his baser instincts, as he orders a cruel death to a palace traitor.
It is not that the royal intrigues and violent confrontations go away after the Jodhaa and Akbar wedding. But the relationship between Jodhaa and Akbar, which is often fraught with misunderstandings and continually challenged by the Muslim clergy and the powers behind the throne like the foster mother Mahan Anga (a hypnotic Ila Arun), becomes the film's main occupation.
The main business then is how slowly the political alliance that created the marriage between Jodhaa and Akbar is turned into a loving and respectful relationship, and how the young emperor deals with the orthodox Muslim establishment, and proclaims religious pluralism. And how in the process he ensures his Hindu wife is given the due respect.
Some historians and viewers may question the plot lines developed in the film. Some may wonder why the film does not show any indication how, in his later years, Akbar would not allow his son to marry a court dancer.
But it is suffice to say that the Akbar we see in the film is quite an intriguing, colourful and tough ruler. And Hrithik brings his muscular presence and charismatic personality to make the role his own. Watch him negotiating with Jodhaa their troubled marriage, and the tense scene in which he saves the life of a friend and tames a wild elephant. Also, watch him in one of the most moving scenes in the film when he reveals to Jodhaa a crucial aspect of his education. Watch also his expressions when he discovers the betrayal by one of the most trusted persons of the royal household and how he lets his mother (an impressive Punam Sinha) come back fully into his life.
Aishwarya Rai Bachchan has never looked this gorgeous. Some of her dramatic scenes are weakly performed but she whips up excellent chemistry with Hrithik.
The film could have gained considerably if the secondary parts have been played with power. As Jodhaa's brother Sujamal -- who is estranged from the family -- Sonu Sood is rather weak. And as such his rebellion and subsequent change of heart do not carry the required emotional weight. The women fare better in the secondary characters.
Working with A R Rahman following Swades [Images] and Lagaan [Images], Gowariker makes an excellent use of the five intricate tunes. The first song, Manmohana, which unfolds at a delicate moment disappears after a minute, and is deftly brought back at an important juncture many minutes later.
Rahman triumphs as a composer whose score, now sonorous, now very light, adds to the film's many moods.
Cinematographer Kiran Deohans not only captures well the vivid battle scenes but also the close ups that convey the growing relationship between Akbar and Jodhaa. Some of the film's most arresting visual scenes come at the end of the Sufi song when Akbar is bathed in celestial light.
Whether it is Rahman, Deohans, the choreographers or the stunt coordinator Ravi Dewan, Gowariker has shown once again what a great team builder he is. The next time he should try doing something very radical for him: make a two hour long, seamless but a pulsating film that has all the passion and intrigue of his previous films.

Rediff Rating:

umi82990 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
These are some great reviews!! 👏
Nika_d thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail

Masand's Verdict: Jodhaa Akbar

Rajeev Masand / CNN-IBN

Cast: Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai

Direction: Ashutosh Gowariker

I've never felt this way about any other film, but sitting there in my seat watching Jodhaa Akbar, I felt privileged as a moviegoer. Privileged that such a film had been made, and privileged that it had been made in our times so we can form our own opinions of the film rather than adopt the opinions of previous generations, which we invariably must when looking at older classics.

A drama of epic proportions, Jodhaa Akbar is at its core an intimate love story that's set against the spectacular sweep of the Mughal era. It's about the romance that gradually blossoms between Emperor Akbar and his wife Jodhaa, the Rajput princess with whom he enters into a marriage of alliance. It's also the coming of age story of the greatest Mughal ruler, who goes from a reluctant warrior to a brave and honorable leader and wins over his people with his empathy and his secular outlook.

Magnificently directed by Ashutosh Gowariker, Jodhaa Akbar draws you into its drama just moments into the film, transporting you to the battlefield, to the emperor's court, to Jodhaa's private chamber, and most importantly, into the mind and heart of Mohammed Jalaluddin Akbar himself, where he grapples with betrayals and insecurities.

It's the kind of film that doesn't quite let go of your attention well after the end credits have rolled some three hours and 20 minutes later.

Much will be said about the film's daunting length, and truth is, it could have been shorter. I can think of at least two subplots that could have been judiciously trimmed. But having said that, I honestly believe the length of Jodhaa Akbar doesn't hurt. You are swept into the roller-coaster ride of Akbar's political and personal growing-up journey, and it's not often that the screenplay loses its pace.

The film's best moments are the ones between the protagonist couple. Take that scene in which he catches her sight transfixed on his bare torso, or that sword fight between the couple that's bubbling with sexual energy. Even that delicate scene in which he reveals to his wife an awkward truth about his education. Or then that moving scene in which he vindicates her honour by demanding to be served his lunch in the same plates she ate out of just moments ago in a tense situation.

Truth is, Jodhaa Akbar works like a dream when it focuses its energies on the relationship between the couple – their little spats, their mischievous moments, his heeding her advice, and the like.

As a big, period epic, Jodhaa Akbar has enough drama to keep you engaged – palace intrigue, violent confrontations and impressive battle sequences.

The scenes that stand out for their sheer visceral impact can be ticked off a checklist – first that breathtaking scene in which the emperor tames a wild elephant, also the one in which he gives in to his rage and orders a cruel death to a traitor, and finally that one-on-one combat scene in the climax, inspired no doubt from Troy. These are moments all that stay with you long after you've left your seat.

There is ample evidence of the fact that Gowariker once again assembles the perfect team to realise his vision. Kiran Deohans' cinematography is one of Jodhaa Akbar's key strengths, and nowhere is that more apparent than the battle scenes which Deohans' camera captures gloriously, making you feel like you're right out there where the action is.

His visual treatment for the film's songs is another masterstroke, in particular the eye-watering manner with which he films the Khwaja mere khwaja number, and also the lavish indulgence of the Azeem-o-shaan-shahenshah song.

Then there's Neeta Lulla's costumes and Nitin Desai's sets, both suitably ostentatious, but never once drawing attention away from the drama like they have previously in films like Sanjay Leela Bhansali's Devdas. Of course, Jodhaa Akbar benefits enormously from AR Rahman's genius score, a collection of the finest, most haunting tunes you can remember recently, my favourites being the unforgettable Jashne Baharaa number and the one-of-a-kind Khwaja mere Khwaja track.

The soul of Jodhaa Akbar however, lies in the superlative acting. Supporting player Nikitin Dheer makes a lasting impression as Akbar's rebellious brother-in-law, but the film of course belongs to the two leads.

As Jodhaa, the sometimes-feisty-sometimes-graceful leading lady, Aishwarya Rai is wonderfully restrained and uses her eyes expertly to communicate so much, making this one of her finest outings on screen.

Hrithik Roshan, as Akbar, oozes confidence and delivers a career-best performance as the unflinching emperor. Not only does he transform physically to become the part, he gets under the emotional skin of the character and makes it his own. I cannot think of any other actor who could play this better.

Fact or fiction, Jodhaa Akbar is an engaging, involving movie-going experience, and puts Gowariker right up there on the very short list of India 's finest filmmakers. No prizes for guessing, I'm going with four out of five and two thumbs up for Ashutosh Gowariker's Jodhaa Akbar, it's a modern masterpiece that will be celebrated for years to come.

Rating: 4 / 5 (Very Good)

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/masands-verdict-jodhaa-akbar/590 60-8-single.html

Edited by Nika_d - 17 years ago
Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail
Anything but a masterpiece

ROYAL COUPLE: Hrithik Roshan and Aishwarya Rai in 'Jodhaa Akbar'.

Film: Jodhaa Akbar

Cast: Hrithik Roshan, Aishwarya Rai

Direction: Ashutosh Gowariker

No man is a chessboard. In each one of us greys abound. Unless of course one is watching Ashutosh Gowariker's 'Jodhaa Akbar'. Here Akbar, arguably the great Mughal emperor, is a paragon of perfection! He does not lose a battle and towers above the rest with his moral stature. Sorry, Akbar needs no brownie points from posterity Gowariker is a poor student of history. Worse, he is wilfully poor. The film is so glaringly deficient in the most obvious of thin gs that you wonder if the director was trying to mock at history. Or is it a deliberate subversion of the truth?

Agreed, there has been a debate, largely avoidable though, whether Jodhaa was Akbar's wife or daughter-in-law.

A common cinemagoer can leave it to historians to thrash it out but where Gowariker fails miserably is in attention to elementary details. Relating the untapped romance of the Mughal Emperor and his Rajput wife, the film lacks integrity. And Aishwarya Rai, the wonderfully plastic doll, shows neither depth or width in her portrayal of a princess caught in the crossfire of men's ego: she is given away as a bride for political convenience by her father; she is accepted as such by her husband.

The only time Gowariker cares to talk of history is in the long sequences of their respective religions: he is a Muslim, so he goes to Khwaja's abode. She is a Hindu, so she settles for Krishna bhakti. Shades of 'Mughal-e-Azam'? In concept only.

Taking liberties

Gowariker takes too many liberties with history in the name of artistic licence. His devout souls at the dargah are all carefully clean shaven, like those ads for men's lotions! And his emperor even does a little jig at the end of a song! Then walks the garden path with the lady love in another sequence.

Yes, Akbar is exposed for being unlettered but in the climax even the fig leaf of royalty is taken away in the physical duel he is made to have with his arch enemy, Sharifuddin. So many negatives!

Yes, but like life, here too there is a little silver lining. Hrithik Roshan may not fit the stereotypes of Akbar but he is fine in action.

He is a decent actor who manages to look good simply because his counterpart Aishwarya Rai refuses to do even the bare minimum. She is vapid all through, making Hrithik look almost outstanding in comparison. Unfortunately, Gowariker does not invest his hero with too much detail. He comes across as a man who could do no wrong. And we never get to see the human side of the redoubtable man.

Characters

But there are other characters which hold interest. Sonu Sood as Rai's brother is more than passably good. And the likes of Poonam Sinha, Kulbhushan Kharbanda and Raza Murad leave a mark too. Also, historically ignored characters like Maham Anaga, Adham Khan and Bairam Khan get their moments.

Lengthy

Watch 'Jodhaa Akbar' as a masala entertainer, and you may not be too disappointed despite its poor editing, resulting in an inordinate length. The big canvas will appeal to some, the cinematography to others as would the song 'Jashn-e-bahara hai'. Looking for a masterpiece of history with the past throbbing with life? You might have to wait till eternity. This one thrills neither the historians nor connoisseurs.

ZIYA US SALAM

http://www.hindu.com/2008/02/16/stories/2008021658290200.htm
Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail
Flawed epic worth a watch

Jodhaa Akbar
Cast: Hrithik Roshan, Aishwarya Rai, Ila Arun and others
Director: Ashutosh Gowariker
Rating: ***

When you watch the CGI-assisted battle scenes in Ashutosh Gowariker's Jodhaa Akbar, you marvel at the work done by K.Asif and Sohrab Modi, who made their historical masterpieces without such modern-day conveniences. The many shortcomings of Jodhaa Akbar — the director's ambition, courage and passion not being among them — only remind you of the fact that films are made or broken on the written page, not on the computer.

Jodhaa Akbar has the grandeur a 40-crore budget can buy, but why does it still leave the fan of the historical/costume drama cold? Because it doesn't have a single scene that brings tears to the eyes, not a single confrontation that sets the pulse racing, not a line that will go down in movie history, not a song that will be hummed half a century later. like Pyar kiya to darna kya from Mughal-e-Azam still is.

It has a hero like Emperor Akbar, but its villains are puny; its supporting cast has no teeth and the plot teeters from romance to court intrigues without figuring out where it is headed. The fictional love story between Akbar (Hrithik Roshan) and Jodhaa (Aishwarya Rai) makes the screen light up with the beauty of the lead pair and the chemistry they share. No other actor today, could have brought the grace dignity and gravity to the character of a prince that Roshan does —even though he is made to perform needless 'items' like an elephant fight and a bare-bodied sword practice scene for the benefit of the breathless queen (if only he had allowed his hair to be styled according to 16th century styles when layers were not in!). Aishwarya Rai looks gorgeous in period costume and performs well too.

You appreciate Gowariker's feminist interpretation of Jodhaa, though it was not very likely that a Rajput princess could, in those times, lay down conditions before marrying the Emperor, refuse to let him touch her, or have a sword-fight with him to determine whether she would live with him or leave him!

Some scenes of Akbar's wooing of Jodhaa have a sweet tenderness — like the one where he learns what to do when an aarti is placed before him, or eats from her platter. And you wait for these bits impatiently, while Akbar's rivals and enemies pop up with exasperating regularity — from relatives eyeing the throne, to religious leaders whining about his Hindu wife, to his old wet nurse (Ila Arun) cooking up her own reptilian plots in the zenana.

Even after the love story has come to a nice romantic conclusion, when Jodhaa comes back to Akbar to consummate the marriage, Gowariker goes in for another climax so that a wicked brother-in-law (Nikitin Dheer) can be dealt with. And he pauses to let the character of Jodhaa's beloved cousin Sujamal (Sonu Sood) take his time to die, as forgotten misunderstandings are cleared.

With all the attention on authentic costumes and sets (still, the machine stitching on drapes shows), there are lapses — like characters reaching over vast distances in no time, when they had to travel on horseback. The angry populace complaining of high prices and misrule by the Emperor's officials, bursting into dance (superbly choreographed) when Akbar abolishes a tax on pilgrimage, which he didn't even know was levied! Finally, cribs about the film being too long are justified — in putting together his labour of love, Gowariker did let himself get self-indulgent.

For a patient viewer, Jodhaa Akbar is watchable, but it never achieves the level of a tour de force. Still, his valour can be applauded — better to have achieved a flawed epic, than never to have attempted one. After all, who would have predicted that a period film about a rustic cricket team would make it to the Oscars, until he made Lagaan?

http://www.deccan.com/Cinema%20Cinema/Cinema%20CinemaDescrip tion.asp#Flawed epic worth a watch
269464 thumbnail
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG YAY im soo glad that its a hit

ii wont say anything abt ash but will try to keep it positivie

im sure she did guddd

BUT YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY MY HRITHIKZ MOVIE IS A SUPERRRRRRRR HITTTTTTTTT 😳
HE Rox anythin and everythin

cant waittttttttt to c da movie :D

Luv
Payal 😳
shabari thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: prettygalhere

OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG YAY im soo glad that its a hit

ii wont say anything abt ash but will try to keep it positivie

im sure she did guddd

BUT YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY MY HRITHIKZ MOVIE IS A SUPERRRRRRRR HITTTTTTTTT 😳
HE Rox anythin and everythin

cant waittttttttt to c da movie :D

Luv
Payal 😳

i share the same feelings....anything that hrithik touches as far as films are concerned should become a golden jubilee...he will always remain India's super hero no matter how many Khans come and go.👏👏

Mistyy thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
ok first of all, let me just say that i don't like historics, never have. I even hated the legendary Mogal-e-azzam.... Now that i am being honest let me also say i had my doubts about AG's directional talent. I didn't like his swadesh..Lagaan was good but i just thought it's because it is Amir's movie and he never goes wrong. i wasn't sure if the movie was going to be good or not! Thank God, AG proved me wrong, it is not only good ...it's GREAT 😳 😃

My fav's scenes/songs in order 👏
1)elephant scene
2)Sword fight between Aish-Hrithik (the best part was when Hrithik tells her "Mallika e Hindustan, ye mat bhuliye hum appke shohar he...when he said this, Whole house burst into laugh..and there were claps all over)
3) Azeem-o-shehnshah ( wat a chereography)
4)Khwaja khwaja and Hrihtik's little dance at the end ...song was divine..Hrithik's dance was hilarious
5)Lamho ke song ...too good of a chemistry (MUST WATCH FOR ABHI )
6) The scene where Hrithik ordered that guy to be thrown down from building, not once but twice (it was cruel but funny)
7) All the scenes between Hrithik and Aish when he comes to fetch her from her Mayka ..especially the one at night, when she pertends to be sleeping and he says "Sorry" to her (the way he looks at her...just KAatil..sigh...)
8)the scene in the beginning with Jodha's two conditions..must watch
9) The scene where Jodha cooks the food and is aksed to taste it first for security reasons, and then Akbar asks to eat from the same plate (Haila...it was just so cute, all the people started clapping when he said that )

Performances
Hrithik👍🏼 : Defietly a SHOW STEALER...too good, His eyes, expressions, walk and posture ..anything and everything was great. it was a flawless performacne., i defienlty say no one could have played this part this connectively with the audience. 5/5

Aishwarya😳 : This is defiently one of her better performance. She was not great...there were times when i didn't like her dialogue dilevary but it is still one of her good performances. 3/5

All the other actors were suitable, nothing great. Illa Arun played her part well..she managed to scare me, Sonu saad and others were good too.

Now to the flaws, ok first of all..let me say i thought i was going to get bored and go crazy with the length of 3:30 but surprisingly it didn't happen. Last time, when i watched Veer zaara which was about 3 hr and more, i literally wanted to kick/kill someone. i just couldn't tolerate the length of that movie...after that i stopped watching Indian movies in theaters...and so i thought i was going to get restless by the end..but it defiently didn't happen. Story kept on flowing, no unnecessary rona dhona..i liked it because it looked realistic, nothing sort of fantasy world where boy always gets the girl at the end. I was little disappointed in climax, because i thought it was going to be a huge war scenes...but the one on one scene..kind a disappointed me. Yes, there were many parellel stories running, i understood them all..but for someone who is not a big history geek or hindi movie buff, it might get little hard to comprehend. I wish AG would have tried to make the politics more clear.

Audience reaction 🥳 : Ok first of all, this was the biggest theater i ever saw for any Indian movie in here. IT was PACKED. People were whisteling and clapping all over. The only distraction was that there were two freaking babies who kept on crying on and off (Asians...can't pay for babysitting ) No one left in the middle of the movie..and there was a long applause at the end. So people loved it..even the last show at 10 O'clock seemed sold out. So GO JA 👍🏼

Over all, i think it was beautiful movie with Perfect sets and costumes. Even the music is perfect with the movie's situations. It grows on you. Hrithik totally gave smashing performance, which he always does so i won't rave more about it. But i do have to say this is hrithk's first movie after long time which had a good story and direction. Last, we saw that in KMG and Lakshay. His performaces in Krrish and D2 were great but the direction/story were shitty...so there were flaws. But JA has a great direction, and a great flow in the story. He totally floored me with his romantic side in this movie..just Perfect!
My Ratings : 4/5 😃 🥳
Must watch At least ONCE in theaters..and then watch it again on DVD's ...so we can forward little bit!
Edited by piya_y116 - 17 years ago
dsherpa thumbnail
👏great movie.....esp the song azeem- o shaan -shenshah. it was just breathtaking. this one is for hrithik👏
Edited by dsherpa - 17 years ago