CHAPTER - 4
Suddenly Kripa's alarm went off and Kripa jerked from her sleep……..It was already 5 …..She groaned aloud…….She wanted to go back to sleep and never get up again…….She still felt tired…..But she did not have a choice…..Exams were nearing and she had to get up and start with her day………She sighed and got up…….
Krish was in a full talkative mode that morning and kept chatting with her as usual and Prateek and Sur kept interfering in between with there comments…
Krish: Mom………Your birthday is also coming…….Sur told me it is on 20…..and then we have to buy you a present too…….and a cake too……..I like chocolate cake……and I want some chocolates too……..and how many days more mom….for ur birthday………he counted the days with his little fingers……..It is how many days mom, he asked again confused………
Kripa chuckled……….
K: It is after 14 days dear…….
Krish: Oh…….and when is my birthday……..
K: It's nearly 10 days after mine………she smiled…..
S: Krish……you are just a baby………you don't even know what your birth date is……..
Krish: I know……my birth date……he said yelling…..
K: Krish……..no yelling……..
Krish: Sorry mom……..But I know when my birth day is……..
S: Tell me………She challenged with her eye brows up……
Krish: it is 10 days after moms……….he said innocently…Kripa chuckled……
S: Dumbo……..It's on 30th March………..
Krish made a face at her……..and Prateek interfered……
P: Sur……..Krish is smaller than both of us……
K: younger………kripa corrected…….
P: Yes younger than both of us…….So he does not know it……he defended his bro……..
Sur rolled her eyes and started eating………
Krish: What present do u want for ur birthday…….I will buy u one…..he said excited……..
S: And where will u get money from………Do you at least know that u need money to buy things……..she snapped……Kripa sighed………God Sur was getting too smart……..day by day……
K: Krish………I just want lots and lots of hugs and kisses………..
Krish: But mom……..we give u hugs and kisses every day……..he whined……..
K: And that is worth than any gift u can give me………that and love ………Do you love me…….?
Krish nodded………
K: Then Love is the best gift any one can have…….There is no gift bigger than love in life………She said caressing his hairs………
Krish: Really mom
K: Yeah really………..
Krish: Then I will give u this much love……on your birthday…..he said raising his arms………and showing how much………..Kripa chuckled and kissed his forehead affectionately………….
K: Then I am the richest person alive on earth…….she said smiling…….
Sur and Prateek jumped from the table a little jealous of the affection Krish was getting……..
S: I will also give u this much love mom……she said showing………
P: And me too…….Prateek said coming close to her………
Kripa laughed at them and understood, there insecurity……She hugged them all and kissed there forehead………
Krish: But mom I am going to give love to u………he said innocently……frowning and looking accusingly at Prateek and Sur……..
K: Krish…….Love grows every time you give…….....Those are your brother and sisters right……..and if you all love each other and give me all the love together……..then I will have even more love with me……….right……Krish nodded….......
K: I love u all too……..very very much……and that is what counts……Now common all of you…….lets get ready and go to school…….we are getting late……..she said racing with them……with a new found happiness……..
She got the children ready…..and after the prayers they all walked out together…………..
Soon the day went by…..She prepared Exam question papers for her classes and subjects that day, in her free time……Krish, Sur's and Prateek's words kept coming to her………making her smile and grin…all day……..It really felt wonderful to have love of 3 wonderful kids………She could not ask God for more……….But she carved for the love of one person she had lost…….She sighed…..there was no use thinking about some thing, which u could not get…….…She went to see, Sur and Prateek's Art performance in their class, as they did not have exams in Sr. Kg's and Jr. kg's………They would just look at the performance this week and grade each subject… They had done well and teachers praised them…….They were both given A grade…..for their Arts…3-4 Days went by and Sur and Prateek's assignments were all over and they had done exceptionally well……….Kripa was proud of them and praised them a lot……..
Only a week was left in the school……...Kripa was busy with exams…….and preparing homework assignments for the summer……Her class was over and she was sitting in the staff room alone……Looking through the answer papers of the children………Suddenly there was a knock on the door………..and Kripa looked up………She could not believe her eyes……..She did not know if she was dreaming or it was the reality……..When he cleared his throat………All color drained from her face……..Never in her dreams she imagined that Angad would come back……..She had given up on him a long time ago………She could not utter a word and kept on looking at him……..Her mouth refused to speak and her legs refused to move………She just sat there dumbly……..Looking at him……standing there in the door way…….looking at her with lustful eyes………Just like before………
Other side……..Angad stood there……..with his expensive tailored suit and polished shoes……….His hairs set properly….Both his hands in his pocket………..He was staring at Kripa………He could just not take his eyes off her……..and he was just blown with her beauty……She was even more beautiful than before……Her soft skin was glowing and her hairs……as silky as before……touched her waist…..She did not have her hairs so long before…….Her body ripped to perfection…….She was dressed in a saree…..fit to her body……showing every curve promptly…......His eyes moved from her head to midsection where the desk blocked the view..….He had thought about her numerous times in this past year………But the bitterness of her choosing some one else over her husband, had crushed his ego……He hated her for it…….hated what she did to him, to them, to their marriage………..
He closed his eyes……He wasn't here for thinking about all that……….He had come for only one and one reason………..Giving Kripa divorce………that's it………Unknown pain ripped through his body…...Take her signatures and go away……he thought a little angrily..……But the rush of attraction and sizzle which passed through his body……..made him realize that he was not over her……..Not in a long shot……..She still affected him as she did 5 years ago…….He bit his tongue angrily……..They were so happy together……..But she had ruined it all…….Just for friendship sake…….No…….he did not love her any more…….He hated her if not something else………He hated her…..and now he was marrying some one else……..Mishti….His Step Mom's best friend Damini Bose's daughter Mishti…….Who loved him very much…….Kripa was nothing to him now……..She was his past….But Mishti was his present and future………He slowly went inside……..reminding this to himself………
A: Hi Kripa….
K: Angad she whispered…….swallowing hard………Her hands trembled a little ….her heart beating so heavily that she thought it would just pop out……..She did not know what to say……..She did not know what to expect or what to make out about his sudden arrival………He had not even bothered to call her in last 5 years………She waited and waited each day…….She had left her pride and even called him 3-4 times till she got the answer that the phone was disconnected…….She had sent letters…..But no reply….and now he was before her………As handsome as before……..Even more…..He had filled out near his arms and shoulders and he looked even more stronger than before………
A: So you have done good for ur self……..He asked mockingly, eyeing around the room………
K: I would like to think that ……..she said quietly………A little hurt……..He was as arrogant as before…..she thought sadly…….His words spoke of bitterness……he still harbored against her……….But she had no choice………She did the only thing she had to do…..He could have supported her…….But he did not want the additional responsibility……..He wanted easy way out…….But Kripa Sharma never broke a promise…….in her life and When he had asked her to select between him and her friendship………she had no choice….She had pleaded with him to think again…….that they could do it together and asked him to forget the past, whatever happened between him and Prithvi…….which she was unaware of………But he was adamant, either she choose him or her friend…….And that was it….....She had been so lonely…….She had pleaded with him again and again…...they had argued a lot and had a big fight ……..And then he had left her never to return till today………In spite of that, she had gone to Delhi to meet him for a day…..But came to know that he had shifted away from there……..She did not have any means for communication…….and had lost all touch with him……..It still pained knowing the person who claimed to love u so much, could be so heartless……..Why are u here Angad? She asked slowly….looking at him…….staring in his eyes……He looked away…….without looking at her………
A: For this…….he said taking out the papers from his pocket……..I want ur signatures………He said showing her the papers………..and turning around…..looking at the books…….and files around the room……..His heart heavy…….All the memories of the past came rushing ….......Their sweet time together…….their wonderful days filled with joy and love…......But today..........
K: What are these? Kripa asked an unknown pain filling her up…..even before she opened them……….
A: I hope the school teacher can read………he barked arrogantly turning around and raising his eyebrows……..Kripa slowly opened it…….Her eyes widened at the word Divorce…….and her hands trembled……..the paper fell on the desk and she looked up …….He was standing there with his hands folded looking at her expressions…….coolly……
K: They are divorce papers ………You want divorce? She asked slowly……….
A: Yes, they are divorce papers and yes I want divorce……..…..What is the use to stay married when we have parted long time back….He asked angrily…….But don't worry……..I am quite rich now and I have given u generous amount as a alimony……….he said laughing bitterly……..
Kripa widened her eyes and looked at him………In a year they spent together…….did he understand her just this much…….Didn't he know she never was after money……..Her anger rose……….
K: I don't need your charity Mr. Angad Khanna………
A: That's fine with me…….Mrs. Kripa Khanna……..He barked back…..in anger…….shrugging his shoulders……….
K: Just one question…….why now? After so many years………Why did u not come soon…..
A: Shrugged again…….Because now I found a girl who I want to marry………who loves me……..….he said and looked at her……..with satisfaction when all color drained from her face……..He smiled at her with great satisfaction………seeing her moist eyes……..5 Years of hating her had made this moment seeing her burn worth while…..he thought………Kripa could not believe this……..Was his love so weak……..He had said to her countless times how much he loved her…..showed her in every gesture and when a small responsibility came on there shoulder, he ran so fast that he did not even come to see if she was alive or not…….And today when he came, only thing he wanted was her signatures…….Her heart ached with pain………She was feeling as if she was loosing every thing today…….her family, her life……everything…….She wanted to tell him some thing……..but it was no use now…….. It was too late……..any way……..
K: Congratulations……..what is her name? She asked slowly…….giving him a small smile……..She would not cry before him……..Her tears were for her alone………She swallowed hard……….
A: Mishti Bose he said slowly………When he saw a tear slip her soft cheek, which she wiped quickly…….but not before he noticing it……..How he had hated to ever see her cry…….But today…….was he really happy doing this?…..He was not over her yet…….He still found her attractive…..Yeah he did not love her for sure !!!…..But he wanted her…..just like before…….he wanted to kiss her……make love to her……..He stopped his thoughts from wandering off……….Kripa was still seated in her chair……..She could not get up……She knew if she did…….she would fall straight down……Her legs were too wobbly and did not have strength to take her shoulder weight…….So she just looked up at him and asked……..
K: Where do I have to Sign…..Kripa looked through the papers………and then searched for the pen in her purse….Her hands trembling a little……as she kept searching her purse..…..Angad took out a expensive black pen from his pocket and handed it to her……..She took it in her trembling hands…..her heart hammering painfully…...She struggled to open it…..but could not……Her eyes were heavy with tears…..and she could not even see the paper before her clearly…..She looked away from him…..Angad stopped her hand and took the pen from her……..Their hands touched and electricity passed between them……..Kripa's eyes flew to him and they stared at each other…A tear slipped her eye and fell on his hand, which were still near the desk…..opening the pen……. but she looked down quickly….Wiping her cheeks with the back of her hand……..He slowly opened the pen and gave it to her……And closed his eyes……It still pained him to see her tears……He felt his body stiffen…..and his eyes filled too…….But he blinked and made him self strong……..He snatched his hands…..and looked at the tear drop which had just fell on his hands…..His heart sank a little……
K: How is Dadaji? She asked taking the pen still looking at the papers….blinking a little, to let her vision clear…..
A: He passed away after a month of our separation………he said plainly…… with out any expression……..forgetting all about the tear……..and the same bitterness took over…….. Kripa closed her eyes …….painfully…and let tears slip her cheeks……..She had loved the old man with all her heart……And he had loved her too…..They had shared the unique bond…and he had thought her so many things….about their culture…..about cooking taking care of house…..everything………
K: I am sorry……..she said slowly…choking at her own words……Where do I have to sign……..She asked with heavy heart again…….This was it……..The closure….of their relationship……..for ever……….she closed her eyes and opened it and looked at where he pointed……..She was about to sign there when the door burst open…….The school peon came running………..Kripa looked up…….and saw his concerned face………she forgot everything……..Divorce papers, Angad…….Dadaji's death…….everything…..
K: What happened Sameer? She asked frowning and getting up….
S: Madam….Krish…..
The remaining color from her face drained off, a fear clutched her heart………..and she ran to him….
K: What happened to Krish? Sameer……..
S: I …I saw him falling from the slide…….He hit his head…..and he is bleeding badly……..Miss. Pramila took him to the school clinic……..But ………Kripa did not stand to listen to his explanation and ran out of the room leaving a confused Angad behind, he was a little curious and a little concerned…as kripa looked white as sheet……who was this Krish? He thought…frowning……..he took the Divorce papers and pen and ran behind her….When he could not find her in the corridor, he went back to the staff room again and asked the peon to take him to the clinic…..Peon looked at him with frown but then nodded and took him there…….
Kripa ran all the way down and to the clinic where Krish was taken……Her heart aching…..Tears flowing from her eyes…….When she came in to the room…….Her eyes widened, there was blood everywhere on his White T. Shirt……..Krish was crying loudly and his forehead looked worse..….and she was almost going to faint when a faint voice stopped her from falling……..
Krish was sobbing for her…….She gathered her courage and ran to him ……..
K: Krish…..Krish looked up……Nurse looked relived seeing her……..
Krish broke out and started crying even louder……..raising his arms for her………..She immediately went to him and took him in her arms……..
Krish: Mommy…..It's hurting…….He said crying……Kripa hugged him lightly….and looked at his injury…….There was one deep cut on his forehead and his forehead was all blue…and red……The nurse had cleaned the injury, but blood was still coming……..
K: How is he…..she asked anxiously to the nurse…..
N: He had hurt a little deeply, than I thought..….You need to take him to the hospital soon…He needs at least 3-4 stitches…..and he will be sore and may also have some fever, due to pain…..she said sympathetically…….He has to take a tetanus injection too…..She said a bit slowly………
Krish: Mom I don't want a injection……..he cried even harder…..and Kripa looked at him concerningly…..
K: It's ok dear………..We will see about it later ok……..First lets get u to doctor and clean ur wound…..she said wiping his tears lightly……..
N: Nishant sir went to bring his car from parking lot….He will come soon…….she said encouraging her a little….with a small smile…..
Kripa looked at Krish's tearful face…….….Her eyes moistened…….If only she could take away all the pain….and take it herself…….she thought……
Kripa slowly caressed his cheeks…..Krish was still sobbing……
K: It will get better love …..I promise………she said gathering him close and hugging him………Then she saw Sur and Prateek there in the clinic…….crying there heart out……….Harshini was standing besides them…….
H: I am sorry Kripa …..But they were crying a lot wanting to meet Krish and I thought that they would feel better if they see Krish for them self…..They were in the ground as well and saw Ms. Pramila bringing him here…..she said apologetically…….Krish was looking at them and sobbing….loud hiccups following …his cries…..Both Sur and Prateek frightened went near their mom……Their eyes nearly moist………
S: Mom, Is Krish going to be alright? She asked sobbing……
K: Of course dear…….If u don't believe me ask the nurse here…she said caressing her …The nurse nodded and sur let out another cry looking at Krish……..His forehead was quite swollen…….Nishant came there soon……..Kripa noticed Angad standing there at the door way…….looking at them with a frown…….She ignored him, she would deal with him later………Nishant came and gathered Prateek and Sur in his arms……
N: If u both keep crying who will look after ur mom and Krish……You know mom needs our help right……..Look she is looking as if she is about to cry……Now do u want her to cry…..Both shook there head……..So stop crying…….Lets go to hospital and make Krish all better……..ok…Both nodded…..
P: Chachu…….See there is blood on his forehead and on his shirt……he said wincing…….looking at Prateek, with tears……
N: It's ok dear…….He is a little hurt …It will get better soon…..Ok…They nodded then…Nishant looked at Kripa who was looking at Krish with concern….Her eyes shining …….Nishant sighed…..Kripa he is going to be ok……Common lets go……I called the doctor…..We will be there within few min and they will take care of him……common…I think its better to take kids or else they will be worried…….Kripa nodded gathered crying Krish in her arms, thanked the nurse and walked out through the back door forgetting all about Angad………
She sat in the front seat with Nishant……Krish in her arms…..hugging her tightly……..Nishant caressed his head one last time and then patted kripa on her cheek to encourage her……..Kripa gave him a wobbling smile and then he drove away……..But her heart was beating wildly with worry for her child………..
Angad kept looking at them from distance……….His hands clenched in a tight fist………Who was the person, with Kripa…..why was he touching her…..He had no right touching his wife……he thought……….angrily… He then remembered Nishant a little…….He was the principal of the school even 6 years back when he had met Kripa first time since there high school…and then too she was working at the same school….He had met one or two times….for 5 minutes may be………….The children were calling him Chachu……and who was this Krish…….As far as he knew…….Sur and Prateek were……….He frowned……..Some thing in him told that he had to find out about Krish……Was he Nishant and Kripa's son…….His hands clenched at the thought……But he shook his head……..No…..Kripa would not do this, he knew that much about her…….….He went in and asked the nurse which hospital they took Krish……Nurse told him the hospital and then went back to her work…….
Angad knew Nainital quite well…..He drove himself to the hospital……He looked around and found Nishant with 2 little kids cringed to him……sobbing there heart out…….They looked sweet and so innocent that his heart went out to them……..He wanted to hug them and say that everything was going to be alright..……..But he stopped him self…..…..His eyes searched for Kripa instead..….but he could not find her……Then he saw a old lady coming to Nishant…..children left Nishant and hugged her and she told Nishant something……and he waved and went inside the doctors room…….
Angad walked and went to see what was happening in side……..Kripa was holding Krish's hand……her cheeks were wet with tears…….Nishant was consoling her and then talking to krish smoothly……telling him how brave he was….and he had to show mom, that he would not cry…like her as he was stronger than her and so on……..Nishant asked Kripa to sit back and he will hold Krish……But she did not leave him…..She was holding on to him………with tears flowing……..The doctor gave him some injection making him sleep and then stitched the wound …......Angad winced………He could feel the pain of the child………His gaze fell on Kripa and he felt bad for her……..But the question came back to him…….who was krish?
After a while Nishant gathered Krish and Angad saw them walking to the MRI room…….Doctor's wanted to be safe and see if he had any internal injuries or blood clots……….Everything went fine and Doctor's confirmed that there was no internal injury and he will be fine soon……Kripa thanked the doctor…...Nishant collected the sleeping Krish in his arms and putting a shoulder on Kripa's hand walked her out…….He knew how disturbed Kripa must be……
Angad clenched his hands…..looking at the picture perfect family, when they went to where Sur and Prateek were waiting……….Dadi got up when they came and scanned Krish's injury …..She gathered Kripa in her arms and hugged her that every thing is alright and she should not cry….But Kripa could not help it….Tears flowed from her eyes……..Today the day was the worst day of her life…..First Angad coming for the divorce and then this……..Sur and Prateek hugged her legs and kripa parted with Dadi and sat down and hugged them both smiling a little saying Krish was alright just needed some rest and medicines………They nodded and walked out……..together……..Dadi sat back with the children and Kripa sat with Krish in front…….All drove away…making Angad more and more restless……..Angad followed the car to just know where she stays…..He would not bother her today……she has gone through enough for the day he thought a little sadly…….He felt a little sad that Nishant was where he should have been today…He should have been there with Kripa…... But no…….thanks to Kripa……for driving him away….he thought………..Soon they reached the house, Angad parked his car a little away….…He was shocked to see the place where Kripa lived…….It was a old house…….The paint was peeled off…….The wires were spread………..here and there….which could be dangerous…..and the fence was all broken……The house was in horrible position…..Couldn't she live some where more safer than this…….She should have at least thought of the kids……..But why was he concerned for them…..……He looked at Nishant who was carrying Krish……Kripa was with Sur and Prateek and the old lady followed them…….He again winced at the thought of they being a family…….He shrugged his shoulders to relive some tension thinking soon he would have a family of his own………once he marries……but Kripa wouldn't be there in it……the thought bought a unknown pain…….he reversed his New Royal Blue BMW and drove off………..
At home…….Nishant laid Krish in his bed and children sat besides him…….looking at his wound….curiously…and concerned……..Kripa took the blanket and covered him…….
S: Mom…….Is Krish hurting a lot? She asked looking at Krish's stiches…….
K: Yes dear……so be careful………
P: I can kiss it and make it all better mom………he said looking at Kripa for permission……..Kripa smiled and nodded……Both Prateek and Sur kissed Krish
N: Sur, Prateek……..Lets go out now, so krish can sleep, we don't want to disturb him right…….The children obliged immediately and went out……Kripa went to krish and sat down…..She slowly kissed his cheeks and looked at his swollen forehead and cheeks…………His eyes puffy from crying……His face pale…….She felt like crying……She could not see her child in pain……Her heart ached for him……..Nishant put a hand on her shoulder…….
N: Kripa….common…..lets sit in dinning…..Doctor said that he would not get up for another 4-5 hours as they have given him pain killers…….So lets have some tea….Dadi has prepared some tea for us….Kripa nodded and walked out with him…….They sat quietly and had there tea……..Dadi had already given milk to the children and some snacks and they were sitting in hall seeing a cartoon….with there snacks………
Once there were done……Dadi asked Kripa to rest and they will take care of children…….Sleep was far from her eyes…..But Kripa obliged and went to Krish sat next to him on the bed………She kept looking at him……..Her eyes became moist……..Thinking about Angad……He had asked for divorce today and his son was hurt……….Just like her…..Only thing was her hurt was not visible but her sons was……But he did not know that………….
She closed her eyes…..Putting a light hand across Krish's stomach……..and laying her head on his pillow as closer as she could be……..She remembered there school days………..They were so good friends then…That her heart ached ………What had changed between them……..what made the two people grow so apart……….They had once loved each other so much……..and today?…….a tear escaped her eye………without her notice………….
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7aPtjImR5RA
Tere bina zindagi se koyi, shikwa, to nahi, shikwa nahi, shikwa nahi, shikwa nahi
Tere bina zindagi bhi lekin, zindagi, to nahi, zindagi nahi, zindagi nahi, zindagi nahi
Tere bina zindagi se koyi, shikwa, to nahi
Kaash aisa ho tere qadmo se, chun ke manzil chale aur kahi door kahi - 2
Tum gar saath ho, manzilo ki kami to nahi
Tere bina zindagi se koyi, shikwa, to nahi
Jee mein aata hai, tere daaman mein, sar jhuka ke ham rote rahe, rote rahe - 2
Teri bhi aankho mein, aansuo ki nami to nahi
Tere bina zindagi se koyi, shikwa, to nahi,
shikwa nahi, shikwa nahi, shikwa nahi
Tere bina zindagi bhi lekin, zindagi, to nahi,
zindagi nahi, zindagi nahi, zindagi nahi
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pHbeA-2DzpI
Ok…….here is the lovely VM of AK.. for the same song.……..I don't know who really made this………But it is good ….