Is Kamini Chachi wrong?

kalyas thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
I have been wondering about this concept of self respect and not accepting help from anyone. 2 of the serials I watch are going through this exact same track where someone calls accepting help as self respect.
This is how I see things... May be I am lost...

- Though it is Ramnath wealth, Kamini and family are accustomed to the wealth. She accepted hardheartedly and all she wanted was a grand 5 star wedding.
- Sumo's family is not well off so they have a budget for everything.
- Both are right in their own place.
- But as a friend when Shravan is offering help to top off the budget Sumo has, what is wrong? Isn't that the happy medium? Isnt that really cool? Kamini gets what she want, Sumo budget is safe and everyone is happy.

What is so wrong in taking recommendations from Shravan? They are rich and they might get things for discounted rate... What is wrong in it?

Things are getting so illogical. Kamini is busy trying to get Shravan and Sumo together instead of stopping her own son's wedding. Why did she even accept the wedding in the first place. Ramnath is not doing anything as he promised to stop the wedding... Why is she so ok with it?

I know Shravan is blind about his father but does he not once want to confront his own mother about why she did what she did? Just for the relationship sake?

I have seen this for years now... Sony TV has a great characteristic. They have amazing serials on their channel. However they are never as famous as Star Plus or Colours. The reason is after a great start, they make things slip and people lose interest and low TRP and serial is shut.

The same is happening with this show. They started off great... now it started sliding and no effort is being put to restore the slide.
Hope they save this one...

travelholic thumbnail
9th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Networker 1 Thumbnail
I have seen this for years now... Sony TV has a great characteristic. They have amazing serials on their channel. However they are never as famous as Star Plus or Colours. The reason is after a great start, they make things slip and people lose interest and low TRP and serial is shut.

The same is happening with this show. They started off great... now it started sliding and no effort is being put to restore the slide.

bang on - you said everything in the bolded comment above
nith125 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Travelocity

+1
Humsafars is another example.
mallukumari thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: kalyas

I have been wondering about this concept of self respect and not accepting help from anyone. 2 of the serials I watch are going through this exact same track where someone calls accepting help as self respect.

This is how I see things... May be I am lost...

- Though it is Ramnath wealth, Kamini and family are accustomed to the wealth. She accepted hardheartedly and all she wanted was a grand 5 star wedding.
- Sumo's family is not well off so they have a budget for everything.
- Both are right in their own place.
- But as a friend when Shravan is offering help to top off the budget Sumo has, what is wrong? Isn't that the happy medium? Isnt that really cool? Kamini gets what she want, Sumo budget is safe and everyone is happy.

What is so wrong in taking recommendations from Shravan? They are rich and they might get things for discounted rate... What is wrong in it?

I think the reason Suman says she can't accept help is because they're "ladke-wale"...and desi hindu society is very set in their thoughts...it's normally the girl's family that throws the wedding and the rituals prior...the girl's family funds the wedding and the guy's family just shows up with the baraat!

So accepting money or help from the guy's family is actually considered a hit on your self-respect. Like Sumo said, some people don't even eat/drink at the guy's house. It's a weird norm that we have and everyone's bought into it.

But Mami was all ready to accept help from Ramnath, so that tells me it's not really an issue like that...Sumo is denying help because she feels it would be like giving into Ramnath(and also an insult to her love for Shravan).
piyu008 thumbnail
10th Anniversary Thumbnail Visit Streak 30 Thumbnail + 2
True .. I already don't understand half of illogical stuff here..
characters are being sacrificed in the name of track.

N the track it self is no good- as you pointed out kamini not tring to stop the wedding plus why everyone is playing blind games for this dowry thingy, gosh why they are promoting it.

Edited - i too really doubt the self respect thingy bcoz once when the khurana track was their ..remember when shravan paid off 5 crores to khurana.. then everyone was ok with the fact in-fact they were celebrating .
N suman ..that time she was worried about her mom's reputation.(i am not telling its bad, but 5 crores wasn't a small thing.)

Edited by piyu008 - 9 years ago
RoxyC thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail
this show is getting weird everyday. some of the script make no sense.they really don't know what they want to give the viewers.
spnfan thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Most Posts (July 2022) Thumbnail + 6
Sumo is not accepting any of shravan's offer coz she is trying to keep distance from him.. Its as simple as.that... Noone will avoide a person and then accept money from them...
Kamini agreed coz ramu kaka told if she give the tiwaris her demands they will back off and by now noone else.in the family is listening to her rants an. Her husband and both her sons are standing against her.. Evenif.she says she dont want the marriage noone is gonna.listen and the marriage will happen.. So now her only way is to trap ramu kaka along with her and so she.is trying to make shraman happen...

noexcuse thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail

Originally posted by: Travelocity

This is not the problem if Sony only, it is with all channels. Because this is Sony at least we have few shows where things were closest to reality for first 90 episodes even if you do not like the current track you have to agree to that.
Try watching the highest trp gaining shows on star plus or Zee. There is no logic why Sony shows do not do well.