Sachin vs Chappell

Sur_Sangam thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Posted: 18 years ago

Chappell made some statements to the media about the attitude of senior players acting like "mafia" His brother Ian making statements to the media that Tendulkar should "see in the mirror" and should retire. Sachin who has always been quiet and never made any statements to the press in 17 years of his career came out and countered Chappels comments. Tendulkar said no body has for 17 years made a passing remark on his attitude, what to say of pointing any finger at him..Said he felt very sad and help less..

What do u think about all this?Who u think is right..Can senior players act like mafia..Can u question Tendulkar's attitude.. Do u believe Chappell may be right and these star players may be really acting bad..

mcm226 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
i'm with tendulkar...............who r this chappell brothers to point out finger at tendulkar n giving him suggestion to retire 🤢 ........i know,n all of u will agree that tendulkar is not that sort of man who will take personal attacks to media,v r seeing him from last 17 yrs..............there is something more serious thatswhy he came out n broke his silence..........the day chappell became coach,controversies n poor performanes n personal attcks,email,sms etc etc controversies started............all these things r destroying Indian cricket n the unity among the players.................its high time now to say good bye to great greg chappal...........

n one more thing,if India wud have done good at the world cup than yeh sms kabhi bahar aata hi nahi...........................i believe sachin n not this controversial coach........sachin bhi cricket se bada nahi hai but sachin ki integrity pe doubt karna sarasar galat hoga.............i'm happy ke chalo ab Indian cricket pe laga chappell naam ka grahan to khatam huwa((no offence))
Good bye greg,have a safe journey....

loveanime thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
You know I was listening to Sanjay Manjrekar on cricinfo, and he is right Greg Chapell showed the mirror of the state of Indian cricket to the world. Aussies are like that they are no nonsense, speak the mind, arrogant to an extent kind of people. The problem was I think the players didnt want to get out of their comfort zone and do something different for a change. It is all politics I tell you. The coach is the coach, Tendulkar can be a god, but when it comes to playing a team sport he needs to follow the instructions of the coach and captain, and shove aside his personal opinions. Why do you think Ponting is so successful do you think he puts up with any crap, he demands respect and he gets it. I think Chapell demanded respect as well, and I think the players had a problem with his style and in the end rebelled.
I am not sure the blame falls on one group entirely. Chapell did air out the dirty laundry of Indian cricket to the world, which I am glad he did, it is about time someone spoke up, but in the end it rubbed many of the players the wrong way. Maybe he should have handled what he said to media differently and tried to connect with the players more on an emotional level.
The players had too much we dont like this guy so we are not going to follow him attitude. Which in the end self destructed indian cricket, maybe the players should have made more effort in trying to understand Chapell way of working and gave him a chance, insted of all this infighting.
sp_2012 thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
NOO!! thts wrong. no one has the rite to say things to that to our players, good or bad! and plus, u cant judge the persons attitide on just one perforemance! sachin was the one who locked himself in the bathroom and started crying when we were loosing! sachin is the one who hasnt made a remark to anyone in his 17 yr carreer! ugh. this is disgusting!
Rock_Star thumbnail
18th Anniversary Thumbnail Dazzler Thumbnail

Originally posted by: mcm226

i'm with tendulkar...............who r this chappell brothers to point out finger at tendulkar n giving him suggestion to retire 🤢 ........i know,n all of u will agree that tendulkar is not that sort of man who will take personal attacks to media,v r seeing him from last 17 yrs..............there is something more serious thatswhy he came out n broke his silence..........the day chappell became coach,controversies n poor performanes n personal attcks,email,sms etc etc controversies started............all these things r destroying Indian cricket n the unity among the players.................its high time now to say good bye to great greg chappal...........

n one more thing,if India wud have done good at the world cup than yeh sms kabhi bahar aata hi nahi...........................i believe sachin n not this controversial coach........sachin bhi cricket se bada nahi hai but sachin ki integrity pe doubt karna sarasar galat hoga.............i'm happy ke chalo ab Indian cricket pe laga chappell naam ka grahan to khatam huwa((no offence))
Good bye greg,have a safe journey....

i agree

sim_indian thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
i agree to wat sp_2012 said...completly!!!

i mean it was sachin that kept the indian spirit going..
people won't consider him god for noting!...i mean how can chappell say this to his own team...

people loved to see sachin perform...he is the prob. the only batsmen to take everything to the top..which is a good thing..

u see chappell complaining of india...but isn't he the COACH?? isn't HE supposed to lead the team into the rite direction, give them support and encouragement...

yes...i agree sachin has been having a few bad plays...but he still has lots of cricket left in him..

chappell should retire now...we need an indian coach for an indian team...

and as for sachin...don't worry..he'll be back on track!

nightangel thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail Commentator Level 1 Thumbnail
no comment 4 anyone becoz we don't wht's d reality... 😳
Edited by nightangel - 18 years ago
Lovers Ka Love thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail

Originally posted by: nightangel

no comment 4 anyone becoz we don't wht's d reality... 😳

True........ But If Som1 Really Say Something like this ... then this is too bad...

amu682 thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Navigator Thumbnail

Originally posted by: maragathm

You know I was listening to Sanjay Manjrekar on cricinfo, and he is right Greg Chapell showed the mirror of the state of Indian cricket to the world. Aussies are like that they are no nonsense, speak the mind, arrogant to an extent kind of people. The problem was I think the players didnt want to get out of their comfort zone and do something different for a change. It is all politics I tell you. The coach is the coach, Tendulkar can be a god, but when it comes to playing a team sport he needs to follow the instructions of the coach and captain, and shove aside his personal opinions. Why do you think Ponting is so successful do you think he puts up with any crap, he demands respect and he gets it. I think Chapell demanded respect as well, and I think the players had a problem with his style and in the end rebelled.
I am not sure the blame falls on one group entirely. Chapell did air out the dirty laundry of Indian cricket to the world, which I am glad he did, it is about time someone spoke up, but in the end it rubbed many of the players the wrong way. Maybe he should have handled what he said to media differently and tried to connect with the players more on an emotional level.
The players had too much we dont like this guy so we are not going to follow him attitude. Which in the end self destructed indian cricket, maybe the players should have made more effort in trying to understand Chapell way of working and gave him a chance, insted of all this infighting.

Sorry, I dont agree! Greg didnt show any mirror of Indian Cricket to the world. It was merely his OWN perception of how Indian Cricket work and the shortcoming Indian Cricket has to cater to HIS requirements!

If there is a comfort zone and it works well for the players what is the need to come out of it? Why is that we underestimate the cricketing minds and capabilities of our very own players? And anyway i think in terms of pure cricketing acumen and ethics i rank Sachin Tendulkar far beyond any Chappel brothers.

No-Nonsense 'Professional' Players? Who defines What Professionalism means? Greg Chappel? Who gives him the authority to call the players Unprofessional? On Professionalism, Werent it the Chappel brothers the ones who bolwed underarm against New Zealand in the final over to win/draw a match? Can one call that professional? It was a mean and a cheap tactic to win... if he dreamt of making India into a set of meanies to get into the 'habit of winning' then I glad our players revolted against him ideologies! Leaking out what happens in the Rest room is being Professional? I dont think so atleast. I found the team much more Professional in that way, never has such differences come out in the open, it doesnt mean there havent been any before.

Yes, he is a coach...he deserves respect from his team. But a person should be of such stature that Respect shouldnt be 'Demanded' but 'Commanded'! Yes, he is a coach and why did HE or his supporters forget that? He was meant to fulfill the needs of the team and NOT rally for a team to fulfill his requirements and aspirations. If he is given a team of Gully cricket players, he needs to coach them into being better players not throw a fuss saying he didnt get the team he requires. By saying that itself he defeated the purpose of this position in the team.. if he didnt understand the requirements of his profile, he should have left much earlier.

A Captain and A Coach are very much a part of the 'Team' as much as the 'Team' requires to stand by its captain and coach, the Captain and Coach should stand by the team. There was 2 groups of kind that has come out in after theWC debacle... where the Coach and captain stood on one side and the rest of the team on the other. And I am not ready to beleive that Coach/Captain's leadership is impeccable and the others were just being 'Rebels' if so many players (far more talented/experienced than Greg & Dravid) feel something is wrong with the way they were handling the team, then i stand by a team. It should have be Rahul Dravid who should have spoken Yday instead of Sachin saying the team stood united. He didnt bother he was busy on a holiday with Family in the backwaters of Kerala. It was Sachin who as a Senior player stood up for the entire team! He took collective responsibility onbehalf of the team. It is clear WHO is a better leader out here.

At the end of the day the truth of the matter is Greg Chappel didnt fit into the Indian System... instead of adapting to the way it performs, he choice to turn it into something else. The result is out there for everyone to see... Indian Cricket stands admist ruins! Chappel is gone and Gone for good!

It will be the set of Indians who will take forward this sport in India. It is not only the way Indian Cricket is played that should improve but the way it is watched also. The team needs unconditionally Support... or no support at all.

Edited by amu682 - 18 years ago
sanril thumbnail
20th Anniversary Thumbnail Voyager Thumbnail Engager Level 1 Thumbnail
Greg was trying to dictate terms to the team, that didn't go well with the team..thats the sole reason for all the problems.
Well,if Auusies are like that, then Indians are like this, they don't like being dictated..
Btw John Wright didn't have any problems with the Indian team and he really took the Indian team to heights, thats because his way of approach was really soft n mild. Any human being will only like being treated in a soft manner and not arrogantly like what Chappell tried with the Indian team. The Aussie arrongance has only brought bitterness!