monar thumbnail
15th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 2

Hey Shruti, Shilpa 🤗 kaise ho? just finished DMD such a bore movie neend nahi aarahi thi aagai 🥱
shruti thumbnail
19th Anniversary Thumbnail Elite Thumbnail + 9
Mona u shd have fallen asleep if the movie was a bore😆😆
shruti thumbnail
saas-bahu tearjerkers in urban setups to stories about small town and rural India, but our telly moms too have evolved over the years. The docile and timid figure whose responsibility ended after she had dished out yummy delicacies and who had no qualms about staying in the periphery without interfering in family matters has been replaced by a strong, independent spirited woman who balances home and work place responsibilities comfortably. Today's small screen moms are vibrant, vocal and equal partners. Here's a quick look at some women who've made an impact in their screen mom role play.

Krutika Desai
(Bharti Gandhi in Preet Se Bandhi Yeh Dori... Ram Milaayi Jodi)
Hard as nails, dominating, assertive yet beneath that tough exterior beats the heart of an affectionate mom whose world revolves round her children. A firm disciplinarian, Bharti is a heady mix of a traditional and modern mom. "While it's true that moms in earlier TV shows were shown only as submissive homemakers, today's TV moms have evolved into bolder and smarter women with minds of their own. I am lucky that I'm playing the role of a mom who is independent thinking, vocal and able to express her views in every respect," she says.

Supriya Pilgaonkar
(Shailaja Kashyap in Sasural Genda Phool)
Better known as Badi Ma, Shailaja holds a huge joint family together, takes major decisions and calls the shots in her family. She's calm, level-headed, yet tough. "This character is very close to my heart. I just don't take decisions randomly in the house but also make sure that I ask everyone's view on the matter. People think that one shouldn't listen to women or ask their opinion but I hope my character can show people that women are important in their families and deserve respect," says Supriya.

Nausheen Ali Sardar
(Santosh Poddar in Beend Banoongaa Ghodi Chadhunga)
Santosh is a new age mom who's rooted firmly in traditional beliefs and norms. A caring and loving woman, she is a bundle of contradictions. Even as she supports women's education, she doesn't approve of working women. A grey character, Santosh is a strong personality who has a say in her son's life which in turn shapes the storyline. "It is a great role. I am not a typical mom who is just supporting her kids but is strong headed. She has her own set of beliefs and values and thinks she's right," says Nausheen.

Indira Krishnan (Krishnaben in Krishnaben Khakhrawala)
An independent Gujarati housewife who carves out her identity and rules her family and work place with an iron hand, she's also a godfearing, loving mom who will go to any lengths to ensure her children's wellbeing without compromising her ideals. "It feels fantastic to play such a realistic character. Today 60 per cent moms are independent. In real life I am a lot like Krishna. I am a positive person and maintain the work life balance," says Indira.

Usha Nadkarni (Savita Deshmukh in Pavitra Rishta)
Outspoken and brutally honest, Savita might have an in-your face personality, but she's the earth mother. Nothing matters more to her than her family and her children. She might want the good life and enjoy the little skirmishes with her daughter-in-law Archana, but Savita is also someone who's helpful and warm. Usha admits that playing such a character was something of a "challenge. As a woman I believe in the equality of sexes and find it amazing how some women have managed to maintain a perfect balance between their personal and professional lives. I think everyone needs to salute such women not just today, but everyday of our lives."

Meghna Malik (Ammaji in Na Aana Is Des Mere Lado)
Ammaji has to be television's strongest female protagonist. This powerful lathi-weilding village sarpanch who inspires awe and fear has vicious and vindictive streaks in her, but deals with situations in a realistic manner.. "The role of a mother in the society has changed to a great extent. Today's mothers are smarter, more outgoing and also enjoy a stronger position in the family. Even in television shows, crying and helpless mothers are a minority now. On screen mothers have a more influential role to play in raising their children and are good friends with them," shares Meghna.

Even as moms graduate from making aloo paranthas and kheer and become stronger people, one thing hasn't changed about them — their deep-rooted love for their children. Love them, hate them, but you can't ignore telly moms who straddle tradition and modernity and create their distinct places in our hearts every night.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/tv-/Cheers-to-TV-moms/articleshow/8188055.cms
shruti thumbnail
Akshay Kumar has entertained viewers with his action and comedy skills. And even impressed us with his culinary skills.

But with Fear Factor — Khatron Ke Khiladi 4, we will see the Khiladi Kumar in a new avatar. This time, he's not leaping off a building or turning up the heat in the kitchen. His weapon of choice is the microphone. Akshay has lent his voice for a song that is being turned into a music video for the upcoming stunt based TV show. The video features the show's contestants. Maybe Akshay should consider cutting his own album after this, considering the fact that he's already jammed with Snoop Dog and now sung for this video. And certainly, the stunners of KKK would be happy to appear in his video. So, any plans Akki?

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/tv-/Akshay-turns-singer-for-Fear-Factor/articleshow/8187111.cms
shruti thumbnail
After associating herself with a unique show titled Pyaar Kii Ye Ek Kahaani, allegedly inspired by Twilight, Sukirti Khandpal has added yet another feather to her cap.

The actress has been approached to represent India in an international beauty pageant, which is going to be held in Dubai next week with participants spanning over 30 countries. Sukirti is leaving no stone unturned to give the pageant her best shot. She has been practicing her dance performance slated for the event, late in the night, post her shoot. Says the actress, "When I was younger, I always dreamed of participating in a beauty pageant and here I am getting a chance to live my dream. It's an honour to get a chance to represent my country on an international level. I will be wearing a sari in during the Indian round. Winning or losing the crown is immaterial for me as participating itself in such a coveted pageant is an achievement." Here's wishing her all the best!

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/tv-/Sukirti-From-vampires-to-beauty-pageants/articleshow/8187416.cms
shruti thumbnail
Smita Bansal, known for her serenity, surprised us and even herself by participanting in a stunt based reality show. She is currently seen as a doting bahu in Balika Vadhu.

So, was the decision to be part of the reality show an attempt to break the stereotype? "Not at all. I have loved all the characters that I have potrayed so far. I have no qualms about playing the saree clad demure wife or mother at all."

"With my jam packed schedule, I can't take up another daily. So, when this offer came to me, I said 'Why not?'. I am neither here to prove a point to someone nor is it the lure of money, but just that I find this very exciting. I haven't done anything like this before. And meeting Akshay is like icing on the cake," she says.

Ask her what's that one thing that scares her the most, she reveals, "I am a bit timid and water is something I know I am scared of. Baki height ya slimy insects se mujhe itna darr nahi lagta."
Tanya Datta

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/tv-/Im-not-here-to-prove-a-point-Smita/articleshow/8187487.cms
monar thumbnail

Originally posted by: *Shruti*

Mona u shd have fallen asleep if the movie was a bore😆😆

rightly said but Movie freak in me never give up till the end, btw I watched the whole movie in say 1 hr 15 minutes.. and Hey Deepika is in only for item number.. 🥱
monar thumbnail

I am sure I havent disappointed you, might be Shilpa.. 😆 chalo me logging off now shabba khair...
shruti thumbnail
Mona no it was none of you two😆😆

Saw something which was upsetting🤔
444789 thumbnail
DAMN 🤣🤣🤣 Vikas Arora won Dadagiri. I thought my favorite Niyati would win 🤣🤣🤣 . *HEART BREAK*

MuSh 🤗🤗 .. How are you this morning ?