Courageous_Leo thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2

Originally posted by: MuguetDScorpion

And nothing much to say more than I love you. X, y, z. You are the best and blablablah... ๐Ÿ˜†

No you haven't seen it completely...There is more...Good night dear...Have sweet dreams...And have undisturbed sleep ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†
Courageous_Leo thumbnail
14th Anniversary Thumbnail Rocker Thumbnail + 2
Shyamala aunty

I think in one of your comments you said that Nandini and Durdhara is same...But according to IF article, Durdhara is CGM's sister๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•...what's your take on this ???
Edited by Courageous_Leo - 9 years ago
MuguetDScorpion thumbnail
11th Anniversary Thumbnail Stunner Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: Courageous_Leo

No you haven't seen it completely...There is more...Good night dear...Have sweet dreams...And have undisturbed sleep ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

Yeah I have seen it too. It's like the actors are really reading their comments. ๐Ÿ˜†
BeingBlunt thumbnail

And please do read the comments ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

LOL Dont you know IF is owned by DoubleD. ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜‰
Now this thread will be destroyed too because we mentioned DoubleD

sashashyam thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Sparkler Thumbnail + 3
That was a mistake, Leo. Around the same time, there was an article in Tellychakkar that Durdhara is Chandragupta's wife in the show. So that is one mix up sorted out.

As far as one knows, both of Chandragupta's marriages were political alliances organised by Chanakya Durdhara, aka Nandini, was a daughter of Dhananand. I read this some time back on an academic website, and the second name seemed to me logical, Nand ki putri = Nandini.

But she died when Bindusara came into the world. There was an interesting story about this which was narrated by Chanakya in one of the early CAS episodes.

Helena was of course the daughter of his Greek enemy Seleucus Nikator. So Chandragupta & Chanakya seem to have specialised in neutralising the enemies of Magadha by marrying their daughters to Chandragupta.๐Ÿ˜‰

Ekta's Nandini is bound to be someone else.

In Shyam Benegal's Bharat ek Khoj series on Doordarshan 20 years ago - which must have been meticulously researched - there was mention of an early love of Chandragupta's who is forced to marry Dhananand. Though I watched that series, I had forgotten this segment, but a young friend recently reminded me of it. Chanakya does not let Chandragupta save this girl from that marriage, though he could have done so, because he thinks she will be a drag on his Akhanda Bharat campaign. So the girl hates Chanakya and possibly Chandragupta too. This was of course before Chandragupta became the Samrat. Maybe this is that girl, though that would hardly fit in with a fresh Chandra Nandini love story.

Then again there are tales of a secret marriage of Chandragupta's, probably on the rebound from Durdhara!๐Ÿ˜‰

It is all very confusing and there is no point theorising about all this without any data, as Sherlock Holmes would have said. I intend to watch it peacefully and enjoy myself. It will be grandly mounted and well presented, and with luck, might be a decent show for 9-12 months, which would be more than enough for me!

The only fly in the ointment, and it is a big bluebottle fly, is the announced choice of Chanakya. Our Khallatak! It is enough to give one the willies! I do not care about the heroine, but this sleazy apparatchik, with a neck like that of a plucked chicken thanks to repeated near stranglings by Sushim, as Chanakya?๐Ÿ˜ก If only Ekta had signed Manish Wadhwa!

Shyamala Aunty

Shyamala aunty

I think in one of your comments you said that Nandini and Durdhara is same...But according to IF article, Durdhara is CGM's sister๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•๐Ÿ˜•...what's your take on this ???

Edited by sashashyam - 9 years ago
BabyHimavari thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: sashashyam

That was a mistake, Leo. Around the same time, there was an article in Tellychakkar that Durdhara is Chandragupta's wife in the show. So that is one mix up sorted out.

As far as one knows, both of Chandragupta's marriages were political alliances organised by Chanakya Durdhara, aka Nandini, was a daughter of Dhananand. I read this some time back on an academic website, and the second name seemed to me logical, Nand ki putri = Nandini.

But she died when Bindusara came into the world. There was an interesting story about this which was narrated by Chanakya in one of the early CAS episodes.

Helena was of course the daughter of his Greek enemy Seleucus Nikator. So Chandragupta & Chanakya seem to have specialised in neutralising the enemies of Magadha by marrying their daughters to Chandragupta.๐Ÿ˜‰

Ekta's Nandini is bound to be someone else.

In Shyam Benegal's Bharat ek Khoj series on Doordarshan 20 years ago - which must have been meticulously researched - there was mention of an early love of Chandragupta's who is forced to marry Dhananand. Though I watched that series, I had forgotten this segment, but a young friend recently reminded me of it. Chanakya does not let Chandragupta save this girl from that marriage, though he could have done so, because he thinks she will be a drag on his Akhanda Bharat campaign. So the girl hates Chanakya and possibly Chandragupta too. This was of course before Chandragupta became the Samrat. Maybe this is that girl, though that would hardly fit in with a fresh Chandra Nandini love story.

Then again there are tales of a secret marriage of Chandragupta's, probably on the rebound from Durdhara!๐Ÿ˜‰

It is all very confusing and there is no point theorising about all this without any data, as Sherlock Holmes would have said. I intend to watch it peacefully and enjoy myself. It will be grandly mounted and well presented, and with luck, might be a decent show for 9-12 months, which would be more than enough for me!

The only fly in the ointment, and it is a big bluebottle fly, is the announced choice of Chanakya. Our Khallatak! It is enough to give one the willies! I do not care about the heroine, but this sleazy apparatchik, with a neck like that of a plucked chicken thanks to repeated near stranglings by Sushim, as Chanakya?๐Ÿ˜ก If only Ekta had signed Manish Wadhwa!

Shyamala Aunty

@bold
OMG aunty!!...๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

But have to say.. somehow I share the same thought in mind... Look I can't comment about acting capability cause as khallu he was totally a dormat type character.. may be not able to so his 100% ability... But somehow... Each and everyone has a imagination of characters in there mind... and I really can't match Khallu with the personality of one of the most cleverest man of Indian history... the previous actors i have seen by far... say it Manish Ji, manoj ji or may be Tej sapru (Bharatvarsh)... their personality matches well with chanakya... But i really can't match up chanakya's = Khallu..๐Ÿ˜•...

Well all we can do is to wait and watch... BTW.. do u feel that somehow Ekta is planning to make Chanakya a villain or kabab mein haddi in btwn CGM-nandini's eternal love.. cause this khalyatak guy will be more suited as a negative or grey character rather than a noble man with clever sjarp mind...

only my POV though... some people might like our dear khallu.. my reply was not to hurt any1..
Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail
In NDTV Imagine's CGM,there was a character called Mriganayani or something (forgot the name) who was shown as first love of CGM.Yashashri Masurkar (the gal who played the role of Agnishikha)played that role.Mriganayani was a princess whose kingdom was captured by Dhananand. When Dhananand saw Mriganayani, he wanted to make her his keep so he made a deal with her father that he will let go off his kingdom if he allows his daughter to be his keep.Mriganayani decides to go with Dhananand to save her kingdom.
She then meets CGM and both fall in love with each other.CGM,after hearing her story,promises to rescue her from Dhananand. Meanwhile, Dhananand captures Chanakya and puts him in exile.Mriganayani tells Dhananand that she is ready to sleep with him if he tells her where he kept chanakya. Dhananand tells her the place and then they spend a night with each other.Next morning, Mriganayani tells CGM the place and commits suicide.CGM successfully rescues Chanakya.When Dhananand comes to know of Mriganayani's betrayal and her suicide, he throws her dead body in a gutter.

CGM finds the dead body and performs her last rites.

That was actually a beautiful love story with a sad ending.Shyamala aunty's post reminded me of this story.

Sagars had shown real history in their show to some extent. May be this Mriganayani was actually Nandini who was not a keep but Dhananand's wife.
BabyHimavari thumbnail
13th Anniversary Thumbnail Trailblazer Thumbnail + 4

Originally posted by: .Subha.

In NDTV Imagine's CGM,there was a character called Mriganayani or something (forgot the name) who was shown as first love of CGM.Yashashri Masurkar (the gal who played the role of Agnishikha)played that role.Mriganayani was a princess whose kingdom was captured by Dhananand. When Dhananand saw Mriganayani, he wanted to make her his keep so he made a deal with her father that he will let go off his kingdom if he allows his daughter to be his keep.Mriganayani decides to go with Dhananand to save her kingdom.

She then meets CGM and both fall in love with each other.CGM,after hearing her story,promises to rescue her from Dhananand. Meanwhile, Dhananand captures Chanakya and puts him in exile.Mriganayani tells Dhananand that she is ready to sleep with him if he tells her where he kept chanakya. Dhananand tells her the place and then they spend a night with each other.Next morning, Mriganayani tells CGM the place and commits suicide.CGM successfully rescues Chanakya.When Dhananand comes to know of Mriganayani's betrayal and her suicide, he throws her dead body in a gutter.

CGM finds the dead body and performs her last rites.

That was actually a beautiful love story with a sad ending.Shyamala aunty's post reminded me of this story.

Sagars had shown real history in their show to some extent. May be this Mriganayani was actually Nandini who was not a keep but Dhananand's wife.

I dearly remember CGM and mirrgnayni's part... their story was beautiful... I actually had more attachment towards there story rather than Dhurdhara who introduced later and CGM's story... Sad that they had tragic ending... I think there relationship was not shown as love actually.. it was more like sympathy, pain, caring and understanding... There were so many tender moments between them... subtle and beautiful... specially i remember the moment when CGM secretly kept the medicine herbs pest on her room after she was badly tortured and hurt by dhananad,..

I somewhere heard that makers were actually planning to show mrignayani as one of CGM's unknown queens but later yashashri left the show for some creative difference and hence makers had to kill her character...
Life_Is_Dutiful thumbnail

Originally posted by: BabyHimavari

I dearly remember CGM and mirrgnayni's part... their story was beautiful... I actually had more attachment towards there story rather than Dhurdhara who introduced later and CGM's story... Sad that they had tragic ending... I think there relationship was not shown as love actually.. it was more like sympathy, pain, caring and understanding... There were so many tender moments between them... subtle and beautiful... specially i remember the moment when CGM secretly kept the medicine herbs pest on her room after she was badly tortured and hurt by dhananad,..

I somewhere heard that makers were actually planning to show mrignayani as one of CGM's unknown queens but later yashashri left the show for some creative difference and hence makers had to kill her character...

It was really a beautiful story.Their story was more interesting than CGM-Durdhara story.

I too had read that she left the show. In another article, I read that fans of the show didn't accept her because Mriganayani was a fictional character and they wanted to see CGM only with Durdhara.